Email Print Share

REU Sites

REU Sites: Chemistry

This is a list of the active chemistry division funded REU sites (Sites with active NSF awards). Almost every site has a web page where more information can be obtained. Clicking on a highlighted site title should direct you to the external web page. [NSF is not responsible for the content of these external web pages.] Useful information for REU Site Principal Investigators can be found through the REU Leadership Group (http://chemnsfreu.com/) [Not an NSF website -- NSF is not responsible for its content]

Please report errors in the list below by writing to che-reusites@nsf.gov.


Search Again

Show 30 items per page.
REU Sites
Site Information Site Location Contact Information Additional Information
Worcester Polytechnic Institute
REU Site: Membrane Biochemistry and Bioinspired Synthesis
Chemistry and Biochemistry
Worcester, Massachusetts
Primary: Arne Gericke
(508) 831-5263
agericke@wpi.edu
Secondary: Shawn Burdette
(508) 831-5224
scburdette@wpi.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: Biochemistry, Synthesis, Bioinorganic Chemistry, Organic Chemistry, Biophysics
REU Site: Membrane Biochemistry and Bioinspired SynthesisAbstract of Award
West Virginia University
REU Site: Research in Chemistry at WVU
C. Eugene Bennett Department of Chemistry
Morgantown, West Virginia
Primary: Brian Popp
(304) 293-0773
Brian.Popp@mail.wvu.edu
Secondary: Michelle Richards-Babb
(304) 293-2123
mrichar2@wvu.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: Catalysis, Energy, Health, Bioanalytical Chemistry, Biophysical Chemistry, Forensics, Organometallics, Computational Chemistry, Synthesis, Appalachia
REU Site: Research in Chemistry at WVUAbstract of Award
Bellingham, Washington
Primary: Amanda Murphy
(360) 650-3138
Amanda.Murphy@wwu.edu
Secondary: P. Clint Spiegel, Jr.
(360) 650-3137
paul.spiegel@wwu.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: Chemistry (Biochemistry, Synthetic Chemistry, Materials Chemistry, Computational Chemistry
Virginia Polytechnic Institute and State University or Virginia Tech
REU: INFEWS N/P/H2O: MATERIALS INNOVATION AT THE INTERSECTION OF FOOD-ENERGY-WATER SYSTEMS (MII-FEWS)
MII (Macromolecules Innovation Institute)
Blacksburg, Virginia
Primary: Kim Felix
(540) 231-6717
mii@vt.edu
Secondary: Tim Long
(540) 231-6717
mii@vt.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: Agriculture, 3D-Printing, Water, Membranes, Energy, Polymers, Materials, African-Americans, Minorities, Undergraduates, Synthesis, Climate Research, Biological Chemistry, Seniors, Juniors
REU: INFEWS N/P/H2O: MATERIALS INNOVATION AT THE INTERSECTION OF FOOD-ENERGY-WATER SYSTEMS (MII-FEWS)Abstract of Award
Virginia Commonwealth University
Practices and Perspectives in Nanoscience and Chemical Biology
Department of Chemistry
Richmond, Virginia
Primary: Professor Indika U Arachchige
(804) 828-6855
iuarachchige@vcu.edu
Secondary: Professor Suzanne M. Ruder
(804) 828-7519
sruder@vcu.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: nanoscience, chemical biology, heterogeneous and homogeneous catalysis, drug design, computational modeling, quantum dots, chromatography, laser spectroscopy, see Additional Comments for more...
Comments: Continued Research Areas/Keywords: lithium ion battery, single molecular sensing, organic synthesis, protein-protein interaction studies, metals in medicine, bioinorganic chemistry.
Practices and Perspectives in Nanoscience and Chemical BiologyAbstract of Award
Vanderbilt University
Research Experience for Undergraduates in Chemical Biology
Department of Chemistry
Nashville, Tennessee
Primary: Gary Sulikowski
(615) 343-4155
gary.a.sulikowski@Vanderbilt.Edu
Secondary: Alissa Hare
(615) 875-9136
alissa.a.hare@vanderbilt.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: Chemical Biology, Chemistry, Biochemistry
Research Experience for Undergraduates in Chemical BiologyAbstract of Award
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Primary: Ana-Rita Mayol
(215) 898-5892
anamayol@sas.upenn.edu
Secondary: Gary Molander
(215) 573-8604
gmolandr@sas.upenn.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: chemistry, catalysis, molecular dynamics, high throughput experimentation, industry partnerships, professional development
Comments: Secondary REU Site E-mail Address: reu-pennchem@sas.upenn.edu
“Novel Techniques and Applications in Catalyst Research Development and Molecular Dynamics” at the University of Pennsylvania, Department of ChemistryAbstract of Award
