Skip to main content
Email Print Share

REU Sites

REU Sites: Chemistry

This is a list of the active chemistry division funded REU sites (Sies with active NSF awards). Almost every site has a web page where more information can be obtained. Clicking on a highlighted site title should direct you to the external web page. [NSF is not responsible for the content of these external web pages.] Useful information for REU Site Principal Investigators can be found through the REU Leadership Group (http://www.nsf-reu.org/) [Not an NSF website -- NSF is not responsible for its content]

Please report errors in the list below by writing to che-reusites@nsf.gov.


Search Again

Site Information Site Location Contact Information Additional Information
Worcester Polytechnic Institute
REU Site: Membrane Biochemistry and Bioinspired Synthesis
Chemistry and Biochemistry
Worcester, Massachusetts
Primary: Arne Gericke
(508) 831-5263
agericke@wpi.edu
Secondary: Shawn Burdette
(508) 831-5224
scburdette@wpi.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: Biochemistry, Synthesis, Bioinorganic Chemistry, Organic Chemistry, Biophysics
Abstract of Award
West Virginia University
REU Site: Multifunctional Nanomaterials
cross-disciplinary
Morgantown, West Virginia
Primary: Lisa Holland
(304) 293-0174
Lisa.Holland@mail.wvu.edu
Secondary: Kimberly Quedado
(304) 293-7382
Kimberly.Quedado@mail.wvu.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: nanomaterials, smart materials, photoactive materials, sensor materials
Abstract of Award
Cofunded: Chemistry
Bellingham, Washington
Primary: P. Clint Spiegel, Jr.
360-650-3137
Paul.Spiegel@wwu.edu
Secondary: Greg O'Neil
360-650-6283
oneilg@chem.wwu.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: Chemistry (Biochemistry, Synthetic Chemistry, Materials Chemistry, Computational Chemistry
University of Wisconsin-Oshkosh
Research Experiences for Undergraduates in Proteomics and
Biology & Microbiology
Oshkosh, Wisconsin
Primary: Lisa A. Dorn
920.424.3064
dorn@uwosh.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: Chemistry, Biochemistry, Computer Science
Abstract of Award
University of Wisconsin - Madison
REU SITE: The Chemistry of Materials for Renewable Energy
Chemistry
Madison, Wisconsin
Primary: Andrew Greenberg
608-265-3884
greenberg@chem.wisc.edu
Secondary: Paul F Nealey
608-265-8171
nealey@engr.wisc.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: chemistry
Abstract of Award
University of Wisconsin – Eau Claire
Give Research Opportunity to Underrepresented Minority STEM Students (GRO URMSS)
Chemistry and Materials Science Center
Eau Claire, Wisconsin
Primary: Thao Yang
(715) 836-4190
yangt@uwec.edu
Secondary: Marc Mc Ellistrem
(715) 836-4081
mcellimt@uwec.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: REU Site for Two-year College URM Students
Abstract of Award
Seattle, Washington
Primary: Shaun Taylor
(206) 685-2029
uwcei@uw.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: Solar, clean energy, smart grid, battery, energy storage, thin film, data science, materials, chemistry,(additional keywords in the Comments section).
Comments: Additional Keywords: chemical engineering, electrical engineering, physics, modeling, polymers, characterization, nanoparticles, engineering Comments: This program is suitable for freshmen and
Abstract of Award
Cofunded: Materials Research
Salt Lake City, Utah
Primary: Janis Louie
801-581-7309
louie@chem.utah.edu
Secondary: Jon D. Rainier
801-581-4954
rainier@chem.utah.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: Analytical Chemistry, Biological Chemistry, Inorganic Chemistry, Materials, Organic Chemistry, Physical Chemistry
University of Texas
Frontiers in the Chemistry of Materials
Chemistry
Austin, Texas
Primary: Jenny Brodbelt
(512) 471-0028
jbrodbelt@cm.utexas.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: chemistry, materials
Abstract of Award
Knoxville, Tennessee
Primary: Michael Best
(865) 974-8658
mdbest@utk.edu
Secondary: Shawn Campagna
(868) 974-7337
campagna@utk.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: Fields of research: Chemistry, Materials; Sub-fields of research: Analytical, Biological, Inorganic, Organic, Physical and Polymer Chemistry and related interdisciplinary areas
University of Southern Mississippi
REU Site: Polymer Innovation for a Sustainable Future
Polymers and High Performance Materials
Hattiesburg, Mississippi
Primary: Prof. Sarah Morgan
(601) 266-5296
sarah.morgan@usm.edu
Secondary: Prof. Joseph Lott
(601) 266-6867
joseph.r.lott@usm.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: polymer composites
Abstract of Award
Cofunded: Chemistry
Los Angeles, California
Primary: Anna Krylov
2137404929
krylov@usc.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: Physical, Organic, Material, and Biological Chemistry
Abstract of Award
Vermillion, South Dakota
Primary: David C. Hawkinson
(605) 677-6187
David.Hawkinson@usd.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: chemistry
Abstract of Award
New York, New York
Primary: REU Administrator
(585) 275-8286
urchemreu@UR.Rochester.edu
Secondary: Thomas R. Krugh
(585) 275-4224
Thomas.krugh@rochester.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: Chemistry -- Sub-fields of research: Biological, Inorganic, Organic, Physical and Materials
Abstract of Award
San Juan, Puerto Rico
Primary: Arthur D. Tinoco
(939) 319-9701
atinoco9278@gmail.com
