Email Print Share

REU Sites

REU Sites: Computer and Information Science and Engineering

Please report errors in the list below by writing to reu.cise@nsf.gov.


Search Again

Show 30 items per page.
REU Sites
Site Information Site Location Contact Information Additional Information
Georgia Institute of Technology
Civic Data Science
College of Computing
Atlanta, Georgia
Primary: Bistra Dilkina
bdilkina@cc.gatech.edu
Secondary: Chris LeDantec
Ledantec@gatech.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: Data analytics, machine learning, information visualization, optimization applied in areas of civic importance such as social issues, sustainability, environment, urban planning, public safety
Civic Data ScienceAbstract of Award
Georgia State University
Research Experience for Undergraduates in Immersive Media Computing
Department of Computer Science and Creative Media Industries Institute
Atlanta, Georgia
Primary: Zhisheng Yan
(404) 413-5120
zyan@gsu.edu
Secondary: Ying Zhu
(404) 413-5784
yzhu@gsu.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: Augmented reality, virtual reality, computer vision, video communication and networking, GPU rendering, parallel computing, image processing
Research Experience for Undergraduates in Immersive Media ComputingAbstract of Award
Illinois Institute of Technology & University of Chicago
BigDataX: From Theory to Practice in Big Data Computing at Extreme Scales
Computer Science & Computation Institute
Chicago, Illinois
Primary: Ioan Raicu
(312) 567-5704
iraicu@cs.iit.edu
Secondary: Kyle Hale
(312) 567-5147
khale@cs.iit.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: Distributed systems many-core computing, cluster computing, grid computing, cloud computing, supercomputing, parallel computing & languages, big data, scientific computing, data sciences, databases
Comments: Collaborative site with the University of Chicago
BigDataX: From Theory to Practice in Big Data Computing at Extreme ScalesAbstract of Award
Chicago, Illinois
Primary: Kyle Chard
(773) 702-4107
chard@uchicago.edu
Secondary: Justin Wozniak
(630) 252-3351
wozniak@mcs.anl.gov
Research Topics/Keywords: Distributed systems, many-core computing, cluster computing, grid computing, cloud computing, supercomputing, parallel computing & languages, big data, scientific computing, data science, databases
Comments: Collaborative site with Illinois Institute of Technology
BigDataX: From Theory to Practice in Big Data Computing at Extreme ScalesAbstract of Award
University of Illinois Urbana Champaign
Incubating a New Community of Leaders Using Software, Inclusion, Innovation, Interdisciplinary and OpeN-Science (INCLUSION)
National Center for Supercomputing Applications
URBANA, Illinois
Primary: Daniel S. Katz
(217) 244-8000
dskatz@illinois.edu
Secondary: Olena Kindratenko
(217) 300-0247
kindrat2@illinois.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: open source software, software development, collaborative, interdisciplinary, social impact
Incubating a New Community of Leaders Using Software, Inclusion, Innovation, Interdisciplinary and OpeN-Science (INCLUSION)Abstract of Award
Cofunded: Computer and Information Science and Engineering
Chicago, Illinois
Primary: Daniela Raicu
(312) 362-5512
draicu@cti.depaul.edu
Secondary: Jacob Furst
(312) 362-5158
jfurst@cti.depaul.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: Medical informatics, image processing, computer vision, artificial intelligence, machine learning, data mining, knowledge discovery
Medical Informatics Experiences (MedIX) in undergraduate researchAbstract of Award
University of Notre Dame
AWaRE - Advanced Wireless Research Experiences
Electrical Engineering
Notre Dame, Indiana
Primary: Dr. Bertrand Hochwald
(574) 631-8875
bhochwald@nd.edu
Secondary: Tiffanie Sammons
(574) 631-8264
tsammon1@nd.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: Millimeter-wave wireless communications, circuits, antennas, sensing, spectrum, WIFI, networking, robotics, optical, microwave, communication, systems, radar, signal, processing, drones
AWaRE - Advanced Wireless Research ExperiencesAbstract of Award
Indiana University Purdue University Indianapolis
