Skip to main content
Email Print Share

REU Sites

REU Sites: Cyberinfrastructure

Please report errors in the list below by writing to reu.aci@nsf.gov.


Search Again

Site Information Site Location Contact Information Additional Information
Auburn, Alabama
Primary: Sanjeev Baskiyar
(334) 844-6306
baskisa@auburn.edu
Secondary: Alvin S Lim
(334) 844-6326
lim@eng.auburn.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: CPU temperature control for energy reduction, indoor localization using deep learning, thermal friendly architecture, smart utility networks, distributed analytics, machine learning algorithms
Abstract of Award
Cofunded: Physics, Computer and Information Science and Engineering
University of Southern California
REU Site: Undergraduate Studies in Earthquake Information Technology (SCEC/UseIT)
Southern California Earthquake Center Undergraduate Laboratory
Los Angeles, California
Primary: Mark Benthien
(213) 740-0323
benthien@usc.edu
Secondary: tjordan@usc.edu
(213) 821-1237
tjordan@usc.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: Grand challenge problems in earthquake system science, High Performance Computing, Visualization and Data Analysis Tools
Abstract of Award
Cofunded: Earth Sciences, Computer and Information Science and Engineering
University of Connecticut
Bio-Grid REU Site
Computer Science and Engineering
Storrs, Connecticut
Primary: Chun-Hsi Huang
860-486-5472
huang@cse.uconn.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: Bio-Grid: High-Performance Computing, Computational Biology, Life-Science Informatics, Cluster/Grid/Cloud Computing
Abstract of Award
Cofunded: Computer and Information Science and Engineering
University of Illinois Urbana Champaign
Incubating a New Community of Leaders Using Software, Inclusion, Innovation, Interdisciplinary and OpeN-Science (INCLUSION)
National Center for Supercomputing Applications
URBANA, Illinois
Primary: Daniel S. Katz
(217) 244-8000
dskatz@illinois.edu
Secondary: Olena Kindratenko
(217) 300-0247
kindrat2@illinois.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: open source software, software development, collaborative, interdisciplinary, social impact
Abstract of Award
Cofunded: Computer and Information Science and Engineering
Louisiana State University
Interdisciplinary Research Experience in Computational Sciences
Center for Computation and Technology
Baton Rouge, Louisiana
Primary: Juana Moreno
(225) 578-7586
moreno@lsu.edu
Secondary: Jesse Allison
(225) 578-5572
jtallison@lsu.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: Cyberinfrastructure, High Performance Computing, Computational Sciences, Mathematics, Computer Science, Physics, Civil Engineering, Oceanography and Coastal Sciences, Petroleum Engineering, Mechanical
Abstract of Award
Cofunded: Computer and Information Science and Engineering
Northeastern University
Research Experiences for Undergraduates in Data Driven Discovery (REU-D3)
Dept. of Electrical and Computer Engineering
Boston, Massachusetts
Primary: Melanie Smith
(617) 373-2976
m.smith@neu.edu
Secondary: David Kaeli (PI)
(617) 373-5413
kaeli@ece.neu.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: Data analytics, data visualization, parallel computing, big data, engineering and computer science applications, mentoring
Abstract of Award
Cofunded: Computer and Information Science and Engineering
Medford, Massachusetts
Primary: Kyongbum Lee
(617) 627-4323
kyongbum.lee@tufts.edu
Secondary: Daniel Ryder
(617) 627-3446
daniel.ryder@tufts.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: biology, biosciences, bioengineering, data science, computational design, systems biology, microbiome, stem cells
Abstract of Award
Cofunded: Engineering, Cyberinfrastructure
Michigan State University
iCER ACRES: Advanced Computational Research Experience for Students
Inst. for Cyber-Enabled Research (iCER) and Dept of Computational Math, Science, & Engg. (CMSE)
Lansing, Michigan, Michigan
Primary: Kenneth Merz Jr.
(517) 353-1123
kmerz1@gmail.com
Secondary: Brian O’Shea
(517) 884-5638
oshea@msu.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: Computational & data science, high performance computing, parallel solvers, computational chemistry, mathematics, biology, astrophysics, big data science and cyberinfrastructure
Abstract of Award
Cofunded: Computer and Information Science and Engineering, Department of Defense (DoD)
New Mexico State University
BIGDatA- Big Data Analytics for Cyber-physical Systems
Computer Science
Las Cruces, New Mexico
Primary: Huiping Cao
(575) 646-4600
hcao@cs.nmsu.edu
Secondary: Satyajayant Misra
(575) 646-6256
misra@cs.nmsu.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: Data Analytics, Big Data, Cyber-physical Systems, Smart Grids, Visualization, Multi-agent Systems