Research Topics/Keywords: Biotechnology, Pharmaceutical, Puerto Rico Future Workforce
Abstract of Award
Oregon
Primary: Jeanne Basom
(541) 346-4307
jbasom@uoregon.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: Chemistry, Physics, Materials Science
University of Notre Dame
REU Site: Analytical Chemistry for the Developing World
Chemistry and Biochemistry
Notre Dame, Indiana
Primary: Marya Lieberman
(574) 631-4665
mlieberm@nd.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: Chemistry, engineering, biological sciences, international science and engineering,Analytical chemistry, chemical engineering, mechanical engineering, computer science, synthetic biology, sensors, des
Denton, Texas
Primary: LeGrande M. Slaughter
(940) 565-4350
legrande@unt.edu
Secondary: Shawn Adams (Administrative Assistant)
(940) 565-4372
chem-reu@unt.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: computational chemistry, computational-experimental collaborative research, catalysis, materials chemistry, solar energy, forensic chemistry, multidisciplinary research
University of North Dakota (UND)
Interdisciplinary Renewable and Environmental Chemistry (IREC)
Chemistry & Chemical Engineering
Grand forks, North Dakota
Primary: Alena Kubatova
(701) 777-0348
alena.kubatova@und.edu
Secondary: Frank Bowman
(701) 777-4245
frank.bowman@engr.und.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: Renewable Chemistry, Environmental, Biofuels, Biomass, Atmospheric Chemistry
University of North Carolina - Charlotte
REU Site: Nanoscale Science Undergraduate Research Experience (NanoSURE) at UNC Charlotte
Department of Chemistry
Charlotte, North Carolina
Primary: Tom Schmedake
(704) 687-5177
tschmeda@uncc.edu
Secondary: Banita Brown
(704) 687-0074
bwbrown@uncc.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: Chemistry, Nanoscale Science
Abstract of Award
University of North Carolina-Chapel Hill
SUROC (Summer Undergraduate Research Opportunity in Chemistry)
Chemistry
Chapel Hill, North Carolina
Primary: Jeff Johnson
(919) 843-4936
jsj25@email.unc.edu
Secondary: Noelle Romero
(919) 843-4936
nromero@email.unc.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: Chemistry, biochemistry, polymer chemistry, nanoparticles, organic chemistry, inorganic chemistry, environmental chemistry, analytical, biomaterials
Abstract of Award
Lincoln, Nebraska
Primary: Mark Griep
(402) 472-3429
mgriep1@unl.edu
Secondary: Peta-Gaye Stara-Clachar
(402) 472-4453
pclachar2@unl.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: organic radicals, medical imaging agents, protein-DNA interactions, enzyme-assisted organic synthesis, catalytic nanoparticles, and drug-protein interactions
University of Nebraska - Lincoln
REU Site: Training in Redox Biology
Biochemistry
Lincoln, Nebraska
Primary: Donald Becker
402-472-9652
dbecker3@unl.edu
Secondary: Julie Stone
402-472-4902
jstone2@unl.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: Redox biology, biochemistry, oxidative stress, redox signaling and regulation, enzymes, protein structure, molecular biology
Comments: Hannah Kahler/Administrative Assistant/hkahler2@unl.edu
Abstract of Award
Cofunded: Chemistry
Missoula, Montana
Primary: Aaron Thomas
406-243-4196
aaron.thomas@mso.umt.edu
Secondary: Earle Adams
406-243-4196
earle.adams@umontana.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: chemistry, environment, heavy metals, chromatography, analytical, natural products, water quality, air quality
Abstract of Award
University of Mississippi
Ole Miss Physical Chemistry Summer Research Program
Department of Chemistry & Biochemistry
Oxford, Mississippi
Primary: Nathan Hammer
(662) 915-3989
nhammer@olemiss.edu
Secondary: Gregory S. Tschumper
(662) 915-7301
tschumpr@olemiss.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: Physical Chemistry, Computational Chemistry, Theory, Spectroscopy, Nanomaterials, Energy, Biophysics
Abstract of Award
University of Michigan Ann Arbor
University of Michigan REU Site in the Chemical Sciences
Department of Chemistry
Ann Arbor, Michigan
Primary: Brian P. Coppola
734-764-7329
bcoppola@umich.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: chemistry
Abstract of Award
Amherst, Massachusetts
Primary: Ruthanne Paradise
(413) 545-7202
curereu@chem.umass.edu
Secondary: Kevin Kittilstved
(413) 545-6096
kittilstved@chem.umass.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: Renewable Energy, Photovoltaics, Biofuels, Fuel Cells
University of Kentucky
REU Site: Summer Program in the Biochemical Sciences
Molecular and Cellular Biochemistry
Lexington, Kentucky
Primary: Trevor Creamer
859-323-6037
Trevor.Creamer@uky.edu
Secondary: Rebecca Dutch
859-323-1795
rdutc2@uky.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: biochemistry, molecular biology, cell biology, structural biology, biophysics
Abstract of Award
Cofunded: Department of Defense (DoD), Chemistry
Lawrence, Kansas
Primary: Joseph A. Heppert
785-864-4150
jheppert@ku.edu
Secondary: David R. Benson
785-864-4090
drb@ku.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: Chemistry
Abstract of Award
Iowa City, Iowa
Primary: Sarah Larsen
(319) 335-1346
nni@uiowa.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: Chemistry, Chemical & Biochemical Engineering, Civil & Environmental Engineering, Pharmacy, Occupational & Environmental Health, Nanoscience, Nanotechnology
Abstract of Award
Cofunded: Materials Research