Data Science of Risk and Human Activity
Computer and Information Science Department
Indianapolis, Indiana
Primary: George Mohler
(805) 252-0656
gmohler@iupui.edu
Secondary: Mohammad Al Hasan
(317) 274-3862
alhasan@cs.iupui.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: Data science, machine learning, statistics, applications to risk and human activity
Data Science of Risk and Human ActivityAbstract of Award
University of Notre Dame
DISC: Data Intensive Scientific Computing
Center for Research Computing
Notre Dame, Indiana
Primary: Laura Kresnak
(574) 631-2401
lkresnak@nd.edu
Secondary: Douglas Thain
(574) 631-6845
dthain@nd.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: scientific computing, high performance computing, big data analytics, particle physics, astrophysics, bioinformatics, gene sequencing, computational epidemiology
DISC: Data Intensive Scientific ComputingAbstract of Award
Indiana University-Purdue University Indianapolis (IUPUI)
Enhancing Undergraduate Research Experiences in Mobile Cloud and DataSecurity
Department of Computer Information and Graphics Technology
Indianapolis, Indiana
Primary: Feng Li
(317) 278-8391
fengli@iupui.edu
Secondary: Xiao Luo
(317) 278-7330
luo25@iupui.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: Cyber security, mobile computing, wireless communication, mobile cloud
Enhancing Undergraduate Research Experiences in Mobile Cloud and DataSecurityAbstract of Award
Bloomington, Indiana
Primary: Katie Siek
(812) 856-0598
ksiek@indiana.edu
Secondary: Lamara Warren
(812) 856-0703
ldwarren@indiana.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: Human computer interaction, pervasive computing (mobile or wearable), environmental sensing (ambient and on-body), machine learning (vision recognition and signal processing)
Proactive Health Informatics Research Experience for UndergraduatesAbstract of Award
Iowa State University
Summer Program for Interdisciplinary Research and Education-Emerging Interface Technologies
Human Computer Interaction / Virtual Reality Applications Center
Ames, Iowa
Primary: Stephen B. Gilbert
(515) 294-6782
gilbert@iastate.edu
Secondary: Eliot Winer
(515) 989-1750
ewiner@iastate.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: human computer interaction, interface design, interaction design, human centered computing, virtual reality, haptics, usability, augmented reality, multitouch, social computing, robotics, information
Summer Program for Interdisciplinary Research and Education-Emerging Interface TechnologiesAbstract of Award
Wichita State University
Enhancing Undergraduate Research Experiences in Networked Cyber-Physical Systems
Electrical Engineering and Computer Science Department
Wichita, Kansas
Primary: Vinod Namboodiri
(316) 978-3922
vinod.namboodiri@wichita.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: Wireless localization, indoor mapping and navigation, UAV multimedia networking, cognitive radio networks, secure manufacturing, cloud computing, security and privacy of wearable devices
Enhancing Undergraduate Research Experiences in Networked Cyber-Physical SystemsAbstract of Award
Louisiana State University
Interdisciplinary Research Experience in Computational Sciences
Center for Computation and Technology
Baton Rouge, Louisiana
Primary: Juana Moreno
(225) 578-7586
moreno@lsu.edu
Secondary: Jesse Allison
(225) 578-5572
jtallison@lsu.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: Cyberinfrastructure, High Performance Computing, Computational Sciences, Mathematics, Computer Science, Physics, Civil Engineering, Oceanography and Coastal Sciences, Petroleum Engineering, Mechanical
Interdisciplinary Research Experience in Computational SciencesAbstract of Award
Cofunded: Computer and Information Science and Engineering
College Park, Maryland
Primary: William Gasarch
(301) 405-2698
gasarch@cs.umd.edu
Secondary: John Dickerson
(301) 405-2774
john@cs.umd.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: Machine learning, cryptography, security, allocation problems, quantum computing
CARR: Combinatorics and Algorithms Applied to Real ProblemsAbstract of Award
