Email Print Share

Search Results for REU Sites

All results for: all sites
Search Again

Show 30 number of items per page.
Search Results for REU Sites
Site Information Site Location Contact Information Additional Information
The University of Alabama
Innovative Engineering Using Renewable
ECE
Tuscaloosa, Alabama
Primary: Susan Burkett
(479) 236-4128
sburkett@eng.ua.edu
Secondary: Eric Giannini
(205) 348-5152
ergiannini@eng.ua.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: Materials characterization, mechanical behavior, electrical properties, structural materials, bamboo combustion
The University of AlabamaAbstract of Award
Tuskegee University
Nano-Bio Materials Science and Engineering
Materials Science & Engineering
Tuskegee, Alabama
Primary: Shaik Zainuddin
(334) 724-4222
szainuddin@tuskegee.edu
Secondary: Mahesh Hosur
(334) 724-4220
mhosur@tuskegee.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: synthesis of nanoparticles for bio-med applications; nanosensors for salmonella enterica detection; nanoscale drug delivery for tumors; structure-property relationship of nano-bio composites
Tuskegee UniversityAbstract of Award
Alabama A&M University
Physics REU at AAMU
Department of Physics
Normal, Alabama
Primary: Dr. Padjama Guggila
(256) 372-8141
padmaja.guggilla@aamu.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: Materials Science, Optics and Space Science
Alabama A&M UniversityAbstract of Award
Cofunded: Materials Research
Birmingham, Alabama
Primary: Professor Yogesh Vohra
(205) 934-6662
ykvohra@uab.edu
Secondary: Charita Cadenhead
(205) 975-8076
charita@uab.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: Theoretical and Experimental Research in Materials
Comments: Includes participation of pre-college teachers
University of Alabama -- BirminghamAbstract of Award
Auburn University
Research Experience for Undergraduate on Smart UAVs
Center for Smart UAVs
Auburn, Alabama
Primary: Saad Biaz
(334) 844-6307
biazsaa@auburn.edu
Secondary: Richard O. Chapman
(334) 844-6314
chapmro@auburn.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: Unmanned Aerial Vehicles (UAVs), Autonomous Flight
Auburn UniversityAbstract of Award
Cofunded: Department of Defense (DoD)
Auburn, Alabama
Primary: Leslie Goertzen
(334) 844-1637
goertzen@auburn.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: biology, biosciences, bioinformatics, genomics, big data, computational biology
Auburn UniversityAbstract of Award
The University of Alabama
REU Site: Fluid Mechanics with Analysis using Computations and Experiments (FM-ACE)
Aerospace Engineering and Mechanics, Mechanical Engineering
Tuscaloosa, Alabama
Primary: Dr. Amy Lang
(205) 348-1622
alang@eng.ua.edu
Secondary: Dr. Paul Hubner
(205) 348-1617
phubner@eng.ua.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: Fluid mechanics, computational fluid dynamics (CFD), experimental fluid dynamics, combustion, laser diagnostics, flow control, wind tunnel testing, boundary layers, bio-inspired eng, space propulsion
The University of AlabamaAbstract of Award
Alabama State University
REU Site: Nanobioengineering
Biological Sciences
Montgomery, Alabama
Primary: Komal Vig
(334) 229-5132
komalvig@alasu.edu
Secondary: Shree Singh
(334) 229-4168
ssingh@alasu.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: Biology, Biosciences, Biomedical Engineering, Chemistry, Physics
Alabama State UniversityAbstract of Award
Auburn, Alabama
Primary: Sanjeev Baskiyar
(334) 844-6306
baskisa@auburn.edu
Secondary: Alvin S Lim
(334) 844-6326
lim@eng.auburn.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: CPU temperature control for energy reduction, indoor localization using deep learning, thermal friendly architecture, smart utility networks, distributed analytics, machine learning algorithms
Auburn UniversityAbstract of Award
Cofunded: Physics, Computer and Information Science and Engineering
Auburn University, Alabama
Primary: Peter Johnson
(334) 844-3745
johnspd@auburn.edu
Secondary: Overtoun Jenda
Research Topics/Keywords: Algebra and Discrete Mathematics (graphs and hypergraphs, number theory, information and coding theory)
Auburn UniversityAbstract of Award
