Email Print Share

REU Sites

REU Sites: Computer and Information Science and Engineering

Please report errors in the list below by writing to reu.cise@nsf.gov.


Search Again

Show 30 items per page.
REU Sites
Site Information Site Location Contact Information Additional Information
University of California - San Diego
REU Site: Engineers for Exploration
California Institute of Telecommunications and Information Technology
San Diego, California
Primary: Ryan Kastner
(858) 534-8908
rkastner@ucsd.edu
Secondary: Curt Schurgers
cschurgers@ucsd.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: Remote sensing, robotics, sensors, system prototyping, field deployments, computer vision, machine learning, digital signal processing
REU Site: Engineers for ExplorationAbstract of Award
University of Central Florida
Research Experiences in the Internet of Things
Computer Science Department
Orlando, Florida
Primary: Damla Turgut
(407) 823-6171
turgut@cs.ucf.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: Internet of Things, sensors and actuators, smart grids, smart home, smart healthcare, AR/VR, machine learning, artificial intelligence
Research Experiences in the Internet of ThingsAbstract of Award
University of Central Florida
Research for Undergraduates in Computer Vision
Center for Research in Computer Vision
Orlando, Florida
Primary: Mubarak Shah
(407) 823-5077
shah@crcv.ucf.edu
Secondary: Niels Lobo
(407) 823-2873
niels@eecs.ucf.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: Convolutional Neural Networks, Artificial Intelligence, Computer Vision, Deep Learning, Machine Learning, Facial Recognition, Medical AI, Cancer Detection, Autonomous Vehicles, Explainable AI
Research for Undergraduates in Computer VisionAbstract of Award
Chicago, Illinois
Primary: Kyle Chard
(773) 702-4107
chard@uchicago.edu
Secondary: Justin Wozniak
(630) 252-3351
wozniak@mcs.anl.gov
Research Topics/Keywords: Distributed systems, many-core computing, cluster computing, grid computing, cloud computing, supercomputing, parallel computing & languages, big data, scientific computing, data science, databases
Comments: Collaborative site with Illinois Institute of Technology
BigDataX: From Theory to Practice in Big Data Computing at Extreme ScalesAbstract of Award
University of Colorado at Colorado Springs
REU Site: Deep Learning: Theory, Concepts and Applications
Colorado
Primary: Jugal Kalita
jkalita@uccs.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: deep learning, machine learning, natural language processing, bioinformatics, computational medicine, computer vision
REU Site: Deep Learning: Theory, Concepts and ApplicationsAbstract of Award
University of Connecticut
Trustable Embedded Systems Security Research
Computer Science & Engineering Department, Electrical and Computer Engineering
Storrs, Connecticut
Primary: Omer Khan
(860) 486-2192
khan@uconn.edu
Secondary: Bing Wang
(860) 486-0582
bing@uconn.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: Secure Quantum Crypto; Internet Routing; Communications; Mobile Healthcare; Voting, Neuromorphic and Anti-tamper Systems; Embedded Processors; Authenticated Hardware; System Vulnerability Analysis
Trustable Embedded Systems Security ResearchAbstract of Award
University of Houston
Undergraduate Research Experience in Frontiers of Data-Driven Computing.
Department of Computer Science
Houston, Texas
Primary: Ernst L. Leiss
(713) 743-3359
coscel@cs.uh.edu
Secondary: Stephen Huang
(713) 743-3338
shuang@cs.uh.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: Data-centric computing, data analytics, big data, cybersecurity
Undergraduate Research Experience in Frontiers of Data-Driven Computing.Abstract of Award
Iowa
Primary: Elizabeth Kleiman
uicsreu@gmail.com
Research Topics/Keywords: computer science, computing for health and well-being
Kentucky
Primary: Wei Zhang
wei.zhang@louisville.edu
Secondary: Nihat Altiparmak
nihat.altiparmak@louisville.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: Computing Systems, Data Storage Systems, Parallel and Distributed Systems, Computer Architecture, Embedded Systems, Mobile Systems, Data-Intensive Computing
REU Site: Undergraduate Research Experiences in Computer Systems at University of LouisvilleAbstract of Award
College Park, Maryland
Primary: William Gasarch
(301) 405-2698
gasarch@cs.umd.edu
Secondary: John Dickerson
(301) 405-2774
john@cs.umd.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: Machine learning, cryptography, security, allocation problems, quantum computing
CARR: Combinatorics and Algorithms Applied to Real ProblemsAbstract of Award
Massachusetts
Primary: Ming C Shao
mshao@umassd.edu
Secondary: Jiawei Yuan
