Skip to main content
Email Print Share

REU Sites

REU Sites: Biological Sciences

APPLICATIONS: Students must contact the individual site or program to apply. NSF does not have application materials and does not select student participants.

ELIGIBILITY: Individual sites may have additional eligibility requirements (e.g., number of undergraduate years completed). Undergraduate student participants supported with NSF funds must be citizens or permanent residents of the United States or its possessions. High school graduates who have not yet enrolled, and students who have already received their bachelor's degrees, are not eligible.

ADDITIONAL INFORMATION: Click on the Title of the Site in the "Site Information" column to go to the homepage (if available) for that Site. Sites are ordered alphabetically by host institution. All Sites provide stipends, housing and meals, in addition to travel to and from the Site. This listing will change as new REU Site awards are made. Sites are added or deleted as decisions are made on awards, and the list is updated periodically. Clicking on a highlighted site title should direct you to the web page for more information on that program.

Please report errors in the list below by writing to reu.bio@nsf.gov.


Search Again

Site Information Site Location Contact Information Additional Information
Yale University
REU Site: Convergence of Research at the Interface of the Biological, Physical, and Engineering Sciences
Mechanical Engineering & Materials Science, Physics, and Applied Physics
New Haven, Connecticut
Primary: Corey O'Hern
(203) 432-4258
corey.ohern@yale.edu
Secondary: Lynne Regan
(203) 432-9843
lynne.regan@yale.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: cellular processes;cellular motion;cell biology; biological imaging; imaging technology and method development;protein structure and function;protein design; protein-interaction; self-assembly;
Comments: Coordinator: Dorottya Noble; email: dorottya.noble@yale.edu ; Phone: 203-432-2751
Abstract of Award
Cofunded: Engineering
Vancouver, Washington
Primary: Gretchen Rollwagen-Bollens
360-546-9115
rollboll@vancouver.wsu.edu
Secondary: Stephen Bollens
360-546-9116
sbollens@vancouver.wsu.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: Biology; landscape ecology; ecosystem ecology; community ecology; aquatic ecology; environemntal science; environmental biology
Comments: Our summer program engages current undergraduates from around the Vancouver, Washington/Portland, Oregon region in high-quality research in the Columbia River Basin. Students will study both aquatic a
Abstract of Award
Wadsworth Center
REU Site: Networking Basic Research for Biological Discovery
New York State Department of Health
Albany, New York
Primary: Sam Bowser
(518) 473-3856
bowser@wadsworth.org
Secondary: Mathew Kohn
matthew.kohn@health.ny.gov
Research Topics/Keywords: Molecular Genetics, Cell Biology, Structural and Computational Biology, Environmental Sciences
Comments: Mathew Kohn, Program Coordinator
Abstract of Award
University of Wisconsin Madison
REU Site: Biological Signals: Information Flow, Exchange and Storage
Wisconsin Institute for Science Education and Community Engagement (WISCIENCE)
Madison, Wisconsin
Primary: Janet Branchaw
(608) 262-1182
branchaw@wisc.edu
Secondary: David Wassarman
(608) 262-6648
dawassarman@wisc.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: biology, biosciences, molecular, cellular, organismal, ecologial, signals, DNA, genetics, endocrinology, neuroscience, environment
Comments: Program Coordinator: Dr. Amber Smith, amber.smith@wisc.edu, 608-265-0850
Abstract of Award
Cofunded: Biological Sciences
University of Washington
REU Site: Discoveries in Genomics and Proteomics
Genome Sciences
Seattle, Washington
Primary: Christine Queitsch
(206) 685-8935
queitsch@u.washington.edu
Secondary: Maureen Munn
(206) 616-4538
mmunn@u.washington.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: biosciences, genetics, genomics, proteomics, evolution, computaional biology, developmental biology, technology development, microbiome, genome editing, DNA replication,etc
Comments: Program adminstrator Brian Giebel (bgiebel@uw.edu; (206) 616-7297)
Abstract of Award
University of Washington
REU Site: Sensorimotor Neural Engineering
Bioengineering; Computer Science and Engineering
Seattle, Washington
Primary: Eric Chudler
206-616-6899
chudler@u.washington.edu
Secondary: Thomas Daniel
206-543-1659
danielt@uw.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: neuroscience, neurobiology, neural engineering
Comments: Coordinator: Lise Johnson (liseaj@uw.edu)
Abstract of Award
Cofunded: Engineering
University of Washington
REU Site: Integrative Biology and Ecology of Marine Organisms
Department of Biology
Friday Harbor, Washington
Primary: Adam Summers
fishguy@uw.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: biology, ocean Sciences, marine biology, integrative biology and ecology of marine organisms
