Email Print Share

REU Sites

REU Sites: Department of Defense (DoD)

Through its Awards to Stimulate and Support Undergraduate Research Experiences (ASSURE) Program, the U.S. Department of Defense (DoD) supports undergraduate research in DoD-relevant disciplines. For this purpose, since FY2003, DoD has contributed several million dollars per year (through an interagency agreement with NSF) to support particular REU Sites that focus on research relevant to DoD's interests. The Sites below, though managed by NSF, are supported by funds from DoD's ASSURE program. Most of these REU-ASSURE Sites are jointly funded by NSF and DoD; a few are entirely funded by DoD. (Each of these Sites is also listed in the "Search for an REU Site" directory of the NSF research unit/discipline that manages the REU-ASSURE Site award.)

Please report errors in the list below by writing to reu.coord@nsf.gov.


Search Again

REU Sites
Site Information Site Location Contact Information Additional Information
University of Wisconsin-Madison
University of Wisconsin-Madison
Dept of Astronomy/Dept of Physics
Madison, Wisconsin
Primary: Dr. Audra Hernandez
(608) 262-3071
reu@astro.wisc.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: astronomy, astrophysics, space physics, space science, instrumentation, atmospheric physics
Abstract of Award
Cofunded: Department of Defense (DoD)
Toledo, Ohio
Primary: Dr. Richard Irving, Jr.
(419) 530-2589
rirving@utoledo.edu
Secondary: Professor Thomas Kvale
(419) 530-2980
thomas.kvale@utoledo.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: Physics (AMO), Condensed Matter, Photovoltaics, Material Science, Astronomy/Astrophysics, medical/health/biological physics and Plasma Physics
Comments: Ethics component
Abstract of Award
Cofunded: Department of Defense (DoD)
University of Southern California
Human Communication in a Connected World
Information Sciences Institute
Marina del Rey, California
Primary: Jelena Mirkovic
(310) 448-9170
sunshine@isi.edu
Secondary: Christophe Hauser
(310) 448-8225
hauser@isi.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: Information flow and structure of social networks, information extraction and summarization, cybersecurity and communication networks and protocols
Abstract of Award
Cofunded: Department of Defense (DoD)
University of Rochester
REU Site in Physics and Astrophysics at Rochester
Department of Physics and Astronomy
Rochester, New York
Primary: Connie Jones
(585) 275-5306
connie@pas.rochester.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: Physics Optics including: particle, nuclear, cosmic ray physics, optics, quantum optics, condensed matter, biological, plasma, astrophysics and geophysics.
Abstract of Award
Cofunded: Department of Defense (DoD)
University of Northern Iowa
Interdisciplinary Research Experience in Hyperspectral Imaging (IDREHSI)
GeoInformatics Training, Research, Education, and Extension Center
Cedar Falls, Iowa
Primary: Dr. Bingqing Liang
(319) 273-3609
bingqing.liang@uni.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: Hyperspectral Imaging and Chemistry, Earth Science, Environmental Science, Biology, Forestry, Physics,Chemistry, Computer Science, Geographic Information Science (GISc).
Abstract of Award
Cofunded: Department of Defense (DoD)
Grand Forks, North Dakota
Primary: Ronald Marsh
(701) 777-4013
rmarsh@cs.und.edu
Secondary: David Whalen
(701) 777-3558
whalen@space.und.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: Image processing/superresolution, communications cybersecurity, safety critical system model based validation, system engineering validation, distribution data processing on a cluster of space craft
Abstract of Award
Cofunded: Computer and Information Science and Engineering, Department of Defense (DoD)
University of Missouri
REU Site: Summer Research Projects in Neuroscience
College of Arts & Sciences and College of Engineering
Columbia, Missouri
Primary: Satish Nair
(573) 882-2964
nairs@missouri.edu
Secondary: David Schulz
(573) 882-4067
schulzd@missouri.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: biology, biosciences, neuroscience, computational methods
Abstract of Award
Cofunded: Department of Defense (DoD)
260 miles north of Ann Arbor, Michigan
Primary: Dr. David Karowe
(269) 387-5630
karowe@wmich.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: Ecology & Atmospheric Sciences: Global Change, Botany, Zoology, Biogeochemistry, Chemistry, Physics, Meteorology
Comments: Interdisciplinary program focused on the ecological and atmospheric causes and consequences of global change
Abstract of Award
Cofunded: Biological Sciences, Earth Sciences
University of Kentucky
REU Site: Summer Program in the Biochemical Sciences