jyuan@umassd.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: artificial intelligence, system engineering, cyber security
University of Miami
Scientific Computing for Structure in Big or Complex Datasets
Department of Computer Science
Miami, Florida
Primary: Burton Rosenberg
(305) 284-2141
burt@cs.miami.edu
Secondary: Julie Garcia
(305) 284-2268
secretary@cs.miami.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: Computational chemistry, computational neuroscience and brain science, visualization of ensemble data, GPU enabled cryptography, neural networks in visual processing modeling human social behavior
Scientific Computing for Structure in Big or Complex DatasetsAbstract of Award
University of Minnesota
Computational Methods for Discovery Driven by Big Data
Department of Computer Science and Engineering
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Primary: George Karypis
(612) 625-7524
karypis@umn.edu
Secondary: Kate Jensen
(612) 406-2658
katej@umn.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: machine learning, virtual social behaviors, immersive virtual environments, mobile cloud platforms, biological networks, Earth climate analysis using graph-based methods
Computational Methods for Discovery Driven by Big DataAbstract of Award
University of Missouri - Columbia
Undergraduate Research in Consumer Networking Technologies
Department of Computer Science
Columbia, Missouri
Primary: Prasad Calyam
(573) 882-9747
calyamp@missouri.edu
Secondary: Yi Shang
(573) 884-7794
shangy@missouri.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: Software-defined networking/virtualization, visual computing at the network edge, social health networking, body-area sensing and environment recognition
Undergraduate Research in Consumer Networking TechnologiesAbstract of Award
University of Nebraska - Lincoln
Undergraduate Research Opportunities in Unmanned Systems Foundations and Applications
Computer Science and Engineering Department
Lincoln, Nebraska
Primary: Brittany Duncan
(402) 472-5073
nimbus-reu@unl.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: Unmanned aerial systems, attitude control of nanosatellites, robots in complex environments, vehicles for atmospheric profiling, asset management during wildfires
Undergraduate Research Opportunities in Unmanned Systems Foundations and ApplicationsAbstract of Award
University of Nevada, Reno
Collaborative Human-Robot Interaction
Computer Science and Engineering
Reno, Nevada
Primary: David Feil-Seifer
(775) 784-6469
dave@cse.unr.edu
Secondary: Ashley Ricks
(775) 784-6974
ashleyricks@unr.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: Autonomous underground robotic inspection, socially-appropriate interaction, language-based human-robot collaboration, network management of heterogeneous robotics, paths for dirt cleaning robots
Collaborative Human-Robot InteractionAbstract of Award
Charlotte, North Carolina
Primary: David Wilson
(704) 687-8585
davils@uncc.edu
Secondary: Heather Lipford
(704) 687-8376
heather.lipford@uncc.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: Cyber-physical systems, Internet of Things, makerspace, human computer interaction, visualization, security, networking
Making Future Communities:Infrastructure and Interaction Design for Cyber-Physical SystemsAbstract of Award
Denton, Texas
Primary: Renee Bryce
(940) 565-4176
Renee.Bryce@unt.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: Software assurance, security, emerging technologies, mobile applications
REU Site: Software Assurance and Security in Emerging Technologies: Research Experience for UndergraduatesAbstract of Award
University of North Texas
Data Analytics and Information Retrieval
Information Science Department
Denton, Texas
Primary: Junhua Ding
(940) 565-2186
junhua.ding@unt.edu
Secondary: Jiangping Chen
(940) 369-8393
jiangping.chen@unt.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: Data analytics, information retrieval, information retrieval of text and image collections, information retrieval for disaster research, data analytics for software security
Data Analytics and Information RetrievalAbstract of Award
University of North Texas
Vehicular Edge Computing and Security: Research Experience for Undergraduates
Department of Computer Science and Engineering
Denton, Texas
Primary: Song Fu
(940) 565-2341
song.fu@unt.edu
Secondary: Qing Yang
(940) 565-4899
qing.yang@unt.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: Connected and autonomous vehicles, vehicular edge computing, vehicular sensor data fusion, trustworthy information sharing among vehicles, privacy protection
Vehicular Edge Computing and Security: Research Experience for UndergraduatesAbstract of Award
University of Notre Dame
AWaRE - Advanced Wireless Research Experiences
