Email Print Share

Search Results for REU Sites

All results for: all sites
Search Again

Show 30 number of items per page.
Search Results for REU Sites
Site Information Site Location Contact Information Additional Information
Howard University
REU Site in Physics at Howard University
Deaprtment of Physics
Washington, District Of Columbia
Primary: Dr. Prabhakar Misra
(202) 806-6251
pmisra@howard.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: Computational and Experimental Nanophysics and Condensed Matter Physics, Materials Physics, Mathematical Physics, Optics and Laser Spectroscopy
REU Site in Physics at Howard UniversityAbstract of Award
Cofunded: Education and Human Resources
Georgetown University
REU Site: Chemistry Research at Georgetown University
Department of Chemistry
Washington, District Of Columbia
Primary: Jennifer Swift
202-687-5567
chemreu@georgetown.edu
Secondary: Sarah Stoll
202-687-5839
chemreu@georgetown.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: Chemistry (broadly defined)
REU Site: Chemistry Research at Georgetown UniversityAbstract of Award
Washington, District Of Columbia
Primary: Matthew Hamilton
(202) 687-5924
matthew.hamilton@georgetown.edu
Secondary: Martha Weiss
(202) 687-6549
weissm@georgetown.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: biology, biosciences, environmental science, public policy, ecology, population biology, mathematical modeling, climate change, geoscience
Comments: Program coordinator: Prof. Manus Patten, mmp64@georgetown.edu
REU Site: Environmental science and policy in the nation’s capitalAbstract of Award
Cofunded: Mathematical Sciences
Smithsonian Institution
REU Site: Natural History Research Experiences
National Museum of Natural History(NMNH)
Washington, DC, District Of Columbia
Primary: Virginia Power
(202) 633-1055
powerv@si.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: geoscience, planets, asteroids, mineralogy, petrology, volcanology, paleobiology, oceanography, environmental, evolution,biodiversity, taxonomy,genomics,anthropology,archaeology,ethnology,linguistics
REU Site: Natural History Research ExperiencesAbstract of Award
Cofunded: Biological Sciences, Earth Sciences
Incorporated Research Institutions for Seismology
Undergraduate Summer Research in Seismology
District Of Columbia
Primary: Michael Hubenthal
(607) 777-4612
hubenth@iris.edu
Embry-Riddle Aeronautical University
Cybersecurity Research of Unmanned Aerial Vehicles
Department of Electrical, Computer, Software, and Systems Engineering
Daytona Beach, Florida
Primary: Jiawei Yuan
(386) 226-7344
yuanj@erau.edu
Secondary: Remzi Seker
(386) 226-7409
sekerr@erau.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: Unmanned aerial vehicles, cybersecurity, data privacy, network security, secure UAV control
Cybersecurity Research of Unmanned Aerial VehiclesAbstract of Award
University of Florida/Université L. Pasteur, Université Pierre and Marie Curie, Université Paul Saba
i-REU Site: The US/France REU Exchange Site in Chemistry: Forming Global Scientists for the 21st Century
Chemistry
Strasbourg, Paris, Toulouse, Florida
Primary: Valeria D. Kleiman
(352) 392-4656
reu@chem.ufl.edu
Secondary: Adrian Roitberg
(352) 392-6972
roitberg@ufl.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: chemistry (all areas), international, France
Comments: Additional Primary Contact Information: Name: Valeria D. Kleiman Email: kleiman@ufl.edu
i-REU Site: The US/France REU Exchange Site in Chemistry: Forming Global Scientists for the 21st CenturyAbstract of Award
University of Florida
International REU Site for Gravitational Physics
Department of Physics
Gainesville, Florida
Primary: Dr. Bernard Whiting
(352) 392-0521
bernard@phys.ufl.edu
Secondary: Dr. Guide Mueller
(352) 392-1582
mueller@phys.ufl.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: Gravitational Wave physics
Comments: International collaborators with Hannover, Paris, Japan, Italy,Australia and UK
International REU Site for Gravitational PhysicsAbstract of Award
Tallahassee, Florida
Primary: Jose A. Sanchez
(850) 645-0033
sanchez@magnet.fsu.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: Materials and phenomena at high magnetic fields
National High Magnetic Field LaboratoryAbstract of Award
University of South Florida
NSF REU Program in Applied Physics
Physics
Tampa, Florida
Primary: Sarath Witanachchi
(813) 974-2789
switanach@usf.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: Materials physics/condensed matter physics, biophysics/biomedical physics, AMO (atomic, molecular and optical) physics
Comments: This REU provides a great experience for GU students who are interested in pursuing interdisciplinary graduate programs in related areas
NSF REU Program in Applied PhysicsAbstract of Award
Cofunded: Physics
Orlando, Florida
Primary: Dr. Timothy Hawthorne
Timothy.Hawthorne@ucf.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: Geographic Information Systems, GIS, Citizen Science, geospatial technologies, geography, geosciences, sociology, education, community development, public health, land use planning
