Email Print Share

REU Sites

REU Sites: Computer and Information Science and Engineering

Please report errors in the list below by writing to reu.cise@nsf.gov.


Search Again

Show 30 items per page.
REU Sites
Site Information Site Location Contact Information Additional Information
Auburn University
Research Experience for Undergraduate on Smart UAVs
Center for Smart UAVs
Auburn, Alabama
Primary: Saad Biaz
(334) 844-6307
biazsaa@auburn.edu
Secondary: Richard O. Chapman
(334) 844-6314
chapmro@auburn.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: Unmanned Aerial Vehicles (UAVs), Autonomous Flight
Research Experience for Undergraduate on Smart UAVsAbstract of Award
Cofunded: Department of Defense (DoD)
Auburn, Alabama
Primary: Sanjeev Baskiyar
(334) 844-6306
baskisa@auburn.edu
Secondary: Alvin S Lim
(334) 844-6326
lim@eng.auburn.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: CPU temperature control for energy reduction, indoor localization using deep learning, thermal friendly architecture, smart utility networks, distributed analytics, machine learning algorithms
REU Site: Parallel and Distributed ComputingAbstract of Award
Cofunded: Physics, Computer and Information Science and Engineering
Tucson, Arizona
Primary: Nancy Emptage
(520) 621-6189
emptagen@email.arizona.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: Wireless communication, artificial intelligence, machine learning, signal processing, novel antennas, EM propagations, reliable and secure networking, hardware and circuit design, cognitive algorithms
Long Range Communications, using Ham Radios, Cool Algorithms, and Innovative AntennasAbstract of Award
University of Arizona
REU Site: Cat Vehicle: TheCognitive and Autonomous Test Vehicle
Electrical and Computer Engineering
Tucson, Arizona
Primary: Nancy Emptage
emptagen@ece.arizona.edu
Secondary: Jonathan Sprinkle
(520) 626-0737
sprinkle@ece.arizona.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: Autonomous cars, cognitive radio, model-based design, wireless networks, embedded control systems, sensor fusion, Vehicle to Vehicle (V2V) and Vehicle to Infrastructure (V2I)communications
REU Site: Cat Vehicle: TheCognitive and Autonomous Test VehicleAbstract of Award
Arizona State University
Sensor Signal and Information Processing (SenSIP)
SenSIP Center, ECEE
Tempe, Arizona
Primary: Andreas Spanias
(480) 965-5311
spanias@asu.edu
Secondary: Jennifer Blain Christen
(480) 965-9859
Jennifer.BlainChristen@asu.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: Sensors and signal processing algorithms, sensor design and fabrication, signal processing, wearable and flexible sensors, machine learning, interface circuits, sensors for Internet of Things
Sensor Signal and Information Processing (SenSIP)Abstract of Award
University of California, Irvine
Cultivating the I0T-enabled Smart Community (IoT-SITY)
Computer Science Department
Irvine, California
Primary: Sharnnia Artis
(949) 824-7134
oai@uci.edu
Secondary: Nalini Venkatasubramanian
(949) 824-8598
nalini@uci.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: Internet-of-things, smart communities, cyberphysical systems, infrastructure resilience, smart manufacturing, smart buildings, IoT networks, IoT data management, machine learning, IoT deployments
Cultivating the I0T-enabled Smart Community (IoT-SITY)Abstract of Award
University of Southern California
Human Communication in a Connected World
Information Sciences Institute
Marina del Rey, California
Primary: Jelena Mirkovic
(310) 448-9170
sunshine@isi.edu
Secondary: Christophe Hauser
(310) 448-8225
hauser@isi.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: Information flow and structure of social networks, information extraction and summarization, cybersecurity and communication networks and protocols
Human Communication in a Connected WorldAbstract of Award
Cofunded: Department of Defense (DoD)
Harvey Mudd College
REU Site in Computer Systems
Computer Science
Claremont, California
Primary: Zachary Dodds
(909) 607-1813
dodds@cs.hmc.edu
Secondary: Julie Medero
(909) 621-8072
julie@cs.hmc.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: Algorithms for active transportation, kinetic typography, human gaze response to feature films, human-robot learning
REU Site in Computer SystemsAbstract of Award
University of California - San Diego
REU Site: Engineers for Exploration
California Institute of Telecommunications and Information Technology
San Diego, California
Primary: Ryan Kastner
(858) 534-8908
rkastner@ucsd.edu
Secondary: Curt Schurgers
cschurgers@ucsd.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: Remote sensing, robotics, sensors, system prototyping, field deployments, computer vision, machine learning, digital signal processing
REU Site: Engineers for ExplorationAbstract of Award
University of Southern California
REU Site: Research in Interactive Virtual Experiences
Institute for Creative Technologies
Los Angeles, California
Primary: Ron Artstein
(310) 448-0313
artstein@ict.usc.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: Virtual Reality, Human-Computer Interaction, Virtual Humans, Graphics, Natural Language Understanding
