Email Print Share

REU Sites

REU Sites: Chemistry

This is a list of the active chemistry division funded REU sites (Sites with active NSF awards). Almost every site has a web page where more information can be obtained. Clicking on a highlighted site title should direct you to the external web page. [NSF is not responsible for the content of these external web pages.] Useful information for REU Site Principal Investigators can be found through the REU Leadership Group (http://chemnsfreu.com/) [Not an NSF website -- NSF is not responsible for its content]

Please report errors in the list below by writing to che-reusites@nsf.gov.


Search Again

Show 30 items per page.
REU Sites
Site Information Site Location Contact Information Additional Information
Cincinnati, Ohio
Primary: Bruce Ault
513-556-9238
bruce.ault@uc.edu
Secondary: Anna Gudmundsdottir
513-556-3380
gudmunad@email.uc.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: analytical chemistry, biochemistry, inorganic chemistry, organic chemistry, and physical chemistry.
Chemistry REU Site at the University of CincinnatiAbstract of Award
University of Arkansas
Encouraging Students in Science
Chemistry and Biochemistry
Fayetteville, Arkansas
Primary: David Paul
(479) 575-5190
dpaul@uark.edu
Secondary: Leslie Johnson
(479) 575-7942
ljohnson@uark.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: REU
Encouraging Students in ScienceAbstract of Award
Cofunded: Chemistry
Buffalo, New York
Primary: Jason Benedict
(716) 645-4276
jbb6@buffalo.edu
Secondary: Tim Cook
(716) 645-4327
trcook@buffalo.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: Research, Career Development, Industrial, Social media, Chemistry
Chemistry 360 degrees: A Comprehensive Research and Career Development Experience @UBChemistryAbstract of Award
Chapel Hill, Kansas
Primary: Noelle-Erin Romero
(919) 843-9070
nromero@email.unc.edu
Secondary: Gerald Meyer
(919) 962-6320
gjmeyer@email.unc.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: cutting-edge research, state-of-the-art facilities, collaborative environment, career development
Summer Undergraduate Ressearch Opportunity in Chemistry (SUROC)Abstract of Award
Tulane University
REU: Summer MAterials Research at Tulane (SMART)
Multidisciplinary
New Orleans, Louisiana
Primary: Professor Hank Ashbaugh
(504) 865-5772
sgrayson@tulane.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: Multidisciplinary program focusing on materials for health, energy and environment applications
REU: Summer MAterials Research at Tulane (SMART)Abstract of Award
The Pennsylvania State University
Penn State Chemistry REU: Catalysis and Motion
Chemistry
University Park, Pennsylvania
Primary: Squire J. Booker
(814) 865-8793
sjbooker@mac.com
Secondary: Amber Schoenauer
(814) 865-3014
ami5019@psu.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: Antibiotic Resistance, Catalysis, Cellular Trafficking, Chemotaxis, Computation, Dynamics, Electron Microscopy, Electrochemistry....see Additional Comments
Comments: Additional Keywords: Electron Paramagnetic Resonance Spectroscopy, Energy, Iron-Sulfur Clusters, Macromolecular Dynamics, Molecular Motors, Mössbauer Spectroscopy, Natural Product Biosynthesis, Net
Penn State Chemistry REU: Catalysis and MotionAbstract of Award
Texas State University
REU Site: A Chemistry REU on Molecular Innovation and Entrepreneurship (CheMIE)
Department of Chemistry and Biochemistry
San Marcos, Texas
Primary: Cory Holland
(512) 245-6869
ch51639@txstate.edu
Secondary: William Brittain
(512) 245-3308
wb20@txstate.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: innovation, collaboration, entrepreneurial, business, industry
REU Site: A Chemistry REU on Molecular Innovation and Entrepreneurship (CheMIE)Abstract of Award
Texas A&M University
REU Site: Summer Undergraduate Research Program in Biochemistry
Department of Biochemistry and Biophysics
College Station, Texas
Primary: Mary Bryk
(979) 862-2294
bryk@tamu.edu
Secondary: Gary Kunkel
(979) 845-6257
g-kunkel@tamu.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: biosciences, biochemistry, biophysics, developmental biology, gene expression, genomics, enzymology, membrane structure, microbiology, molecular biology, phage biology, proteomics
Comments: coordinators are the PI and co-PI
REU Site: Summer Undergraduate Research Program in BiochemistryAbstract of Award
Cofunded: Chemistry
College Station, Texas
Primary: Holly Gaede
(979) 845-0520
hgaede@mail.chem.tamu.edu
Secondary: Marylin Warren
(979) 845-0520
