Email Print Share

REU Sites

REU Sites: Computer and Information Science and Engineering

Please report errors in the list below by writing to reu.cise@nsf.gov.


Search Again

Show 30 items per page.
REU Sites
Site Information Site Location Contact Information Additional Information
Charlotte, North Carolina
Primary: David Wilson
(704) 687-8585
davils@uncc.edu
Secondary: Heather Lipford
(704) 687-8376
heather.lipford@uncc.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: Cyber-physical systems, Internet of Things, makerspace, human computer interaction, visualization, security, networking
Making Future Communities:Infrastructure and Interaction Design for Cyber-Physical SystemsAbstract of Award
North Carolina State University
Socially Relevant Computing and Analytics
Department of Computer Science
Raleigh, North Carolina
Primary: Tiffany Barnes
(919) 523-1353
tiffany.barnes@gmail.com
Secondary: Veronica Catete
(919) 820-2578
vmcatete@ncsu.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: Analytics & machine learning for education, healthcare, and graph-based learning; serious games; narrative & interactive visual media; tools for computational creativity; canine-computer interaction
Socially Relevant Computing and AnalyticsAbstract of Award
Portland State University
Computational Modeling Serving the City
Electrical and Computer Engineering Department
Portland, Oregon
Primary: Christof Teuscher
(503) 725-2817
reucomputing@pdx.edu
Secondary: Jay Gopalakrishnan
Research Topics/Keywords: computational modeling
Computational Modeling Serving the CityAbstract of Award
Oregon State University
Robotics in the Real World
School of Mechanical, Industrial, and Manufacturing Engineering
Corvallis, Oregon
Primary: Cindy M. Grimm
(541) 737-4914
cindy.grimm@oregonstate.edu
Secondary: William D. Smart
(541) 737-0670
bill.smart@oregonstate.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: Robotics, human-robot interaction, dynamics and controls, machine learning, multi-agent learning, reinforcement learning, privacy
Robotics in the Real WorldAbstract of Award
Lehigh University
Intelligent and Scalable Systems
Computer Science and Engineering
Bethlehem, Pennsylvania
Primary: Brian Davison
(610) 758-3453
davison@cse.lehigh.edu
Secondary: Michael Spear
(610) 758-3285
spear@cse.lehigh.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: Machine learning, parallel computing, data mining, artificial intelligence, distributed computing, data science, cybersecurity, privacy
Intelligent and Scalable SystemsAbstract of Award
Carnegie Mellon University
Interdisciplinary Software Engineering
Institute for Software Research, School of Computer Science
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Primary: Joshua Sunshine
(412) 268-1097
reuse@cs.cmu.edu
Secondary: Victoria Poprocky
(412) 268-3063
poprocky@cs.cmu.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: Software API usability, green computing, programming language design, security and privacy, automated program analysis and repair, self-adaptive systems, and software development tools
Interdisciplinary Software EngineeringAbstract of Award
Penn State University
Machine Learning in Cybersecurity
College of Information Sciences and Technology
State College, Pennsylvania
Primary: Dongwon Lee
(814) 865-0687
dongwon@psu.edu
Secondary: Aiping Xiong
(814) 865-2370
axx29@psu.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: Machine learning, cybersecurity, privacy, social frauds, misinformation detection, user misbehavior modeling
Machine Learning in CybersecurityAbstract of Award
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Primary: Jamie Payton
(215) 204-8245
payton@temple.edu
Secondary: Jie Wu
(215) 204-6356
jiewu@temple.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: Pervasive computing, Internet of Things, computer vision, networking, smart health and well-being, smart spaces, machine learning, data science, socially relevant computing
Research Experiences in Pervasive Computing for Smart Health, Safety, and Well-beingAbstract of Award
Carnegie Mellon University
Robotics and Intelligent Systems Scholars
Robotics Institute
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Primary: Rachel Burcin
(412) 268-4272
rburcin@andrew.cmu.edu
Secondary: John Dolan
(412) 268-7980
jdolan@andrew.cmu.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: Artificial intelligence, aerial robotics, autonomous navigation, field robotics, human-robot interaction, machine learning, manipulation, medical robotics, mobile robots, motion planning, multi-agent
Robotics and Intelligent Systems ScholarsAbstract of Award
University of South Carolina
Applied Computational Robotics
Department of Computer Science and Engineering
Columbia, South Carolina
Primary: Jason O'Kane
(803) 777-1791
jokane@cse.sc.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: Field robotics, robotic perception and planning, human-robot interaction, security, software engineering
Applied Computational RoboticsAbstract of Award
Dakota State University
REU Site in IoT Security