Tuscaloosa, Alabama
Primary: John B. Vincent
205-348-9203
jvincent@bama.ua.edu
Secondary: Stephen A. Woski
205-348-0454
swoski@bama.ua.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: chemistry
University of Alabama in Huntsville
REU Site: Solar and Heliospheric Physics at UAH and MSFC
Physics
Huntsville, Alabama
Primary: Samaiyah Farid
(156) 824-6120
sif0053@uah.edu
Secondary: Amy Winebarger
(256) 961-7509
amy.r.winebarger@nasa.gov
Research Topics/Keywords: Solar Physics, Heliospheric Physics, satellites, modeling
University of Alabama in HuntsvilleAbstract of Award
Cofunded: Atmospheric and Geospace Sciences, Astronomical Sciences
University of Alabama at Birmingham
REU Site: Summer Program in Neuroscience (SPIN)
Department of Neurobiology
Birmingham, Alabama
Primary: Lucas Pozzo-Miller
(205) 975-4659
lucaspm@uab.edu
Secondary: Gwendalyn King
(205) 996-6247
gdking@uab.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: biology, biosciences, neuroscience, plasticity, neurodevelopment, molecular biology, cell biology, electrophysiology
Comments: Program coordinator: Jan Phillips: jancphil@uab.edu; (205) 934-2452
University of Alabama at BirminghamAbstract of Award
Auburn University
REU Site: Warm-water aquatic ecology
Fisheries, Aquaculture, and Aquatic Sciences
Auburn, Alabama
Primary: Alan Wilson
(334) 246-1120
wilson@auburn.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: biology, biosciences, ecology, limnology, fisheries management, evolution, molecular biology, microbiology, invasive species, behavior, statistics, restoration, modeling, hydrology, remote sensing
Auburn UniversityAbstract of Award
Dauphin Island Sea Lab
Undergraduate research experiences in coastal and nearshore
Marine Science
Dauphin Island, Alabama
Primary: Sally Brennan
sbrennan@disl.org
Secondary: Dr. Ruth Carmichael
(251) 861-2141
rcarmichael@disl.org
Research Topics/Keywords: marine, coastal, biology, nearshore, field studies,
Comments: This program will not be hosting an REU site in 2018, please check back for summer 2019 opportunities.
University of Alaska Fairbanks
Understanding Arctic as a System
Alaska
Primary: Vladimir A. Alexeev
(907) 474-6430
valexeev@alaska.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: climate/atmospheric sciences, ocean sciences, arctic hydrology, arctic terrestrial ecosystems, permafrost, science communication, remote sensing and unmanned aircraft measurements, limnology.
Comments: Deadline February 28, 2017
University of Alaska FairbanksAbstract of Award
Tucson, Arizona
Primary: Allison Huff, D.H. Ed
(520) 621-0174
CIANEducation@optics.arizona.edu
Secondary: Amme Henning
(520) 621-8253
amee@optics.arizon.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: Optics, photonics, communications, lasers, material science, electrical engineering,Computer Science, Computer Engineering, Physics, Chemical Engineering
Comments: ERC Center
University of ArizonaAbstract of Award
Tucson, Arizona
Primary: Allison Huff MacPherson
(520) 621-0174
alison@optics.arizona.edu
Secondary: Robert A. Norwood
(520) 626-0936
rnorwood@optics.arizona.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: Photonics and Hydrology
University of ArizonaAbstract of Award
Arizona State University
Mathematical and Theoretical Biology Institute
Mathematical and Theoretical Biology Institute
Tempe, Arizona
Primary: Rebeca Perlin
(480) 727-8525
Rebecca.Perlin@asu.edu
Secondary: Sabrina Avila
Sabrina.Avila@asu.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: applied mathematics, mathematical biology
Arizona State UniversityAbstract of Award
Northern Arizona University
NSF Research Experience For Undergraduates at Northern Arizona University
Department of Physics & Astronomy
Flagstaff, Arizona
Primary: Dr. David Trilling
(928) 523-5505
reu@nau.edu
Secondary: Ms. Kathleen Stigmon
(928) 523-8067
reu@nau.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: astronomy, astrophysics, astrogeology, planetary science, instrumentation
Comments: Collaborating institutions: Northern Arizona University, the Lowell Observatory, the U.S. Naval Observatory Flagstaff Station, and the U.S.G.S. astrogeology branch in Flagstaff.
