Email Print Share

REU Sites

REU Sites: Biological Sciences

APPLICATIONS: Students must contact the individual site or program to apply. NSF does not have application materials and does not select student participants.

ELIGIBILITY: Individual sites may have additional eligibility requirements (e.g., number of undergraduate years completed). Undergraduate student participants supported with NSF funds must be citizens or permanent residents of the United States or its possessions. High school graduates who have not yet enrolled, and students who have already received their bachelor's degrees, are not eligible.

ADDITIONAL INFORMATION: Click on the Title of the Site in the "Site Information" column to go to the homepage (if available) for that Site. Sites are ordered alphabetically by host institution. All Sites provide stipends, housing and meals, in addition to travel to and from the Site. This listing will change as new REU Site awards are made. Sites are added or deleted as decisions are made on awards, and the list is updated periodically. Clicking on a highlighted site title should direct you to the web page for more information on that program.

Please report errors in the list below by writing to reu.bio@nsf.gov.


Search Again

Show 30 items per page.
REU Sites
Site Information Site Location Contact Information Additional Information
Auburn, Alabama
Primary: Leslie Goertzen
(334) 844-1637
goertzen@auburn.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: biology, biosciences, bioinformatics, genomics, big data, computational biology
REU Site: Diversifying Undergraduate Participation in Computational BiologyAbstract of Award
Alabama State University
REU Site: Nanobioengineering
Biological Sciences
Montgomery, Alabama
Primary: Komal Vig
(334) 229-5132
komalvig@alasu.edu
Secondary: Shree Singh
(334) 229-4168
ssingh@alasu.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: Biology, Biosciences, Biomedical Engineering, Chemistry, Physics
REU Site: NanobioengineeringAbstract of Award
University of Alabama at Birmingham
REU Site: Summer Program in Neuroscience (SPIN)
Department of Neurobiology
Birmingham, Alabama
Primary: Lucas Pozzo-Miller
(205) 975-4659
lucaspm@uab.edu
Secondary: Gwendalyn King
(205) 996-6247
gdking@uab.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: biology, biosciences, neuroscience, plasticity, neurodevelopment, molecular biology, cell biology, electrophysiology
Comments: Program coordinator: Jan Phillips: jancphil@uab.edu; (205) 934-2452
REU Site: Summer Program in Neuroscience (SPIN)Abstract of Award
Auburn University
REU Site: Warm-water aquatic ecology
Fisheries, Aquaculture, and Aquatic Sciences
Auburn, Alabama
Primary: Alan Wilson
(334) 246-1120
wilson@auburn.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: biology, biosciences, ecology, limnology, fisheries management, evolution, molecular biology, microbiology, invasive species, behavior, statistics, restoration, modeling, hydrology, remote sensing
REU Site: Warm-water aquatic ecologyAbstract of Award
Flagstaff, Arizona
Primary: Liza Holeski
(928) 523-0701
liza.holeski@nau.edu
Secondary: Ted Martinez
(928) 523-3383
Theodore.Martinez@nau.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: Biosciences, biology, environmental science, ecology, plant science
REU Site: Place-based Research and Training in Biology and Environmental Science on the Colorado Plateau.Abstract of Award
Fayetteville, Arkansas
Primary: Michelle EvansWhite
(479) 575-4706
mevanswh@uark.edu
Secondary: Marty Matlock
(479) 575-2849
mmatlock@uark.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: biology, biosciences, ecology, sustainability, environmental sciences, natural resources
Comments: Program coordinator: Michelle Evans-White
REU Site: Assessment and Sustainable Management of Ecosystem Services at the Nexus of Food, Energy, and WaterAbstract of Award
University of Arkansas
REU Site: Indigenous America to Indigenous Mekong (Vietnam and Thailand) - Adventures in Biology and Biodiversity