Molecular and Cellular Biochemistry
Lexington, Kentucky
Primary: Trevor Creamer
859-323-6037
Trevor.Creamer@uky.edu
Secondary: Rebecca Dutch
859-323-1795
rdutc2@uky.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: biochemistry, molecular biology, cell biology, structural biology, biophysics
Abstract of Award
Cofunded: Department of Defense (DoD), Chemistry
University of Florida
Undergraduate Research in Intelligent Multimodal Human-Computer Interaction
Computer & Information Science & Engineering
Gainesville, Florida
Primary: Kristy Boyer
keboyer@ufl.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: Virtual agents for teaching and training; voice interfaces, dialogue, spherical displays, and brain-computer interfaces; digital games for physical activity and for learning problem solving
Abstract of Award
Cofunded: Department of Defense (DoD)
Gainesville, Florida
Primary: Professor Selman Hershfield
(352) 392-9387
selman@phys.ufl.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: Materials physics
Abstract of Award
Cofunded: Department of Defense (DoD)
University of Central Florida
Research for Undergraduates in Computer Vision
Center for Research in Computer Vision
Orlando, Florida
Primary: Mubarak Shah
(407) 823-5077
shah@crcv.ucf.edu
Secondary: Niels Lobo
(407) 823-2873
niels@eecs.ucf.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: Computer Vision
Abstract of Award
Cofunded: Department of Defense (DoD)
Tucson, Arizona
Primary: Dr. Katerina Dontsova
(601) 868-0279
dontsova@email.arizona.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: Earth system science, environmental science, ecology, hydrology, geosciences, soil science,
Abstract of Award
Cofunded: Department of Defense (DoD)
University of Arizona
REU Site: Cognitive and Autonomous Test (CAT) Vehicle
Electrical and Computer Engineering
Tucson, Arizona
Primary: Nancy Emptage
emptagen@ece.arizona.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: Autonomous cars, cognitive radio, model-based design, wireless networks, embedded control systems, sensor fusion, Vehicle to Vehicle (V2V) and Vehicle to Infrastructure (V2I)communications
Abstract of Award
Cofunded: Department of Defense (DoD)
South Dakota School of Mines and Technology
REU Site: Back to the Future II
Mat/Met Engineering
Rapid City, South Dakota
Primary: Prof. Michael K West
(605) 394-1283
michael.west@sdsmt.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: Metallurgical engineering, materials science, materials engineering
Abstract of Award
Cofunded: Department of Defense (DoD), Engineering
Rutgers University
Research Internships in Ocean Sciences
Institute of Marine and Coastal Sciences
New Brunswick, New Jersey
Primary: Gary Taghon
taghon@marine.rutgers.edu
Secondary: Lillian Lee
(732) 932-6555
rios@marine.rutgers.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: marine and estuarine science, oceanography, ecology, fish biology, geophysics, remote sensing, microbiology, geochemistry
Comments: The application website is available in January and the deadline for applications is usually mid-March.
Abstract of Award
Cofunded: Department of Defense (DoD)
Piscataway, New Jersey
Primary: Lazaros Gallos
(848) 445-0075
lgallos@dimacs.rutgers.edu
Secondary: Rebecca Wright
(848) 445-2001
rebecca.wright@rutgers.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: Discrete mathematics, computer science, statistics, biomathematics, biomedical applications, homeland security applications
Abstract of Award
Cofunded: Department of Defense (DoD)
Malibu, California
Primary: Jay Brewster
(310) 506-4321
Jay.Brewster@pepperdine.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: ecology, cell biology, molecular biology, botany, genetics, cellular stress
Comments: Co-PI is co-PI (Dr. Rodney L. Honeycutt at rodney.honeycutt@pepperdine.edu
Abstract of Award
Cofunded: Department of Defense (DoD)
Oregon
Primary: Itchung Cheung
Itchung.Cheung@oregonstate.edu
Secondary: Kaplan Yalcin
(541) 737-1230
YalcinK@science.orgeonstate.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: marine and estuarine science, ocean ecology and biogeochemistry, marine geology, physical oceanography and geophysics, atmospheric science, paleoclimatology, environmental geochemistry
Comments: This site has two locations; one at HMSC in Newport, OR and another on the main OSU campus in Corvallis. The joint application website opens in January, and applications are due in mid-February.
Abstract of Award
Cofunded: Department of Defense (DoD)
MIT Haystack Observatory
MIT Haystack Observatory
MIT Haystack Observatory
Westford, Massachusetts
Primary: Mary Reynolds
(781) 981-5410