Electrical Engineering
Notre Dame, Indiana
Primary: Dr. Bertrand Hochwald
(574) 631-8875
bhochwald@nd.edu
Secondary: Tiffanie Sammons
(574) 631-8264
tsammon1@nd.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: Millimeter-wave wireless communications, circuits, antennas, sensing, spectrum, WIFI, networking, robotics, optical, microwave, communication, systems, radar, signal, processing, drones
AWaRE - Advanced Wireless Research ExperiencesAbstract of Award
University of Rochester
Computational Methods for Understanding Music, Media, and Minds
Goergen Institute for Data Science
Rochester, New York
Primary: Ajay Anand
(585) 276-3149
gids-reu@rochester.edu
Secondary: Lisa Altman
(585) 275-5288
lisa.altman@rochester.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: Machine learning, audio engineering, data science, computer vision, music
Computational Methods for Understanding Music, Media, and MindsAbstract of Award
University of South Carolina
Applied Computational Robotics
Department of Computer Science and Engineering
Columbia, South Carolina
Primary: Jason O'Kane
(803) 777-1791
jokane@cse.sc.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: Field robotics, robotic perception and planning, human-robot interaction, security, software engineering
Applied Computational RoboticsAbstract of Award
University of Southern California
REU Site: Research in Interactive Virtual Experiences
Institute for Creative Technologies
Los Angeles, California
Primary: Ron Artstein
(310) 448-0313
artstein@ict.usc.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: Virtual Reality, Human-Computer Interaction, Virtual Humans, Graphics, Natural Language Understanding
REU Site: Research in Interactive Virtual ExperiencesAbstract of Award
University of Southern California
Human Communication in a Connected World
Information Sciences Institute
Marina del Rey, California
Primary: Jelena Mirkovic
(310) 448-9170
sunshine@isi.edu
Secondary: Christophe Hauser
(310) 448-8225
hauser@isi.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: Information flow and structure of social networks, information extraction and summarization, cybersecurity and communication networks and protocols
Human Communication in a Connected WorldAbstract of Award
Cofunded: Department of Defense (DoD)
Los Angeles, California
Primary: Thomas H Jordan
213-821-1237
tjordan@usc.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: object-oriented, open-source, internet- enabled software, interactive, 4D display, earthquake
REU Site: SCEC Undergraduate Studies in Earthquake Information Technology (SCEC/UseIT)Abstract of Award
University of Southern California
Robotics and Autonomous Systems
Computer Science Department
Los Angeles, California
Primary: Nora Ayanian
(213) 740-5377
ayanian@usc.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: Cooperative robotics, bio-inspired robots, robotic networks, socially assistive robots, software-defined radars for UAVs, perception-action-learning systems, autonomy for aquatic robots
Robotics and Autonomous SystemsAbstract of Award
University of South Florida
REU Site on Ubiquitous Sensing
Computer Science and Engineering
Tampa, Florida
Primary: Dr. Miguel A. Labrador
(813) 974-3260
labrador@cse.usf.edu
Secondary: Dr. Yu Sun
(813) 974-7508
yusun@cse.usf.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: Participatory Sensing, Human-Centric Sensing, Location-Based Services
REU Site on Ubiquitous SensingAbstract of Award
University of Texas at Arlington
REU Program at the University of Texas at Arlington: Assistive Technologies for People with Disabilities
Department of Computer Science and Engineering
Arlington, Texas
Primary: Ishfaq Ahmad
(817) 272-3605
iahmad@cse.uta.edu
Secondary: Pam Mcbride
(817) 272-3604
mcbride@cse.uta.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: Assistive technologies, vision, sensors, sign language, facial recognition, emotion and behavior analysis, smart augmented reality, data analytics, robots, human-machine interaction
REU Program at the University of Texas at Arlington: Assistive Technologies for People with DisabilitiesAbstract of Award
University of Texas at Austin
REU Site: Cyberinfrastructure (CI) Research 4 Social Change
Texas Advanced Computing Center (TACC)
Austin, Texas
Primary: Rosalia Gomez
(512) 471-6785
rosie@tacc.utexas.edu
Secondary: Marques Bland
(512) 475-9296
mbland@tacc.utexas.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: High performance computing, visualization, data intensive computing, science, engineering, and computational medicine.
REU Site: Cyberinfrastructure (CI) Research 4 Social ChangeAbstract of Award
Cofunded: Computer and Information Science and Engineering
Show 30 items per page.