Email Print Share

REU Sites

REU Sites: Engineering

Please report errors in the list below by writing to reu.eng@nsf.gov.


Search Again

Show 30 number of items per page.
REU Sites
Site Information Site Location Contact Information Additional Information
Arizona State University
REU Site: Solar Energy Research for the Terawatt Challenge
Electrical, computer, and Energy Engineering
Tempe, Arizona
Primary: Tiffany Rowlands
(480) 965-5936
tiffany.rowlands@asu.edu
Secondary: Zachary Holman
(480) 965-9959
zachary.holman@asu.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: Solar cells, photovoltaics, electronic devices, electrical engineering ,materials science , physics
Arizona State UniversityAbstract of Award
Boston University
REU Site: Integrated Nanomanufacturing
Mechanical Engineering
Boston, Massachusetts
Primary: Xin Zhang
(617) 358-2702
Xinz@bu.edu
Secondary: Helen Fawcett
(857) 753-1719
hfawcett@bu.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: Nanomanufacturing
Boston UniversityAbstract of Award
California State Polytechnic University, Pomona
REU Site: Research Experience for Undergraduates in UAV Technologies
Aerospace Engineering
Pomona, California
Primary: Dr. Subodh Bhandari
(909) 869-2612
sbhandari@cpp.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: Unmanned Aerial Vehicles (UAV) Technologies, Intelligent Control of UAVs, Sense & Avoid, GPS-Denied Navigation, Multi-Vehicle Control, Multi-UAV Collaboration, Human Machine Interface
California State Polytechnic University, PomonaAbstract of Award
Cofunded: Department of Defense (DoD)
Cleveland, Ohio
Primary: Uziel Landau
(216) 368-4132
Uziel.Landau@case.edu
Secondary: Daniel Lacks
(216) 368-4238
Daniel.Lacks@case.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: Batteries, Fuel-Cells, Electrochemistry, Sensors, Energy, Microelectronics, Bioelectrochemistry, Plating, Electrochemical Engineering
Case Western Reserve UniversityAbstract of Award
Potsdam, New York
Primary: Shane Rogers
(315) 268-6501
srogers@clarkson.edu
Secondary: Michael Twiss
(315) 268-2359
mtwiss@clarkson.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: Multidisciplinary sustainability-related research projects in engineering, sciences, social sciences and policy
Clarkson UniversityAbstract of Award
Clemson University
REU Site: Solid-State Devices for Electronics, Photonics, and Magnetics Technology
Department of Electrical & Computer Engineering
Clemson, South Carolina
Primary: William R. Harrell
(864) 656-5918
wharrel@clemson.edu
Secondary: Chad E. Sosolik
(864) 656-0310
sosolik@clemson.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: Electrical & Computer , and Bio-Engineering; Materials Science; Physics
Clemson UniversityAbstract of Award
Cleveland, Ohio
Primary: Renee Overton
(216) 687-3709
re@csuohio.edu
Secondary: Eric Schearer
(216) 687-6901
e.schearer@csu.ohio.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: rehabilitation, assistive devices, robotics, prosthetics, neuroprostheses, biomechanics
Cleveland State UniversityAbstract of Award
Fort Collins, Colorado
Primary: Jorge J. Rocca
(970) 491-8242
rocca@engr.colostate.edu
Secondary: Robert Bower
(970) 491-8565
Robert.Bower@Colostate.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: X-ray optics, lithography, microscopy, nanotechnology, laser science, electrical and computer engineering, physics
Colorado State UniversityAbstract of Award
Ithaca, New York
Primary: Melanie - Claire Mallison
(607) 254-4858
mallison@cnf.cornell.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: National Nanotechnology Coordinated Infrastructure (NNCI)
Cornell UniversityAbstract of Award
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Primary: Leslie Lamberson
(215) 571-3519
les@drexel.edu
Secondary: Hugh Johnson
(215) 571-4743
hpj23@drexel.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: energy, environment, engineering, education, STEM, global scientific challenges, experiential learning