Salisbury University
REU Site: EXERCISE - Explore Emerging Computing in Science and Engineering
Department of Mathematics and Computer Science
Salisbury, Maryland
Primary: Enyue (Annie) Lu
(410) 543-6144
ealu@salisbury.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: Parallel computing,cloud computing,GPU computing, MapReduce,data mining,cybersecurity,image processing, concurrent software,multiprocessor architectures, machine learning, natural language processing
REU Site: EXERCISE - Explore Emerging Computing in Science and EngineeringAbstract of Award
Worcester Polytechnic Institute
Data Science Research for Healthy Communities in the Digital Age
Computer Science Department (Data Science Program)
Worcester, Massachusetts
Primary: Elke Rundensteiner
(508) 831-5815
rundenst@wpi.edu
Secondary: Fatemeh Emdad
(508) 831-5303
femdad@wpi.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: Data science, smart and connected communities, health analytics, sustainability, cybersecurity, social media, data mining, machine learning, big data management, visualization, statistical learning
Data Science Research for Healthy Communities in the Digital AgeAbstract of Award
Michigan State University
iCER ACRES: Advanced Computational Research Experience for Students
Inst. for Cyber-Enabled Research (iCER) and Dept of Computational Math, Science, & Engg. (CMSE)
Lansing, Michigan, Michigan
Primary: Kenneth Merz Jr.
(517) 353-1123
kmerz1@gmail.com
Secondary: Brian O’Shea
(517) 884-5638
oshea@msu.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: Computational & data science, high performance computing, parallel solvers, computational chemistry, mathematics, biology, astrophysics, big data science and cyberinfrastructure
iCER ACRES: Advanced Computational Research Experience for StudentsAbstract of Award
Cofunded: Computer and Information Science and Engineering, Department of Defense (DoD)
Oakland University
REU Site: Undergraduate Computer Research (UnCoRe) in Cybersecurity
Department of Computer Science and Engineering
Rochester, Michigan
Primary: Huirong Fu
(248) 370-4456
fu@oakland.edu
Secondary: Lunjin Lu
(248) 370-2231
l2lu@oakland.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: Security and privacy of autonomous driving, software security, system security, cloud security, IoT security, and digital forensics
REU Site: Undergraduate Computer Research (UnCoRe) in CybersecurityAbstract of Award
University of Minnesota
Computational Methods for Discovery Driven by Big Data
Department of Computer Science and Engineering
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Primary: George Karypis
(612) 625-7524
karypis@umn.edu
Secondary: Kate Jensen
(612) 406-2658
katej@umn.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: machine learning, virtual social behaviors, immersive virtual environments, mobile cloud platforms, biological networks, Earth climate analysis using graph-based methods
Computational Methods for Discovery Driven by Big DataAbstract of Award
Mississippi State University
REU Site: Undergraduate Research in Computational Biology at Mississippi State University
Computer Science and Engineering
Mississippi State, Mississippi
Primary: Andy Perkins
(662) 325-0004
perkins@cse.msstate.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: biology, biosciences, computational biology, genomics
REU Site: Undergraduate Research in Computational Biology at Mississippi State UniversityAbstract of Award
Cofunded: Computer and Information Science and Engineering
Washington University in St. Louis
Big Data Analytics
Department of Computer Science and Engineering
St. Louis, Missouri
Primary: Douglas Shook
dshook@wustl.edu
Secondary: Sanmay Das
(314) 935-4274
sanmay@wustl.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: Machine learning, data science, artificial intelligence, parallel computing for big data, big data in computer vision, computational biology, and multi-agent systems applications
Big Data AnalyticsAbstract of Award
University of Missouri - Columbia
Undergraduate Research in Consumer Networking Technologies
Department of Computer Science
Columbia, Missouri
Primary: Prasad Calyam
(573) 882-9747
