Email Print Share

REU Sites

REU Sites: Chemistry

This is a list of the active chemistry division funded REU sites (Sites with active NSF awards). Almost every site has a web page where more information can be obtained. Clicking on a highlighted site title should direct you to the external web page. [NSF is not responsible for the content of these external web pages.] Useful information for REU Site Principal Investigators can be found through the REU Leadership Group (http://chemnsfreu.com/) [Not an NSF website -- NSF is not responsible for its content]

Please report errors in the list below by writing to che-reusites@nsf.gov.


Search Again

Show 30 items per page.
REU Sites
Site Information Site Location Contact Information Additional Information
University of Arkansas
Encouraging Students in Science
Chemistry and Biochemistry
Fayetteville, Arkansas
Primary: David Paul
(479) 575-5190
dpaul@uark.edu
Secondary: Leslie Johnson
(479) 575-7942
ljohnson@uark.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: REU
Encouraging Students in ScienceAbstract of Award
Cofunded: Chemistry
Los Angeles, California
Primary: Anna Krylov
2137404929
krylov@usc.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: Physical, Organic, Material, and Biological Chemistry
REU Site: Snapshots of Chemistry: Visualization of Processes at the Molecular LevelAbstract of Award
University of California - Riverside
REU Site: Materials Connection (MacReu R'Side)
Chemistry
Riverside, California
Primary: Ludwig Bartels
(951) 827-2041
ludwig.bartels@ucr.edu
Secondary: Kevin Esterling
(951) 827-3833
kevin.esterling@ucr.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: Chemistry, Physics, Engineering (Electrical, Mechanical, and Chemical), Materials (Catalytic and Energy), Processing (Thin film and Semiconductor), Nanofabrication
REU Site: Materials Connection (MacReu R'Side)Abstract of Award
Cofunded: Chemistry
Fort Collins, Colorado
Primary: Matt Shores
(970) 491-7235
CHEM_REU@mail.colostate.edu
Secondary: James Neilson
(970) 491-2958
Research Topics/Keywords: Materials chemistry, atmospheric and environmental chemistry, polymer chemistry, inorganic chemistry, organic chemistry, physical chemistry, chemical biology
Storrs, Connecticut
Primary: José Gascón
(860) 486-0591
jose.gascon@uconn.edu
Secondary: Alfredo Angeles-Bosa
(860) 486-6718
alfredo.angeles-boza@uconn.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: Inorganic, Organic, Materials, Analytical, Physical, Computational Chemistry
REU Site: Chemistry at the University of ConnecticutAbstract of Award
University of Florida/Université L. Pasteur, Université Pierre and Marie Curie, Université Paul Saba
i-REU Site: The US/France REU Exchange Site in Chemistry: Forming Global Scientists for the 21st Century
Chemistry
Strasbourg, Paris, Toulouse, Florida
Primary: Valeria D. Kleiman
(352) 392-4656
reu@chem.ufl.edu
Secondary: Adrian Roitberg
(352) 392-6972
roitberg@ufl.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: chemistry (all areas), international, France
Comments: Additional Primary Contact Information: Name: Valeria D. Kleiman Email: kleiman@ufl.edu
i-REU Site: The US/France REU Exchange Site in Chemistry: Forming Global Scientists for the 21st CenturyAbstract of Award
Florida State University
Sunshine Institute for the Interaction of Light with Matter
Department of Chemistry and Biochemistry
Tallahassee, Florida
Primary: Edwin F. Hilinski
(850) 645-0651
reu@chem.fsu.edu
Secondary: Michael Shatruk
(850) 645-0651
reu@chem.fsu.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: photochemistry, spectroscopy, energy conversion, solar energy, organic synthesis, physical chemistry, materials, photodynamic processes, students with limited research opportunities, veterans
Sunshine Institute for the Interaction of Light with MatterAbstract of Award
Kennesaw State University
Chemistry and Biochemistry Summer Undergraduate Research Experience at Kennesaw State University
Department of Chemistry and Biochemistry
Kennesaw, Georgia
Primary: Mark B. Mitchell
(470) 578-2048
mmitch52@kennesaw.edu
Secondary: Kimberly Linenberger
(470) 578-6278
klinenbe@kennesaw.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: Chemistry, Biochemistry, Undergraduate, Research, CBSURE
Chemistry and Biochemistry Summer Undergraduate Research Experience at Kennesaw State UniversityAbstract of Award
Statesboro, Georgia
Primary: Karelle Aiken
(912) 478-5238
