Email Print Share

REU Sites

REU Sites: Mathematical Sciences

Please report errors in the list below by writing to reu.dms@nsf.gov.


Search Again

Show 30 number of items per page.
REU Sites
Site Information Site Location Contact Information Additional Information
Auburn University, Alabama
Primary: Peter Johnson
(334) 844-3745
johnspd@auburn.edu
Secondary: Overtoun Jenda
Research Topics/Keywords: Algebra and Discrete Mathematics (graphs and hypergraphs, number theory, information and coding theory)
REU Site: Research Experience for Undergraduates in Algebra and Discrete Mathematics at Auburn UniversityAbstract of Award
Arizona State University
Mathematical and Theoretical Biology Institute
Mathematical and Theoretical Biology Institute
Tempe, Arizona
Primary: Rebeca Perlin
(480) 727-8525
Rebecca.Perlin@asu.edu
Secondary: Sabrina Avila
Sabrina.Avila@asu.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: applied mathematics, mathematical biology
Mathematical and Theoretical Biology InstituteAbstract of Award
Arizona State University
REU Site: Applied Mathematics and Computational Modeling in the Greater Phoenix Area
Tempe, Arizona
Primary: Wenbo Tang
(480) 965-5479
Wenbo.Tang@asu.edu
Secondary: Eric Kostelich
Maricopa County Community College
REU Site: Applied Mathematics and Computational Modeling in the Greater Phoenix Area
Tempe, Arizona
Primary: John Nagy
(480) 731-8402
john.nagy@sccmail.maricopa.edu
Arizona State University
REU Site: Mathematical and Theoretical Biology Institute (MTBI)
Mathematical Sciences
Tempe, Arizona
Primary: Carlos Castillo-Chavez
(480) 965-5479
cchavez@asu.edu
Secondary: Anuj Mubayi
amubayi@asu.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: Mathematical Biology and Applied Mathematics
Comments: Point-of-contact for student applicants: Cynthia Romero, 480-965-1690, Cynthia.B.Romero@asu.edu
REU Site: Mathematical and Theoretical Biology Institute (MTBI)Abstract of Award
Fresno, California
Primary: Tamas Forgacs
(559) 278-4907
tforgacs@csufresno.edu
Secondary: Oscar Vega
Research Topics/Keywords: Mathematics, statistics. Subfields: complex analysis and zeros of analytic functions, combinatorial knot theory, combinatorics and discrete geometry, survival analysis and statistical modeling.
California State University, Fresno Research Experiences in MathematicsAbstract of Award
California State University, San Bernardino
Investigations in Geometry and Knot Theory
Mathematics
San Bernardino, California
Primary: Corey Dunn
(909) 537-5368
cmdunn@csusb.edu
Secondary: Rolland Trapp
Research Topics/Keywords: differential geometry, knot theory
Investigations in Geometry and Knot TheoryAbstract of Award
California State University at Chico
Research Experiences in Mathematics for Undergraduates and Teachers
Mathematics and Statistics
Chico, California
Primary: Sergei Fomin
(530) 898-6111
sfomin@csuchico.edu
Secondary: Katharine Gray
Research Topics/Keywords: knot theory, modeling, number theory, algebra, and statistics
Research Experiences in Mathematics for Undergraduates and TeachersAbstract of Award
Harvey Mudd College
REU Site: Data Science in the Life Sciences, Environmental Science and Engineering
Claremont, California
Primary: Lisette de Pillis
(909) 621-8121
depillis@hmc.edu
Secondary: Tanja Srebotnjak
Research Topics/Keywords: Data Science in the Life Sciences, Environmental Science and Engineering.
REU Site: Data Science in the Life Sciences, Environmental Science and EngineeringAbstract of Award
University of California Los Angeles
REU Site: Mathematical Modeling at UCLA
Mathematics
Los Angeles, California
Primary: Marcus Roper
(310) 825-1087
mroper@math.ucla.edu
