Email Print Share

REU Sites

REU Sites: Computer and Information Science and Engineering

Please report errors in the list below by writing to reu.cise@nsf.gov.


Search Again

Show 30 items per page.
REU Sites
Site Information Site Location Contact Information Additional Information
University of Maryland
REU Site: Undergraduate Bioinformatics Research in Data Science for Genomics
Center for Bioinformatics and Computational Biology
College Park, Maryland
Primary: Jacquelyn (Meisel) Michaelis
(301) 405-9782
meiselj@umd.edu
Secondary: Mihai Pop
(301) 405-7245
mpop@umd.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: bioinformatics, computational biology, genomics, metagenomics, machine learning, single-cell RNA sequencing, parallel computing, phylogenomics
REU Site: Undergraduate Bioinformatics Research in Data Science for GenomicsAbstract of Award
College Park, Maryland
Primary: William Gasarch
(301) 503-3157
gasarch@umd.edu
Secondary: John Dickerson
(301) 405-2774
john@umd.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: Machine learning, cryptography, security, allocation problems, quantum computing
CAAR: Combinatorics and Algorithms Applied to Real ProblemsAbstract of Award
University of Maryland, Baltimore County
REU Site: Online Interdisciplinary Big Data Analytics in Science and Engineering
Information Systems
Baltimore, Maryland
Primary: Jianwu Wang
(410) 455-3883
jianwu@umbc.edu
Secondary: Matthias K. Gobbert
(410) 455-2404
gobbert@umbc.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: Online REU, Data Science, Machine Learning, GPU Programing, Parallel Computing, Interdisciplinary Research, Applied AI, Applications in Science & Engineering, Computational Science
REU Site: Online Interdisciplinary Big Data Analytics in Science and EngineeringAbstract of Award
Cofunded: Computer and Information Science and Engineering
Kentucky
Primary: Wei Zhang
wei.zhang@louisville.edu
Secondary: Nihat Altiparmak
nihat.altiparmak@louisville.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: Computing Systems, Data Storage Systems, Parallel and Distributed Systems, Computer Architecture, Embedded Systems, Mobile Systems, Data-Intensive Computing
REU Site: Undergraduate Research Experiences in Computer Systems at University of LouisvilleAbstract of Award
University of Iowa
REU Site: Computing for Health and Well-being
Computer Science
Iowa city, Idaho
Primary: Elizabeth Kleiman
(319) 467-1906
elizabeth-kleiman@uiowa.edu
Secondary: Octav Chipara
(319) 335-0713
octav-chipara@uiowa.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: health care, big data, electronic medical records, sensors mobility ,epidemiology, implants, models ,neurodiversity
REU Site: Computing for Health and Well-beingAbstract of Award
Urbana, IL, Illinois
Primary: Volodymyr Kindratenko
(217) 265-0209
kindrtnk@illinois.edu
Secondary: Olena Kindratenko
(217) 300-0247
kindrat2@illinois.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: Machine Learning (ML), Open-Source Software and ML Models, Artificial Intelligence, ML Applications and Algorithms
REU Site: The future of discovery: training students to build and apply open source machine learning models and toolsAbstract of Award
Cofunded: Computer and Information Science and Engineering
University of Houston
Undergraduate Research Experience in Frontiers of Data-Driven Computing.
Department of Computer Science
Houston, Texas
Primary: Ernst L. Leiss
(713) 743-3359
coscel@cs.uh.edu
Secondary: Stephen Huang
(713) 743-3338
shuang@cs.uh.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: Data-centric computing, data analytics, big data, cybersecurity
Undergraduate Research Experience in Frontiers of Data-Driven Computing.Abstract of Award
University of Florida
REU Site: Secure, Accessible, and Sustainable Transportation
Electrical and Computer Engineering
Gainesville, Florida
Primary: Sandip Roy
(352) 392-1605
sandip@ece.ufl.edu
Secondary: Wanli Xing
(352) 273-3259
Wanli.xing@ece.ufl.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: transportation, security, accessibility, sustainability.
REU Site: Secure, Accessible, and Sustainable TransportationAbstract of Award
University of Connecticut
Trustable Embedded Systems Security Research
Computer Science & Engineering Department, Electrical and Computer Engineering
Storrs, Connecticut
Primary: Omer Khan
(860) 486-2192
khan@uconn.edu
Secondary: Bing Wang
(860) 486-0582
bing@uconn.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: Secure Quantum Crypto; Internet Routing; Communications; Mobile Healthcare; Voting, Neuromorphic and Anti-tamper Systems; Embedded Processors; Authenticated Hardware; System Vulnerability Analysis
Trustable Embedded Systems Security ResearchAbstract of Award
University of Colorado at Colorado Springs
REU Site: Deep Learning: Theory, Concepts and Applications
Colorado
Primary: Jugal Kalita
jkalita@uccs.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: deep learning, machine learning, natural language processing, bioinformatics, computational medicine, computer vision
