Skip to main content
Email Print Share

REU Sites

REU Sites: Mathematical Sciences

Please report errors in the list below by writing to reu.dms@nsf.gov.


Search Again

Site Information Site Location Contact Information Additional Information
Williams College
The Williams College SMALL REU Program
Department of Mathematics and Statistics
Williamstown, Massachusetts
Primary: Steven Miller
(413) 597-2438
sjm1@williams.edu
Secondary: Cesar Silva
Research Topics/Keywords: Mathematics and statistics; algebra, analysis, ergodic theory, geometry, knot theory, mathematical biology, mathematical physics, number theory, probability, statistics, topology
Abstract of Award
Salem, Oregon
Primary: Joshua Laison
(503) 370-6689
jlaison@willamette.edu
Secondary: Erin McNicholas
Research Topics/Keywords: Ring and matrix algebra, statistics and random processes, graph theory and combinatorics
Abstract of Award
Winston-Salem, North Carolina
Primary: Jeremy Rouse
(336) 758-4159
rouseja@wfu.edu
Secondary: Katherine Thompson
Research Topics/Keywords: Number theory; elementary number theory, elliptic curves, quadratic forms, modular forms, and algebraic number theory.
Abstract of Award
Valparaiso, Indiana
Primary: Lara Pudwell
(219) 464-5414
reu.math@valpo.edu
Secondary: Alexander Capaldi
Research Topics/Keywords: Mathematics, including combinatorics, biomathematics, and statistics
Abstract of Award
La Crosse, Wisconsin
Primary: Eric Alan Eager
(608) 785-6608
eeager@uwlax.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: Mathematical and Theoretical Ecology
Abstract of Award
University of Washington Bothell
REU Site at University of Washington Bothell
Seattle, Washington
Primary: Jennifer McLoud-Mann
(425) 352-3475
jmcloud@uw.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: Mathematics (both pure and applied topics)
Abstract of Award
University of Washington
Inverse Problems
Mathematics
Seattle, Washington
Primary: James A. Morrow
(206) 543-1161
morrow@math.washington.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: Inverse Problems, Network Theory
Abstract of Award
Tyler, Texas
Primary: David Milan
(903) 566-7198
dmilan@uttyler.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: combinatorics on words, network reliability, and chemical graph theory
Comments: 1359101
Abstract of Award
Wilmington, North Carolina
Primary: Cuixian Chen
(910) 962-3686
chenc@uncw.edu
Secondary: Yishi Wang
Research Topics/Keywords: Statistics, Statistical Learning and Data Mining
Abstract of Award
Greensboro, North Carolina
Primary: Jan Rychtar
(336) 334-5836
rychtar@uncg.edu
Secondary: Olav Rueppell
Research Topics/Keywords: Mathematics, mathematical biology
Abstract of Award
Duluth, Minnesota
Primary: Joseph Gallian
(218) 726-7576
jgallian@d.umn.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: Combinatorics, Number Theory
Abstract of Award
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Primary: Victor Reiner
reiner@math.umn.edu
Secondary: Dennis Stanton
stanton@math.umn.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: Combinatorics
Comments: 1001933
Abstract of Award
University of Michigan Dearborn
REU Site: Mathematical Analysis and Applications
Mathematics
Dearborn, Michigan
Primary: Yunus Zeytuncu
(313) 583-5178
zeytuncu@umich.edu
Secondary: Hyejin Kim
Research Topics/Keywords: Mathematics
Abstract of Award
University of Maryland, Baltimore County (UMBC)
REU Site: Interdisciplinary Program in High Performance Computing
Department of Mathematics and Statistics
Baltimore, Maryland
Primary: Dr. Matthias Gobbert
(410) 455-2404
gobbert@umbc.edu
Secondary: Dr. Nagaraj Neerchal
(410) 455-2437
nagaraj@umbc.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: Mathematics and Statistics; Scientific and Parallel Computing.
Abstract of Award
University of Houston-Downtown
REU Site: Applied Math Research Experience -- Theory, Applications, and Numerics
Houston, Texas
Primary: You-Sha Chan
(713) 226-5567
ChanY@uhd.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: Applied Mathematics, Partial Differential Equations
Abstract of Award
University of Connecticut Health Center
REU Site: Modeling and Simulation in Systems Biology
Farmington, Connecticut
Primary: Reinhard Laubenbacher
(860) 679-3783
laubenbacher@uchc.edu
Secondary: Martha Paola Vera-Licona