calyamp@missouri.edu
Secondary: Yi Shang
(573) 884-7794
shangy@missouri.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: Software-defined networking, visual computing at the network edge, social health networking for eldercare, body-area sensing and emotion recognition
Undergraduate Research in Consumer Networking TechnologiesAbstract of Award
Montana State University
Research and Development of Algorithms in a Software Factory
Computer Science Department
Bozeman, Montana
Primary: Clemente Izurieta
(406) 994-3720
clemente.izurieta@montana.edu
Secondary: Brendan Mumey
(406) 994-7811
brendan.mumey@montanta.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: Algorithms research in the context of a Software Factory, with incremental development of prototypes. Focus on: genomics, system quality, topological data analysis, and social-nets trustworthiness
Research and Development of Algorithms in a Software FactoryAbstract of Award
University of Nebraska - Lincoln
Undergraduate Research Opportunities in Unmanned Systems Foundations and Applications
Computer Science and Engineering Department
Lincoln, Nebraska
Primary: Brittany Duncan
(402) 472-5073
nimbus-reu@unl.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: Unmanned aerial systems, attitude control of nanosatellites, robots in complex environments, vehicles for atmospheric profiling, asset management during wildfires
Undergraduate Research Opportunities in Unmanned Systems Foundations and ApplicationsAbstract of Award
University of Nevada, Reno
Collaborative Human-Robot Interaction
Computer Science and Engineering
Reno, Nevada
Primary: David Feil-Seifer
(775) 784-6469
dave@cse.unr.edu
Secondary: Heather Lara
(775) 784-6974
hclara@unr.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: Autonomous underground robotic inspection, socially-appropriate interaction, language-based human-robot collaboration, network management of heterogeneous robotics, paths for dirt cleaning robots
Collaborative Human-Robot InteractionAbstract of Award
Piscataway, New Jersey
Primary: Lazaros Gallos
(848) 445-0075
lgallos@dimacs.rutgers.edu
Secondary: Eric Allender
(848) 445-7296
allender@cs.rutgers.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: Discrete mathematics, computer science, algorithms, computer science theory, complexity, data science, cyber security, statistics, biomathematics, biomedical applications
DIMACS REU in Algorithms from Foundations to ApplicationsAbstract of Award
New Jersey Institute of Technology
Undergraduate Research in Computational Data Analytics for Advancing Human Systems
Information Systems Department
Newark, New Jersey
Primary: Songhua Xu
(973) 596-5815
songhua.xu@njit.edu
Secondary: Lian Duan
(516) 463-4220
lian.duan@hofstra.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: Environmental cancer risk study, adverse drug reaction detection, personalized coupon in super markets, technology and psychological well-being, personalized education system
Undergraduate Research in Computational Data Analytics for Advancing Human SystemsAbstract of Award
New Mexico Institute of Mining and Technology
Research Experiences for Undergraduates - Emerging Issues in Cybersecurity
Department of Computer Science and Engineering
Socorro, New Mexico
Primary: Jun Zheng
(575) 835-6182
jun.zheng@nmt.edu
Secondary: Dongwan Shin
(575) 835-6459
dongwan.shin@nmt.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: Malware detection, botnet detection, smart grid security, mobile security and privacy, human factors in cybersecurity, network security, usable security
Research Experiences for Undergraduates - Emerging Issues in CybersecurityAbstract of Award
University of Rochester
Computational Methods for Understanding Music, Media, and Minds
Goergen Institute for Data Science
Rochester, New York
Primary: Ajay Anand
(585) 276-3149
gids-reu@rochester.edu
Secondary: Lisa Altman
(585) 275-5288
lisa.altman@rochester.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: Machine learning, audio engineering, data science, computer vision, music
Computational Methods for Understanding Music, Media, and MindsAbstract of Award
Show 30 items per page.