Email Print Share

REU Sites

REU Sites: Computer and Information Science and Engineering

Please report errors in the list below by writing to reu.cise@nsf.gov.


Search Again

REU Sites
Site Information Site Location Contact Information Additional Information
Wright State University
Cyber Security Research at Wright State University
Department of Computer Science and Engineering
Dayton, Ohio
Primary: Junjie Zhang
(937) 775-5015
junjie.zhang@wright.edu
Secondary: Bin Wang
(937) 775-5115
bin.wang@wright.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: Intrusion detection, wireless sensor network security, malware analysis, software reverse engineering, privacy-preserving data mining
Abstract of Award
Cofunded: Education and Human Resources
Worcester Polytechnic Institute
Interdisciplinary data science research for safe, sustainable and healthy communities
Computer Science Department (Data Science Program)
Worcester, Massachusetts
Primary: Elke Rundensteiner
(508) 831-5815
rundenst@wpi.edu
Secondary: Fatemeh Emdad
(508) 831-5303
femdad@wpi.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: Data science, smart and connected communities, health analytics, sustainability, cybersecurity, social media, data mining, machine learning, big data management, visualization, statistical learning
Abstract of Award
Wichita State University
Enhancing Undergraduate Research Experiences in Networked Cyber-Physical Systems
Electrical Engineering and Computer Science Department
Wichita, Kansas
Primary: Vinod Namboodiri
(316) 978-3922
vinod.namboodiri@wichita.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: Wireless localization, indoor mapping and navigation, UAV multimedia networking, cognitive radio networks, secure manufacturing, cloud computing, security and privacy of wearable devices
Abstract of Award
Washington University in St. Louis
Big Data Analytics
Department of Computer Science and Engineering
St. Louis, Missouri
Primary: Ruth Miller
ruth.miller@wustl.edu
Secondary: Sanmay Das
(314) 935-4274
sanmay@wustl.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: Machine learning, data science, artificial intelligence, parallel computing for big data, big data in computer vision, computational biology, and multi-agent systems applications
Abstract of Award
Washington State University
REU Site: Undergraduate Research in Smart Environments
Electrical Engineering and Computer Science
Pullman, Washington
Primary: Larry Holder
(509) 335-6138
holder@wsu.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: Computer Science, Smart Environments, Artificial Intelligence, Machine Learning, Data Mining, Pervasive Computing, Energy Efficiency, Psychology, Medical and Health Technologies
Abstract of Award
University of Wisconsin - Stout
Interdisciplinary Research Experiences in Robotics for Assistive Technology
Department of Engineering and Technology
Menomonie, Wisconsin
Primary: Wei Shi
(715) 232-3298
shiw@uwstout.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: Robotics, control systems, assistive technology and vocational rehabilitation, human-machine communication, mobile and wireless control robot design, manufacturing engineering
Abstract of Award
University of Texas - Dallas
REU Site: Software Safety: Research, Practice and a Path Forward
Computer Science
Richardson, Texas
Primary: Eric Wong
(972) 883-6619
ewong@utdallas.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: software safety,quality assurance, verification and validation, cost effectiveness,safety standard and evolution
Abstract of Award
Cofunded: Computer and Information Science and Engineering
University of Texas - Austin
Extensible Undergraduate Research Experience in Communications Applications (EURECA)
Electrical and Computer Engineering
Austin, Texas
Primary: Sriram Vishwanath
(512) 471-1190
sriram@ece.utexas.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: Wireless networking, communications, signal processing, image and video processing, control systems
Abstract of Award
Cofunded: Computer and Information Science and Engineering
University of Tennessee, Knoxville, TN
CSURE, Computational Sciences for Undergraduate Research Experiences
Joint Institute for Computational Sciences (JICS)
Knoxville, Tennessee
Primary: Kwai Wong
(865) 974-8833
kwong@utk.edu
Secondary: Gregory Peterson
(865) 241-0080
gdp@utk.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: Chemistry and materials sciences, systems biology, engineering mechanics, atmospheric sciences, and parallel solvers on emergent platforms,computational modeling
Abstract of Award