Research Topics/Keywords: Mathematics, Mathematical Biology.
Abstract of Award
University of Connecticut
Mathematics REU at UConn.
Mathematics
Storrs, Connecticut
Primary: Luke Rogers
(860) 486-3923
uconnmathreu@gmail.com
Secondary: Alexander Teplyaev
Research Topics/Keywords: Mathematics (theoretical/applied/computational/education).
Comments: 1262929
Abstract of Award
University of Chicago
The University of Chicago Mathematics REU
Mathematics
Chicago, Illinois
Primary: J. Peter May
may@math.uchicago.edu
Secondary: Jitka Stehnova
Research Topics/Keywords: Geometry, topology, number theory, discrete mathematics, probability, analysis, logic, etc. Participants write papers on topics they choose themselves, with guidance from mentors.
Abstract of Award
University of California Los Angeles
REU Site: Mathematical Modeling at UCLA
Mathematics
Los Angeles, California
Primary: Marcus Roper
(310) 825-1087
mroper@math.ucla.edu
Secondary: Andrea Bertozzi
Research Topics/Keywords: Mathematics; Sub-fields: Computational and Applied Mathematics, Math Biology
Abstract of Award
College Station, Texas
Primary: J. Maurice Rojas
(979) 845-7554
rojas@math.tamu.edu
Secondary: Anne Shiu
annejls@math.tamu.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: 1st Program involves math bio with emphasis on applications to complex ecosystems, infectious and other diseases. 2nd: theory and application of wavelets. 3rd: comp algebra and algebraic geometry.
Abstract of Award
St. Mary's College of Maryland
Emerging Scholars Research Experience for Undergraduates
Mathematics
St. Mary's City, Maryland
Primary: Sandy Ganzell
(240) 895-4371
sganzell@smcm.edu
Secondary: Casey Douglas
Research Topics/Keywords: Mathematics: Image Analysis, Epidemiological Modeling, Knot Theory, Discrete Geometry, Graph Theory.
Abstract of Award
Seattle, Washington
Primary: Allison Henrich
(206) 296-5922
henricha@seattleu.edu
Secondary: Steven Klee
Research Topics/Keywords: Combinatorics, Knot Theory, Geometry
Abstract of Award
San Diego, California
Primary: Vadim Ponomarenko
(619) 594-6176
vponomarenko@mail.sdsu.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: Mathematics, and closely related fields.
Abstract of Award
Rochester Institute of Technology
REU Site: Summer Undergraduate Research for Students who are Deaf or Hard-of-Hearing in Applying Mathematical and Statistical Methods to Problems from the Sciences
Mathematics and Statistics
Rochester, New York
Primary: Bonnie Jacob
(585) 475-2275
bcjntm@rit.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: Mathematics and Statistics applied to Chemistry, Astrophysics, Biochemistry, Science Education, Survey Analysis
Abstract of Award
Rochester, New York
Primary: Darren Narayan
(585) 475-7525
dansma@rit.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: Graph Theory, Dynamical Systems
Abstract of Award
West Lafayette, Indiana
Primary: Edray Goins
(323) 251-7198
egoins@math.purdue.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: Algebraic Geometry, Probability, Number Theory.
Abstract of Award
Oregon State University
Undergraduate Research Experience in Statistics
Statistics
Corvallis, Oregon
Primary: Javier Rojo
(541) 737-3366
stat-reu@oregonstate.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: Main fields: Probability and Statistics. Subfields: Dimension reduction (big data), Random matrices, Survival analysis with high dimensional data, extreme value theory.
Comments: NSF Award Number 1560460
Abstract of Award
Ohio State University
REU Site: A Distributed REU in the Mathematical Biosciences
Office of Sponsored Programs
Columbus, Ohio
Primary: Martin Golubitsky
mg@mbi.osu.edu
Secondary: Catherine Calder
(614) 688-0004
calder@stat.osu.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: Mathematical biology
Abstract of Award
NC State University
REU Site: Modeling and Industrial Applied Mathematics
Department of Mathematics
Raleigh, North Carolina
Primary: Aloysius Helminck
(919) 515-7720
loek@ncsu.edu
Secondary: Hien Tran
(919) 515-8782
tran@ncsu.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: Modeling, Industrial Applied Mathematics
Abstract of Award
Allentown, Pennsylvania
Primary: Eugene Fiorini
(484) 664-3355
efiorini@muhlenberg.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: Number Theory, Combinatorics, and Graph Theory
Abstract of Award