Secondary: Andrea Bertozzi
Research Topics/Keywords: Mathematics; Sub-fields: Computational and Applied Mathematics, Math Biology
REU Site: Mathematical Modeling at UCLAAbstract of Award
Mathematical Sciences Research Institute
REU Site: MSRI Undergraduate Program (MSRI-UP)
Berkeley, California
Primary: David Eisenbud
(510) 642-4745
de@msri.org
Secondary: Helene Barcelo
Research Topics/Keywords: Mathematics is the main field. Combinatorics, geometry, and computational algebra are the subfields.
Comments: 1156499
REU Site: MSRI Undergraduate Program (MSRI-UP)Abstract of Award
San Diego, California
Primary: Vadim Ponomarenko
(619) 594-6176
vponomarenko@mail.sdsu.edu
University of Connecticut
Mathematics REU at UConn.
Mathematics
Storrs, Connecticut
Primary: Luke Rogers
(860) 486-3923
uconnmathreu@gmail.com
Secondary: Alexander Teplyaev
Research Topics/Keywords: Mathematics (theoretical/applied/computational/education).
Comments: 1262929
Mathematics REU at UConn.Abstract of Award
Mathematical Association of America
National Research Experiences for Undergraduates Program
Mathematics
Washington, District Of Columbia
Primary: Lloyd E. Douglas
(202) 387-5200
ledougl2@uncg.edu
Secondary: Linda Braddy
Research Topics/Keywords: Multiple (varies by campus)
National Research Experiences for Undergraduates ProgramAbstract of Award
Washington, District Of Columbia
Primary: Matthew Hamilton
(202) 687-5924
matthew.hamilton@georgetown.edu
Secondary: Martha Weiss
(202) 687-6549
weissm@georgetown.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: biology, biosciences, environmental science, public policy, ecology, population biology, mathematical modeling, climate change, geoscience
Comments: Program coordinator: Prof. Manus Patten, mmp64@georgetown.edu
REU Site: Environmental science and policy in the nationís capitalAbstract of Award
Cofunded: Mathematical Sciences
Bethune-Cookman University
REU Site: Mathematical Modeling in Environmental, Biological and Other Sciences
Workforce in the Mathematical Sciences
Daytona Beach, Florida
Primary: Seenith Sivasundaram
(386) 481-2491
sivasundarams@cookman.edu
Secondary: Yungkul Kim
(386) 481-2676
kimy@cookman.edu
Atlanta, Georgia
Primary: Ken Ono
(404) 727-5120
ono@mathcs.emory.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: Arithmetic Geometry and Number Theory
REU Site: Arithmetic Geometry and Number Theory at Emory UniversityAbstract of Award
Boise State University
REU Site: Complexity Across Disciplines
Mathematics
Boise, Idaho
Primary: Liljana Babinkostova
(208) 426-2896
liljanababinkostova@boisestate.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: Mathematics, Biology, Computer Science, Combinatorics, Group Theory, Game Theory, Complexity, Cryptography, Computability Theory, Genomics, Genetics.
Comments: 1359425
REU Site: Complexity Across DisciplinesAbstract of Award
Normal, Illinois
Primary: Saad El-Zanati
(309) 438-5765
saad@ilstu.edu
Secondary: David Baker
Research Topics/Keywords: Discrete Mathematics
Comments: The Illinois State University REU is an eight-week summer research experience for 8 pre-service and 4 in-service secondary mathematics teachers.
Mathematics Research Experience for Pre-service and for In-service TeachersAbstract of Award
University of Chicago
The University of Chicago Mathematics REU
Mathematics
Chicago, Illinois
Primary: J. Peter May
may@math.uchicago.edu
Secondary: Jitka Stehnova
Research Topics/Keywords: Geometry, topology, number theory, discrete mathematics, probability, analysis, logic, etc. Participants write papers on topics they choose themselves, with guidance from mentors.
The University of Chicago Mathematics REUAbstract of Award