Cofunded: Computer and Information Science and Engineering
University of South Florida
REU Site on Ubiquitous Sensing
Computer Science and Engineering
Tampa, Florida
Primary: Dr. Miguel A. Labrador
(813) 974-3260
labrador@cse.usf.edu
Secondary: Dr. Yu Sun
(813) 974-7508
yusun@cse.usf.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: Participatory Sensing, Human-Centric Sensing, Location-Based Services
Abstract of Award
University of Southern California
Robotics and Autonomous Systems
Computer Science Department
Los Angeles, California
Primary: Nora Ayanian
(213) 740-5377
ayanian@usc.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: Cooperative robotics, bio-inspired robots, robotic networks, socially assistive robots, software-defined radars for UAVs, perception-action-learning systems, autonomy for aquatic robots
Abstract of Award
University of Southern California
REU Site: Undergraduate Studies in Earthquake Information Technology (SCEC/UseIT)
Southern California Earthquake Center Undergraduate Laboratory
Los Angeles, California
Primary: Gabriela Noriega
(213) 821-1117
gnoriega@usc.edu
Secondary: Thomas Jordan
(213) 821-1237
tjordan@usc.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: Grand challenge problems in earthquake system science, High Performance Computing, Visualization and Data Analysis Tools
Abstract of Award
Cofunded: Earth Sciences, Computer and Information Science and Engineering
Los Angeles, California
Primary: Thomas H Jordan
213-821-1237
tjordan@usc.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: object-oriented, open-source, internet- enabled software, interactive, 4D display, earthquake
Abstract of Award
University of Southern California
Human Communication in a Connected World
Information Sciences Institute
Marina del Rey, California
Primary: Jelena Mirkovic
(310) 448-9170
sunshine@isi.edu
Secondary: Christophe Hauser
(310) 448-8225
hauser@isi.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: Information flow and structure of social networks, information extraction and summarization, cybersecurity and communication networks and protocols
Abstract of Award
Cofunded: Department of Defense (DoD)
University of Southern California
REU Site: Research in Interactive Virtual Experiences
Institute for Creative Technologies
Los Angeles, California
Primary: Evan Suma
(310) 448-5311
suma@ict.usc.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: Virtual Reality, Human-Computer Interaction, Virtual Humans, Graphics, Natural Language Understanding
Abstract of Award
University of South Carolina
Applied Computational Robotics
Department of Computer Science and Engineering
Columbia, South Carolina
Primary: Jason O'Kane
(803) 777-1791
jokane@cse.sc.edu
Secondary: Jenay Beer
(803) 777-7361
jbeer@cse.sc.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: Field robotics, robotic perception and planning, human-robot interaction, security, software engineering
Abstract of Award
University of Rochester
Computational Methods for Understanding Music, Media, and Minds
Goergen Institute for Data Science
Rochester, New York
Primary: Henry Kautz
(585) 520-1200
gids-reu@rochester.edu
Secondary: Beth Olivares
(585) 275-7531
beth.olivares@rochester.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: Machine learning, audio engineering, data science, computer vision, music
Abstract of Award
University of Notre Dame
DISC: Data Intensive Scientific Computing
Center for Research Computing
Notre Dame, Indiana
Primary: Laura Kresnak
(574) 631-2401
lkresnak@nd.edu
Secondary: Douglas Thain
(574) 631-6845
dthain@nd.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: scientific computing, high performance computing, big data analytics, particle physics, astrophysics, bioinformatics, gene sequencing, computational epidemiology
Abstract of Award
Denton, Texas
Primary: Renee Bryce
(940) 565-4176
Renee.Bryce@unt.edu
Secondary: Hassan Takabi
(940) 565-2385
Hassan.Takabi@unt.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: Software Testing, Security, Web Applications, Mobile Applications
Abstract of Award
Grand Forks, North Dakota
Primary: Ronald Marsh
(701) 777-4013
rmarsh@cs.und.edu
Secondary: David Whalen
(701) 777-3558
whalen@space.und.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: Image processing/superresolution, communications cybersecurity, safety critical system model based validation, system engineering validation, distribution data processing on a cluster of space craft
Abstract of Award
Cofunded: Computer and Information Science and Engineering, Department of Defense (DoD)
Charlotte, North Carolina
Primary: Heather Lipford
