Email Print Share

Search Results for REU Sites

All results for: all sites
Search Again

Show 30 items per page.
Search Results for REU Sites
Site Information Site Location Contact Information Additional Information
North Carolina
Primary: Dr. Richard Forward
(252) 504-7610
rforward@duke.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: marine biology, sensory biology, behavior, ecotoxicology, genetics, coastal systems
Comments: Deadline: February 15, 2017
Duke University Marine Laboratory REU site: Research in estuarine and coastal marine systemsAbstract of Award
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Primary: Allyson O'Donnell
(412) 396-4356
odonne15@duq.edu
Secondary: Sarah Woodley
(412) 396-6320
woodleys@duq.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: biology, biosciences, interdisciplinary research, molecular biology, neuroscience, microbiomes, biochemistry, evolutionary biology.
Comments: Phillip Clarke, Program Coordinator (412-396-4172, clarkep1736@duq.edu)
REU Site: Interdisciplinary biological sciences research and community engaged learning experiences for undergraduatesAbstract of Award
Duquesne University
REU Site: Discovery by Computation, Theory and Experiment
Department of Chemistry and Biochemistry
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Primary: Professor Jeffrey D. Evanseck
(412) 396-6337
evanseck@duq.edu
Secondary: Professor Jeffry D. Madura
(412) 396-4129
madura@duq.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: Combined theory, computation and experimental research; Training on advanced instrumentation; Enriched writing and speaking skills, continued below...
Comments: Continued Research Topics/Keywords: Career development; Ethical behavior and safety training; and Community engagement activities.
Greenville, North Carolina
Primary: Yumin Li
(252) 328-9763
liyu@ecu.edu
Secondary: Shouquan Huo
(252) 328-9784
huos@ecu.edu
Greenville, North Carolina
Primary: Stephanie M. George
(252) 737-2826
georges@ecu.edu
Secondary: Zachary J. Domire
(252) 737-4564
domirez@ecu.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: Biomechanics, Biomedical Engineering, Modeling, Imaging, Undergraduate Research, Mentoring
REU Site: Biomedical Engineering in Simulations, Imaging, and Modeling (BME-SIM)Abstract of Award
Eastern Kentucky University
REU Site: Disturbance Ecology in Central Appalachia
Department of Biological Sciences
Richmond, Kentucky
Primary: David Brown
(859) 622-2283
david.brown@eku.edu
Secondary: Stephen Richter
(859) 622-8688
stephen.richter@eku.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: biology, biosciences, ecology, disturbance, restoration, conservation
REU Site: Disturbance Ecology in Central AppalachiaAbstract of Award
East Tennessee State University
REU Site: Combinatorics, Probability, and Algebraic Coding Theory
Mathematical Sciences
Johnson City, Tennessee
Primary: Anant Godbole
(423) 534-6209
godbolea@etsu.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: Main field(s): Mathematical Sciences; Combinatorics, Finite Fields/Commutative Rings; Probability, and Error Correcting/Detecting Codes (sub-fields).
REU Site: Combinatorics, Probability, and Algebraic Coding TheoryAbstract of Award
Elon University
REU Site: North Carolina A&T State University and Elon University Joint REU in Mathematical Biology
Elon, North Carolina
Primary: Karen Yokley
(336) 278-6603
kyokley@elon.edu
Embry-Riddle Aeronautical University
Cybersecurity Research of Unmanned Aerial Vehicles
Department of Electrical, Computer, Software, and Systems Engineering
Daytona Beach, Florida
Primary: Jiawei Yuan
(386) 226-7344
yuanj@erau.edu
Secondary: Remzi Seker
(386) 226-7409
sekerr@erau.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: Unmanned aerial vehicles, cybersecurity, data privacy, network security, secure UAV control
Cybersecurity Research of Unmanned Aerial VehiclesAbstract of Award
Atlanta, Georgia
Primary: Ken Ono
(404) 727-3636
ono@mathcs.emory.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: Main field: Mathematics; Sub-field: Algebra and Number theory.
Comments: PI's priori REU grants: DMS (0243604, 0354112, 0842560, 1250467, 1557960), DUE 0519428.