mreynolds@haystack.mit.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: Astrophysics, Solar and heliospheric science, Informatics
Comments: REU 2017 offers: • Hands-on research experience • Seminars • Activities • Housing • Stipend APPLICATION DEADLINE FEBRUARY 8, 2017 For further information, please contact reuhaystack@hayst
Cofunded: Atmospheric and Geospace Sciences, Department of Defense (DoD)
Michigan State University
iCER ACRES: Advanced Computational Research Experience for Students
Inst. for Cyber-Enabled Research (iCER) and Dept of Computational Math, Science, & Engg. (CMSE)
Lansing, Michigan, Michigan
Primary: Kenneth Merz Jr.
(517) 353-1123
kmerz1@gmail.com
Secondary: Brian O’Shea
(517) 884-5638
oshea@msu.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: Computational & data science, high performance computing, parallel solvers, computational chemistry, mathematics, biology, astrophysics, big data science and cyberinfrastructure
Abstract of Award
Cofunded: Computer and Information Science and Engineering, Department of Defense (DoD)
Cambridge, Massachusetts
Primary: Kathryn Hollar
(617) 496-7479
hollar@seas.harvard.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: Nano- and microstructures for biology and medicine; microfluidic devices; self-assembled structures
Abstract of Award
Cofunded: Engineering, Department of Defense (DoD)
Greenville, South Carolina
Primary: Karen Buchmueller
(864) 294-2683
karen.buchmueller@furman.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: chemistry
Abstract of Award
Cofunded: Department of Defense (DoD)
Florida International University
REU SITE: Research Experiences for Undergraduates in Advanced Secured Sensor Enabling Technologies
School of Computing and Information Sciences
Miami, Florida
Primary: Niki Pissinou
(305) 348-3716
pissinouci@fiu.edu
Secondary: Kia Makki
(305) 348-3738
makkik@fiu.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: Optimization methods and software for robust, secure, context aware, reconfigurable and adaptable computing systems for emerging multidisciplinary applications
Abstract of Award
Cofunded: Department of Defense (DoD)
Durham, North Carolina
Primary: Christiana Gooden
919-660-1506
casmm-reu@chem.duke.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: chemistry, materials
Abstract of Award
Cofunded: Department of Defense (DoD)
Columbus State University
An REU Site on Security for Mobile Sensing
TSYS School of Computer Science
Columbus, Georgia
Primary: Alfredo J. Perez
(706) 507-8194
perez_alfredo@columbusstate.edu
Secondary: Yesem Kurt-Peker
(706) 507-8187
peker_yesem@columbusstate.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: Security, privacy, mobile sensing
Abstract of Award
Cofunded: Department of Defense (DoD)
College of Staten Island (City University of New York)
REU Site: In Computational Methods in High Performance Computing with Applications to Computer Science
Computer Science
Staten Island, New York
Primary: Louis Petingi
(718) 982-2844
louis.petingi@csi.cuny.edu
Secondary: Xiaowen Zhang
(718) 982-3262
xiaowen.zhang@csi.cuny.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: Network reliability,Cryptography, and network security,Wireless ad-hoc, and sensor networks, Large-scale and complex system modeling and simulation, Image processing.
Abstract of Award
Cofunded: Computer and Information Science and Engineering, Department of Defense (DoD)
Carnegie Mellon University
Robotics and Intelligent Systems Scholars
Robotics Institute
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Primary: Rachel Burcin
(412) 268-4272
rburcin@andrew.cmu.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: Artificial intelligence, aerial robotics, autonomous navigation, field robotics, human-robot interaction, machine learning, manipulation, medical robotics, mobile robots, motion planning, multi-agent
Abstract of Award
Cofunded: Department of Defense (DoD)
California State Polytechnic University, Pomona
REU Site: Research Experience for Undergraduates in UAV Technologies
Aerospace Engineering
Pomona, California
Primary: Dr. Subodh Bhandari
(909) 869-2612
sbhandari@cpp.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: Unmanned Aerial Vehicles (UAV) Technologies, Intelligent Control of UAVs, Sense & Avoid, GPS-Denied Navigation, Multi-Vehicle Control, Multi-UAV Collaboration, Human Machine Interface
Abstract of Award
Cofunded: Department of Defense (DoD)
Boston, Massachusetts
Primary: Thomas Gilmore
(617) 353-2020
gilmore@bu.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: Biology; Genes: Environment; Genomics; Molecular Biology; Environmental Studies; Evolution
Comments: Tina Fresta, urop@bu.edu, 617-353-2020
Abstract of Award
Cofunded: Department of Defense (DoD)