Skip to main content
Email Print Share

Search Results for REU Sites

All results for: all sites
Search Again

Site Information Site Location Contact Information Additional Information
Smithsonian Institution
REU Site: Natural History Research Experiences
National Museum of Natural History(NMNH)
Washington, DC, District Of Columbia
Primary: Virginia Power
(202) 633-1055
powerv@si.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: geoscience, planets, asteroids, mineralogy, petrology, volcanology, paleobiology, oceanography, environmental, evolution,biodiversity, taxonomy,genomics,anthropology,archaeology,ethnology,linguistics
Abstract of Award
Cofunded: Biological Sciences, Earth Sciences
Incorporated Research Institutions for Seismology
Undergraduate Summer Research in Seismology
District Of Columbia
Primary: Michael Hubenthal
(607) 777-4612
hubenth@iris.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: Seismology
Abstract of Award
University of Florida/Université L. Pasteur, Université Pierre and Marie Curie, Université Paul Saba
i-REU Site: The US/France REU Exchange Site in Chemistry: Forming Global Scientists for the 21st Century
Chemistry
Strasbourg, Paris, Toulouse, Florida
Primary: Valeria D. Kleiman
(352) 392-4656
reu@chem.ufl.edu
Secondary: Adrian Roitberg
(352) 392-6972
roitberg@ufl.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: chemistry (all areas), international, France
Comments: Additional Primary Contact Information: Name: Valeria D. Kleiman Email: kleiman@ufl.edu
Abstract of Award
University of Florida
International REU Site for Gravitational Physics
Department of Physics
Gainesville, Florida
Primary: Dr. Bernard Whiting
(352) 392-0521
bernard@phys.ufl.edu
Secondary: Dr. Guide Mueller
(352) 392-1582
mueller@phys.ufl.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: Gravitational Wave physics
Comments: International collaborators with Hannover, Paris, Japan, Italy,Australia and UK
Abstract of Award
Tallahassee, Florida
Primary: Jose A. Sanchez
(850) 645-0033
sanchez@magnet.fsu.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: Materials and phenomena at high magnetic fields
Abstract of Award
University of South Florida
NSF REU Program in Applied Physics
Physics
Tampa, Florida
Primary: Sarath Witanachchi
(813) 974-2789
switanach@usf.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: Materials physics/condensed matter physics, biophysics/biomedical physics, AMO (atomic, molecular and optical) physics
Comments: This REU provides a great experience for GU students who are interested in pursuing interdisciplinary graduate programs in related areas
Abstract of Award
Cofunded: Physics
Orlando, Florida
Primary: Dr. Timothy Hawthorne
Timothy.Hawthorne@ucf.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: Geographic Information Systems, GIS, Citizen Science, geospatial technologies, geography, geosciences, sociology, education, community development, public health, land use planning
Abstract of Award
Florida Institute of Technology
Partial Differential Equations and Dynamical Systems
Mathematical Sciences
Melbourne, Florida
Primary: Ugur G. Abdulla
(321) 674-8765
abdulla@fit.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: Nonlinear Partial Differential Equations, Inverse Free Boundary Problems and Optimal Control, Dynamical Systems and Chaos Theory
Abstract of Award
University of Central Florida
Research Experiences in the Internet of Things
Computer Science Department
Orlando, Florida
Primary: Damla Turgut
(407) 823-6171
turgut@cs.ucf.edu
Secondary: Yier Jin
(407) 823-5321
yier.jin@ucf.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: Internet of Things (IoT), security and privacy, sensor design and fabrication, social networks and IoT, energy efficient devices, medical applications of IoT
Abstract of Award
University of Central Florida
Research for Undergraduates in Computer Vision
Center for Research in Computer Vision
Orlando, Florida
Primary: Mubarak Shah
(407) 823-5077
shah@crcv.ucf.edu
Secondary: Niels Lobo
(407) 823-2873
niels@eecs.ucf.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: Computer Vision
Abstract of Award
Cofunded: Department of Defense (DoD)
Mote Marine Laboratory
REU at Mote Marine Lab
Sarasota, Florida
Primary: Dr. Cathy Walsh
(941) 388-4441
cjwalsh@mote.org
Secondary: Dr. Kim Ritchie
(941) 388-4441
ritchie@mote.org
Research Topics/Keywords: Marine biology, harmful algal blooms, ocean sciences, coastal studies
Comments: The application website opens in January and applications are due mid-February.