REU Site: Deep Learning: Theory, Concepts and ApplicationsAbstract of Award
University of Cincinnati
: REU Site: Research Experiences for Undergraduates in Hardware and Embedded Systems Security and Trust (RHEST)
: Department of Electrical Engineering and Computer Science
Cincinnati, Ohio
Primary: Boyang Wang
(513) 556-4785
boyang.wang@uc.edu
Secondary: John M. Emmert
(513) 556-2615
emmertj@ucmail.uc.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: side-channel attacks, fault-injection attacks, reserve engineering, security validation of third-party IP, detection of hardware Trojans
: REU Site: Research Experiences for Undergraduates in Hardware and Embedded Systems Security and Trust (RHEST)Abstract of Award
University of Central Florida
wireless networking, computer vision, and data analytics.
computer Science and Mathematics
Orlando, Florida
Primary: Mubarak Shah
(407) 823-5077
shah@eecs.ucf.edu
Secondary: Niels J da Vitoria Lobo
niels@eecs.ucf.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: computer vision, image processing, image classification, neural networks, deep learning, convolutional neural networks, big data, networking, machine learning
wireless networking, computer vision, and data analytics.Abstract of Award
University of Central Florida
Research for Undergraduates in Computer Vision
Center for Research in Computer Vision
Orlando, Florida
Primary: Mubarak Shah
(407) 823-5077
shah@crcv.ucf.edu
Secondary: Niels Lobo
(407) 823-2873
niels@eecs.ucf.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: Convolutional Neural Networks, Artificial Intelligence, Computer Vision, Deep Learning, Machine Learning, Facial Recognition, Medical AI, Cancer Detection, Autonomous Vehicles, Explainable AI
Research for Undergraduates in Computer VisionAbstract of Award
University of Central Florida
Research Experiences in the Internet of Things
Computer Science Department
Orlando, Florida
Primary: Damla Turgut
(407) 823-6171
turgut@cs.ucf.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: Internet of Things, sensors and actuators, smart grids, smart home, smart healthcare, AR/VR, machine learning, artificial intelligence
Research Experiences in the Internet of ThingsAbstract of Award
University of California - San Diego
REU Site: Engineers for Exploration
California Institute of Telecommunications and Information Technology
San Diego, California
Primary: Ryan Kastner
(858) 534-8908
rkastner@ucsd.edu
Secondary: Curt Schurgers
cschurgers@ucsd.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: Remote sensing, robotics, sensors, system prototyping, field deployments, computer vision, machine learning, digital signal processing
REU Site: Engineers for ExplorationAbstract of Award
University of California - Los Angeles
REU Site: Interactive Systems
Electrical Engineering
Los Angeles, California
Primary: Gregory J. Pottie
(310) 525-8150
pottie@cs.ucla.edu
Secondary: Danijela Cabric
danijela@uclasa.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: inter-active systems, cyber-physical systems,data assisted education, sensing, signal processing,
REU Site: Interactive SystemsAbstract of Award
University of California, Irvine
Cultivating the I0T-enabled Smart Community (IoT-SITY)
Computer Science Department
Irvine, California
Primary: Sharnnia Artis
(949) 824-7134
oai@uci.edu
Secondary: Nalini Venkatasubramanian
(949) 824-8598
nalini@uci.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: Internet-of-things, smart communities, cyberphysical systems, infrastructure resilience, smart manufacturing, smart buildings, IoT networks, IoT data management, machine learning, IoT deployments
Cultivating the I0T-enabled Smart Community (IoT-SITY)Abstract of Award
Berkeley, California
Primary: John F Canny
(510) 642-7750
jfc@cs.berkeley.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: Artificial Intelligence, machine learning, deep learning, biosystems, human-computer interaction, operating systems and networking, energy,security,database management
REU Site: Summer Undergraduate Program in Engineering Research at Berkeley-Responsible Artificial Intelligence (SUPERB-RAI)Abstract of Award
Tucson, Arizona
Primary: Nancy Emptage
(520) 621-6189
emptagen@email.arizona.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: Wireless communication, artificial intelligence, machine learning, signal processing, novel antennas, EM propagations, reliable and secure networking, hardware and circuit design, cognitive algorithms
Long Range Communications, using Ham Radios, Cool Algorithms, and Innovative AntennasAbstract of Award
University of Arizona
REU Site: Cat Vehicle: TheCognitive and Autonomous Test Vehicle
Electrical and Computer Engineering
Tucson, Arizona
Primary: Nancy Emptage
emptagen@ece.arizona.edu
Secondary: Jonathan Sprinkle
(520) 626-0737
sprinkle@ece.arizona.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: Autonomous cars, cognitive radio, model-based design, wireless networks, embedded control systems, sensor fusion, Vehicle to Vehicle (V2V) and Vehicle to Infrastructure (V2I)communications