Abstract of Award
Cofunded: Ocean Sciences
Boyce, Virginia
Primary: Kyle Haynes
(540) 837-1758
haynes@virginia.edu
Secondary: Mary McKenna
(202) 806-6103
mmckenna@howard.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: biology, biosciences, ecology, evolution, pollination, insects, plants, terrestrial, aquatic , populations, communities, ecosystems, entomology, botany
Comments: For more information, contact Dr. Haynes at haynes@virginia.edu.
Abstract of Award
Charlottesville, Virginia
Primary: Eric Nagy
434-243-4989
enagy@virginia.edu
Secondary: Edmund Brodie
434-243-1068
bbrodie@virginia.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: population biology, ecology, evolution, behavior
Comments: The focus of the REU program is population biology at the intersection of field-based studies of ecology, evolution, and behavior. Students do independent projects. They take leadership roles in all a
Abstract of Award
University of Vermont
REU Site: Interdisciplinary Research on Human Impacts in the Lake Champlain Ecosystem
Rubenstein Ecosystem Science Laboratory
Burlington, Vermont
Primary: Jason Stockwell
802-859-3095
jason.stockwell@uvm.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: Biogeochemistry, Biology, Ecology, Economics, Genetics, Microbiology, Social Sciences, Habitat Fragmentation, Invasive Species, Eutrophication, Harmful Algal Blooms
Abstract of Award
University of Vermont & State Agricultural College
REU Site: Summer Neuroscience Undergraduate Research Fellowship Program
Neurological Sciences
Burlington, Vermont
Primary: Bryan Ballif
(802) 656-1389
bballif@uvm.edu
Secondary: Eugene Delay
(802) 656-0455
Eugene.Delay@uvm.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: Neuroscience, Nervous System, Gene Expression, Anatomy, Physiology, Behavior
Abstract of Award
University of Toledo
REU Site: Undergraduate Research and Mentoring - Using the Lake Erie Sensor Networkto Study Land-Lake Ecological Linkages
Environmental Sciences, Geography and Planning, and Civil Engineering
Toledo, Ohio
Primary: Kevin Czajkowski
(419) 530-4274
kevin.czajkowski@utoledo.edu
Secondary: Kevin Czajkowski
Research Topics/Keywords: Biology, water quality, invasive species, climate change, geospatial technologies, environmental sciences, envrironmental biology, remote sensing
Abstract of Award
University of Texas at El Paso
REU Site: Summer Program in Chihuahuan Desert Biodiversity
Biological Sciences
El Paso, Texas
Primary: Michael Moody
(915) 747-5087
mlmoody@utep.edu
Secondary: Jerry Johnson
(915) 747-6984
jjohnson@utep.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: biology, biosciences, ecology, evolution, plant, herpetology, ecosystem, aquatic, desert, biodiversity, invertebrate, genetics, disease, neuroscience
Abstract of Award
Knoxville, Tennessee
Primary: Steven Wilhelm
(865) 974-0665
glecleir@utk.edu
Secondary: Gary LeCleir
(865) 974-4014
glecleir@utk.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: biology, biosciences, microbiology, molecular ecology, microbial communities, microbial biochemistry
Comments: Program is managed by Dr Gary LeCleir
Abstract of Award
Vermillion, South Dakota
Primary: Meghann Jarchow
(605) 677-3115
Meghann.Jarchow@usd.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: biology, biosciences, sustainability, interdisciplinary research, Missouri River, earth science, anthropology, ecology, invasive species
Abstract of Award
San Juan, Puerto Rico
Primary: Alonso Ramirez
(787) 764-0000
aramirez@ramirezlab.net
Research Topics/Keywords: biology, biosciences, ecology, evolution, tropical
Comments: program e-mail: reu@ites.upr.edu
Abstract of Award
University of Pittsburgh
REU Site: Training and Experimentation in Computational Biology (TECBio)
Computational and Systems Biology
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Primary: Joseph Ayoob
(412) 648-8646
jayoob@pitt.edu
Secondary: Chakra Chennubhotla
(412) 648-7794
chakracs@pitt.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: biology, biosciences, computer science, computational biology, bioinformatics, chemistry, biochemistry, physics, biophysics, mathematics, statistics, systems biology
Comments: Program Coordinator: Leah Russell (tecbio@pitt.edu)
Abstract of Award
Cofunded: Education and Human Resources
Eugene, Oregon
Primary: Peter O'Day
(541) 346-4518
oday@uoregon.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: molecular, biology, biochemistry, biophysics, bioinformatics, evolution, neuroscience, development
Abstract of Award
University of Oregon, Eugene
Exploration of marine biology on the Oregon coast
Oregon Institute of Marine Biology (OIMB)
Charleston, Oregon
Primary: Dr. Maya Watts
(541) 888-2581
mwolf1@uoregon.edu
Secondary: Dr. Richard Emlet