Beacom College of Computer and Cyber Sciences
Madison, South Dakota
Primary: Yong Wang
(605) 256-5690
yong.wang@dsu.edu
Secondary: Ashley Podhradsky
(605) 256-5821
ashley.podhradsky@dsu.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: IoT security, vulnerability discovery, malware analysis, ethical hacking, cloud vulnerability exploitation, IoT forensics, risk mitigation, access control, IoT and user privacy, security remediation
REU Site in IoT SecurityAbstract of Award
Vanderbilt University Medical Center
Program for Access to Training in Healt Informatics (PATH)
Department of Biomedical Informatics
Nashville, Tennessee
Primary: Kim Unertl
(615) 936-5035
kim.unertl@vanderbilt.edu
Secondary: Rischelle Jenkins
(615) 936-1068
rischelle.jenkins@vanderbilt.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: Health/medical informatics, data science, predictive analytics, data privacy, precision health, phenome-& genome-wide association studies, human-computer interaction, sociotechnical systems
Program for Access to Training in Healt Informatics (PATH)Abstract of Award
Tennessee Technological University
Secure and Privacy Preserving Cyber Physical Sustems
Electrical and Computer Engineering Department
Cookeville, Tennessee
Primary: Mohamed Mahmoud
(931) 310-5074
mmahmoud@tntech.edu
Secondary: Hasan Syed
(931) 373-3462
shasan@tntech.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: Secure vehicular networks and electric vehicles communications, anomaly detection, formal security analytics, physical layer security, hardware insecurities, and secure programmable logic controllers
Secure and Privacy Preserving Cyber Physical SustemsAbstract of Award
Cofunded: Education and Human Resources
Texas A&M University - Corpus Christi
Applied Computing Research in Unmanned Aerial Systems (UAS)
Department of Computing Sciences
Corpus Christi, Texas
Primary: Dulal Kar
(361) 825-5878
dulal.kar@tamucc.edu
Secondary: Ajay Katangur
(361) 825-2478
ajay.katangur@tamucc.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: Autonomous tracking of shorelines, digital mapping for coastal geoinformatics, protecting UAS against cyberattacks, automatic crop yield protection, exploring needs of next-generation UAS
Applied Computing Research in Unmanned Aerial Systems (UAS)Abstract of Award
University of North Texas
Data Analytics and Information Retrieval
Information Science Department
Denton, Texas
Primary: Junhua Ding
(940) 565-2186
junhua.ding@unt.edu
Secondary: Jiangping Chen
(940) 369-8393
jiangping.chen@unt.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: Data analytics, information retrieval, information retrieval of text and image collections, information retrieval for disaster research, data analytics for software security
Data Analytics and Information RetrievalAbstract of Award
Texas State University
Research Experiences for Undergraduates in Smart & Connected Communities
Department of Computer Science
San Marcos, Texas
Primary: Vangelis Metsis
(512) 245-7509
vmetsis@txstate.edu
Secondary: Mina Guirguis
(512) 254-6384
msg@txstate.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: Intelligent transportation systems, cyber-physical systems, smart infrastructure, smart health, smart human-environment interaction, sensor data analysis
Research Experiences for Undergraduates in Smart & Connected CommunitiesAbstract of Award
Texas State University
Research Experiences for Undergraduates in Software Systems and Analysis
Department of Computer Science
San Marcos, Texas
Primary: Guowei Yang
(512) 245-3409
gyang@txstate.edu
Secondary: Anne Ngu
(512) 245-2349
angu@txstate.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: Analysis of software qualities such as reliability, performance, and energy efficiency for software systems including mobile software, internet of things, green computing, big data, parallel systems.
Research Experiences for Undergraduates in Software Systems and AnalysisAbstract of Award
University of Texas at Arlington
REU Program at the University of Texas at Arlington: Assistive Technologies for People with Disabilities
Department of Computer Science and Engineering
Arlington, Texas
Primary: Ishfaq Ahmad
(817) 272-3605
iahmad@cse.uta.edu
Secondary: Pam Mcbride
(817) 272-3604
mcbride@cse.uta.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: Assistive technologies, vision, sensors, sign language, facial recognition, emotion and behavior analysis, smart augmented reality, data analytics, robots, human-machine interaction
REU Program at the University of Texas at Arlington: Assistive Technologies for People with DisabilitiesAbstract of Award
University of Texas at Austin
REU Site: Cyberinfrastructure (CI) Research 4 Social Change
Texas Advanced Computing Center (TACC)
Austin, Texas
Primary: Rosalia Gomez
(512) 471-6785
rosie@tacc.utexas.edu
Secondary: Marques Bland
(512) 475-9296
mbland@tacc.utexas.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: High performance computing, visualization, data intensive computing, science, engineering, and computational medicine.