Indianapolis, Indiana
Primary: Julia Arciero
(317) 274-6998
jarciero@math.iupui.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: Applied Mathematics, Medicine, Physics, and Inverse Problems.
IUPUI REU Program in mathematics with applications to medical sciences, biophysics, and inverse problemsAbstract of Award
West Lafayette, Indiana
Primary: Edray Goins
(323) 251-7198
egoins@math.purdue.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: Algebraic Geometry, Probability, Number Theory.
REU Site: Purdue Research in Mathematics Experience (PRIME)Abstract of Award
Bloomington, Indiana
Primary: Chris Connell
(812) 855-1589
connell@indiana.edu
Secondary: Elizabeth Smith (Primary Contact)
(812) 855-1589
elrsmith@indiana.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: Geometry (differential, coarse, Euclidean), dynamical systems (ODE, complex analytic, billiards), topology, logic, analysis, combinatorics, group theory, mathematical biology.
REU Site: Research Experiences for Undergraduates in Mathematics at Indiana UniversityAbstract of Award
Valparaiso, Indiana
Primary: Lara Pudwell
(219) 464-5414
reu.math@valpo.edu
Secondary: Alexander Capaldi
Research Topics/Keywords: Mathematics, including combinatorics, biomathematics, and statistics
Valparaiso Experience in Research by Undergraduate MathematiciansAbstract of Award
Iowa State University
REU Site: Iowa State University Mathematics REU
Mathematics
Ames, Iowa
Primary: Leslie Hogben
(515) 294-1752
reumath@iastate.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: matrix theory, graph theory and combinatorics, numerical analysis, probability, and applications of mathematics to engineering and sciences
REU Site: Iowa State University Mathematics REUAbstract of Award
Manhattan, Kansas
Primary: Marianne Korten
(785) 532-0567
marianne@math.ksu.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: Number theory, Analysis, PDEs, Quantum Computing, and Mathematical Modeling
Comments: 1262877
Summer Undergraduate Mathematics Research (SUMaR) at K-StateAbstract of Award
St. Mary's College of Maryland
Emerging Scholars Research Experience for Undergraduates
Mathematics
St. Mary's City, Maryland
Primary: Sandy Ganzell
(240) 895-4371
sganzell@smcm.edu
Secondary: Casey Douglas
Research Topics/Keywords: Mathematics: Image Analysis, Epidemiological Modeling, Knot Theory, Discrete Geometry, Graph Theory.
Emerging Scholars Research Experience for UndergraduatesAbstract of Award
University of Maryland, Baltimore County (UMBC)
REU Site: Interdisciplinary Program in High Performance Computing
Department of Mathematics and Statistics
Baltimore, Maryland
Primary: Dr. Matthias Gobbert
(410) 455-2404
gobbert@umbc.edu
Secondary: Dr. Nagaraj Neerchal
(410) 455-2437
nagaraj@umbc.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: Mathematics and Statistics; Scientific and Parallel Computing.
REU Site: Interdisciplinary Program in High Performance ComputingAbstract of Award
Worcester Polytechnic Institute
REU Program in Industrial Mathematics and Statistics
Mathematical Sciences
Worcester, Massachusetts
Primary: Burt Tilley
(508) 831-6664
tilley@wpi.edu
Secondary: Stephan Sturm
Research Topics/Keywords: Industrial Mathematics, Financial Math, and Statistics.
Comments: Renewal of previously funded REU site (DMS-126327)
REU Program in Industrial Mathematics and StatisticsAbstract of Award
Cambridge, Massachusetts
Primary: Daniel Weinstock
(617) 496-2599
dweinsto@seas.harvard.edu
Secondary: Michael Brenner
Research Topics/Keywords: Applied Math and Applied Computation
REU Site Team Research in Computational and Applied MathematicsAbstract of Award
Show 30 number of items per page.