NSF REU Site: Preparing the Next Generation of Scholars through Community Geographic Information Systems and Citizen Science in Orlando and BelizeAbstract of Award
University of Central Florida
Research Experiences in the Internet of Things
Computer Science Department
Orlando, Florida
Primary: Damla Turgut
(407) 823-6171
turgut@cs.ucf.edu
Secondary: Yier Jin
(407) 823-5321
yier.jin@ucf.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: Internet of Things (IoT), security and privacy, sensor design and fabrication, social networks and IoT, energy efficient devices, medical applications of IoT
Research Experiences in the Internet of ThingsAbstract of Award
University of Central Florida
Research for Undergraduates in Computer Vision
Center for Research in Computer Vision
Orlando, Florida
Primary: Mubarak Shah
(407) 823-5077
shah@crcv.ucf.edu
Secondary: Niels Lobo
(407) 823-2873
niels@eecs.ucf.edu
Mote Marine Laboratory
REU at Mote Marine Lab
Sarasota, Florida
Primary: Dr. Cathy Walsh
(941) 388-4441
cjwalsh@mote.org
Secondary: Dr. Kim Ritchie
(941) 388-4441
ritchie@mote.org
Research Topics/Keywords: Marine biology, harmful algal blooms, ocean sciences, coastal studies
Comments: The application website opens in January and applications are due mid-February.
REU at Mote Marine LabAbstract of Award
University of North Florida
REU in Coastal Biology
Department of Biology
Jacksonville, Florida
Primary: Dr. Matt Gilg
(904) 620-2830
mgilg@unf.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: marine biology, coastal ecology, genetics, fish ecology, marine mammals,salt marsh, seagrass, invasive species
Comments: Freshmen and Sophomore-level students encouraged to apply; Application website opens in late January with application deadlines in March.
REU in Coastal BiologyAbstract of Award
University of South Florida
REU Site on Ubiquitous Sensing
Computer Science and Engineering
Tampa, Florida
Primary: Dr. Miguel A. Labrador
(813) 974-3260
labrador@cse.usf.edu
Secondary: Dr. Yu Sun
(813) 974-7508
yusun@cse.usf.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: Participatory Sensing, Human-Centric Sensing, Location-Based Services
REU Site on Ubiquitous SensingAbstract of Award
Florida Institute of Technology
REU Site: Advances of Machine Learning in Theory & Applications (AMALTHEA)
Electrical & Computer Engineering
Melbourne, Florida
Primary: Georgios C Anagnostopoulos
(321) 674-7125
georgio@fit.edu
Secondary: Anthony Smith
(321) 674-8425
anthonysmith@fit.edu
Orlando, Florida
Primary: Andre Gesquiere
(407) 454-1317
andre@ucf.edu
Secondary: Sudipta Seal
(407) 823-5277
Sudipta.Seal@ucf.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: Mechanical and Materials Engineering, Electrical Engineering, Computer Science, Biotechnology, Nanoscience and technology, Chemistry, Biochemistry, Nanomedicine, Biophotonics, Sensors, Therapeutics
REU Site: Engineering and Nanoscience of Materials and Device Applications in Biotechnology and MedicineAbstract of Award
University of Florida
REU Site: Marine Biodiversity: lessons from molecules, development and behavior
Whitney Laboratory for Marine Bioscience
Saint Augustine, Florida
Primary: Elaine Seaver
(904) 461-4030
seaver@whitney.ufl.edu
Secondary: Joseph Ryan
(904) 461-4046
joseph.ryan@whitney.ufl.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: biology, biosciences, evolution, marine biology, neurobiology, embryology, genomics, coastal ecology, biomechanics, locomotion, molecular biology, biogeochemistry
Comments: Coordinator: Brenda Cannaliato (brenda@whitney.ufl.edu)
REU Site: Marine Biodiversity: lessons from molecules, development and behaviorAbstract of Award
Gainesville, Florida
Primary: Professor Selman Hershfield
(352) 392-9387
selman@phys.ufl.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: Materials physics
REU Site: Materials Physics at the University of FloridaAbstract of Award
Cofunded: Department of Defense (DoD)
Bethune-Cookman University
REU Site: Mathematical Modeling in Environmental, Biological and Other Sciences
Workforce in the Mathematical Sciences
Daytona Beach, Florida
Primary: Seenith Sivasundaram
(386) 481-2491
sivasundarams@cookman.edu
Secondary: Yungkul Kim
(386) 481-2676
kimy@cookman.edu
Florida State University
REU Site: Multi-physics of Active Systems and Structures
FAMU-FSU College of Engineering
Tallahassee, Florida
Primary: Chiang Shih
(850) 645-0102
shih@eng.fsu.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: Micro Air Vehicles, robotics, supersonic flows,flow control, aeroacoustics, sensors and actuators, smart materials, thermal management, autonomous control, model and simulation, instrumentation,
REU Site: Multi-physics of Active Systems and StructuresAbstract of Award
Florida Atlantic University
REU Site: Removing Barriers to Ocean Current Based Electricity Production through Undergraduate Research
Southeast National Marine Renewable Energy Center
Boca Raton, Florida
Primary: James VanZwieten Jr.