Department of Biological Sciences and Cellular and Molecular Biology Program
Fayetteville, Arkansas
Primary: Ruben Ceballos
(479) 575-5643
ceballos@uark.edu
University of California Berkeley
REU Site at UC Berkeley: Integrated Biology from Molecules to Ecosystems
Host department: Integrative Biology / 13 participating departments
Berkeley, California
Primary: Gian Garriga
(510) 642-5859
garriga@berkeley.edu
Secondary: Tyrone Hayes
(510) 643-1055
tyrone@berkeley.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: Integrative Biology Evolution, Development
Comments: contact: reuapplic@lists.berkeley.edu
REU Site at UC Berkeley: Integrated Biology from Molecules to EcosystemsAbstract of Award
California Academy of Sciences
REU Site: Biodiversity science in the Summer Systematics Institute at the California Academy of Sciences
Institute for Biodiversity Science and Sustainability
San Francisco, California
Primary: Rich Mooi
415-379-5270
ssi-bi@calacademy.org
Research Topics/Keywords: phylogenetics, biodiversity, evolutionary biology, molecular systematics, museums, collections, sustainability, conservation
Comments: Coordinator: Christina Cordova, ssi-bi@calacademy.org
REU Site: Biodiversity science in the Summer Systematics Institute at the California Academy of SciencesAbstract of Award
Malibu, California
Primary: Jay Brewster
(310) 506-4321
Jay.Brewster@pepperdine.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: ecology, cell biology, molecular biology, botany, genetics, cellular stress
Comments: Co-PI is co-PI (Dr. Rodney L. Honeycutt at rodney.honeycutt@pepperdine.edu
REU Site: Biological Adaptations to Stress -- Molecular, Cellular, EcologicalAbstract of Award
Cofunded: Department of Defense (DoD)
University of California, Los Angeles
REU Site: Computational Biosciences Research Experience for Undergraduates
Institute for Quantitative and Computational Biology
Los Angeles, California
Primary: Hilary Coller
(310) 825-3483
hcoller@ucla.edu
Secondary: Alexander Hoffmann
(310) 794-9925
ahoffmann@ucla.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: Biosciences, quantitative biology, computational biology, next generation sequencing, computer programming, statistics
Comments: Coordinator: Jessica Jimenez, jessica.jimenez@ucla.edu
REU Site: Computational Biosciences Research Experience for UndergraduatesAbstract of Award
Arcata, California
Primary: Matthew Johnson
(707) 826-3218
mdj6@humboldt.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: biology, biosciences, natural resources, fisheries, wildlife, forestry, ecology, conservation, water
REU Site: Natural Resource Science on Native American LandsAbstract of Award
University of California San Francisco
REU Site: NSF REU in Molecular Biosciences
All Departments
San Francisco, California
Primary: Carol Gross
(415) 476-4161
cgrossucsf@gmail.com
Secondary: Hana Samad
(415) 476-2596
helsamad@gmail.com
Research Topics/Keywords: Genetics/Genomics, Biochemistry, cell biology, systems/synthetic biology; bioengineering
Comments: julia.clark@ucsf.edu
REU Site: NSF REU in Molecular BiosciencesAbstract of Award
Julio Soto, California
Primary: Miri VanHoven
(408) 924-4925
julio.soto@sjsu.edu
Secondary: Miri VanHoven
(415) 269-7373
miri.vanhoven@sjsu.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: Molecular Biology, Cell Biology, Physiology, Genetics, Microbiology, Biochemistry
REU Site: Research by Undergraduates using Molecular Biology Applications (RUMBA)Abstract of Award
University of California Riverside
REU Site: Research Experiences for Undergraduates in Plant and Plant Cell Biology
Plant Pathology and Microbiology
Riverside, California
Primary: Thomas Eulgem
951-827-7740
thomas.eulgem@ucr.edu
Secondary: Howard S Judelson
951-827-4199
howard.judelson@ucr.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: biology, plants, plant pathogens, cell biology, molecular biology, genomics, botany, microbiology
