Skip to main content
Email Print Share

Search Results for REU Sites

All results for: all sites
Search Again

Site Information Site Location Contact Information Additional Information
Georgia Institute of Technology, NNCI Coordinating Office
National Nanotechnology Coordinated Infrastructure (11 sites)
Georgia
Primary: Nancy Healy
(404) 385-4307
nancy.healy@ien.gatech.edu
Secondary: Leslie O'Neill
(404) 385-7203
leslie.oneill@ien.gatech.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: Nanotechnology, nanoscale science and engineering
Comments: Eleven of the 16 sites of the NNCI have a summer REU program. The focus at each site varies but involves nanoscale science and engineering. The URL will take you to a central location where you can
Georgia Institute of Technology
REU Site: Aquatic Chemical Ecology at Georgia Tech
Biology
Atlanta, Georgia
Primary: Ms. Benita Black
(404) 385-7137
reu.coordinator@biology.gatech.edu
Secondary: Linda E. Green
(404) 385-6517
linda.green@biology.gatech.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: chemical ecology, ecology, ecosystem, marine, ocean, chemical signaling, biogeochemistry, symbiosis, parasite, bioremediation, energy, sensory biology, behavior, reproduction, plankton, benthos, algal
Comments: The Online Application opens in December, and applications are due in mid-February.
Abstract of Award
Georgia Institute of Technology
Civic Data Science
College of Computing
Atlanta, Georgia
Primary: Bistra Dilkina
bdilkina@cc.gatech.edu
Secondary: Chris LeDantec
Ledantec@gatech.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: Data analytics, machine learning, information visualization, optimization applied in areas of civic importance such as social issues, sustainability, environment, urban planning, public safety
Abstract of Award
Statesboro, Georgia
Primary: Karelle Aiken
(912) 478-5238
kaiken@georgiasouthern.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: multidisciplinary projects, professional development; research: biocomposites, drug design, drug delivery, heavy metal sensors, food toxicology, cancer therapy
Statesboro, Georgia
Primary: Valentin Soloiu
(912) 478-2293
vsoloiu@georgiasouthern.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: Renewable Energy, Biofuels Combustion
Abstract of Award
Georgia State University
Research Experiences for Undergraduates at Georgia State University
Department of Chemistry
Atlanta, Georgia
Primary: Monica Liu
(404) 413-3593
zliu18@gsu.edu
Secondary: Suri S. Iyer
(404) 413-3606
siyer@gsu.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: Analytical Chemistry, Inorganic Chemistry, Organic Chemistry, Physical Chemistry, Computational Chemistry & Biochemistry
Georgia Tech Research Corporation
REU Site: Broadening Participation in Undergraduate Research in Physics: A Multi-Institutional REU Program
Department of Physics
Atlanta, Georgia
Primary: Dr. Keith Oden
(404) 385-0418
keith.oden@cos.gatech.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: Physics
Comments: Ethics component.
Abstract of Award
Cofunded: Materials Research
Michigan
Primary: William Dickinson
(616) 331-3745
dickinsw@gvsu.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: Equal Circle Packing, Voting Theory, Graph Theory, Hausdorff Metric Geometry, Outer Billiards, Lie Algebras, Raney Numbers, and the Mathematics of the Games SET and Anti-SET.
Comments: 1262342
Abstract of Award
Muskegon, Michigan
Primary: James McNair
616-331-3987
mcnairja@gvsu.edu
Secondary: Kevin Strychar
616-331-8796
strychak@gvsu.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: Biology, aquatic microbial ecology, carbon biogeochemistry, nutrient cycling, lake/stream metabolism, algal ecology, physiological/genetic determinants of animal behavior, crayfish behavior, ecologica
Abstract of Award
Cambridge, Massachusetts
Primary: Dr. Henry Trae Winter
(617) 495-7400
hwinter@cfa.harvard.edu
Secondary: Dr. Kathy Reeves
(617) 496-7563
kreeves@cfa.harvard.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: Solar Astronomy, space weather, heliosphere, astrophysics,instrumentation
Abstract of Award
Cofunded: Atmospheric and Geospace Sciences, Astronomical Sciences
Petersham, Massachusetts
Primary: Aaron Ellison
978-724-3302
aellison@fas.harvard.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: biology, ecology, environmental, conservation, NEON
Comments: For general information and questions about the program, please email hfapps@fas.harvard.edu.
Abstract of Award
Cambridge, Massachusetts
Primary: Professor David Weitz
(617) 495-2842
Weitz@deas.harvard.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: micromechanics, soft materials, microfluidics
Comments: The MRSEC conducts a summer REU program. Includes participation of pre-college teachers.
Abstract of Award
Cambridge, Massachusetts
Primary: Daniel Weinstock
(617) 496-2599
dweinsto@seas.harvard.edu
Secondary: Michael Brenner
Research Topics/Keywords: Applied Math and Applied Computation
Abstract of Award
Cambridge, Massachusetts
Primary: Kathryn Hollar
(617) 496-7479
hollar@seas.harvard.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: Nano- and microstructures for biology and medicine; microfluidic devices; self-assembled structures
Abstract of Award
Cofunded: Engineering, Department of Defense (DoD)
Harvey Mudd College
REU Site in Computer Systems
Computer Science
Claremont, California
Primary: Zachary Dodds
(909) 607-1813
dodds@cs.hmc.edu
Secondary: Julie Medero
(909) 621-8072