(561) 297-0955
jvanzwi@fau.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: marine renewable energy, ocean current energy, hydrokinetic energy, renewable energy, tidal energy, ocean engineering, mechanical engineering, marine sciences, ocean sciences, green energy, power
REU Site: Removing Barriers to Ocean Current Based Electricity Production through Undergraduate ResearchAbstract of Award
Florida International University
REU SITE: Research Experiences for Undergraduates in Advanced Secured Sensor Enabling Technologies
School of Computing and Information Sciences
Miami, Florida
Primary: Niki Pissinou
(305) 348-3716
pissinouci@fiu.edu
Secondary: Kia Makki
(305) 348-3738
makkik@fiu.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: Optimization methods and software for robust, secure, context aware, reconfigurable and adaptable computing systems for emerging multidisciplinary applications
REU SITE: Research Experiences for Undergraduates in Advanced Secured Sensor Enabling TechnologiesAbstract of Award
Florida State University
REU Site: Retaining Engineers Through Research Entrepreneurship and Advanced Materials Training
computer engineering, industrial engineering,materials and civil engineering
Tallahassee, Florida
Primary: Okenwa O Okoli
(850) 410-6352
okoli@eng.fsu.edu
Secondary: Arda Vanli
(850) 410-6354
oavanli@eng.fsu.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: Advanced materials and entrepreneurship
Comments: In addition to Engineering, the research could also fit under Chemistry, Materials Research, Mathematical Sciences, and Physics, depending on the specific research project involved.
REU Site: Retaining Engineers Through Research Entrepreneurship and Advanced Materials TrainingAbstract of Award
Tampa, Florida
Primary: Venkat Bhethanabotla
(813) 974-3041
bhethana@usf.edu
Secondary: John Kuhn
(813) 974-6498
jnkuhn@usf.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: functional materials, manufacturing, nanomaterials, composites, sensors, materials science, materials engineering
REU Site: REU in Functional Materials and Manufacturing at University of South FloridaAbstract of Award
Florida International University
REU Site: Security of Smart Things
Electrical and Computer Engineering
Miami, Florida
Primary: Kemal Akkaya
(305) 348-3017
kakkaya@fiu.edu
Secondary: A. Selcuk Uluagac
(305) 348-3710
auluagac@fiu.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: Internet-of-things, cyber-physical systems, security of smart things, security of critical infrastructures, user privacy, cybersecurity, hardware security
REU Site: Security of Smart ThingsAbstract of Award
The Scripps Research Institute
REU Site: SURFing the Interface between Chemistry and Biology
Chemistry, Immunology and Microbiology, Molecular Medicine, Neuroscience, Integrative Structural and
Jupiter, Florida
Primary: Katrin Karbstein
(561) 228-3210
kkarbst@scripps.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: biology, biosciences, Chemical Biology, Biochemistry, Neuroscience
Comments: Rosie Albarran-Zeckler, Rzeckler@scripps.edu, 561 228 2994
REU Site: SURFing the Interface between Chemistry and BiologyAbstract of Award
University of South Florida
REU Site: Tampa Interdisciplinary Environmental Reserach
Civil and Environmental Engineering
Tampa, Florida
Primary: Maya A. Trotz
(813) 974-5465
matrotz@eng.usf.edu
Secondary: Sarina J. Ergas
(813) 974-2275
sergas@eng.usf.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: Interdisciplinary Environmental Research
REU Site: Tampa Interdisciplinary Environmental ReserachAbstract of Award
Tallahassee, Florida
Primary: Ramesh Katam
(850) 561-2750
ramesh.katam@famu.edu
Secondary: Virginia Gottschalk
(850) 561-2750
virginia.gottschalk@famu.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: biology, biosciences, Genomics, Proteomics, Metabolomics, and Bioinformatics
Comments: Ramesh Katam at ramesh.katam@famu.edu
REU Site: Undergraduate Research Experience in Genomics, Proteomics and BioinformaticsAbstract of Award
Show 30 number of items per page.