reu@chem.tamu.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: Atmospheric chemistry, bioinorganic chemistry, biological chemistry, catalysis, computational chemistry, energy, environment, enzymes, green chemistry, materials chemistry,continued below...
Comments: Additional Key Words: mechanism, metal-organic frameworks, metabolism, nanotechnology, polymers, sensing, solar, surface, synthesis
REU Site: Biological, Environmental, and Materials Chemistry Research at Texas A&M UniversityAbstract of Award
Cofunded: Materials Research
Syracuse, New York
Primary: Karin Ruhlandt-Senge
(315) 443-1306
kruhland@syr.edu
Secondary: Michael Sponsler
(315) 443-4880
sponsler@syr.edu
NY, New York
Primary: Michael Sponsler
(315) 443-4880
sponsler@syr.edu
Secondary: April LePage
(315) 443-4109
amlepage@syr.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: chemistry, biochemistry, organic, inorganic, physical, analytical, materials, theoretical
REU Site: Undergraduate Research in Chemistry at Syracuse UniversityAbstract of Award
Southern Illinois University at Carbondale
REU Site for Interdisciplinary Materials Research
Chemistry
Carbondale, Illinois
Primary: Tammy Wieseman
(618) 453-6496
tammy.wieseman@siu.edu
Secondary: Douglas Coons
(618) 453-6496
dcoons@chem.siu.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: materials chemistry, nanomaterials
REU Site for Interdisciplinary Materials ResearchAbstract of Award
Cofunded: Chemistry
Princeton University
REU Site: Molecular Biophysics
Molecular Biology
Princeton, New Jersey
Primary: Jannette Carey
(609) 258-1631
jcarey@princeton.edu
Secondary: Istvan Pelczer
(609) 258-2342
ipelczer@princeton.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: Molecular Biology, international, Czech Republic, biophysics
Comments: Contact: Kuri T. Chacko, chacko@princeton.edu
REU Site: Molecular BiophysicsAbstract of Award
Cofunded: Chemistry, International Science and Engineering
Northern Illinois University
REU Site: Integrated Experimental and Computational REU Site at Northern Illinois University
Department of Chemistry and Biochemistry
DeKalb, Illinois
Primary: James R. Horn
(815) 753-8654
jrhorn@niu.edu
Secondary: Ralph A. Wheeler
rwheeler5@niu.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: Combined computational and experimental research; Training on advanced instrumentation; Enriched writing and speaking skills, Career development; Ethical behavior and safety training
Northeastern University
Research Opportunities in Biological and Chemical Catalysis II
Chemistry and Chemical Biology
Boston, Massachusetts
Primary: George A. O’Doherty
(617) 373-4817
G.ODoherty@neu.edu
Secondary: Oyinda Oyelaran
(617) 373-4494
O.Oyelaran@northeastern.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: Biochemistry, Organic, Physical, Computational, Materials, and Analytical, Medicinal Chemistry, and Med Chem.
Research Opportunities in Biological and Chemical Catalysis IIAbstract of Award
Raleigh, North Carolina
Primary: Elon Ison
(919) 513-4376
eaison@ncsu.edu
Secondary: Elena Jakubikova
(919) 515-1808
ejakubi@ncsu.edu
New York University
REU Site in Chemical Biology at NYU
Chemistry
New York, New York
Primary: Paramjit Arora
(212) 998-8470
arora@nyu.edu
Secondary: Daniela Buccella
(212) 998-7941
dbuccella@nyu.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: NYU, Chemical Biology, REU
REU Site in Chemical Biology at NYUAbstract of Award
Montana State University
REU Site: Mountains and Minds: Next Generation Chemistry for Materials and Catalysts
Department of Chemistry and Biochemsitry
Bozeman, Montana
Primary: Sharon Neufeldt
(406) 994-5692
sharon.neufeldt@montana.edu
Secondary: Nicholas Stadie
(406) 994-7931
nicholas.stadie@montana.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: chemistry, biochemistry, organic, inorganic, analytical, computational, physical, materials, catalysis, communication
REU Site: Mountains and Minds: Next Generation Chemistry for Materials and CatalystsAbstract of Award
Mississippi State University
REU- INFEWS: Food, Energy and Water Security
Department of Chemistry
Starkville, Mississippi
Primary: Deb Mlsna
(662) 325-3799
dmlsna@chemistry.msstate.edu
Secondary: Todd Mlsna
(662) 325-6744
tmlsna@chemistry.msstate.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: environmental, bio-fuels, chemistry, water, renewable energy, green chemistry, bio-char
REU- INFEWS: Food, Energy and Water SecurityAbstract of Award
Middle Tennessee State University
Chemical Research Using X-ray Characterization (CRUX)
Chemistry
Murfreesboro, Tennessee
Primary: Andrienne Friedli
(615) 898-2071
patricia.scott@mtsu.edu
Secondary: Patricia Scott
(615) 898-5629
