Email Print Share

REU Sites

REU Sites: Biological Sciences

APPLICATIONS: Students must contact the individual site or program to apply. NSF does not have application materials and does not select student participants.

ELIGIBILITY: Individual sites may have additional eligibility requirements (e.g., number of undergraduate years completed). Undergraduate student participants supported with NSF funds must be citizens or permanent residents of the United States or its possessions. High school graduates who have not yet enrolled, and students who have already received their bachelor's degrees, are not eligible.

ADDITIONAL INFORMATION: Click on the Title of the Site in the "Site Information" column to go to the homepage (if available) for that Site. Sites are ordered alphabetically by host institution. All Sites provide stipends, housing and meals, in addition to travel to and from the Site. This listing will change as new REU Site awards are made. Sites are added or deleted as decisions are made on awards, and the list is updated periodically. Clicking on a highlighted site title should direct you to the web page for more information on that program.

Please report errors in the list below by writing to reu.bio@nsf.gov.


Search Again

Show 30 items per page.
REU Sites
Site Information Site Location Contact Information Additional Information
University of Alabama Tuscaloosa
REU Site: Re-IMAGiNE Life, Exploring Function through Adaptation
Department of Biological Sciences
Tuscaloosa, Alabama
Primary: Julie Olson
(205) 348-1807
jolson@ua.edu
Secondary: Michael McKain
(205) 348-1826
mrmckain@ua.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: biosciences; functional adaptation; changing environments; genomic variation
REU Site: Re-IMAGiNE Life, Exploring Function through AdaptationAbstract of Award
Montgomery, Alabama
Primary: Komal Vig
(334) 604-8189
komalvig@alasu.edu
Secondary: Shree Singh
(334) 604-9160
ssingh@alasu.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: Biology, Biosciences, Biomedical Engineering, Chemistry, Physics
REU Site: Research & Training in Multidisciplinary field of Regenerative Sciences for UndergraduatesAbstract of Award
Auburn University
REU Site: Warm-water aquatic ecology
Fisheries, Aquaculture, and Aquatic Sciences
Auburn, Alabama
Primary: Alan Wilson
(334) 246-1120
wilson@auburn.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: biology, biosciences, ecology, limnology, fisheries management, evolution, molecular biology, microbiology, invasive species, behavior, statistics, restoration, modeling, hydrology, remote sensing
REU Site: Warm-water aquatic ecologyAbstract of Award
Flagstaff, Arizona
Primary: Liza Holeski
(928) 523-0701
liza.holeski@nau.edu
Secondary: Ted Martinez
(928) 523-3383
Theodore.Martinez@nau.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: Biosciences, biology, environmental science, ecology, plant science
REU Site: Ecology, Genetics, and Adaptation on the Colorado PlateauAbstract of Award
University of Arizona
REU Site: Microbial Symbioses and Diversity Research Experience at the University of Arizona
School of Animal and Comparative Biomedical Sciences
Tucson, Arizona
Primary: Gayatri Vedantam
(520) 620-6839
gayatri@arizona.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: Biosciences, microbiology, microbial symbiosis, bacteria, viruses, environmental microbiology, food microbiology, plant-microbe association, animal microbiome, genetics, biochemistry, microbiome
Comments: Contact: Ms. Allison Sullivan; allisonsullivan@arizona.edu
REU Site: Microbial Symbioses and Diversity Research Experience at the University of ArizonaAbstract of Award
Tucson, Arizona
Primary: Michael Johnson
(520) 626-3779
mdljohnson@arizona.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: biosciences, microbiology, immunology, virtual, remote
Comments: Coordinator: Holly Lopez NSURP@arizona.edu
REU Site: The National Summer Undergraduate Research ProjectAbstract of Award
Tucson, Arizona
Primary: Michael Johnson
(520) 626-3779