University of Wisconsin - Madison
REU SITE: The Chemistry of Materials for Renewable Energy
Chemistry
Madison, Wisconsin
Primary: Andrew Greenberg
608-265-3884
greenberg@chem.wisc.edu
Secondary: Paul F Nealey
608-265-8171
nealey@engr.wisc.edu
Seattle, Washington
Primary: Shaun Taylor
(206) 685-2029
uwcei@uw.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: Solar, clean energy, smart grid, battery, energy storage, thin film, data science, materials, chemistry,(additional keywords in the Comments section).
Comments: Additional Keywords: chemical engineering, electrical engineering, physics, modeling, polymers, characterization, nanoparticles, engineering Comments: This program is suitable for freshmen and
REU Site: Clean Energy Bridge to Research (CEBR)Abstract of Award
Cofunded: Materials Research
Salt Lake City, Utah
Primary: Janis Louie
801-581-7309
louie@chem.utah.edu
Secondary: Jon D. Rainier
801-581-4954
rainier@chem.utah.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: Analytical Chemistry, Biological Chemistry, Inorganic Chemistry, Materials, Organic Chemistry, Physical Chemistry
University of Texas
Frontiers in the Chemistry of Materials
Chemistry
Austin, Texas
Primary: Jenny Brodbelt
(512) 471-0028
jbrodbelt@cm.utexas.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: chemistry, materials
Frontiers in the Chemistry of MaterialsAbstract of Award
Knoxville, Tennessee
Primary: Michael Best
(865) 974-8658
mdbest@utk.edu
Secondary: Shawn Campagna
(868) 974-7337
campagna@utk.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: Fields of research: Chemistry, Materials; Sub-fields of research: Analytical, Biological, Inorganic, Organic, Physical and Polymer Chemistry and related interdisciplinary areas
Los Angeles, California
Primary: Anna Krylov
2137404929
krylov@usc.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: Physical, Organic, Material, and Biological Chemistry
REU Site: Snapshots of Chemistry: Visualization of Processes at the Molecular LevelAbstract of Award
University of South Dakota
Undergraduate Research in Fluorine Chemistry
Department of Chemistry
Vermillion, South Dakota
Primary: Andrew Sykes
(605) 677-5487
asykes@usd.edu
Secondary: Haoran Sun
(605) 677-5487
Haoran.Sun@usd.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: Fluorine, Chemistry, Materials, Energy, Security, Health
Undergraduate Research in Fluorine ChemistryAbstract of Award
University of Puerto Rico Río Piedras
REU: PR CLIMB
Department of Chemistry
San Juan, Puerto Rico
Primary: Arthur D. Tinoco
(939) 319-9701
reu.pr.climb@gmail.com
Secondary: Jose Alberto Santiago
(787) 410-8616
jose.santiago43@upr.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: Puerto Rico, UPR RP, Interdisciplinary, Workshops, Materials, Biomolecular Applications
REU: PR CLIMBAbstract of Award
Oregon
Primary: Jeanne Basom
(541) 346-4307
jbasom@uoregon.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: Chemistry, Physics, Materials Science
Denton, Texas
Primary: LeGrande M. Slaughter
(940) 565-4350
legrande@unt.edu
Secondary: Sara Pujols
(940) 565-3554
chem-reu@unt.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: collaborative research; interdisciplinary research; team mentoring; early-stage undergraduate students; computational chemistry; catalysis; materials chemistry
REU Site: Team-Mentored Interdisciplinary Research Experiences in Chemistry for Early-Stage UndergraduatesAbstract of Award
University of North Dakota
Interdisciplinary Renewable and Environmental Collaborative (IREC) REU Program at the University of North Dakota
Chemical Engineering, Chemistry, Atmospheric Science
Grand Forks, North Dakota
Primary: Frank Bowman
(701) 777-4245
frank.bowman@und.edu
Secondary: Guodong Du
(701) 777-2241
guodong.du@und.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: Chemistry, Chemical Engineering, Atmospheric Science, Environmental, Interdisciplinary, Outreach, Science Communication
Interdisciplinary Renewable and Environmental Collaborative (IREC) REU Program at the University of North DakotaAbstract of Award
University of North Dakota (UND)
Interdisciplinary Renewable and Environmental Chemistry (IREC)
Chemistry & Chemical Engineering
Grand forks, North Dakota
Primary: Alena Kubatova
(701) 777-0348
alena.kubatova@und.edu
Secondary: Frank Bowman
(701) 777-4245
