Email Print Share

REU Sites

REU Sites: Mathematical Sciences

Please report errors in the list below by writing to reu.dms@nsf.gov.


Search Again

Show 30 items per page.
REU Sites
Site Information Site Location Contact Information Additional Information
Worcester Polytechnic Institute
REU Program in Industrial Mathematics and Statistics
Mathematical Sciences
Worcester, Massachusetts
Primary: Burt Tilley
(508) 831-6664
tilley@wpi.edu
Secondary: Stephan Sturm
Research Topics/Keywords: Industrial Mathematics, Financial Math, and Statistics.
Comments: Renewal of previously funded REU site (DMS-126327)
REU Program in Industrial Mathematics and StatisticsAbstract of Award
Williams College
The Williams College SMALL REU Program
Department of Mathematics and Statistics
Williamstown, Massachusetts
Primary: Steven Miller
(413) 597-2438
sjm1@williams.edu
Secondary: Cesar Silva
Research Topics/Keywords: Mathematics and statistics; algebra, analysis, ergodic theory, geometry, knot theory, mathematical biology, mathematical physics, number theory, probability, statistics, topology
The Williams College SMALL REU ProgramAbstract of Award
Collegeville, Pennsylvania
Primary: Nicholas Scoville
(610) 409-3118
nscoville@ursinus.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: Number theory, topology, Machine learning, analysis, algebra. Subfields: Partition identities, tame filling functions, everywhere surjective functions, persistent homology, and discrete Morse theory.
Comments: Original Awd 1003972
REU SITE: Exploration and Professional Excellence in the Mathematical SciencesAbstract of Award
La Crosse, Wisconsin
Primary: James Peirce
(608) 785-6604
jpeirce@uwlax.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: Mathematical and Theoretical Ecology
REU Site: Ecological Modeling of the Mississippi River BasinAbstract of Award
Charlottesville, Virginia
Primary: Ken Ono
(434) 924-4911
ken.ono691@virginia.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: Main field: Mathematics; Sub-field: Algebra and Number theory.
Comments: PI's priori REU grants: DMS (0243604, 0354112, 0842560, 1250467, 1557960), DUE 0519428.
REU Site: Arithmetic Geometry and Number Theory at the University of VirginiaAbstract of Award
Chattanooga, Tennessee
Primary: Andrew Ledoan
(423) 425-2755
Andrew-Ledoan@utc.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: Mathematical analysis, number theory, probability theory, dynamical systems, and mathematical biology
REU Site: Research Training for Undergraduates in Mathematical Analysis with Applications in Allied FieldsAbstract of Award
Chicago, Illinois
Primary: J. Peter May
may@math.uchicago.edu
Secondary: Jitka Stehnova
stehnova@math.uchicago.edu
University of California Santa Barbara
UCSB Mathematics Summer Research Program for Undergraduates
Mathematics
Santa Barbara, California
Primary: Maria Isabel Bueno Cachadina
(805) 703-3258
mbueno@ucsb.edu
Secondary: Karel Casteels
Research Topics/Keywords: Main field(s) and subfield(s) of the research: Linear Algebra, Matrix Analysis, Numerical Linear Algebra, Graph Theory, Combinatorics.
Comments: Renewal of 1358884
UCSB Mathematics Summer Research Program for UndergraduatesAbstract of Award
University of California Los Angeles
REU Site: Mathematical Modeling at UCLA
Mathematics
Los Angeles, California
Primary: Marcus Roper
(310) 825-1087
mroper@math.ucla.edu
Secondary: Andrea Bertozzi
Research Topics/Keywords: Mathematics; Sub-fields: Computational and Applied Mathematics, Math Biology
REU Site: Mathematical Modeling at UCLAAbstract of Award
University of California Los Angeles
Research in Industrial Projects for Students (RIPS)
Mathematical Sciences
Los Angeles, California
Primary: Dimi Mavalski
(310) 825-4755
rips@ipam.ucla.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: Applied Mathematics, Data Analysis, Coding
Research in Industrial Projects for Students (RIPS)Abstract of Award
Texas State University
REU Site: Algebra, Combinatorics, and Statistics
Mathematical Sciences
San Marcos, Texas
Primary: Yong Yang
(512) 245-3742
yang@txstate.edu
Secondary: Thomas Keller
Research Topics/Keywords: Algebra, Combinatorics, and Statistics
REU Site: Algebra, Combinatorics, and StatisticsAbstract of Award
College Station, Texas
Primary: J. Maurice Rojas
(979) 845-7554
rojas@math.tamu.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: Mathematical Sciences and their Applications
Comments: Contact for Applicants: Ms. Donna Hoffman donna@math.tamu.edu (979) 862-4306
REU Site: Undergraduate Research in the Mathematical Sciences and their ApplicationsAbstract of Award
St. Mary's College of Maryland
Emerging Scholars Research Experience for Undergraduates
Mathematics
St. Mary's City, Maryland
Primary: Sandy Ganzell
(240) 895-4371
sganzell@smcm.edu
Secondary: Casey Douglas
Research Topics/Keywords: Mathematics: Image Analysis, Epidemiological Modeling, Knot Theory, Discrete Geometry, Graph Theory.
Emerging Scholars Research Experience for UndergraduatesAbstract of Award
San Diego, California
Primary: Vadim Ponomarenko
(619) 594-6176
vponomarenko@mail.sdsu.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: Mathematics, and closely related fields.
Comments: Renewal of REU site previously NSF 1556480.
REU Site: San Diego State University Mathematics Research Experience for UndergraduatesAbstract of Award
Terre Haute, Indiana
Primary: Dennis Tarrant & Kenji Kozai
(812) 877-8144
kozai@rose-hulman.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: Mathematics (mathematical biology, cryptography, financial mathematics, and topology)
