Email Print Share

REU Sites

REU Sites: Engineering

Please report errors in the list below by writing to reu.eng@nsf.gov.


Search Again

Show 30 items per page.
REU Sites
Site Information Site Location Contact Information Additional Information
The University of Alabama
Innovative Engineering Using Renewable
ECE
Tuscaloosa, Alabama
Primary: Susan Burkett
(479) 236-4128
sburkett@eng.ua.edu
Secondary: Eric Giannini
(205) 348-5152
ergiannini@eng.ua.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: Materials characterization, mechanical behavior, electrical properties, structural materials, bamboo combustion
Innovative Engineering Using RenewableAbstract of Award
The University of Alabama
REU Site: Fluid Mechanics with Analysis using Computations and Experiments (FM-ACE)
Aerospace Engineering and Mechanics, Mechanical Engineering
Tuscaloosa, Alabama
Primary: Dr. Amy Lang
(205) 348-1622
alang@eng.ua.edu
Secondary: Dr. Paul Hubner
(205) 348-1617
phubner@eng.ua.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: Fluid mechanics, computational fluid dynamics (CFD), experimental fluid dynamics, combustion, laser diagnostics, flow control, wind tunnel testing, boundary layers, bio-inspired eng, space propulsion
REU Site: Fluid Mechanics with Analysis using Computations and Experiments (FM-ACE)Abstract of Award
Tucson, Arizona
Primary: Allison Huff, D.H. Ed
(520) 621-0174
CIANEducation@optics.arizona.edu
Secondary: Amme Henning
(520) 621-8253
amee@optics.arizon.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: Optics, photonics, communications, lasers, material science, electrical engineering,Computer Science, Computer Engineering, Physics, Chemical Engineering
Comments: ERC Center
Center for Integrated Access Networks (CIAN)Abstract of Award
Tucson, Arizona
Primary: Allison Huff MacPherson
(520) 621-0174
alison@optics.arizona.edu
Secondary: Robert A. Norwood
(520) 626-0936
rnorwood@optics.arizona.edu
Arizona State University
REU Site: Solar Energy Research for the Terawatt Challenge
Electrical, computer, and Energy Engineering
Tempe, Arizona
Primary: Tiffany Rowlands
(480) 965-5936
tiffany.rowlands@asu.edu
Secondary: Zachary Holman
(480) 965-9959
zachary.holman@asu.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: Solar cells, photovoltaics, electronic devices, electrical engineering ,materials science , physics
REU Site: Solar Energy Research for the Terawatt ChallengeAbstract of Award
University of Arkansas
REU Site: Tomorrow's Nanomufacturing: Engineering with Science (TNEWS)
Microelectronics-Photonics Graduate Program
Fayetteville, Arkansas
Primary: Professor D. Keith Roper
(801) 891-8921
dkroper@uark.edu
Secondary: Jingyi Chen
(479) 575-6203
chenj@uark.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: Nanotechnology,manufacturing,innovation,materials, quantum,nanoparticle,optics,graphene,photovoltaics,biosensors,tribology,tissue,water,electron microscopy,lasers,spectroscopy,microscopy,nanoscience
Comments: TNEWS merges discovery-focused research with professional skills development and training in cross-cutting emerging technologies.
REU Site: Tomorrow's Nanomufacturing: Engineering with Science (TNEWS)Abstract of Award
University of California, Davis
REU Site: Bio-inspired & Bio-mediated Geotechnics Research Experience for Undergraduates (BBG REU)
Department of Civil and Environmental Engineering
Davis, California
Primary: Colleen E. Bronner
(845) 282-0675
cebronner@ucdavis.edu
Secondary: Jason DeJong
(530) 754-8995
jdejong@ucdavis.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: Bio-inspired, bio-mediated, civil engineering, geotechnical engineering, sustainability, hazard mitigation, infrastructure construction, environmental restoration, liquefaction, earthquakes
REU Site: Bio-inspired & Bio-mediated Geotechnics Research Experience for Undergraduates (BBG REU)Abstract of Award
San Francisco, California
Primary: Zhaoshuo Jiang
(415) 338-7741
zsjiang@sfsu.edu
Secondary: Juan M. Caicedo
(803) 777-1925
caicedo@cec.sc.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: Civil Engineering, Smart Structure Technology, Academia-Industry Collaboration, Structural Control, Structural Health Monitoring, Smart Sensing, Optimization, Innovative Experimental Methods
REU Site: Collaborative Research: Integrated Academia-Industry Research Experience for Undergraduate in Smart Structure TechnologyAbstract of Award
University of California, San Diego
REU Site: Designing for Safety and Safety by Design
Department of Structural Engineering
La Jolla, California
Primary: Kenneth Loh
(858) 822-0431
kenloh@ucsd.edu