REU Site: Cyberinfrastructure (CI) Research 4 Social ChangeAbstract of Award
Cofunded: Computer and Information Science and Engineering
Denton, Texas
Primary: Renee Bryce
(940) 565-4176
Renee.Bryce@unt.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: Software assurance, security, emerging technologies, mobile applications
REU Site: Software Assurance and Security in Emerging Technologies: Research Experience for UndergraduatesAbstract of Award
Richardson, Texas
Primary: Eric Wong
(972) 883-6619
ewong@utdallas.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: Software safety and reliability, quality assurance, verification and validation, cost effectiveness, safety standard and evolution, reliability modeling and prediction
REU Site: Software Safety and Reliability: Research and ApplicationAbstract of Award
Cofunded: Computer and Information Science and Engineering
University of Houston
Undergraduate Research Experience in Frontiers of Data-Driven Computing.
Department of Computer Science
Houston, Texas
Primary: Ernst L. Leiss
(713) 743-3359
coscel@cs.uh.edu
Secondary: Stephen Huang
(713) 743-3338
shuang@cs.uh.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: Data-centric computing, data analytics, big data, cybersecurity
Undergraduate Research Experience in Frontiers of Data-Driven Computing.Abstract of Award
University of North Texas
Vehicular Edge Computing and Security: Research Experience for Undergraduates
Department of Computer Science and Engineering
Denton, Texas
Primary: Song Fu
(940) 565-2341
song.fu@unt.edu
Secondary: Qing Yang
(940) 565-4899
qing.yang@unt.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: Connected and autonomous vehicles, vehicular edge computing, vehicular sensor data fusion, trustworthy information sharing among vehicles, privacy protection
Vehicular Edge Computing and Security: Research Experience for UndergraduatesAbstract of Award
Old Dominion University
Deep Learning Driven Cybersecurity Research in a Multidisciplinary Environment
Center for Cybersecurity Education and Research, Department of Electrical and Computer Engineering
Norfolk, Virginia
Primary: Chunsheng Xin
(757) 683-5294
cxin@odu.edu
Secondary: Khan Iftekharuddin
(757) 683-3741
kiftekha@odu.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: Mobile/smartphone security, network security, malware, Internet of Things (IoT) security, intrusion detection, risk management, human factors of cybersecurity
Deep Learning Driven Cybersecurity Research in a Multidisciplinary EnvironmentAbstract of Award
George Mason University
Undergraduate Research in Educational Data Mining
Computer Science Department
Fairfax, Virginia
Primary: Mark Snyder
(703) 993-5624
msnyde14@gmu.edu
Secondary: Huzefa Rangwala
(703) 993-3826
rangwala@cs.gmu.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: Educational data mining, data mining, visualization, learning technologies, data analytics
Undergraduate Research in Educational Data MiningAbstract of Award
Washington State University
Multidisciplinary Undergraduate Research Training in Wearable Computing
School of Electrical Engineering & Computer Science
Pullman, Washington
Primary: Hassan Ghasemzadeh
(509) 335-8260
hassan.ghasemzadeh@wsu.edu
Secondary: Barbara Lyon
(509) 335-6603
b.lyon@wsu.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: Wearable computing, algorithms, pervasive computing, machine learning, physical health monitoring, mental health monitoring, health promotion.
Multidisciplinary Undergraduate Research Training in Wearable ComputingAbstract of Award
Washington State University
REU Site: Undergraduate Research in Smart Environments
Electrical Engineering and Computer Science
Pullman, Washington
Primary: Larry Holder
(509) 335-6138
holder@wsu.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: Computer Science, Smart Environments, Artificial Intelligence, Machine Learning, Data Mining, Pervasive Computing, Energy Efficiency, Psychology, Medical and Health Technologies
REU Site: Undergraduate Research in Smart EnvironmentsAbstract of Award
Morgantown, West Virginia
Primary: Yu Gu
(304) 293-3992
RoboticsREU@mail.wvu.edu
Secondary: Jason Gross
(304) 293-3770
RoboticsREU@mail.wvu.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: robotics, swarm, bio-inspired design, human-robot interaction, autonomy, search and rescue, cooperative systems, virtual reality, augmented reality, microprocessor, instrumentation, controls
REU Site: Undergraduate Robotics Research in Human-Swarm InteractionAbstract of Award
Marquette University
Data Science Across Disciplines
Math, Statistics, and Computer Science Department
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Primary: Praveen Madiraju
(414) 288-6340
praveen.madiraju@marquette.edu
Secondary: Dennis Brylow
(414) 288-6342
dennis.brylow@marquette.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: Data Science, Machine Learning, Health Informatics, Exercise Analytics, Spatial Analytics, Data Science Ethics
Data Science Across DisciplinesAbstract of Award
Show 30 items per page.