Drexel UniversityAbstract of Award
Duke University
REU Site for Meeting the Grand Challenges in Engineering
Pratt School of Engineering
Durham, North Carolina
Primary: Carmen G. Rawls
(919) 660-5996
carmen.rawls@duke.edu
Secondary: Johnna Frierson
(919) 660-8412
Johnna.frierson@duke.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: Grand Challenges, Biomedical Eng., Civil Eng. and Environmental Eng., Electrical and Computer Eng., Mechanical Eng. and Materials Science
Duke UniversityAbstract of Award
Durham, North Carolina
Primary: Glenda T. Kelly
(919) 660-5575
glenda.kelly@duke.edu
Secondary: Mark R. Wiesner
(919) 660-5292
wiesner@duke.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: Engineering& Environmental Science (Biology, Chemistry,Ecotoxicology, Geosciences, Physics) Subfields: Nanotechnology
Duke UniversityAbstract of Award
Greenville, North Carolina
Primary: Stephanie M. George
(252) 737-2826
georges@ecu.edu
Secondary: Zachary J. Domire
(252) 737-4564
domirez@ecu.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: Biomechanics, Biomedical Engineering, Modeling, Imaging, Undergraduate Research, Mentoring
East Carolina UniversityAbstract of Award
Greenville, North Carolina
Primary: Stephaine George
(252) 737-2826
GEORGES@ECU.EDU
Secondary: Zachary J. Domire
(252) 737-4564
domirez@ecu.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: Biomedical Engineering , Modeling
East Carolina UniversityAbstract of Award
Florida Atlantic University
REU Site: Removing Barriers to Ocean Current Based Electricity Production through Undergraduate Research
Southeast National Marine Renewable Energy Center
Boca Raton, Florida
Primary: James VanZwieten Jr.
(561) 297-0955
jvanzwi@fau.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: marine renewable energy, ocean current energy, hydrokinetic energy, renewable energy, tidal energy, ocean engineering, mechanical engineering, marine sciences, ocean sciences, green energy, power
Florida Atlantic UniversityAbstract of Award
Florida State University
REU Site: Retaining Engineers Through Research Entrepreneurship and Advanced Materials Training
computer engineering, industrial engineering,materials and civil engineering
Tallahassee, Florida
Primary: Okenwa O Okoli
(850) 410-6352
okoli@eng.fsu.edu
Secondary: Arda Vanli
(850) 410-6354
oavanli@eng.fsu.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: Advanced materials and entrepreneurship
Comments: In addition to Engineering, the research could also fit under Chemistry, Materials Research, Mathematical Sciences, and Physics, depending on the specific research project involved.
Florida State UniversityAbstract of Award
Florida State University
REU Site: Multi-physics of Active Systems and Structures
FAMU-FSU College of Engineering
Tallahassee, Florida
Primary: Chiang Shih
(850) 645-0102
shih@eng.fsu.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: Micro Air Vehicles, robotics, supersonic flows,flow control, aeroacoustics, sensors and actuators, smart materials, thermal management, autonomous control, model and simulation, instrumentation,
Florida State UniversityAbstract of Award
GA Tech Research Corporation
REU Site:Summer Undergraduate Research in Engineering (SURE)
Electrical & Computer Engineering
Atlanta, Georgia
Primary: Ayanna M. Howard
(404) 385-4824
ayanna.howard@ece.gatech.edu
Secondary: Leyla Conrad
(404) 385-0439
leyla.conrad@ece.gatech.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: Robotics, Mechanics, control, artificial intelliigence, human-robot interaction, and autonomy
GA Tech Research CorporationAbstract of Award
Atlanta, Georgia
Primary: Chun (Chuck) Zhang
(404) 894-3280
czhang343@isye.gatech.edu
Secondary: John Morehouse
(404) 385-0866
john.morehouse@gatech.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: Advanced Manufacturing
Georgia Institute of ResearchAbstract of Award
Georgia Institute of Technolgy
REU Site: EBICS: Vita REU Site
Biomedical Engineering
Atlanta, Georgia
Primary: Manu Platt