REU Site: Cat Vehicle: TheCognitive and Autonomous Test VehicleAbstract of Award
University at Buffalo, State University of New York
REU Site: Frontier Technologies in Biometrics and Authentication
Computer science and engineering
Buffalo, New York
Primary: Wenyao Xu
(716) 654-4748
wenyaoxu@buffalo.edu
Secondary: Zhanpeng.lin
(716) 645-1601
zjin@buffalo.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: Biometrics, Cybersecurity, Machine Learning
REU Site: Frontier Technologies in Biometrics and AuthenticationAbstract of Award
Medford, Massachusetts
Primary: Ellise LaMotte
(617) 627-0417
ellise.Lamotte@Tufts.edu
Secondary: Lenore Cowan
(617) 627-2227
lenore.cowan@Tufts.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: Mathematical Sciences, Engineering, Computer and Information
REU Site: DIAMONDS: Directed and Mentored Opportunities in Data ScienceAbstract of Award
Texas State University - San Marcos
REU Site: Research Experiences for Undergraduates in Edge Computing
Computer Science
San Marcos, Texas
Primary: Kecheng Yang
(512) 245-7504
yangk@txstate.edu
Secondary: Anne Ngu
(512) 245-2349
angu@txstate.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: real-time edge computing, wearable edge devices programming, high-performance edge computing, networks resource allocation at the edge, and edge time-series data labeling
REU Site: Research Experiences for Undergraduates in Edge ComputingAbstract of Award
San Marcos, Texas
Primary: Damian Valles
(512) 245-5611
dvalles@txstate.edu
Secondary: Ting Liu
(512) 245-8259
tingliu@txstate.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: Emotion recognition and postural control ML, smart city firefighting, AR/VR for hand washing and movement assessment, cyber tools for multiple sclerosis, children with ASD
REU Site: Undergraduate Research Experiences in Machine Learning, Analytics, and Augmented Reality for Smart and Connected HealthAbstract of Award
Cofunded: Computer and Information Science and Engineering
Texas A&M University - Corpus Christi
Applied Computing Research in Unmanned Aerial Systems (UAS)
Department of Computing Sciences
Corpus Christi, Texas
Primary: Dulal Kar
(361) 825-5878
dulal.kar@tamucc.edu
Secondary: Scot t Alan KIng
(361) 825-5877
scott.king@tamucc.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: Autonomous tracking of shorelines, digital mapping for coastal geoinformatics, protecting UAS against cyberattacks, automatic crop yield protection, exploring needs of next-generation UAS
Applied Computing Research in Unmanned Aerial Systems (UAS)Abstract of Award
Tennessee
Primary: Mohamed Mahmoud
mmahmoud@tntech.edu
Secondary: Syed Rafay Hasan
shasan@tntech.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: Blockchain technology. security Secure communication schemes, mart power grid. Hardwar IoTs,deep learning, Anomaly detection, graph streams. security analysis, IIoT systems. control systems.
REU Site: Secure and Privacy-Preserving Cyber-Physical Systems: Software and Hardware ApproachesAbstract of Award
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Primary: Jamie Payton
(215) 707-7379
jamie.payton@temple.edu
Secondary: Jie Wu
Jie.wu@temple.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: sensing, computation, and communication technologies, smart devices, health monitoring, video, security, wireless networking, computer vision,data analytics.
REU Site: Research Experiences in Pervasive Computing for Smart Health, Safety, and Well-beingAbstract of Award
Stony Brook University
REU Site: Data + Computing = Discovery
Institute for Advanced Computational Science
Stony Brook, New York
Primary: Matt Reuter
(631) 632-2343
matthew.reuter@stonybrook.edu
Secondary: Alan Calder
(631) 632-1176
alan.calder@stonybrook.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: Computational and Data Science, High Performance Computing, Machine Learning, Computer Science, Engineering, Materials Science, Neurobiology, Chemistry, Physics, Digital Arts, Linguistics.
REU Site: Data + Computing = DiscoveryAbstract of Award
Cofunded: Computer and Information Science and Engineering
Brookings, South Dakota
Primary: Stephen Gent
(605) 688-5337
Stephen.Gent@sdstate.edu
Secondary: Jung-Han Kimn
(605) 688-5842
Jung-Han.Kimn@sdstate.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: HPC, Engineered Systems Modeling, Simulation & Optimization, Biological & Medical Sciences, Statistics & Computational Sciences, Responsible Conduct of Research, Professional Development
REU Site: PLAINS (Promoting Leadership in Advanced Research Computing for INterdisciplinary Sectors)Abstract of Award
Cofunded: Computer and Information Science and Engineering, Department of Defense (DoD)
Santa Fe, New Mexico
Primary: Cristopher Moore
moore@santafe.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: Computational modeling, data analysis, simulation, machine learning, theorem proofs, algorithms, network theory, statistics
REU Site: Computational and Mathematical Modeling of Complex SystemsAbstract of Award
Show 30 items per page.