Secondary: Michael Todd
(858) 534-5951
mdtodd@ucsd.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: Damage assessment, damage mechanics, design optimization, numerical modelling,sensor technologies, signal processing, structural health monitoring, prognostics, uncertainty modeling
REU Site: Designing for Safety and Safety by DesignAbstract of Award
Stanford University
REU Site: Re-inventing the Nation's Urban Water Infrastructure (ReNUWlt)
Civil & Environmental Engineering
Palo Alto, California
Primary: Dr. Pam McLeod
(650) 724-2923
pamelamc@stanford.edu
Secondary: Shamealle Bostic
(650) 497-5142
sbostic@stanford.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: environmental engineering, environmental science, water, wastewater
REU Site: Re-inventing the Nation's Urban Water Infrastructure (ReNUWlt)Abstract of Award
California State Polytechnic University, Pomona
REU Site: Research Experience for Undergraduates in UAV Technologies
Aerospace Engineering
Pomona, California
Primary: Dr. Subodh Bhandari
(909) 869-2612
sbhandari@cpp.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: Unmanned Aerial Vehicles (UAV) Technologies, Intelligent Control of UAVs, Sense & Avoid, GPS-Denied Navigation, Multi-Vehicle Control, Multi-UAV Collaboration, Human Machine Interface
REU Site: Research Experience for Undergraduates in UAV TechnologiesAbstract of Award
Cofunded: Department of Defense (DoD)
University of Denver (Colorado Seminary)
REU Site: Summer Engineering Research Experiences in Power and Energy Systems for Smart Cities
Electrical and Computer Engineering / Daniel Felix Ritchie School of Engineering and Computer Scienc
Denver, Colorado
Primary: David Wenzhong Gao, PhD
(303) 871-3570
Wenzhong.Gao@du.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: Power System Resiliency, Transportation Electrification, Energy Economy, Community Microgrids, Data Analytics, Renewable Energy, Smart Grid, Power Systems, Energy Systems, Smart Cities
REU Site: Summer Engineering Research Experiences in Power and Energy Systems for Smart CitiesAbstract of Award
Storrs, Connecticut
Primary: Jason Lee
(860) 486-2239
JasonLee@engr.unconn.edu
Secondary: Michael Petters
(860) 486-2855
Pettes@engr.unconn.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: Nanomaterials, nanotechnology, material Science, biomedical, manufacturing, energy, Mechanical Engineering, Materials Science & Engineering , Physics, Electrical Engineering,
Interdisciplinary, Nanotechnology Traineeship for Next-Generation Energy, Health, Information, and ManufacturingAbstract of Award
University of Connecticut
REU Site: Entrepreneurial Research Experience for Undergraduates
School of Engineering
Storrs, Connecticut
Primary: Daniel D. Burkey
(860) 486-5466
e-reu@uconn.edu
Secondary: Tracy Maheu
(860) 486-5466
e-reu@uconn.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: entrepreneurship, intellectual property, multisciplinary, business plan, idea generation, engineering, technology
REU Site: Entrepreneurial Research Experience for UndergraduatesAbstract of Award
Storrs, Connecticut
Primary: Arash Esmaili Zaghi
(860) 486-2468
zaghi@engr.uconn.edu
Secondary: Mohammad Techranipoor
(860) 486-3471
tehrani@engr.unconn.edu
Newark, Delaware
Primary: Jill S Higginson
(302) 831-6622
higginson@udel.edu
Secondary: Xin Lu
(302) 831-3581
xlu@udel.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: biomechanical engineering, osteoarthritis, quantitative analysis, computational skills, physical therapy, connective tissue biomechanics, cellular mechanobiology, molecular transport
Dare to BE FIRST - Biomechanical Engineering Foundations in Impactful Research, Science & TechnologyAbstract of Award
Orlando, Florida
Primary: Andre Gesquiere
(407) 454-1317
andre@ucf.edu
Secondary: Sudipta Seal
(407) 823-5277
Sudipta.Seal@ucf.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: Mechanical and Materials Engineering, Electrical Engineering, Computer Science, Biotechnology, Nanoscience and technology, Chemistry, Biochemistry, Nanomedicine, Biophotonics, Sensors, Therapeutics
REU Site: Engineering and Nanoscience of Materials and Device Applications in Biotechnology and MedicineAbstract of Award
Florida State University
REU Site: Multi-physics of Active Systems and Structures
FAMU-FSU College of Engineering
Tallahassee, Florida
Primary: Chiang Shih
(850) 645-0102
shih@eng.fsu.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: Micro Air Vehicles, robotics, supersonic flows,flow control, aeroacoustics, sensors and actuators, smart materials, thermal management, autonomous control, model and simulation, instrumentation,