Abstract of Award
University of North Florida
REU in Coastal Biology
Department of Biology
Jacksonville, Florida
Primary: Dr. Matt Gilg
(904) 620-2830
mgilg@unf.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: marine biology, coastal ecology, genetics, fish ecology, marine mammals,salt marsh, seagrass, invasive species
Comments: Freshmen and Sophomore-level students encouraged to apply; Application website opens in late January with application deadlines in March.
Abstract of Award
University of South Florida
REU Site in Applied Physics at the University of South Florida
Department of Physics
Tampa, Florida
Primary: Sarath Witanachchi
(813) 974-2789
switanach@usf.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: Applied Physics, AMO Physics, Biomedical/Biophysics, Materials Physics and Computational Physics
Comments: DMR funded this proposal.
Abstract of Award
University of South Florida
REU Site on Ubiquitous Sensing
Computer Science and Engineering
Tampa, Florida
Primary: Dr. Miguel A. Labrador
(813) 974-3260
labrador@cse.usf.edu
Secondary: Dr. Yu Sun
(813) 974-7508
yusun@cse.usf.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: Participatory Sensing, Human-Centric Sensing, Location-Based Services
Abstract of Award
Florida Institute of Technology
REU Site: Advances of Machine Learning in Theory & Applications (AMALTHEA)
Electrical & Computer Engineering
Melbourne, Florida
Primary: Georgios C Anagnostopoulos
(321) 674-7125
georgio@fit.edu
Secondary: Adrian Peter
(321) 674-8471
apeter@fit.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: machine learning
Abstract of Award
Orlando, Florida
Primary: Andre Gesquiere
(407) 454-1317
andre@ucf.edu
Secondary: Sudipta Seal
(407) 823-5277
Sudipta.Seal@ucf.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: Mechanical and Materials Engineering, Electrical Engineering, Computer Science, Biotechnology, Nanoscience and technology, Chemistry, Biochemistry, Nanomedicine, Biophotonics, Sensors, Therapeutics
Abstract of Award
University of Florida
REU Site: Marine Biodiversity: lessons from molecules, development and behavior
Whitney Laboratory for Marine Bioscience
Saint Augustine, Florida
Primary: Elaine Seaver
(904) 461-4030
seaver@whitney.ufl.edu
Secondary: Joseph Ryan
(904) 461-4046
joseph.ryan@whitney.ufl.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: biology, biosciences, evolution, marine biology, neurobiology, embryology, genomics, coastal ecology, biomechanics, locomotion, molecular biology, biogeochemistry
Comments: Coordinator: Brenda Cannaliato (brenda@whitney.ufl.edu)
Abstract of Award
Gainesville, Florida
Primary: Professor Selman Hershfield
(352) 392-9387
selman@phys.ufl.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: Materials physics
Abstract of Award
Cofunded: Department of Defense (DoD)
Florida State University
REU Site: Multi-physics of Active Systems and Structures
FAMU-FSU College of Engineering
Tallahassee, Florida
Primary: Chiang Shih
(850) 645-0102
shih@eng.fsu.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: Micro Air Vehicles, robotics, supersonic flows,flow control, aeroacoustics, sensors and actuators, smart materials, thermal management, autonomous control, model and simulation, instrumentation,
Abstract of Award
Florida Institute of Technology
REU Site: Research at the Intersection of Biology and Mathematics
Biological Sciences and Mathematical Sciences
Melbourne, Florida
Primary: David Carroll
321-674-7133
dcarroll@fit.edu
Secondary: Munevver Subasi
321-674-7486
msubasi@fit.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: Ecology, Evolution, Cell and Molecular Biology, Data Mining, Applied Statistics, Stochastic Processes, Biomathematics, Mathematical modeling, Developmental Biology
Comments: Contact Info: David Carroll, (321) 674-7133, dcarroll@fit.edu or Munevver Subasi (321) 674-7486, msubasi@fit.edu
Abstract of Award
Cofunded: Mathematical Sciences
Florida International University
REU SITE: Research Experiences for Undergraduates in Advanced Secured Sensor Enabling Technologies
School of Computing and Information Sciences
Miami, Florida
Primary: Niki Pissinou
(305) 348-3716
pissinouci@fiu.edu
Secondary: Kia Makki
(305) 348-3738
makkik@fiu.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: Optimization methods and software for robust, secure, context aware, reconfigurable and adaptable computing systems for emerging multidisciplinary applications
Abstract of Award
Cofunded: Department of Defense (DoD)
Florida State University
REU Site: Retaining Engineers Through Research Entrepreneurship and Advanced Materials Training
computer engineering, industrial engineering,materials and civil engineering
Tallahassee, Florida
Primary: Okenwa O Okoli
(850) 410-6352
okoli@eng.fsu.edu
Secondary: Arda Vanli
(850) 410-6354
oavanli@eng.fsu.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: Advanced materials and entrepreneurship
Comments: In addition to Engineering, the research could also fit under Chemistry, Materials Research, Mathematical Sciences, and Physics, depending on the specific research project involved.