REU Site: Arithmetic Geometry and Number Theory at Emory UniversityAbstract of Award
Field Museum of Natural History
REU Site: Evolution of Biodiversity across the Tree of Life
Department of Science and Education
Chicago, Illinois
Primary: Thorsten Lumbsch
(312) 665-7881
tlumbsch@fieldmuseum.org
Secondary: Corrie Moreau
(312) 665-7746
cmoreau@fieldmuseum.org
Research Topics/Keywords: biology, biosciences, evolution, genomics, genetics, microbes, systematics, phylogenetics, paleontology, morphology, conservation biology
REU Site: Evolution of Biodiversity across the Tree of LifeAbstract of Award
Tallahassee, Florida
Primary: Ramesh Katam
(850) 561-2750
ramesh.katam@famu.edu
Secondary: Virginia Gottschalk
(850) 561-2750
virginia.gottschalk@famu.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: biology, biosciences, Genomics, Proteomics, Metabolomics, and Bioinformatics
Comments: Ramesh Katam at ramesh.katam@famu.edu
REU Site: Undergraduate Research Experience in Genomics, Proteomics and BioinformaticsAbstract of Award
Florida Atlantic University
Sensing and Smart Systems
Institute for Sensing and Embedded Network Systems Engineering (I-SENSE)
Boca Raton, Florida
Primary: Jason O. Hallstrom
(561) 297-4748
jhallstrom@fau.edu
Secondary: Andrea Gonzalez
(561) 297-4759
agonzalez@fau.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: IoT security, battery-free computing, emotion sensing, robotic prosthetics, cardiac analysis, traffic control, vehicle-based sensing, data embedding in media, smart energy systems, underwater sensing
Sensing and Smart SystemsAbstract of Award
Florida Atlantic University
REU Site: Removing Barriers to Ocean Current Based Electricity Production through Undergraduate Research
Southeast National Marine Renewable Energy Center
Boca Raton, Florida
Primary: James VanZwieten Jr.
(561) 297-0955
jvanzwi@fau.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: marine renewable energy, ocean current energy, hydrokinetic energy, renewable energy, tidal energy, ocean engineering, mechanical engineering, marine sciences, ocean sciences, green energy, power
REU Site: Removing Barriers to Ocean Current Based Electricity Production through Undergraduate ResearchAbstract of Award
Florida Institute of Technology
REU Site: Advances of Machine Learning in Theory & Applications (AMALTHEA)
Electrical & Computer Engineering
Melbourne, Florida
Primary: Georgios C Anagnostopoulos
(321) 674-7125
georgio@fit.edu
Secondary: Anthony Smith
(321) 674-8425
anthonysmith@fit.edu
Florida International University
REU SITE: Research Experiences for Undergraduates in Advanced Secured Sensor Enabling Technologies
School of Computing and Information Sciences
Miami, Florida
Primary: Niki Pissinou
(305) 348-3716
pissinouci@fiu.edu
Secondary: Kia Makki
(305) 348-3738
makkik@fiu.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: Optimization methods and software for robust, secure, context aware, reconfigurable and adaptable computing systems for emerging multidisciplinary applications
REU SITE: Research Experiences for Undergraduates in Advanced Secured Sensor Enabling TechnologiesAbstract of Award
Miami, Florida
Primary: Rita Teutonico
(305) 345-2719
rteutoni@fiu.edu
Secondary: Todd Crowl
(305) 348-3095
tcrowl@fiu.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: biosciences, ecosystem, ecology, water quality, environment, Everglades, coral reef, aquatic chemistry, coastal, biogoechemistry, CREST, LTER
Comments: Brad Schonhoff (CoastalREU@fiu.edu), Program Manager
REU Site: Understanding Coastal Ecosystems – From the Everglades to theAbstract of Award
Florida International University
REU Site: Security of Smart Things
Electrical and Computer Engineering
Miami, Florida
Primary: Kemal Akkaya
(305) 348-3017
kakkaya@fiu.edu
Secondary: A. Selcuk Uluagac
(305) 348-3710
auluagac@fiu.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: Internet-of-things, cyber-physical systems, security of smart things, security of critical infrastructures, user privacy, cybersecurity, hardware security
REU Site: Security of Smart ThingsAbstract of Award
Florida State University
Sunshine Institute for the Interaction of Light with Matter
Department of Chemistry and Biochemistry
Tallahassee, Florida
Primary: Edwin F. Hilinski
(850) 645-0651
reu@chem.fsu.edu
Secondary: Michael Shatruk
(850) 645-0651
reu@chem.fsu.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: photochemistry, spectroscopy, energy conversion, solar energy, organic synthesis, physical chemistry, materials, photodynamic processes, students with limited research opportunities, veterans
Sunshine Institute for the Interaction of Light with MatterAbstract of Award
Florida State University
REU Site: Retaining Engineers Through Research Entrepreneurship and Advanced Materials Training
computer engineering, industrial engineering,materials and civil engineering
Tallahassee, Florida
Primary: Okenwa O Okoli
(850) 410-6352
okoli@eng.fsu.edu
Secondary: Arda Vanli
(850) 410-6354
oavanli@eng.fsu.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: Advanced materials and entrepreneurship
Comments: In addition to Engineering, the research could also fit under Chemistry, Materials Research, Mathematical Sciences, and Physics, depending on the specific research project involved.
