Skip to main content
Email Print Share

Search Results for REU Sites

All results for: all sites
Search Again

Site Information Site Location Contact Information Additional Information
University of Wyoming
REU Site: Wyoming Astronomy
Department of Physics and Astronomy
Laramie, Wyoming
Primary: Dr. Daniel Dale
307-766-5154
physics@uwyo.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: astronomy, astrophysics, instrumentation
Abstract of Award
Marquette University
Computation Across the Disciplines
Math, Stats and Computer Science
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Primary: Dennis Brylow
(414) 288-6342
dennis.brylow@marquette.edu
Secondary: Kim Factor
(414) 288-7941
kim.factor@marquette.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: Computational sciences, applied mathematical modeling, embedded and ubiquitous systems, STEM education
Abstract of Award
Cofunded: Computer and Information Science and Engineering
University of Wisconsin – Eau Claire
Give Research Opportunity to Underrepresented Minority STEM Students (GRO URMSS)
Chemistry and Materials Science Center
Eau Claire, Wisconsin
Primary: Thao Yang
(715) 836-4190
yangt@uwec.edu
Secondary: Marc Mc Ellistrem
(715) 836-4081
mcellimt@uwec.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: REU Site for Two-year College URM Students
Abstract of Award
University of Wisconsin - Stout
Interdisciplinary Research Experiences in Robotics for Assistive Technology
Department of Engineering and Technology
Menomonie, Wisconsin
Primary: Wei Shi
(715) 232-3298
shiw@uwstout.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: Robotics, control systems, assistive technology and vocational rehabilitation, human-machine communication, mobile and wireless control robot design, manufacturing engineering
Abstract of Award
University of Wisconsin-Oshkosh
Research Experiences for Undergraduates in Proteomics and
Biology & Microbiology
Oshkosh, Wisconsin
Primary: Lisa A. Dorn
920.424.3064
dorn@uwosh.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: Chemistry, Biochemistry, Computer Science
Abstract of Award
University of Wisconsin Madison
REU Site: Biological Signals: Information Flow, Exchange and Storage
Wisconsin Institute for Science Education and Community Engagement (WISCIENCE)
Madison, Wisconsin
Primary: Janet Branchaw
(608) 262-1182
branchaw@wisc.edu
Secondary: David Wassarman
(608) 262-6648
dawassarman@wisc.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: biology, biosciences, molecular, cellular, organismal, ecologial, signals, DNA, genetics, endocrinology, neuroscience, environment
Comments: Program Coordinator: Dr. Amber Smith, amber.smith@wisc.edu, 608-265-0850
Abstract of Award
Cofunded: Biological Sciences
Milwaukee School of Engineering
REU Site: in Additive Manufacturing- Advances and Applications
Applied Research Division
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Primary: Subha K Kumpaty
(414) 277-7466
kumpaty@msoe.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: Interdisciplinary engineering, Micro-manufacturing
Abstract of Award
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Primary: Allison Abbott
(414) 288-4422
allison.abbott@marquette.edu
Secondary: Edward Blumenthal
(414) 288-6270
edward.blumental@marquette.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: biology, biosciences
Comments: Point of Contact for this Program is Deborah Weaver, program secretary, deborah.weaver@marquette.edu.
Abstract of Award
Cofunded: Biological Sciences
Menomonie, Wisconsin
Primary: Nels Paulson
lakes@uwstout.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: Water, Phosphorus, Sustainability, Sociology, Economics, Microbiology, Geology, Anthropology, Mathematics, Communications
Abstract of Award
River Falls, Wisconsin
Primary: Professor Surujhdeo Seunarine
(715) 425-3560
surujhdeo.seunarine@uwrf.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: Neutrino Astrophysics, Cosmic Rays, Particle Physics
Abstract of Award
Menomonie, Wisconsin
Primary: David Ferguson
fergusond@uwstout.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: Phosphorous Pollution, Phosphorous Remediation Strategies, Sedimentology, Environmental Sustainability, Economic Impacts, Quantitative System Modeling
Abstract of Award
University of Wisconsin - Madison
REU SITE: The Chemistry of Materials for Renewable Energy
Chemistry
Madison, Wisconsin
Primary: Andrew Greenberg
608-265-3884
greenberg@chem.wisc.edu
Secondary: Paul F Nealey
608-265-8171
nealey@engr.wisc.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: chemistry
Abstract of Award
La Crosse, Wisconsin
Primary: Eric Alan Eager
(608) 785-6608
eeager@uwlax.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: Mathematical and Theoretical Ecology
Abstract of Award
Madison, Wisconsin
Primary: Nicholas Abbott
(606) 262-3022
ice@chem.wisc.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: REU Programs in Nanotechnology; Chemistry, Chemical and Biological Engineering; The Chemistry of Materials of Renewable Energy
Comments: Three separate REU programs appealing to students majoring in: Chem, Phys, Chem/Bio Eng, Pharmacy, MatSci and Eng, Genetics, Biochem, Mech Eng
Abstract of Award
University of Wisconsin-Madison
University of Wisconsin-Madison
Dept of Astronomy/Dept of Physics
Madison, Wisconsin
Primary: Dr. Audra Hernandez
(608) 262-3071
reu@astro.wisc.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: astronomy, astrophysics, space physics, space science, instrumentation, atmospheric physics
Abstract of Award
Cofunded: Department of Defense (DoD)
West Virginia University
REU Site: Multifunctional Nanomaterials
cross-disciplinary
Morgantown, West Virginia
Primary: Lisa Holland
(304) 293-0174
Lisa.Holland@mail.wvu.edu