Abstract of Award
Cofunded: Computer and Information Science and Engineering
Santa Fe, New Mexico
Primary: Paul Hooper
(505) 946-2726
education@santafe.edu
Secondary: Cristopher D. Moore
moore@santafe.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: Computational simulations, mathematical modeling, and statistical analysis of data of a physical, biological or social system; testing results against theoretical predictions and real-world data sets.
Comments: Participants’ main work is within the context of a small-group research project working with SFI mentors. Prior to a student’s SFI residency s/he is encouraged to complete SFI’s MOOC “Introduction..
Abstract of Award
Cofunded: Computer and Information Science and Engineering
College of Staten Island (City University of New York)
REU Site: In Computational Methods in High Performance Computing with Applications to Computer Science
Computer Science
Staten Island, New York
Primary: Louis Petingi
(718) 982-2844
louis.petingi@csi.cuny.edu
Secondary: Xiaowen Zhang
(718) 982-3262
xiaowen.zhang@csi.cuny.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: Network reliability,Cryptography, and network security,Wireless ad-hoc, and sensor networks, Large-scale and complex system modeling and simulation, Image processing.
Abstract of Award
Cofunded: Computer and Information Science and Engineering, Department of Defense (DoD)
North Carolina A&T State University
Engineering Modeling and Computational Research
College of Engineering
Greensboro, North Carolina
Primary: Bala Ram
(336) 285-2645
ram@ncat.edu
Secondary: Marcia Williams
(336) 285-2651
marcia@ncat.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: Shock motion in supersonic vehicles, hydrologic simulation, biomechanics, humanitarian logistics, analysis of soft gels, energy efficiency of buildings, and non-destructive testing
Abstract of Award
Cofunded: Computer and Information Science and Engineering
Grand Forks, North Dakota
Primary: Ronald Marsh
(701) 777-4013
rmarsh@cs.und.edu
Secondary: David Whalen
(701) 777-3558
whalen@space.und.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: Image processing/superresolution, communications cybersecurity, safety critical system model based validation, system engineering validation, distribution data processing on a cluster of space craft
Abstract of Award
Cofunded: Computer and Information Science and Engineering, Department of Defense (DoD)
Oregon State University
Eco-Informatics Summer Institute (EISI)
Biological and Ecological Engineering
Corvallis, Oregon
Primary: Cara Walter
cara.walter@oregonstate.edu
Secondary: Desiree D Tullos
(541) 737-2038
desiree.tullos@oregonstate.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: Plant-pollinator networks, salmonid bioenergetics, fish bioenergetics, mathematics,statistics, computer science, ecology, engineering
Abstract of Award
Cofunded: Cyberinfrastructure, Computer and Information Science and Engineering
South Dakota State University
High Performance Computing in STEM Disciplines at South Dakota State University
Mechanical Engineering Department
Brookings, South Dakota
Primary: Stephen Gent
(605) 688-5337
stephen.gent@sdstate.edu
Secondary: Jung-Han Kimn
(605) 688-5842
jung-han.kimn@sdstate.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: High-performance computing, big data, interdisciplinary research, computational and applied mathematics and statistics, engineering, biological sciences, responsible conduct of research
Abstract of Award
Cofunded: Computer and Information Science and Engineering
University of Tennessee, Knoxville, TN
CSURE, Computational Sciences for Undergraduate Research Experiences
Joint Institute for Computational Sciences (JICS)
Knoxville, Tennessee
Primary: Kwai Wong
(865) 974-8833
kwong@utk.edu
Secondary: Gregory Peterson
(865) 241-0080
gdp@utk.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: Chemistry and materials sciences, systems biology, engineering mechanics, atmospheric sciences, and parallel solvers on emergent platforms,computational modeling
Abstract of Award
Cofunded: Computer and Information Science and Engineering
Marquette University
Computation Across the Disciplines
Math, Stats and Computer Science
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Primary: Dennis Brylow
(414) 288-6342
dennis.brylow@marquette.edu
Secondary: Kim Factor
(414) 288-7941
kim.factor@marquette.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: Computational sciences, applied mathematical modeling, embedded and ubiquitous systems, STEM education
Abstract of Award
Cofunded: Computer and Information Science and Engineering