REU Site: Research Experiences for Undergraduates in Plant and Plant Cell BiologyAbstract of Award
San Francisco, California
Primary: Carmen Domingo
(415) 338-6995
cdomingo@sfsu.edu
Secondary: Sarah Cohen
(415) 338-3750
sarahcoh@sfsu.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: biology, biosciences, developmental biology, ecology, evolution, environmental sciences
Comments: For any question, email nsfreu@sfsu.edu
REU Site: Research in Environmental Studies and Evolutionary Developmental BiologyAbstract of Award
The Scripps Research Institute
REU Site: Scripps’ Structure and Function Summer Institute (SFSI)
Doctoral Program in Chemical and Biological Sciences
La Jolla, California
Primary: Dawn Eastmond
(858) 784-2872
eastmond@scripps.edu
Secondary: Philip Dawson
(858) 784-7015
dawson@scripps.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: biosciences; chemistry, immunology, computational bioogy, neuroscience, biophysics, chemical biology, microbiology, bioinformatics, cell biology, genetics, and structural biology
REU Site: Scripps’ Structure and Function Summer Institute (SFSI)Abstract of Award
University of Colorado Boulder
REU Site: Achieving heightened goals- Undergraduates Research in Ecology at the Mountain Research Station
Institute of Arctic and Alpine Research, Mountain Research Station
Boulder, Colorado
Primary: William Bowman
303-492-2557
william.bowman@colorado.edu
Secondary: Michael Breed
303-492-7687
michael.breed@colorado.edu
Colorado State University
REU Site: Program in Molecular Biosciences
Biochemistry and Molecular Biology
Fort Collins, Colorado
Primary: Thomas Santangelo
(970) 491-3150
thomas.santangelo@colostate.edu
Secondary: Paul J Laybourn
(970) 491-5100
Paul.Laybourn@ColoState.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: biosciences, cell biology, molecular biology, microbiology, biophysics, structural biology, neurobiology, nutrition, physiology, developmental biology, genetics, marine biology, bioinformatics
Comments: Program Coordinator: Stasi Brazil-Engleman Email: Stasi.Brazil-Engleman@ColoState.edu Phone: (970) 491-5602
REU Site: Program in Molecular BiosciencesAbstract of Award
Crested Butte, Colorado
Primary: Ian Billick
(970) 349-7231
director@rmbl.org
Secondary: Jennifer Reithel
(970) 349-1288
sd@rmbl.org
Research Topics/Keywords: biosciences, ecology, evolutionary biology
Comments: For questions about the program, contact Dr. Jennifer Reithel, sd@rmbl.org
REU Site: Research Training in Place-Based Field ResearchAbstract of Award
Mystic, Connecticut
Primary: Tracy Romano
(860) 572-5955
tromano@mysticaquarium.org
Secondary: Michael Finiguerra
(860) 405-9082
michael.finiguerra@uconn.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: biology, biosciences, marine biology, marine science, animal physiology, ecology, animal behavior, immunology, cell biology
Comments: Contact: Michael Finiguerra (michael.finiguerra@uconn.edu)
REU Site Mystic Aquarium: Collaborative Research: Investigating the Consequences of Global Change on Marine Animals and their EcosystemsAbstract of Award
Cofunded: Ocean Sciences
Storrs, Connecticut
Primary: Michael Finiguerra
(860) 405-9082
michael.finiguerra@uconn.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: biology, biosciences, marine biology, marine science, animal physiology, ecology, animal behavior, immunology, cell biology
Comments: Contact: Michael Finiguerra (michael.finiguerra@uconn.edu)
REU Site Mystic Aquarium: Collaborative Research: Investigating the Consequences of Global Change on Marine Animals and their EcosystemsAbstract of Award
Cofunded: Ocean Sciences
Yale University
REU Site: Interdisciplinary Research Training Across Biology, Physics, and Engineering
Mechanical Engineering & Materials Science, Physics, and Applied Physics
New Haven, Connecticut
Primary: Corey O'Hern
(203) 432-4258
corey.ohern@yale.edu
Secondary: Lynne Regan
(203) 432-9843
lynne.regan@yale.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: quantitative biology, biological physics, computational biology, data science, systems biology