REU Site: Research in Interactive Virtual ExperiencesAbstract of Award
Los Angeles, California
Primary: Thomas H Jordan
213-821-1237
tjordan@usc.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: object-oriented, open-source, internet- enabled software, interactive, 4D display, earthquake
REU Site: SCEC Undergraduate Studies in Earthquake Information Technology (SCEC/UseIT)Abstract of Award
University of Southern California
Robotics and Autonomous Systems
Computer Science Department
Los Angeles, California
Primary: Nora Ayanian
(213) 740-5377
ayanian@usc.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: Cooperative robotics, bio-inspired robots, robotic networks, socially assistive robots, software-defined radars for UAVs, perception-action-learning systems, autonomy for aquatic robots
Robotics and Autonomous SystemsAbstract of Award
Berkeley, California
Primary: James Demmel
(510) 642-7699
demmel@eecs.berkeley.edu
Secondary: Audrey Sillers
(510) 664-7181
araya@eecs.berkeley.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: Big data, security, databases, parallel programming, AI, HCI, MEMS, graphics
Summer Undergraduate Progarm in Engineering Research at Berkeley (SUPERB) Collecting and Using Big Data for the Public GoodAbstract of Award
California State Polytechnic University, Pomona
Undergraduate Research Experiences in Big Data Security and Privacy
Computer Science Department and Computer Infomation Systems Department
Pomona, California
Primary: Tingting Chen
(909) 869-4842
tingtingchen@cpp.edu
Secondary: Mohammad I. Husain
(909) 869-2022
mihusain@cpp.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: Genomic data privacy, secure multiparty cloud computation, hybrid data center security, big data privacy preserving techniques, privacy preserving federated search, security compliance measurement
Undergraduate Research Experiences in Big Data Security and PrivacyAbstract of Award
University of Connecticut
Trustable Embedded Systems Security Research
Computer Science & Engineering Department, Electrical and Computer Engineering
Storrs, Connecticut
Primary: Omer Khan
(860) 486-2192
khan@uconn.edu
Secondary: Bing Wang
(860) 486-0582
bing@uconn.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: Secure Quantum Crypto; Internet Routing; Communications; Mobile Healthcare; Voting, Neuromorphic and Anti-tamper Systems; Embedded Processors; Authenticated Hardware; System Vulnerability Analysis
Trustable Embedded Systems Security ResearchAbstract of Award
Gallaudet University
Accessible Information and Communications Technology (AICT)
Department of Science, Technology, and Mathematics
Washington, District Of Columbia
Primary: Raja Kushalnagar
(202) 750-2458
raja.kushalnagar@gallaudet.edu
Secondary: Christian Vogler
(202) 250-2795
christian.vogler@gallaudet.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: Accessible computing, human-computer interaction, multimodal interaction, automatic-speech-recognition, automatic-sign-recognition
Accessible Information and Communications Technology (AICT)Abstract of Award
Embry-Riddle Aeronautical University
Cybersecurity Research of Unmanned Aerial Vehicles
Department of Electrical, Computer, Software, and Systems Engineering
Daytona Beach, Florida
Primary: Eduardo Rojas
(386) 226-7701
rojase1@erau.edu
Secondary: Remzi Seker
(386) 226-7409
sekerr@erau.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: Unmanned aerial vehicles, cybersecurity, data privacy, network security, secure UAV control
Cybersecurity Research of Unmanned Aerial VehiclesAbstract of Award
University of Central Florida
Research Experiences in the Internet of Things
Computer Science Department
Orlando, Florida
Primary: Damla Turgut
(407) 823-6171
turgut@cs.ucf.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: Internet of Things, sensors and actuators, smart grids, smart home, smart healthcare, AR/VR, machine learning, artificial intelligence
Research Experiences in the Internet of ThingsAbstract of Award
University of Central Florida
Research for Undergraduates in Computer Vision
Center for Research in Computer Vision
Orlando, Florida
Primary: Mubarak Shah
(407) 823-5077
shah@crcv.ucf.edu
Secondary: Niels Lobo
(407) 823-2873
niels@eecs.ucf.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: Convolutional Neural Networks, Artificial Intelligence, Computer Vision, Deep Learning, Machine Learning, Facial Recognition, Medical AI, Cancer Detection, Autonomous Vehicles, Explainable AI
Research for Undergraduates in Computer VisionAbstract of Award
University of South Florida
REU Site on Ubiquitous Sensing
Computer Science and Engineering
Tampa, Florida
Primary: Dr. Miguel A. Labrador
(813) 974-3260
labrador@cse.usf.edu
Secondary: Dr. Yu Sun
(813) 974-7508
yusun@cse.usf.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: Participatory Sensing, Human-Centric Sensing, Location-Based Services
REU Site on Ubiquitous SensingAbstract of Award
Florida International University
REU SITE: Research Experiences for Undergraduates in Advanced Secured Sensor Enabling Technologies
School of Computing and Information Sciences
Miami, Florida
Primary: Niki Pissinou
(305) 348-3716
pissinouci@fiu.edu
Secondary: Kia Makki
(305) 348-3738