(704) 687-8376
heather.lipford@uncc.edu
Secondary: Aubrae Collins
(704) 687-8954
aubrae.collins@uncc.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: Pervasive computing, computer vision, machine learning for image and video analysis, crowdsensing, activity recognition, human-computer interaction; projects emphasize socially relevant computing
Abstract of Award
University of Missouri - Columbia
Undergraduate Research in Consumer Networking Technologies
Department of Computer Science
Columbia, Missouri
Primary: Prasad Calyam
(573) 882-9747
calyamp@missouri.edu
Secondary: Yi Shang
(573) 884-7794
shangy@missouri.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: Software-defined networking, visual computing at the network edge, social health networking for eldercare, body-area sensing and emotion recognition
Abstract of Award
University of Minnesota
Computational Methods for Discovery Driven by Big Data
Department of Computer Science and Engineering
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Primary: Daniel Boley
(612) 625-3887
boley@umn.edu
Secondary: Amy Larson
(612) 625-9088
lars1050@umn.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: machine learning, virtual social behaviors, immersive virtual environments, mobile cloud platforms, biological networks, Earth climate analysis using graph-based methods
Abstract of Award
University of Miami
Scientific Computing for Structure in Big or Complex Datasets
Department of Computer Science
Miami, Florida
Primary: Burton Rosenberg
(305) 284-2141
burt@cs.miami.edu
Secondary: Julie Garcia
(305) 284-2268
secretary@cs.miami.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: Computational chemistry, computational neuroscience and brain science, visualization of ensemble data, GPU enabled cryptography, neural networks in visual processing modeling human social behavior
Abstract of Award
Lowell, Massachusetts
Primary: Xinwen Fu
(605) 270-9427
xinwenfu@cs.uml.edu
Secondary: Kate Saenko
(978) 934-3620
saenko@cs.uml.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: Project 1:Threats against human-action modalities Project 2:Defense of human-action modalities Project 3:Threats against computer sensing modalities Project 4:Defense of computer sensing modalities
Abstract of Award
University of Massachusetts Amherst
REUMass: A Summer Computing Research Experience in Data Science
Department of Computer Science
Amherst, Massachusetts
Primary: Prof. David Jensen
(413) 545-9677
reu@cs.umass.edu
Secondary: Ms. Leeanne LeClerc
(413) 545-3640
leclerc@cs.umass.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: Data science including applications (computational social science, mobile health, etc.), data analytics (machine learning, NLP, etc.), and infrastructure (databases, cloud computing, etc.).
Abstract of Award
College Park, Maryland
Primary: William Gasarch
(301) 405-2698
gasarch@cs.umd.edu
Secondary: Samir Khuller
(301) 405-2712
samir@cs.umd.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: Crytography, graph algorithms, combinatorics, probability, programming games, algorithms for problems from AI and database
Abstract of Award
University of Illinois Urbana Champaign
Incubating a New Community of Leaders Using Software, Inclusion, Innovation, Interdisciplinary and OpeN-Science (INCLUSION)
National Center for Supercomputing Applications
URBANA, Illinois
Primary: Daniel S. Katz
(217) 244-8000
dskatz@illinois.edu
Secondary: Olena Kindratenko
(217) 300-0247
kindrat2@illinois.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: open source software, software development, collaborative, interdisciplinary, social impact
Abstract of Award
Cofunded: Computer and Information Science and Engineering
University of Houston
Undergraduate Research Experience in Multimedia Data Analytics.
Department of Computer Science
Houston, Texas
Primary: Stephen Huang
(713) 743-3338
shuang@cs.uh.edu
Secondary: Ernst L. Leiss
(713) 743-3359
coscel@cs.uh.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: Data Analytics, Computational Science, Machine Learning, Cybersecurity
Abstract of Award
University of Florida
Undergraduate Research in Intelligent Multimodal Human-Computer Interaction
Computer & Information Science & Engineering
Gainesville, Florida
Primary: Kristy Boyer
keboyer@ufl.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: Virtual agents for teaching and training; voice interfaces, dialogue, spherical displays, and brain-computer interfaces; digital games for physical activity and for learning problem solving
Abstract of Award
Cofunded: Department of Defense (DoD)