frank.bowman@engr.und.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: Renewable Chemistry, Environmental, Biofuels, Biomass, Atmospheric Chemistry
Lincoln, Nebraska
Primary: Mark Griep
(402) 472-3429
mgriep1@unl.edu
Secondary: Peta-Gaye Stara-Clachar
(402) 472-4453
pclachar2@unl.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: organic radicals, medical imaging agents, protein-DNA interactions, enzyme-assisted organic synthesis, catalytic nanoparticles, and drug-protein interactions
University of Nebraska - Lincoln
REU Site: Training in Redox Biology
Biochemistry
Lincoln, Nebraska
Primary: Donald Becker
(402) 472-9652
dbecker3@unl.edu
Secondary: Julie Stone
(402) 472-4902
jstone2@unl.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: Redox biology, biochemistry, oxidative stress, redox signaling and regulation, enzymes, protein structure, molecular biology
Comments: Hannah Kahler/Administrative Assistant/hkahler2@unl.edu
REU Site: Training in Redox BiologyAbstract of Award
Cofunded: Chemistry
University of Mississippi
Ole Miss Physical Chemistry Summer Research Program
Department of Chemistry & Biochemistry
Oxford, Mississippi
Primary: Nathan Hammer
(662) 915-3989
nhammer@olemiss.edu
Secondary: Gregory S. Tschumper
(662) 915-7301
tschumpr@olemiss.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: Physical Chemistry, Computational Chemistry, Theory, Spectroscopy, Nanomaterials, Energy, Biophysics
Ole Miss Physical Chemistry Summer Research ProgramAbstract of Award
University of Minnesota
Challenges of the 21st Century
Department of Chemistry
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Primary: Nick Erickson
(612) 624-0026
chmlando@umn.edu
Secondary: Steven Kass
(612) 625-7513
kass@umn.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: Chemistry research, 10 week summer program, open area
Challenges of the 21st CenturyAbstract of Award
University of Michigan Ann Arbor
University of Michigan REU Site in the Chemical Sciences
Department of Chemistry
Ann Arbor, Michigan
Primary: Brian P. Coppola
734-764-7329
bcoppola@umich.edu
Amherst, Massachusetts
Primary: Ruthanne Paradise
(413) 545-7202
curereu@chem.umass.edu
Secondary: Kevin Kittilstved
(413) 545-6096
kittilstved@chem.umass.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: Renewable Energy, Photovoltaics, Biofuels, Fuel Cells
University of Maryland, Baltimore County
REU Site: Research Experience for Undergraduates in Advanced Chemical Sensing and Imaging
Department of Chemistry and Biochemistry
Baltimore, Maryland
Primary: Zeev Rosenzweig
(410) 455-2521
zrosenzw@umbc.edu
Secondary: Marcin Ptaszek
(410) 455-2264
mptaszek@umbc.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: chemistry, biochemistry, spectroscopy, imaging
REU Site: Research Experience for Undergraduates in Advanced Chemical Sensing and ImagingAbstract of Award
Lawrence, Kansas
Primary: Mikhail Barybin
(785) 864-4106
mbarybin@ku.edu
Secondary: David R. Benson
(785) 864-4090
drb@ku.edu
University of Florida/Université L. Pasteur, Université Pierre and Marie Curie, Université Paul Saba
i-REU Site: The US/France REU Exchange Site in Chemistry: Forming Global Scientists for the 21st Century
Chemistry
Strasbourg, Paris, Toulouse, Florida
Primary: Valeria D. Kleiman
(352) 392-4656
reu@chem.ufl.edu
Secondary: Adrian Roitberg
(352) 392-6972
roitberg@ufl.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: chemistry (all areas), international, France
Comments: Additional Primary Contact Information: Name: Valeria D. Kleiman Email: kleiman@ufl.edu
i-REU Site: The US/France REU Exchange Site in Chemistry: Forming Global Scientists for the 21st CenturyAbstract of Award
University of Delaware
Science & Engineering Leadership Initiative
Chemistry and Biochemistry
Newark, Delaware
Primary: Professor Sharon RozovskyPhone
(302) 831-7028
rozovsky@udel.edu
Secondary: Professor Karl S. Booksh
(302) 831-7028
kbooksh@udel.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: Disability, Chemistry, Biochemistry, Chemical Biology, structural Biology, Biophysics, and Disabilities
Science & Engineering Leadership InitiativeAbstract of Award
Storrs, Connecticut
Primary: José Gascón
(860) 486-0591
jose.gascon@uconn.edu
Secondary: Alfredo Angeles-Bosa
(860) 486-6718
alfredo.angeles-boza@uconn.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: Inorganic, Organic, Materials, Analytical, Physical, Computational Chemistry
REU Site: Chemistry at the University of ConnecticutAbstract of Award
Show 30 items per page.