Comments: Coordinator: Dorottya Noble; email: dorottya.noble@yale.edu
REU Site: Interdisciplinary Research Training Across Biology, Physics, and EngineeringAbstract of Award
Cofunded: Department of Defense (DoD)
University of Connecticut
REU Site: Research Experiences in Physiology and Neurobiology at UCONN
Physiology and Neurobiology
Storrs, Connecticut
Primary: Xinnian Chen
(860) 486-6169
xinnian.chen@uconn.edu
Secondary: Larry Renfro
(860) 486-4119
larry.renfro@uconn.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: biosciences,physiology,developmental neurobiology,renal physiology,respiratory physiology,synaptic plasticity,neural circuits,molecular and cell biology,bioinformatics, omputational biology
REU Site: Research Experiences in Physiology and Neurobiology at UCONNAbstract of Award
Washington, District Of Columbia
Primary: Matthew Hamilton
(202) 687-5924
matthew.hamilton@georgetown.edu
Secondary: Martha Weiss
(202) 687-6549
weissm@georgetown.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: biology, biosciences, environmental science, public policy, ecology, population biology, mathematical modeling, climate change, geoscience
Comments: Program coordinator: Prof. Manus Patten, mmp64@georgetown.edu
REU Site: Environmental science and policy in the nation’s capitalAbstract of Award
Cofunded: Mathematical Sciences
Smithsonian Institution
REU Site: Natural History Research Experiences
National Museum of Natural History(NMNH)
Washington, DC, District Of Columbia
Primary: Virginia Power
(202) 633-1055
powerv@si.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: geoscience, planets, asteroids, mineralogy, petrology, volcanology, paleobiology, oceanography, environmental, evolution,biodiversity, taxonomy,genomics,anthropology,archaeology,ethnology,linguistics
REU Site: Natural History Research ExperiencesAbstract of Award
Cofunded: Biological Sciences, Earth Sciences
University of Florida
REU Site: Marine Biodiversity: lessons from molecules, development and behavior
Whitney Laboratory for Marine Bioscience
Saint Augustine, Florida
Primary: Elaine Seaver
(904) 461-4030
seaver@whitney.ufl.edu
Secondary: Joseph Ryan
(904) 461-4046
joseph.ryan@whitney.ufl.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: biology, biosciences, evolution, marine biology, neurobiology, embryology, genomics, coastal ecology, biomechanics, locomotion, molecular biology, biogeochemistry
Comments: Coordinator: Brenda Cannaliato (brenda@whitney.ufl.edu)
REU Site: Marine Biodiversity: lessons from molecules, development and behaviorAbstract of Award
The Scripps Research Institute
REU Site: SURFing the Interface between Chemistry and Biology
Chemistry, Immunology and Microbiology, Molecular Medicine, Neuroscience, Integrative Structural and
Jupiter, Florida
Primary: Katrin Karbstein
(561) 228-3210
kkarbst@scripps.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: biology, biosciences, Chemical Biology, Biochemistry, Neuroscience
Comments: Rosie Albarran-Zeckler, Rzeckler@scripps.edu, 561 228 2994
REU Site: SURFing the Interface between Chemistry and BiologyAbstract of Award
Tallahassee, Florida
Primary: Ramesh Katam
(850) 561-2750
ramesh.katam@famu.edu
Secondary: Virginia Gottschalk
(850) 561-2750
virginia.gottschalk@famu.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: biology, biosciences, Genomics, Proteomics, Metabolomics, and Bioinformatics
Comments: Ramesh Katam at ramesh.katam@famu.edu
REU Site: Undergraduate Research Experience in Genomics, Proteomics and BioinformaticsAbstract of Award
Athens, Georgia
Primary: Jonathan Arnold
706-542-1449
arnold@uga.edu
Secondary: David Logan
(404) 906-6669
dlogan@cau.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: gnomics, computational biology, epigenetics, bioinformatics, systems biology
REU Site: Collaborative Research: Genomics and Computational BiologyAbstract of Award
Show 30 items per page.