patricia.scott@mtsu.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: X-ray, crystallography, synthesis, materials, organic, inorganic, analytical, organometallic, piezoelectric, bioactive
Chemical Research Using X-ray Characterization (CRUX)Abstract of Award
East Lansing, Michigan
Primary: Dr. Greg M. Swain
(517) 353-1090
swain@chemistry.msu.edu
Secondary: Dr. Robert L. LaDuca
(517) 432-2268
laduca@msu.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: green synthesis, biofuels, photoelectrochemistry, environmentally-friendly materials
Cross-Disciplinary Training in Sustainable Chemistry and Chemical ProcessesAbstract of Award
Miami University (Ohio)
Summer Undergraduate Research in Chemistry and Biochemistry at Miami University
Department of Chemistry and Biochemsitry
Oxford, Ohio
Primary: Carole Dabney-Smith
(513) 529-8091
cdabneysmith@MiamiOH.edu
Secondary: Dominik Konkolewicz
(513) 529-4395
d.konkolewicz@MiamiOH.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: analytical chemistry, biochemistry, electrochemistry, inorganic chemistry, organic, polymers, physical chemistry, structural biology, chemistry education
Summer Undergraduate Research in Chemistry and Biochemistry at Miami UniversityAbstract of Award
Louisiana State University
France/Belgium iREU in Translational Chemistry
Baton Rouge, Leuven, Grenoble, and Toulouse, Louisiana
Primary: Randy Duran
(225) 578-2459
rduran@lsu.edu
Secondary: David Spivak
(225) 578-2868
dspivak@lsu.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: LSAMP focus, all chemistry areas
Louisiana State University
Smart Polymer Composite Materials and Structures
Civil and Industrial Engineering, Chemistry
Baton Rouge, Louisiana
Primary: Heather Lavender
(225) 578-4726
heatherl@lsu.edu
Secondary: Gloria Thomas
(225) 578-5228
gloriathomas@lsu.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: materials science, shape memory polymer, polymer characterization, polymer synthesis, polymer composites
Smart Polymer Composite Materials and StructuresAbstract of Award
Kent, Ohio
Primary: Torsten Hegmann
(330) 672-7770
thegmann@kent.edu
Secondary: Michael J. Tubergen
(330) 672-2032
mtuberge@kent.edu
Kennesaw State University
Chemistry and Biochemistry Summer Undergraduate Research Experience at Kennesaw State University
Department of Chemistry and Biochemistry
Kennesaw, Georgia
Primary: Mark B. Mitchell
(470) 578-2048
mmitch52@kennesaw.edu
Secondary: Kimberly Linenberger
(470) 578-6278
klinenbe@kennesaw.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: Chemistry, Biochemistry, Undergraduate, Research, CBSURE
Chemistry and Biochemistry Summer Undergraduate Research Experience at Kennesaw State UniversityAbstract of Award
Manhattan, Kansas
Primary: Christopher T. Culbertson
(785) 532-6685
culbert@ksu.edu
Secondary: Stefan H. Bossmann
(785) 532-6817
sbossman@ksu.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: Chemistry, Biosecurity, Analytical, Organic, Inorganic, Physical, Community College
REU Site: Research Experiences for Undergraduates in Chemistry at Kansas State UniversityAbstract of Award
Johns Hopkins University
REU Site: Program in Nanotechnology for Biology and Bioengineering
Institute for NanoBioTechnology
Baltimore, Maryland
Primary: Denis Wirtz
(410) 516-8094
wirtz@jhu.edu
Secondary: Efrosini Kokkoli
(410) 516-1302
kokkoli@jhu.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: Engineering,Biosciences,StemCells,DiagnosticTools,Nanotechnology,Nanobiotechnology,Computational,Immunotherapy,TissueRepair,Biomedical,Chemical&Biomolecular,MaterialsScience,Bioengineering
Comments: Contact: Camille Bryant, cbryant@jhu.edu (410) 516-6572
REU Site: Program in Nanotechnology for Biology and BioengineeringAbstract of Award
Cofunded: Chemistry, Engineering
Harrisonburg, Virginia
Primary: Kevin Caran
(540) 568-6632
carankl@jmu.edu
Secondary: Gina MacDonald
(540) 568-6852
macdongx@jmu.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: chemistry
Comments: opportunities for deaf students
REU Site: Integrating Hearing and Deaf Students in Undergraduate Chemical ResearchAbstract of Award
Atlanta, Georgia
Primary: Suri S. Iyer
(404) 413-3606
siyer@gsu.edu
Secondary: Jeneille Grant
(404) 413-5526
jgrant9@gsu.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: Diverse chemical areas, diagnostics, therapeutics, chemical biology, community colleges, primarily undergraduate institutions, Atlanta Metropolitian area.
Summer Research Experiences for Students from Community Colleges and Four Year Institutions at Georgia State UniversityAbstract of Award
Show 30 items per page.