NSURPorg@gmail.com
Research Topics/Keywords: Biosciences, Virtual, Microbiology, Remote, Immunology
REU Site: The National Summer Undergraduate Research Project (NSURP)Abstract of Award
Fayetteville, Arkansas
Primary: Michelle EvansWhite
(479) 575-4706
mevanswh@uark.edu
Secondary: Marty Matlock
(479) 575-2849
mmatlock@uark.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: biosciences, ecology, ecosystem services, biogeochemistry, sustainability, resiliency, green chemistry, biological and agricultural engineering, agricultural economics
Comments: Program email contact: ecoreu@uark.edu
REU Site: Assessment and Sustainable Management of Ecosystem Services at the nexus of food, energy, and water systemsAbstract of Award
University of Arkansas
REU Site: Indigenous America to Indigenous Mekong (Vietnam and Thailand) - Adventures in Biology and Biodiversity
Department of Biological Sciences and Cellular and Molecular Biology Program
Fayetteville, Arkansas
Primary: Ruben Ceballos
(479) 575-5643
ceballos@uark.edu
University of California Berkeley
REU Site at UC Berkeley: Integrated Biology from Molecules to Ecosystems
Host department: Integrative Biology / 13 participating departments
Berkeley, California
Primary: Gian Garriga
(510) 642-5859
garriga@berkeley.edu
Secondary: Tyrone Hayes
(510) 643-1055
tyrone@berkeley.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: Integrative Biology Evolution, Development
Comments: contact: reuapplic@lists.berkeley.edu
REU Site at UC Berkeley: Integrated Biology from Molecules to EcosystemsAbstract of Award
University of California Irvine
REU SITE: Summer Institute in Neuroscience
Center for the Neurobiology of Learning and Memory
Irvine, California
Primary: Luis Colon-Perez
(949) 824-3919
lcolonpe@uci.edu
Secondary: Manuella Yassa
(949) 824-5193
manuella.yassa@uci.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: biosciences, learning and memory, neuroscience, computational biology, neuroimaging, behavioral neuroscience, genetics, epigenetics
REU SITE: Summer Institute in NeuroscienceAbstract of Award
Malibu, California
Primary: Jay Brewster
(310) 506-4321
Jay.Brewster@pepperdine.edu
Secondary: Courtney Davis
(310) 506-4582
courtney.davis2@pepperdine.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: ecology, cell biology, molecular biology, botany, genetics, cellular stress
REU Site: Biological Adaptations to Stress -- Molecular, Cellular, EcologicalAbstract of Award
Cofunded: Department of Defense (DoD)
University of California, Los Angeles
REU Site: Computational Biosciences Research Experience for Undergraduates
Institute for Quantitative and Computational Biology
Los Angeles, California
Primary: Hilary Coller
(310) 825-3483
hcoller@ucla.edu
Secondary: Alexander Hoffmann
(310) 794-9925
ahoffmann@ucla.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: Biosciences, quantitative biology, computational biology, next generation sequencing, computer programming, statistics
Comments: Coordinator: Beverlee Turner, baturner@g.ucla.edu
REU Site: Computational Biosciences Research Experience for UndergraduatesAbstract of Award
University of California, Davis
REU Site: Ecological and Evolutionary Response to Rapid Environmental Change
Evolution and Ecology
Davis, California
Primary: Richard Grosberg
(530) 219-2468
rkgrosberg@ucdavis.edu
Secondary: Anne Todgham
(530) 752-1897
todgham@ucdavis.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: REU Site: Ecological and Evolutionary Response to Rapid Environmental Change
Comments: Program coordinator: Carole Hom / clhom@ucdavis.edu
REU Site: Ecological and Evolutionary Response to Rapid Environmental ChangeAbstract of Award
University of California San Francisco
REU Site: NSF REU in Molecular Biosciences
All Departments
San Francisco, California
Primary: Carol Gross
(415) 476-4161
cgross@cgl.ucsf.edu
Secondary: Elizabeth Silva
(415) 502-2927
elizabeth.silva@ucsf.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: molecular biosciences, immunology, biochemistry, molecular biology, Cell Biology, Genetics, and Genomics