REU Site: Rose-Hulman Undergraduate Research Experience in MathematicsAbstract of Award
Rochester, New York
Primary: Bonnie Jacob
(585) 475-2275
bcjntm@rit.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: Mathematics and Statistics applied to Chemistry, Astrophysics, Biochemistry, Science Education, Survey Analysis
REU Site: Summer Undergraduate Research for Students who are Deaf or Hard-of-Hearing in Applying Mathematical and Statistical Methods to Problems from the SciencesAbstract of Award
West Lafayette, Indiana
Primary: Edray Goins
(323) 251-7198
edray.goins@pomona.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: Algebraic Geometry, Probability, Number Theory.
Comments: Renewal of 1560394
REU Site: Purdue Research in Mathematics Experience (PRiME)Abstract of Award
Oregon
Primary: Holly Swisher
(541) 737-4933
swisherh@math.oregonstate.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: Mathematics and Theoretical Computer Science
Comments: Renewal of 1359173
REU-SITE: Mathematics and Theoretical Computer Science at Oregon State UniversityAbstract of Award
Columbus, Ohio
Primary: Grzegorz Rempala
(614) 688-0004
rempala.3@osu.edu
Secondary: Catherine Calder
(614) 688-0004
calder@stat.osu.edu
Los Angeles, California
Primary: James Brown
(323) 259-2680
jimlb@oxy.edu
Secondary: Treena Basu
Research Topics/Keywords: Main field(s) and sub-field(s) of the research: data science, number theory, game theory.
REU Site: Data science, number theory, and positional game theoryAbstract of Award
North Carolina Agricultural & Technical State University
REU Site: North Carolina A&T State University and Elon University Joint REU in Mathematical Biology
Greensboro, North Carolina
Primary: Nicholas Luke
(336) 285-3520
luke@ncat.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: Main Field/Sub-Field: Mathematics/Mathematical Biology
REU Site: North Carolina A&T State University and Elon University Joint REU in Mathematical BiologyAbstract of Award
Moravian College
REU Site: Research Challenges of Computational and Experimental Mathematics
Bethlehem, Pennsylvania
Primary: Nathan Shank
shank@math.moravian.edu
Secondary: Eugene Fiorini
(484) 664-3355
eugenefiorini@muhlenberg.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: Experimental Mathematics, Sub-fields: Enumerative Combinatorics, Graph Theory,
REU Site: Research Challenges of Computational and Experimental MathematicsAbstract of Award
Middle Tennessee State University
REU Site: Computational Modeling and Simulation in Applied Sciences
Mathematics
Murfreesboro, Tennessee
Primary: Wandi Ding
(615) 494-8936
wding@mtsu.edu
Secondary: Rachel Leander
Research Topics/Keywords: Mathematics, Physics, Computer Science, Computational Science, Biology
REU Site: Computational Modeling and Simulation in Applied SciencesAbstract of Award
Michigan State University
REU Site: REU in Discrete and Applied Mathematics
Mathematics
East Lansing, Michigan
Primary: Robert Bell
(517) 353-4857
rbell@math.msu.edu
Secondary: Aklilu Zeleke
zeleke@msu.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: discrete mathematics; probability and statistics; mathematical modeling.
Comments: Renewal (previous awards #DMS-1559776, #DMS-1062817)
REU Site: REU in Discrete and Applied MathematicsAbstract of Award
Mathematical Staircase, Inc.
REU Site: MatILy Early Scholarly Training (MathILy-EST)
Workforst in the Mathematical Sciences
Holyoke, Massachusetts
Primary: Sarah-Marie Belcastro
(413) 345-6386
info@mathily.org
Research Topics/Keywords: Mathematics, with subfields varying by year and including mathematics of paperfolding, additive number theory, discrete PDEs, game theory, and combinatorial representation theory.
REU Site: MatILy Early Scholarly Training (MathILy-EST)Abstract of Award
Mathematical Sciences Research Institute
REU Site: MSRI Undergraduate Program (MSRI-UP)
Berkeley, California
Primary: David Eisenbud
(510) 642-4745
de@msri.org
Secondary: Helene Barcelo
Research Topics/Keywords: Mathematics is the main field. Combinatorics, geometry, and computational algebra are the subfields.
Comments: Renewal of 1156499
REU Site: MSRI Undergraduate Program (MSRI-UP)Abstract of Award
Mathematical Association of America
National Research Experiences for Undergraduates Program
Mathematics
Washington, District Of Columbia
Primary: Lloyd E. Douglas
(202) 387-5200
ledougl2@uncg.edu
Secondary: Linda Braddy
Research Topics/Keywords: Multiple (varies by campus)
National Research Experiences for Undergraduates ProgramAbstract of Award
Maricopa County Community College
REU Site: Applied Mathematics and Computational Modeling in the Greater Phoenix Area
Tempe, Arizona
Primary: John Nagy
(480) 731-8402
john.nagy@sccmail.maricopa.edu
Beaumont, Texas
Primary: Kumer Das
(409) 880-7947
kumer.das@lamar.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: Linear Algebra, Graph Theory, Statistics
REU Site at Lamar UniversityAbstract of Award
Bloomington, Indiana
Primary: Chris Connell
(812) 855-1589
connell@indiana.edu
Secondary: Elizabeth Smith (Primary Contact)
(812) 855-1589
elrsmith@indiana.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: Geometry (differential, coarse, Euclidean), dynamical systems (ODE, complex analytic, billiards), topology, logic, analysis, combinatorics, group theory, mathematical biology.
REU Site: Research Experiences for Undergraduates in Mathematics at Indiana UniversityAbstract of Award
Show 30 items per page.