REU Site: Retaining Engineers Through Research Entrepreneurship and Advanced Materials TrainingAbstract of Award
Florida State University
REU Site: Multi-physics of Active Systems and Structures
FAMU-FSU College of Engineering
Tallahassee, Florida
Primary: Chiang Shih
(850) 645-0102
shih@eng.fsu.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: Micro Air Vehicles, robotics, supersonic flows,flow control, aeroacoustics, sensors and actuators, smart materials, thermal management, autonomous control, model and simulation, instrumentation,
REU Site: Multi-physics of Active Systems and StructuresAbstract of Award
Tallahassee, Florida
Primary: Jose A. Sanchez
(850) 645-0033
sanchez@magnet.fsu.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: Materials and phenomena at high magnetic fields
National High Magnetic Field LaboratoryAbstract of Award
Durango, Colorado
Primary: Megan Paciaroni
(970) 274-6753
MePaciaroni@fortlewis.edu
Secondary: Marnie S. Clay
(970) 247-7071
msclay@fortlewis.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: undergraduate research, mentoring, energy, propulsion, combustion, laser diagnostics, nuclear reactors, molecular energy transfer, liquid phase molecular dynamics, environment, ecology
REU Site: Enriching the Undergraduate Research Experience for Native American StudentsAbstract of Award
Greenville, South Carolina
Primary: Karen Buchmueller
(864) 294-2683
karen.buchmueller@furman.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: chemistry
A Research Incubator REU Site in Chemistry at Furman UniversityAbstract of Award
Cofunded: Department of Defense (DoD)
Gallaudet University
Accessible Information and Communications Technology (AICT)
Department of Science, Technology, and Mathematics
Washington, District Of Columbia
Primary: Raja Kushalnagar
(202) 750-2458
raja.kushalnagar@gallaudet.edu
Secondary: Christian Vogler
(202) 250-2795
christian.vogler@gallaudet.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: Accessible computing, human-computer interaction, multimodal interaction, automatic-speech-recognition, automatic-sign-recognition
Accessible Information and Communications Technology (AICT)Abstract of Award
George Mason University
Undergraduate Research in Educational Data Mining
Computer Science Department
Fairfax, Virginia
Primary: Mark Snyder
(703) 993-5624
msnyde14@gmu.edu
Secondary: Huzefa Rangwala
(703) 993-3826
rangwala@cs.gmu.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: Educational data mining, data mining, visualization, learning technologies, data analytics
Undergraduate Research in Educational Data MiningAbstract of Award
Washington, District Of Columbia
Primary: Matthew Hamilton
(202) 687-5924
matthew.hamilton@georgetown.edu
Secondary: Martha Weiss
(202) 687-6549
weissm@georgetown.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: biology, biosciences, environmental science, public policy, ecology, population biology, mathematical modeling, climate change, geoscience
Comments: Program coordinator: Prof. Manus Patten, mmp64@georgetown.edu
REU Site: Environmental science and policy in the nation’s capitalAbstract of Award
Cofunded: Mathematical Sciences
Washington, District Of Columbia
Primary: Prof. Jeffrey Urbach
(202) 687-6594
urbach@physics.georgetown.edu
Secondary: Prof. Amy Liu
(202) 687-6583
liu@physics.georgetown.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: esperimental, computational, and theoretical nanoscale physics, soft matter physics, device physics, biophysics, cold-atom systems
Georgetown University REU Site for Materials PhysicsAbstract of Award
Georgia Institute of Technolgy
REU Site: EBICS: Vita REU Site
Biomedical Engineering
Atlanta, Georgia
Primary: Manu Platt
(404) 894-4819
manu.platt@bme.gatech.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: EBICS Vita
REU Site: EBICS: Vita REU SiteAbstract of Award
Georgia Institute of Technology, NNCI Coordinating Office
National Nanotechnology Coordinated Infrastructure (11 sites)
Georgia
Primary: Nancy Healy
(404) 385-4307
nancy.healy@ien.gatech.edu
Secondary: Leslie O'Neill
(404) 385-7203
leslie.oneill@ien.gatech.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: Nanotechnology, nanoscale science and engineering
Comments: Eleven of the 16 sites of the NNCI have a summer REU program. The focus at each site varies but involves nanoscale science and engineering. The URL will take you to a central location where you can
Show 30 items per page.