remlet@uroegon.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: Marine biology, invertebrate ecology, larval ecology/biology, embryology, trophic ecology, cell biology, oceanography, behavioral ecology, zooplankton, biomechanics, estuarine biology/ecology
Comments: The application closing date is on Wednesday, March 15, 2017
Abstract of Award
Cofunded: Biological Sciences
University of Oklahoma
REU Site: Program in Structural Biology at the University of Oklahoma
Chemistry and Biochemistry
Norman, Colorado
Primary: Paul Sims
(405) 325-1324
psims@ou.edu
Secondary: Anthony Burgett
(405) 325-3551
anthony.burgett@ou.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: Structural biology
Comments: Contact Dr. Paul Sims (psims@ou.edu) or Dr. Anthony Burgett (anthony.burgett@ou.edu)
Abstract of Award
University of Notre Dame
REU Site: Integrative Cell and Molecular Biology
Biological Sciences
Notre Dame, Indiana
Primary: Michelle Whaley
(574) 631-9343
michelle.a.whaley.3@nd.edu
Secondary: David Hyde
(574) 631-8054
dhyde@nd.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: biosciences, biology, cell biology, molecular biology, genetics, genomics
Abstract of Award
Grand Forks, Fort Totten, Belcourt, North Dakota
Primary: Van Doze
(701) 777-6222
van.doze@med.und.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: Bioinformatics, Cell Biology, Chemical Biology, Computational Biology, Developmental Biology, Environmental Biology, Epigenetics, Genomics, Molecular Biology, Neurobiology
Comments: Point of contact: Van Doze, van.doze@med.und.edu, 701-777-6222
Abstract of Award
University of North Carolina at Charlotte
REU Site:Biology and Biotechnology Undergraduate Research Experience (BITURE)
Biological Sciences
Charlotte, North Carolina
Primary: Christine Richardson
(704) 687-8683
C.Richardson@uncc.edu
Secondary: Sharon Bullock
(704) 687-8536
sbulloc8@uncc.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: biotechnology,genomics, phylogenetics, transgenic animals, transgenic plants, nanoparticles, biofuels, environmental toxicology
Abstract of Award
University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill
REU Site in Molecular Bioscience
Office of Graduate Education
Chapel Hill, North Carolina
Primary: Stephen Rogers
(919) 843-7342
srogers@bio.unc.edu
Secondary: Gwen Sancar
(919) 966-2077
gwendolyn_sancar@med.unc.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: Genetics, Cell Biology, Biochemistry, Microbiology, Structural Biology
Comments: Coordinator: Sausyty Hermrick Contact: sausyty_hermreck@med.unc.edu
Abstract of Award
Albuquerque, New Mexico
Primary: Scott Collins
(505) 277-6303
scollins@sevilleta.unm.edu
Secondary: Amaris Swann
(505) 277-4186
aswann@unm.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: biology, biosciences, aridland ecology, biodiversity, ecohydrology, plants, birds, arthropods, climate variability
Abstract of Award
University of Nevada Las Vegas
REU Site: Mechanism of Evolution
School of Life Sciences
Las Vegas, Nevada
Primary: Kurt Regner
702-895 1071
kurt.regner@unlv.edu
Secondary: Eduardo Robleto
702-895 2496
eduardo.robleto@unlv.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: Biological Sciences, microbiology, physiology, biogeography, cell biology
Comments: Kurt Regner/Eduardo Robleto
Abstract of Award
University of Nebraska-Lincoln
REU Site: Bioenergy Systems
School of Biological Sciences
Lincoln, Nebraska
Primary: Paul Blum
(402) 472-2769
pblum1@unl.edu
Secondary: Heriberto Cerutti
(402) 472-0247
jcerutti1@unl.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: biology, biosciences, biochemistry, microbiology, molecular biology, plant science
Abstract of Award
University of Nebraska - Lincoln
REU Site: Training in Redox Biology
Biochemistry
Lincoln, Nebraska
Primary: Donald Becker
402-472-9652
dbecker3@unl.edu
Secondary: Julie Stone
402-472-4902
jstone2@unl.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: Redox biology, biochemistry, oxidative stress, redox signaling and regulation, enzymes, protein structure, molecular biology
Comments: Hannah Kahler/Administrative Assistant/hkahler2@unl.edu
Abstract of Award
Cofunded: Chemistry
University of Missouri
REU Site: Summer Research Projects in Neuroscience
College of Arts & Sciences and College of Engineering
Columbia, Missouri
Primary: Satish Nair
(573) 882-2964
nairs@missouri.edu
Secondary: David Schulz
(573) 882-4067
schulzd@missouri.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: biology, biosciences, neuroscience, computational methods
Abstract of Award
Cofunded: Department of Defense (DoD)
University of Michigan
REU Site: Interdisciplinary REU in the Structure and Function of Proteins
College of Pharmacy - Dept. of Medicinal Chemistry
Ann Arbor, Michigan
Primary: Cherie Dotson
(734) 615-6562
crdotson@umich.edu
Secondary: Ronald Woodard
(734) 764-7366
rww@umich.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: biology, biosciences, biochemistry, biophysics, bioinformatics, computational chemistry, enzymology
Comments: same as PI
Abstract of Award