makkik@fiu.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: Optimization methods and software for robust, secure, context aware, reconfigurable and adaptable computing systems for emerging multidisciplinary applications
REU SITE: Research Experiences for Undergraduates in Advanced Secured Sensor Enabling TechnologiesAbstract of Award
Florida International University
REU Site: Security of Smart Things
Electrical and Computer Engineering
Miami, Florida
Primary: Kemal Akkaya
(305) 348-3017
kakkaya@fiu.edu
Secondary: A. Selcuk Uluagac
(305) 348-3710
auluagac@fiu.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: Internet-of-things, cyber-physical systems, security of smart things, security of critical infrastructures, user privacy, cybersecurity, hardware security
REU Site: Security of Smart ThingsAbstract of Award
University of Miami
Scientific Computing for Structure in Big or Complex Datasets
Department of Computer Science
Miami, Florida
Primary: Burton Rosenberg
(305) 284-2141
burt@cs.miami.edu
Secondary: Julie Garcia
(305) 284-2268
secretary@cs.miami.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: Computational chemistry, computational neuroscience and brain science, visualization of ensemble data, GPU enabled cryptography, neural networks in visual processing modeling human social behavior
Scientific Computing for Structure in Big or Complex DatasetsAbstract of Award
Florida Atlantic University
Sensing and Smart Systems
Institute for Sensing and Embedded Network Systems Engineering (I-SENSE)
Boca Raton, Florida
Primary: Jason O. Hallstrom
(561) 297-4748
jhallstrom@fau.edu
Secondary: Andrea Gonzalez
(561) 297-4759
agonzalez@fau.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: IoT security, battery-free computing, emotion sensing, robotic prosthetics, cardiac analysis, traffic control, vehicle-based sensing, data embedding in media, smart energy systems, underwater sensing
Sensing and Smart SystemsAbstract of Award
Georgia Institute of Technology
Civic Data Science
College of Computing
Atlanta, Georgia
Primary: Bistra Dilkina
bdilkina@cc.gatech.edu
Secondary: Chris LeDantec
Ledantec@gatech.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: Data analytics, machine learning, information visualization, optimization applied in areas of civic importance such as social issues, sustainability, environment, urban planning, public safety
Civic Data ScienceAbstract of Award
Georgia State University
Developing Smart and Autonomous Internet-of-Things Systems
Department of Computer Science
Atlanta, Georgia
Primary: Ashwin Ashok
(404) 413-6657
aashok@gsu.edu
Secondary: Anu Bourgeois
(404) 413-5723
abourgeois@gsu.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: Internet of Things (IoT), artificial intelligence, computer vision, robotics, mobile computing, sensor networks, visible light communication
Developing Smart and Autonomous Internet-of-Things SystemsAbstract of Award
Georgia State University
Research Experience for Undergraduates in Immersive Media Computing
Department of Computer Science and Creative Media Industries Institute
Atlanta, Georgia
Primary: Zhisheng Yan
(404) 413-5120
zyan@gsu.edu
Secondary: Ying Zhu
(404) 413-5784
yzhu@gsu.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: Augmented reality, virtual reality, computer vision, video communication and networking, GPU rendering, parallel computing, image processing
Research Experience for Undergraduates in Immersive Media ComputingAbstract of Award
Columbus State University
REU Site on Security and Privacy for Mobile Sensing and the Internet of Things
TSYS School of Computer Science
Columbus, Georgia
Primary: Alfredo J. Perez
(706) 507-8194
perez_alfredo@columbusstate.edu
Secondary: Yesem Kurt-Peker
(706) 507-8187
peker_yesem@columbusstate.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: Security, privacy, mobile sensing, internet of things.
REU Site on Security and Privacy for Mobile Sensing and the Internet of ThingsAbstract of Award
Boise State University
Data-driven Security
Computer Science Department
Boise, Idaho
Primary: Francesca Spezzano
(208) 426-2491
francescaspezzano@boisestate.edu
Secondary: Edoardo Serra
(208) 426-2492
edoardoserra@boisestate.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: National and cyber security: counter-terrorism, online misbehavior and misinformation detection and mitigation, intrusion detection systems, side-channel attacks, lightweight cryptography
Data-driven SecurityAbstract of Award
Illinois Institute of Technology & University of Chicago
BigDataX: From Theory to Practice in Big Data Computing at Extreme Scales
Computer Science & Computation Institute
Chicago, Illinois
Primary: Ioan Raicu
(312) 567-5704
iraicu@cs.iit.edu
Secondary: Kyle Hale
(312) 567-5147
khale@cs.iit.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: Distributed systems many-core computing, cluster computing, grid computing, cloud computing, supercomputing, parallel computing & languages, big data, scientific computing, data sciences, databases
Comments: Collaborative site with the University of Chicago
BigDataX: From Theory to Practice in Big Data Computing at Extreme ScalesAbstract of Award
Show 30 items per page.