julie@cs.hnc.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: intelligent music software, natural language processing, vision-based learning in robotics
Abstract of Award
Toppenish, Washington
Primary: Kazuhiro Sonoda
(509) 865-8584
Sonoda_k@heritage.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: Microbiology, plant pathology, plant evolution, DNA barcoding, molecular ecology, fisheries biology
Comments: Coordinator/contact Nina Barcenas.
Abstract of Award
Hofstra University
Undergraduate Research in Computational Data Analytics for Advancing Human Services
Department of Information Systems and Business Analytics
Hempstead, New York
Primary: Lian Duan
(516) 463-4220
lian.duan@hofstra.edu
Secondary: Songhua Xu
(973) 596-5815
songhua.xu@njit.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: Environmental cancer risk study, adverse drug reaction detection, personalized coupon in super markets, technology and psychological well-being, personalized educational system
Abstract of Award
Holland, Michigan
Primary: Kenneth L Brown
616-395-7173
brownk@hope.edu
Secondary: Graham F Peaslee
616-395-7117
peaslee@hope.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: chemistry, biochemistry
Abstract of Award
Howard University
REU Site in Physics at Howard University
Deaprtment of Physics
Washington, District Of Columbia
Primary: Dr. Prabhakar Misra
(202) 806-6251
pmisra@howard.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: Computational and Experimental Nanophysics and Condensed Matter Physics, Materials Physics, Mathematical Physics, Optics and Laser Spectroscopy
Abstract of Award
Cofunded: Education and Human Resources
Arcata, California
Primary: Matthew Johnson
(707) 826-3218
mdj6@humboldt.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: biology, biosciences, natural resources, fisheries, wildlife, forestry, ecology, conservation, water
Abstract of Award
Idaho State University
REU Site for Applied Nuclear Physics
Department of Physics
Pocatello, Idaho
Primary: Professor Stephen L. Shropshire
208 282-2212
shropshi@physics.isu.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: Accelerator, Nuclear and Material Science Facilities
Abstract of Award
Illinois Institute of Biomedical Science
REU Site: Summer Engineering Research Experiences in Diabetes for Undergraduates
Pritzker Institute of Biomedical Science
Chicago, Illinois
Primary: Eric Brey
(312) 567-5098
brey@iit.edu
Secondary: Vincent Turitto
(312) 567-3035
turitto@iit.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: Diabetes
Abstract of Award
Illinois Institute of Technology & University of Chicago
BigDataX: From Theory to Practice in Big Data Computing at Extreme Scales
Computer Science & Computation Institute
Chicago, Illinois
Primary: Ioan Raicu
(847) 722-0876
iraicu@cs.iit.edu
Secondary: Gruia Calinescu
(312) 567-5273
calinesc@cs.iit.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: Systems and Theory in distributed systems (cluster/grid/cloud/supercomputing), HPC/MTC/HTC, many-core computing, big data, storage systems, parallel programming languages, run-time systems, scheduling
Abstract of Award
Normal, Illinois
Primary: Saad El-Zanati
(309) 438-5765
saad@ilstu.edu
Secondary: David Baker
Research Topics/Keywords: Discrete Mathematics
Comments: The Illinois State University REU is an eight-week summer research experience for 8 pre-service and 4 in-service secondary mathematics teachers.
Abstract of Award
Incorporated Research Institutions for Seismology
Undergraduate Summer Research in Seismology
District Of Columbia
Primary: Michael Hubenthal
(607) 777-4612
hubenth@iris.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: Seismology
Abstract of Award
Indianapolis, Indiana
Primary: Dr. Mangilal Agarwal
(317) 278-9792
agarwal@iupui.edu
Secondary: Dr. Yogesh Joglekar
(317) 274-6911
yojoglek@iupui.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: Nanomaterials, Nanofabrication, Nanobiosensors, Li-ion Batteries, Fuel Cells, Micro/Nanofluidics, Paper-based Analytical Devices, Nanophotonics, Phase Change Magnetic Nanomaterials
Abstract of Award
Indianapolis, Indiana
Primary: Julia Arciero
(317) 274-6998
jarciero@math.iupui.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: Applied Mathematics, Medicine, Physics, and Inverse Problems.
Abstract of Award
Bloomington, Indiana
Primary: Stephen C. Jacobson
(812) 855-6620
jacobson@indiana.edu
Secondary: Sara E. Skrabalak
(812) 856-1892
sskrabal@indiana.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: chemistry, materials chemistry, materials, nano, nanoscience, nanotechnology, analytical, synthesis, physical, chemical biology, multidisciplinary projects, assembly
Bloomington, Indiana
Primary: Laura Hurley
lhurley@indiana.edu
Secondary: CISAB
(812) 855-9663
cisab@indiana.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: biology, animal behavior, psychology, anthropology, genetics, neuroscience
Comments: Point of contact: CISAB (812) 855-9663 cisab@indiana.edu
Abstract of Award
Cofunded: Social, Behavioral, and Economic Sciences, Ethics and Values Studies
Indiana University
REU Site in Physics at Indiana University
Department of Physics
Bloomington, Indiana
Primary: Professor John Carini
(812) 855-4359
physreu@indiana.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: Experimental and theoretical research in aatrophysics, biophysics, condensed matter physics, elementary particle physics, materials physics and nuclear physics.
Abstract of Award