kaiken@georgiasouthern.edu
Secondary: Ria Ramoutar
(912) 478-5055
rramoutar@georgiasouthern.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: multidisciplinary projects, professional development; research: biocomposites, drug design, drug delivery, chemosensors, nanomaterials, magnetic materials, molecular switches
CollaborativE Multidisciplinary Investigations Through Undergraduate Research Experiences (CEMITURE)Abstract of Award
Atlanta, Georgia
Primary: Suri S. Iyer
(404) 413-3606
siyer@gsu.edu
Secondary: Jeneille Grant
(404) 413-5526
jgrant9@gsu.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: Diverse chemical areas, diagnostics, therapeutics, chemical biology, community colleges, primarily undergraduate institutions, Atlanta Metropolitian area.
Summer Research Experiences for Students from Community Colleges and Four Year Institutions at Georgia State UniversityAbstract of Award
Southern Illinois University at Carbondale
REU Site for Interdisciplinary Materials Research
Chemistry
Carbondale, Illinois
Primary: Tammy Wieseman
(618) 453-6496
tammy.wieseman@siu.edu
Secondary: Douglas Coons
(618) 453-6496
dcoons@chem.siu.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: materials chemistry, nanomaterials
REU Site for Interdisciplinary Materials ResearchAbstract of Award
Cofunded: Chemistry
Northern Illinois University
REU Site: Integrated Experimental and Computational REU Site at Northern Illinois University
Department of Chemistry and Biochemistry
DeKalb, Illinois
Primary: James R. Horn
(815) 753-8654
jrhorn@niu.edu
Secondary: Ralph A. Wheeler
rwheeler5@niu.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: Combined computational and experimental research; Training on advanced instrumentation; Enriched writing and speaking skills, Career development; Ethical behavior and safety training
Manhattan, Kansas
Primary: Christopher T. Culbertson
(785) 532-6685
culbert@ksu.edu
Secondary: Stefan H. Bossmann
(785) 532-6817
sbossman@ksu.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: Chemistry, Biosecurity, Analytical, Organic, Inorganic, Physical
Lawrence, Kansas
Primary: Mikhail Barybin
(785) 864-4106
mbarybin@ku.edu
Secondary: David R. Benson
(785) 864-4090
drb@ku.edu
Chapel Hill, Kansas
Primary: Noelle-Erin Romero
(919) 843-9070
nromero@email.unc.edu
Secondary: Gerald Meyer
(919) 962-6320
gjmeyer@email.unc.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: cutting-edge research, state-of-the-art facilities, collaborative environment, career development
Summer Undergraduate Ressearch Opportunity in Chemistry (SUROC)Abstract of Award
University of Kentucky
REU Site: Summer Program in the Biochemical Sciences
Molecular and Cellular Biochemistry
Lexington, Kentucky
Primary: Trevor Creamer
859-323-6037
Trevor.Creamer@uky.edu
Secondary: Rebecca Dutch
859-323-1795
rdutc2@uky.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: biochemistry, molecular biology, cell biology, structural biology, biophysics
REU Site: Summer Program in the Biochemical SciencesAbstract of Award
Cofunded: Department of Defense (DoD), Chemistry
Louisiana State University
France/Belgium iREU in Translational Chemistry
Baton Rouge, Leuven, Grenoble, and Toulouse, Louisiana
Primary: Randy Duran
(225) 578-2459
rduran@lsu.edu
Secondary: David Spivak
(225) 578-2868
dspivak@lsu.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: LSAMP focus, all chemistry areas
Tulane University
REU: Summer MAterials Research at Tulane (SMART)
Multidisciplinary
New Orleans, Louisiana
Primary: Professor Hank Ashbaugh
(504) 865-5772
sgrayson@tulane.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: Multidisciplinary program focusing on materials for health, energy and environment applications
REU: Summer MAterials Research at Tulane (SMART)Abstract of Award
Louisiana State University
Smart Polymer Composite Materials and Structures
Civil and Industrial Engineering, Chemistry
Baton Rouge, Louisiana
Primary: Heather Lavender
(225) 578-4726
heatherl@lsu.edu
Secondary: Gloria Thomas
(225) 578-5228
gloriathomas@lsu.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: materials science, shape memory polymer, polymer characterization, polymer synthesis, polymer composites
Smart Polymer Composite Materials and StructuresAbstract of Award
Johns Hopkins University
REU Site: Program in Nanotechnology for Biology and Bioengineering
Institute for NanoBioTechnology
Baltimore, Maryland
Primary: Denis Wirtz
(410) 516-8094