Northern Arizona UniversityAbstract of Award
Arizona
Primary: Dr. Matthew Penn
(520) 318-8510
mpenn@nso.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: Solar physics, solar-terrestrial physics, solar-stellar physics, instrumentation
Cofunded: Atmospheric and Geospace Sciences
University of Arizona
REU Site: Research in Optics (RiO) at the University of Arizona
College of Optical Sciences
Tucson, Arizona
Primary: R. John Koshel
(520) 626-6000
jkoshel@optics.arizona.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: Optical engineering, photonics, optical physics, imaging
University of ArizonaAbstract of Award
Arizona State University
REU Site: Applied Mathematics and Computational Modeling in the Greater Phoenix Area
Tempe, Arizona
Primary: Wenbo Tang
(480) 965-5479
Wenbo.Tang@asu.edu
Secondary: Eric Kostelich
Research Topics/Keywords: Computer simulation as a discovery tool.
Arizona State UniversityAbstract of Award
Maricopa County Community College
REU Site: Applied Mathematics and Computational Modeling in the Greater Phoenix Area
Tempe, Arizona
Primary: John Nagy
(480) 731-8402
john.nagy@sccmail.maricopa.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: Preparation for ASU REU.
Maricopa County Community CollegeAbstract of Award
University of Arizona
REU Site: Cognitive and Autonomous Test (CAT) Vehicle
Electrical and Computer Engineering
Tucson, Arizona
Primary: Nancy Emptage
emptagen@ece.arizona.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: Autonomous cars, cognitive radio, model-based design, wireless networks, embedded control systems, sensor fusion, Vehicle to Vehicle (V2V) and Vehicle to Infrastructure (V2I)communications
University of ArizonaAbstract of Award
Arizona State University
REU Site: Mathematical and Theoretical Biology Institute (MTBI)
Mathematical Sciences
Tempe, Arizona
Primary: Carlos Castillo-Chavez
(480) 965-5479
cchavez@asu.edu
Secondary: Anuj Mubayi
amubayi@asu.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: Mathematical Biology and Applied Mathematics
Comments: Point-of-contact for student applicants: Cynthia Romero, 480-965-1690, Cynthia.B.Romero@asu.edu
Arizona State UniversityAbstract of Award
Flagstaff, Arizona
Primary: Amy Whipple
(928) 523-8727
amy.whipple@nau.edu
Secondary: Ted Martinez
(928) 523-3383
Theodore.Martinez@nau.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: biology, environmental science, chemistry, geology, forestry, environmental engineering
Comments: For program detail, please contact to Dr.Ted Martinez, (928) 523-3383, Theodore.Martinez@nau.edu
Northern Arizona UniversityAbstract of Award
Cofunded: Chemistry
Northern Arizona University
REU site: Shima' nahasdza'a'n bee 'iina' (Mother Earth Gives Life)
Environmental Sciences
Flagstaff, Arizona
Primary: Amy Whipple
(928) 523-8727
Amy.Whipple@nau.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: Environmental Science including mentors from biology, chemistry, geology, and environmental engineering
Northern Arizona UniversityAbstract of Award
Arizona State University
REU Site: Solar Energy Research for the Terawatt Challenge
Electrical, computer, and Energy Engineering
Tempe, Arizona
Primary: Tiffany Rowlands
(480) 965-5936
tiffany.rowlands@asu.edu
Secondary: Zachary Holman
(480) 965-9959
zachary.holman@asu.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: Solar cells, photovoltaics, electronic devices, electrical engineering ,materials science , physics
Arizona State UniversityAbstract of Award
University of Arizona
REU Site: Summer Bridge Program in Experimental Physics
Department of Physics
Tucson, Arizona
Primary: Professor Srinivas Manne
(520) 626-5305
smanne@physics.arizona.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: Physics and applied physics
University of ArizonaAbstract of Award
Show 30 number of items per page.