Comments: Contact for student applications: Zachary Smith, zachary.smith@ucsf.edu
REU Site: NSF REU in Molecular BiosciencesAbstract of Award
Riverside, California
Primary: Carolyn Rasmussen
(951) 827-4415
carolyn.rasmussen@ucr.edu
Secondary: Thomas Eulgem
(951) 827-7740
thomas.eulgem@ucr.edu
The Scripps Research Institute
REU Site: Scripps’ Structure and Function Summer Institute (SFSI)
Doctoral Program in Chemical and Biological Sciences
La Jolla, California
Primary: Dawn Eastmond
(858) 784-2872
eastmond@scripps.edu
Secondary: Philip Dawson
(858) 784-7015
dawson@scripps.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: biosciences; chemistry, immunology, computational bioogy, neuroscience, biophysics, chemical biology, microbiology, bioinformatics, cell biology, genetics, and structural biology
REU Site: Scripps’ Structure and Function Summer Institute (SFSI)Abstract of Award
California State University San Marcos
REU Site: The Plasticity of Cells, Organisms, and Communities
Biological Sciences
San Marcos, California
Primary: Betsy Read
(760) 750-4129
bread@csusm.edu
Secondary: Carlos Luna Lopez
(760) 750-8245
clunalopez@csusm.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: biosciences, molecular biology, genomics, cell biology, physiology, cellular plasticity, organismal plasticity, community plasticity, adaptation
REU Site: The Plasticity of Cells, Organisms, and CommunitiesAbstract of Award
San Francisco, California
Primary: Lauren Esposito
(415) 379-5328
lesposito@calacademy.org
Secondary: Rebecca Johnson
(415) 379-5252
rjohnson@calacademy.org
Research Topics/Keywords: biology, biosciences, systematics, museum, natural history, phylogenetics, entomology, anthropolgy, arachnology, ichthyology, herpetology, botany, ornithology, virology
Comments: Coordinator: Christina Cordova, ssi-bi@calacademy.org
REU Site: The Summer Systematics Institute: training the next generation of scientists for the field, the lab, and sharing their science with the worldAbstract of Award
Colorado State University
REU Site: Program in Molecular Biosciences
Biochemistry and Molecular Biology
Fort Collins, Colorado
Primary: Paul J Laybourn
(970) 491-5100
Paul.Laybourn@ColoState.edu
Secondary: Lubna Tahtamouni
(970) 491-5531
lubna.tahtamouni@colostate.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: biosciences, cell biology, molecular biology, microbiology, biophysics, structural biology, neurobiology, nutrition, physiology, developmental biology, genetics, marine biology, bioinformatics
Comments: Program Coordinator: Timothy DavidDepartment of Biochemistry and Molecular BiologyEmail: Timothy.David@colostate.eduPhone: (970) 491-4909
REU Site: Program in Molecular BiosciencesAbstract of Award
Crested Butte, Colorado
Primary: Ian Billick
(970) 349-7231
director@rmbl.org
Secondary: Jennifer Reithel
(970) 349-1288
sd@rmbl.org
Research Topics/Keywords: biosciences, ecology, evolutionary biology
Comments: For questions about the program, contact Dr. Jennifer Reithel, sd@rmbl.org
REU Site: Research Training in Place-Based Field ResearchAbstract of Award
Mystic, Connecticut
Primary: Tracy Romano
(860) 572-5955
tromano@mysticaquarium.org
Secondary: Michael Finiguerra
(860) 405-9082
michael.finiguerra@uconn.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: biology, biosciences, marine biology, marine science, animal physiology, ecology, animal behavior, immunology, cell biology
Comments: Contact: Michael Finiguerra (michael.finiguerra@uconn.edu)
REU Site Mystic Aquarium: Collaborative Research: Plankton to Whales: Consequences of Global Change within Marine EcosystemsAbstract of Award
Cofunded: Ocean Sciences
Storrs, Connecticut
Primary: Michael Finiguerra
(860) 405-9082
michael.finiguerra@uconn.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: biology, biosciences, marine biology, marine science, animal physiology, ecology, animal behavior, immunology, cell biology
Comments: Contact: Michael Finiguerra (michael.finiguerra@uconn.edu)