(404) 894-4819
manu.platt@bme.gatech.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: EBICS Vita
Georgia Institute of TechnolgyAbstract of Award
Georgia Institute of Technology, NNCI Coordinating Office
National Nanotechnology Coordinated Infrastructure (11 sites)
Georgia
Primary: Nancy Healy
(404) 385-4307
nancy.healy@ien.gatech.edu
Secondary: Leslie O'Neill
(404) 385-7203
leslie.oneill@ien.gatech.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: Nanotechnology, nanoscale science and engineering
Comments: Eleven of the 16 sites of the NNCI have a summer REU program. The focus at each site varies but involves nanoscale science and engineering. The URL will take you to a central location where you can
Georgia Institute of Technology
REU Site: Summer Undergraduate Research Experience (SURE)-Robotics
Electrical and Computer Engineering
Atlanta, Georgia
Primary: Dr. Leyla Conrad
(404) 385-0439
leyla.conrad@ece.gatech.edu
Secondary: Prof. Ayanna Howard
(404) 385-6450
ah260@gatech.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: robotics, interactive computing, biomechanics, bio robotics, assistive robotics, healthcare robotics
Georgia Institute of TechnologyAbstract of Award
Atlanta, Georgia
Primary: Aaron Levine
aaron.levine@pubpolicy.gatech.edu
Secondary: Andrea Soyland
(404) 385-5261
CMaT-REU@mail.gatech.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: cell manufacturing, biomedical engineering, biosciences, biomanufacturing, therapeutic cells
Georgia Institute of TechnologyAbstract of Award
Statesboro, Georgia
Primary: Valentin Soloiu
(912) 478-2293
vsoloiu@georgiasouthern.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: Renewable Energy, Biofuels Combustion
Georgia Southern University ResearchAbstract of Award
Cambridge, Massachusetts
Primary: Kathryn Hollar
(617) 496-7479
hollar@seas.harvard.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: Nano- and microstructures for biology and medicine; microfluidic devices; self-assembled structures
Harvard UniversityAbstract of Award
Cofunded: Engineering, Department of Defense (DoD)
Illinois Institute of Biomedical Science
REU Site: Summer Engineering Research Experiences in Diabetes for Undergraduates
Pritzker Institute of Biomedical Science
Chicago, Illinois
Primary: Eric Brey
(312) 567-5098
brey@iit.edu
Secondary: Vincent Turitto
(312) 567-3035
turitto@iit.edu
Indianapolis, Indiana
Primary: Dr. Mangilal Agarwal
(317) 278-9792
agarwal@iupui.edu
Secondary: Dr. Yogesh Joglekar
(317) 274-6911
yojoglek@iupui.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: Nanomaterials, Nanofabrication, Nanobiosensors, Li-ion Batteries, Fuel Cells, Micro/Nanofluidics, Paper-based Analytical Devices, Nanophotonics, Phase Change Magnetic Nanomaterials
Indiana UniversityAbstract of Award
Iowa State University
REU Site: Biological Materials and Processes (BioMaP)
Chemical and Biological Engineering
Ames, Iowa
Primary: Monica H. Lamm
(515) 294-6533
mhlamm@iastate.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: chemical engineering, biological engineering, biomedical engineering, biological materials, biological processing, biochemical processing
Iowa State UniversityAbstract of Award
Iowa State University
REU Site: A National REU Site in Wind Energy Science, Engineering and Policy
Industrial & Manufacturing Systems Eng.
Ames, Iowa
Primary: John K. Jackman
(515) 294-0126
jkj@iastate.edu
Secondary: David A Peterson
(979) 233-1268
daveamp@iastate.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: Wind Energy, Engineering, Science
Iowa State UniversityAbstract of Award
Ames, Iowa
Primary: Ms. Hallie Golay
(515) 294-0838
mosaic@iastate.edu
Secondary: Sriram Sundararajan
srirams@iastate.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: sensors, nanomaterials, advanced manufacturing, smart materials, renewable energy, reliability, machine learning, medical diagnostics, food security, engineering
Iowa State UniversityAbstract of Award
Show 30 number of items per page.