Abstract of Award
Tampa, Florida
Primary: Venkat Bhethanabotla
(813) 974-3041
bhethana@usf.edu
Secondary: John Kuhn
(813) 974-6498
jnkuhn@usf.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: functional materials, manufacturing, nanomaterials, composites, sensors, materials science, materials engineering
Abstract of Award
Florida International University
REU Site: Security of Smart Things: From Small Devices to Large Infrastructures
Electrical and Computer Engineering
Miami, Florida
Primary: Kemal Akkaya
(305) 348-3017
kakkaya@fiu.edu
Secondary: A. Selcuk Uluagac
(305) 348-3710
auluagac@fiu.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: Internet-of-things, cyber-physical systems, security of smart things, security of critical infrastructures, user privacy, cybersecurity, hardware security
Abstract of Award
The Scripps Research Institute
REU Site: SURFing the Interface between Chemistry and Biology
Chemistry, Immunology and Microbiology, Molecular Medicine, Neuroscience, Integrative Structural and
Jupiter, Florida
Primary: Katrin Karbstein
(561) 228-3210
kkarbst@scripps.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: biology, biosciences, Chemical Biology, Biochemistry, Neuroscience
Comments: Rosie Albarran-Zeckler, Rzeckler@scripps.edu, 561 228 2994
Abstract of Award
University of South Florida
REU Site: Tampa Interdisciplinary Environmental Reserach
Civil and Environmental Engineering
Tampa, Florida
Primary: Maya A. Trotz
(813) 974-5465
matrotz@eng.usf.edu
Secondary: Sarina J. Ergas
(813) 974-2275
sergas@eng.usf.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: Interdisciplinary Environmental Research
Abstract of Award
Tallahassee, Florida
Primary: Ramesh Katam
(850) 561-2750
ramesh.katam@famu.edu
Secondary: Virginia Gottschalk
(850) 561-2750
virginia.gottschalk@famu.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: biology, biosciences, Genomics, Proteomics, Metabolomics, and Bioinformatics
Comments: Ramesh Katam at ramesh.katam@famu.edu
Abstract of Award
University of Miami
Scientific Computing for Structure in Big or Complex Datasets
Department of Computer Science
Miami, Florida
Primary: Burton Rosenberg
(305) 284-2141
burt@cs.miami.edu
Secondary: Julie Garcia
(305) 284-2268
secretary@cs.miami.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: Computational chemistry, computational neuroscience and brain science, visualization of ensemble data, GPU enabled cryptography, neural networks in visual processing modeling human social behavior
Abstract of Award
Florida Atlantic University
Sensing and Smart Systems
Institute for Sensing and Embedded Network Systems Engineering (I-SENSE)
Boca Raton, Florida
Primary: Jason O. Hallstrom
(561) 297-4748
jhallstrom@fau.edu
Secondary: Andrea Gonzalez
(561) 297-4759
agonzalez@fau.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: Closely related to IoT, smart systems provide real-time awareness of conditions, trends and patterns. Opportunities in Infrastructure Systems, Marine and Environment, and Health and Behavior.
Abstract of Award
Florida International University
Sensing, Monitoring, and Detection: From Molecules to Applications
Chemistry& Biochemistry
Miami, Florida
Primary: Konstantinos Kavallieratos
(305) 348-6034
reu@fiu.edu
Secondary: Jaroslava Miksovska
(305) 348-7406
miksovsk@fiu.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: Sensors, Detection, Biosensors, Forensics, Environmental, Nuclear, Separations, Imaging