REU Site Mystic Aquarium: Collaborative Research: Plankton to Whales: Consequences of Global Change within Marine EcosystemsAbstract of Award
University of Connecticut
REU Site: Research Experiences in Physiology and Neurobiology at UCONN
Physiology and Neurobiology
Storrs, Connecticut
Primary: Xinnian Chen
(860) 486-6169
xinnian.chen@uconn.edu
Secondary: Anastasios Tzingounis
(860) 486-7916
anastasios.tzingounis@uconn.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: biology, biosciences, physiology, developmental neurobiology, respiratory physiology, synaptic plasticity, neural circuits, molecular and cell biology, bioinformatics, computational biology
REU Site: Research Experiences in Physiology and Neurobiology at UCONNAbstract of Award
Yale University
REU Site: Research training in biomedical sciences and engineering
Physical and Engineering Biology
New Haven, Connecticut
Primary: Corey O'Hern
(203) 432-4258
corey.ohern@yale.edu
Secondary: Dorottya Noble
(203) 432-2751
dorottya.noble@yale.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: biosciences, biomedical, bioengineering, interdisciplinary, convergent, quantitative, systems biology, data science, biomechanics
Comments: Best contact is the Co-PI
REU Site: Research training in biomedical sciences and engineeringAbstract of Award
Cofunded: Department of Defense (DoD)
Smithsonian Institution
REU Site: Natural History Research Experiences
National Museum of Natural History(NMNH)
Washington, DC, District Of Columbia
Primary: Virginia Power
(202) 633-1055
powerv@si.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: Ocean Science, Meteoritics, Volcanology, Mineralogy, Petrology, Paleobiology, Conservation, Biodiversity, Systematics, Genomics, Anthropology, Archeology, Ethnology, Botany, Entomology, Zoology
REU Site: Natural History Research ExperiencesAbstract of Award
Cofunded: Biological Sciences, Earth Sciences
University of Central Florida
REU Site: Conservation, Restoration and Communication
Biology
Orlando, Florida
Primary: Linda Walters
(407) 823-2148
linda.walters@ucf.edu
Secondary: Kate Mansfield
(407) 823-4432
kate.mansfield@ucf.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: Biosciences, biodiversity, conservation, restoration, communication, ecology, evolution, vertebrates, invertebrates, plants, endangered species, invasive species, animal behavior, animal tracking
Comments: UCF REU Coordinator: Darya Farsinejad, email: darya.farsinejad@ucf.edu, phone: 407-823-1797
REU Site: Conservation, Restoration and CommunicationAbstract of Award
University of Florida
REU Site: Marine Biodiversity: lessons from molecules, development and behavior
Whitney Laboratory for Marine Bioscience
Saint Augustine, Florida
Primary: Joseph Ryan
(904) 201-8426
joseph.ryan@whitney.ufl.edu
Secondary: Elaine Seaver
(904) 201-8449
seaver@whitney.ufl.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: biology, biosciences, evolution, marine biology, neurobiology, embryology, genomics, coastal ecology, biomechanics, locomotion, molecular biology, biogeochemistry
Comments: Coordinator: Brenda Cannaliato (brenda@whitney.ufl.edu)
REU Site: Marine Biodiversity: lessons from molecules, development and behaviorAbstract of Award
Florida Atlantic University
REU Site: proposed Summer Integrated Neuroscience Experience (SINE) in Jupiter
Department of Biological Sciences
Jupiter, Florida
Primary: Rodney Murphey
(561) 297-0384
rmurphey@fau.edu
Secondary: Bethany Stanhope
bstanhope@fau.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: biosciences, neuroscience, neurobiology, behavior, physiologic, genetics, plasticity
REU Site: proposed Summer Integrated Neuroscience Experience (SINE) in JupiterAbstract of Award
Florida
Primary: Steven Whitfield
(305) 251-0400
steven.whitfield@miamidade.gov
Secondary: Elizabeth Anderson
(305) 348-0146
epanders@fiu.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: Conservation Biology, Ecology, Environmental Education
REU Site: Research Experience for Undergraduates in Conservation Science at Zoo MiamiAbstract of Award
Show 30 items per page.