REU Site: Multi-physics of Active Systems and StructuresAbstract of Award
Florida Atlantic University
REU Site: Removing Barriers to Ocean Current Based Electricity Production through Undergraduate Research
Southeast National Marine Renewable Energy Center
Boca Raton, Florida
Primary: James VanZwieten Jr.
(561) 297-0955
jvanzwi@fau.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: marine renewable energy, ocean current energy, hydrokinetic energy, renewable energy, tidal energy, ocean engineering, mechanical engineering, marine sciences, ocean sciences, green energy, power
REU Site: Removing Barriers to Ocean Current Based Electricity Production through Undergraduate ResearchAbstract of Award
Florida State University
REU Site: Retaining Engineers Through Research Entrepreneurship and Advanced Materials Training
computer engineering, industrial engineering,materials and civil engineering
Tallahassee, Florida
Primary: Okenwa O Okoli
(850) 410-6352
okoli@eng.fsu.edu
Secondary: Arda Vanli
(850) 410-6354
oavanli@eng.fsu.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: Advanced materials and entrepreneurship
Comments: In addition to Engineering, the research could also fit under Chemistry, Materials Research, Mathematical Sciences, and Physics, depending on the specific research project involved.
REU Site: Retaining Engineers Through Research Entrepreneurship and Advanced Materials TrainingAbstract of Award
Tampa, Florida
Primary: Venkat Bhethanabotla
(813) 974-3041
bhethana@usf.edu
Secondary: John Kuhn
(813) 974-6498
jnkuhn@usf.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: functional materials, manufacturing, nanomaterials, composites, sensors, materials science, materials engineering
REU Site: REU in Functional Materials and Manufacturing at University of South FloridaAbstract of Award
University of South Florida
REU Site: Tampa Interdisciplinary Environmental Reserach
Civil and Environmental Engineering
Tampa, Florida
Primary: Maya A. Trotz
(813) 974-5465
matrotz@eng.usf.edu
Secondary: Sarina J. Ergas
(813) 974-2275
sergas@eng.usf.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: Interdisciplinary Environmental Research
REU Site: Tampa Interdisciplinary Environmental ReserachAbstract of Award
Atlanta, Georgia
Primary: Aaron Levine
aaron.levine@pubpolicy.gatech.edu
Secondary: Andrea Soyland
(404) 385-5261
CMaT-REU@mail.gatech.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: cell manufacturing, biomedical engineering, biosciences, biomanufacturing, therapeutic cells
Cell Manufacturing Technologies (CMaT) Research Experience for UndergraduatesAbstract of Award
Athens, Georgia
Primary: Leidong Mao
(706) 542-1871
mao@uga.edu
Georgia Institute of Technology, NNCI Coordinating Office
National Nanotechnology Coordinated Infrastructure (11 sites)
Georgia
Primary: Nancy Healy
(404) 385-4307
nancy.healy@ien.gatech.edu
Secondary: Leslie O'Neill
(404) 385-7203
leslie.oneill@ien.gatech.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: Nanotechnology, nanoscale science and engineering
Comments: Eleven of the 16 sites of the NNCI have a summer REU program. The focus at each site varies but involves nanoscale science and engineering. The URL will take you to a central location where you can
Georgia Institute of Technolgy
REU Site: EBICS: Vita REU Site
Biomedical Engineering
Atlanta, Georgia
Primary: Manu Platt
(404) 894-4819
manu.platt@bme.gatech.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: EBICS Vita
REU Site: EBICS: Vita REU SiteAbstract of Award
University of Georgia Research Foundation, INC
REU Site: Interdisciplinary Research Experiences in Nanotechnology and Biomedicine
College of Engineering
Athens, Georgia
Primary: Leidong Mao
(706) 542-1871
mao@uga.edu
Secondary: Jonathan Arnold
(706) 542-1449
arnold@uga.edu
Atlanta, Georgia
Primary: Chun (Chuck) Zhang
(404) 894-3280
czhang343@isye.gatech.edu
Secondary: John Morehouse
(404) 385-0866
john.morehouse@gatech.edu
Georgia Institute of Technology
REU Site: Summer Undergraduate Research Experience (SURE)-Robotics
Electrical and Computer Engineering
Atlanta, Georgia
Primary: Dr. Leyla Conrad
(404) 385-0439
leyla.conrad@ece.gatech.edu
Secondary: Prof. Ayanna Howard
(404) 385-6450
ah260@gatech.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: robotics, interactive computing, biomechanics, bio robotics, assistive robotics, healthcare robotics
REU Site: Summer Undergraduate Research Experience (SURE)-RoboticsAbstract of Award
Statesboro, Georgia
Primary: Valentin Soloiu
(912) 478-2293
vsoloiu@georgiasouthern.edu
Show 30 items per page.