wirtz@jhu.edu
Secondary: Efrosini Kokkoli
(410) 516-1302
kokkoli@jhu.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: Engineering,Biosciences,StemCells,DiagnosticTools,Nanotechnology,Nanobiotechnology,Computational,Immunotherapy,TissueRepair,Biomedical,Chemical&Biomolecular,MaterialsScience,Bioengineering
Comments: Contact: Camille Bryant, cbryant@jhu.edu (410) 516-6572
REU Site: Program in Nanotechnology for Biology and BioengineeringAbstract of Award
Cofunded: Chemistry, Engineering
University of Maryland, Baltimore County
REU Site: Research Experience for Undergraduates in Advanced Chemical Sensing and Imaging
Department of Chemistry and Biochemistry
Baltimore, Maryland
Primary: Zeev Rosenzweig
(410) 455-2521
zrosenzw@umbc.edu
Secondary: Marcin Ptaszek
(410) 455-2264
mptaszek@umbc.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: chemistry, biochemistry, spectroscopy, imaging
REU Site: Research Experience for Undergraduates in Advanced Chemical Sensing and ImagingAbstract of Award
Amherst, Massachusetts
Primary: Ruthanne Paradise
(413) 545-7202
curereu@chem.umass.edu
Secondary: Kevin Kittilstved
(413) 545-6096
kittilstved@chem.umass.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: Renewable Energy, Photovoltaics, Biofuels, Fuel Cells
Boston, Massachusetts
Primary: John K. Snyder
(617) 353-2621
jsnyder@bu.edu
Secondary: Linda Doerrer
(617) 358-4335
doerrer@bu.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: chemistry, biochemistry, biomaterials, biophysics, bioinorganic chemistry, biological chemistry, computational biology
Northeastern University
Research Opportunities in Biological and Chemical Catalysis II
Chemistry and Chemical Biology
Boston, Massachusetts
Primary: George A. O’Doherty
(617) 373-4817
G.ODoherty@neu.edu
Secondary: Oyinda Oyelaran
(617) 373-4494
O.Oyelaran@northeastern.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: Biochemistry, Organic, Physical, Computational, Materials, and Analytical, Medicinal Chemistry, and Med Chem.
Research Opportunities in Biological and Chemical Catalysis IIAbstract of Award
Chestnut Hill, Massachusetts
Primary: Kenneth Burch
(617) 552-3575
ks.burch@bc.edu
Secondary: Laura Anne Lowery
(617) 552-3540
laura.lowery@bc.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: biology, biosciences, neuroscience, physics, energy, mathematics, chemistry, quantum computation, nanoscience, materials science, optics, microscopy
REU Site: Integrated Science For Society (IS2)Abstract of Award
Cofunded: Chemistry
Worcester Polytechnic Institute
REU Site: Membrane Biochemistry and Bioinspired Synthesis
Chemistry and Biochemistry
Worcester, Massachusetts
Primary: Arne Gericke
(508) 831-5263
agericke@wpi.edu
Secondary: Shawn Burdette
(508) 831-5224
scburdette@wpi.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: Biochemistry, Synthesis, Bioinorganic Chemistry, Organic Chemistry, Biophysics
REU Site: Membrane Biochemistry and Bioinspired SynthesisAbstract of Award
East Lansing, Michigan
Primary: Dr. Greg M. Swain
(517) 353-1090
swain@chemistry.msu.edu
Secondary: Dr. Robert L. LaDuca
(517) 432-2268
laduca@msu.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: green synthesis, biofuels, photoelectrochemistry, environmentally-friendly materials
Cross-Disciplinary Training in Sustainable Chemistry and Chemical ProcessesAbstract of Award
University of Michigan Ann Arbor
University of Michigan REU Site in the Chemical Sciences
Department of Chemistry
Ann Arbor, Michigan
Primary: Brian P. Coppola
734-764-7329
bcoppola@umich.edu
University of Minnesota
Challenges of the 21st Century
Department of Chemistry
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Primary: Nick Erickson
(612) 624-0026
chmlando@umn.edu
Secondary: Steven Kass
(612) 625-7513
kass@umn.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: Chemistry research, 10 week summer program, open area
Challenges of the 21st CenturyAbstract of Award
University of Mississippi
Ole Miss Physical Chemistry Summer Research Program
Department of Chemistry & Biochemistry
Oxford, Mississippi
Primary: Nathan Hammer
(662) 915-3989
nhammer@olemiss.edu
Secondary: Gregory S. Tschumper
(662) 915-7301
tschumpr@olemiss.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: Physical Chemistry, Computational Chemistry, Theory, Spectroscopy, Nanomaterials, Energy, Biophysics
Ole Miss Physical Chemistry Summer Research ProgramAbstract of Award
Show 30 items per page.