Secondary: Kimberly Quedado
(304) 293-7382
Kimberly.Quedado@mail.wvu.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: nanomaterials, smart materials, photoactive materials, sensor materials
Abstract of Award
Cofunded: Chemistry
University of Washington
Inverse Problems
Mathematics
Seattle, Washington
Primary: James A. Morrow
(206) 543-1161
morrow@math.washington.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: Inverse Problems, Network Theory
Abstract of Award
Bellingham, Washington
Primary: Seth Feinberg
Seth.Feinberg@wwu.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: international research, qualitative and qualitative social science methodologies, reproductive health research
Abstract of Award
Western Washington University, Anacortes, WA.
REU Site at the Shannon Point Marine Center, Washington State
Shannon Point Marine Center
Anacortes, Washington
Primary: Dr. Brian Bingham
(360) 650-7400
spmc@wwu.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: marine science, oceanography, biology, chemistry, physics, geology, coastal studies, ecology,
Comments: The application website is open in December, and applications are due in mid-February.
Abstract of Award
University of Washington Bothell
REU Site at University of Washington Bothell
Seattle, Washington
Primary: Jennifer McLoud-Mann
(425) 352-3475
jmcloud@uw.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: Mathematics (both pure and applied topics)
Abstract of Award
Toppenish, Washington
Primary: Kazuhiro Sonoda
(509) 865-8584
Sonoda_k@heritage.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: Microbiology, plant pathology, plant evolution, DNA barcoding, molecular ecology, fisheries biology
Comments: Coordinator/contact Nina Barcenas.
Abstract of Award
Seattle, Washington
Primary: Shaun Taylor
(206) 685-2029
uwcei@uw.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: Solar, clean energy, smart grid, battery, energy storage, thin film, data science, materials, chemistry,(additional keywords in the Comments section).
Comments: Additional Keywords: chemical engineering, electrical engineering, physics, modeling, polymers, characterization, nanoparticles, engineering Comments: This program is suitable for freshmen and
Abstract of Award
Cofunded: Materials Research
Pullman, Washington
Primary: Michael R. Kessler
(509) 335-8654
michaelr.kessler@wsu.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: scientific frontiers of bioplastics and biocomposites
Abstract of Award
University of Washington
REU Site: Discoveries in Genomics and Proteomics
Genome Sciences
Seattle, Washington
Primary: Christine Queitsch
(206) 685-8935
queitsch@u.washington.edu
Secondary: Maureen Munn
(206) 616-4538
mmunn@u.washington.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: biosciences, genetics, genomics, proteomics, evolution, computaional biology, developmental biology, technology development, microbiome, genome editing, DNA replication,etc
Comments: Program adminstrator Brian Giebel (bgiebel@uw.edu; (206) 616-7297)
Abstract of Award
Washington State University
REU Site: Engineering Tool for Disease Diagnosis and Treatment
Voiland School of Chemical Engineering and Bioengineering
Pullman, Washington
Primary: Nehal I. Abu-Lail
(509) 335-4961
nehal@wsu.edu
Secondary: Cornelius F. Ivory
(509) 335-7716
cfivory@wsu.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: Biofilms, Chronic wounds, multidrug resistance, neonatal sepsis, cardiac biomarkers, osteoarthritis, nanobiocatalysis, diabetes, heart attack, protein engr, muscle dystrophy, prostate cancer,neck pain
Abstract of Award
Central Washington University
REU Site: Hazards and Risks of Climate Change in the Pacific Northwest
Department of Geological Sciences
Ellensburg, Washington
Primary: Dr. Anne Egger
(509) 963-2870
annegger@geology.cwu.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: climate science, ecology, geography, geology, sociology
Abstract of Award
University of Washington
REU Site: Integrative Biology and Ecology of Marine Organisms
Department of Biology
Friday Harbor, Washington
Primary: Adam Summers
fishguy@uw.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: biology, ocean Sciences, marine biology, integrative biology and ecology of marine organisms
Abstract of Award
Cofunded: Ocean Sciences
Vancouver, Washington
Primary: Gretchen Rollwagen-Bollens
360-546-9115
rollboll@vancouver.wsu.edu
Secondary: Stephen Bollens
360-546-9116
sbollens@vancouver.wsu.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: Biology; landscape ecology; ecosystem ecology; community ecology; aquatic ecology; environemntal science; environmental biology
Comments: Our summer program engages current undergraduates from around the Vancouver, Washington/Portland, Oregon region in high-quality research in the Columbia River Basin. Students will study both aquatic a
Abstract of Award
Washington State University
REU Site: Regional Atmospheric Chemistry: State-of-the-art Measurement and Modeling in the Pacific Northwest
Department of Civil & Environmental Engineering
Pullman, Washington
Primary: Dr. Shelley Pressley
(509) 335-5443
spressley@wsu.edu
Secondary: Dr. Brian Lamb
(509) 335-5702
blamb@wsu.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: atmospheric science, air quality, atmospheric chemistry, mobile laboratory facility, air quality measurements, air quality modeling, Pacific northwest, climate change, mobile atmospheric chemistry lab
Abstract of Award
Bellingham, Washington
Primary: P. Clint Spiegel, Jr.
360-650-3137
Paul.Spiegel@wwu.edu
Secondary: Greg O'Neil
360-650-6283
oneilg@chem.wwu.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: Chemistry (Biochemistry, Synthetic Chemistry, Materials Chemistry, Computational Chemistry