Email Print Share

REU Sites

REU Sites: Engineering

Please report errors in the list below by writing to reu.eng@nsf.gov.


Search Again

Show 30 items per page.
REU Sites
Site Information Site Location Contact Information Additional Information
Iowa State University
REU Site: Launching Aerospace's Underrepresented Students into the Next Chapter-Unmanned Aerial Systems (LAUNCH-UAS)
Aerospace Engineering
Ames, Iowa
Primary: Benjamin Ahn
(515) 294-6491
bahn@iastate.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: Unmanned Aerial Systems(UAS),System Health Mgmt. of UAS,Dynamic Geofencing,UAS Swarm Behavior,UAS Apps.(Sensors,Inductive Charging System,Spray System),UAS Impact(ethics, safety societal, environ.)
REU Site: Launching Aerospace's Underrepresented Students into the Next Chapter-Unmanned Aerial Systems (LAUNCH-UAS)Abstract of Award
Cofunded: Department of Defense (DoD)
Johns Hopkins University
REU Site: Program in Nanotechnology for Biology and Bioengineering
Institute for NanoBioTechnology
Baltimore, Maryland
Primary: Denis Wirtz
(410) 516-8094
wirtz@jhu.edu
Secondary: Hai-Quan Mao
(410) 516-8792
hmao@jhu.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: nanobiotechnology, biotechnology, nanoparticles, nanotechnology, biology, biophysics, bioengineering, engineering, chemical engineering
Comments: Contact: Camille Bryant, cbryant@jhu.edu (410) 516-6572
REU Site: Program in Nanotechnology for Biology and BioengineeringAbstract of Award
Cofunded: Chemistry, Engineering
Baltimore, Maryland
Primary: Ralph Etienne-Cummings
(410) 516-3494
retienne@jhu.edu
Secondary: Suchi Saria
(410) 516-8668
suchi.saria@gmail.com
Manhattan, Kansas
Primary: Keith Hohn
(785) 532-4315
hohn@ksu.edu
Secondary: Larry E. Erickson
(785) 532-4313
lerick@ksu.edu
Massachusetts General Hospital
REU Site: Wellman-HST Summer Institute for Biomedical Optics
Wellman Center for Photomedicine
Boston, Massachusetts
Primary: Seok(Andy) H Yun
(617) 768-8704
syun@partners.org
Research Topics/Keywords: Biophotonics, Biomedical engineering
REU Site: Wellman-HST Summer Institute for Biomedical OpticsAbstract of Award
New Jersey Institute of Technology
REU Site: Optics and Photonics: Technologies, Systems, and Devices
Electrical & Computer Engineering
Newark, New Jersey
Primary: Abdallah Khreishah
(973) 596-3528
abdallah@njit.edu
Secondary: Durga Misra
(973) 596-5739
dmisra@njit.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: optics, photonics, optical communications, visible light communications, LEDs, optical coherence tomography, fiber optics for biomedical applications
Comments: Keywords (continued) optical image processing, nanostructures for optoelectronics
REU Site: Optics and Photonics: Technologies, Systems, and DevicesAbstract of Award
Raleigh, North Carolina
Primary: Dr. Mehmet Ozturk
mco@ncsu.edu
Secondary: Dr. Elena Veety
enicole@ncsu.edu
North Carolina State University
REU Site: From the body to the grid: Joint ERC REU explores energy from nano-scale harvesting to smart grid technology
College of Engineering-Electrical and Computer Engineering
Raleigh, North Carolina
Primary: Dr. Pam Carpenter FREEDM Systems Center
(919) 513-8335
ppcarpen@ncsu.edu
Secondary: Dr. Elena Veety ASSIST
(919) 513-0178
enicole@ncsu.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: nano-enabled, body powered, wearable health and environmental monitoring systems, body energy harvesters, sensors, electronics
Comments: Keywords (continued) smart grid, electric grid, renewable energy, power systems, power electronics
REU Site: From the body to the grid: Joint ERC REU explores energy from nano-scale harvesting to smart grid technologyAbstract of Award
Boston, Massachusetts
Primary: Claire Duggan
(617) 373-2036
c.duggan@neu.edu
Secondary: Brad Lehman
(617) 373-3052
lehman@ece.neu.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: Research, undergraduate, energy, renewable energy, power solar, wind, storage, smart grid
REU Site: REU-POWER-"Pathways Opening World Energy Resources"Abstract of Award
Northwestern University
REU Site: Synthetic Biology (SynBREU)
Center for Synthetic Biology
Evanston, Illinois
Primary: Danielle Tullman-Ercek
(847) 491-7043
ercek@northwestern.edu
Secondary: Michael Jewett
(847) 467-5007
m-jewett@northwestern.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: biosciences, synthetic biology, biotechnology, engineering biology, bioengineering, systems biology, metabolic engineering, engineering
REU Site: Synthetic Biology (SynBREU)Abstract of Award
Cofunded: Engineering
Evanston, Illinois
Primary: Margaret Connolly
(847) 467-4862
m-connolly@northwesern.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: Nanoscale Science and Engineering materials Science & Engineering, Chemical &biological engineering , mechanical engineering,Chemistry, physics, biochemistry, medicine, neurobiology, & physiology
REU Site: Research Experience for Undergraduates in Nanoscale Science & EngineeringAbstract of Award
Rochester, Michigan
Primary: Laila Guessous
(248) 370-2183
guessous@oakland.edu
Secondary: Qian Zou
(248) 370-2271
qzou@oakland.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: Automotive and Engery Tribology, Optical methods, Fuel Cells, Batteries, IC Engines, Heat Transfer
REU Site: Automotive and Energy Research and Industrial Mentorship (AERIM) Prom at Oakland UniversityAbstract of Award
Tulsa, Oklahoma
Primary: Ranji Vaidyanathan
(405) 338-8999
vaidyan@okstate.edu
Secondary: Pankaj Sarin
(217) 419-3109
Pankaj.sarin@okstate.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: Interdisciplinary, materials science and engineering, entrepreneurship
REU Site: Interdisciplinary Research Experience for Undergraduates interested in Materials Science and EngineeringAbstract of Award
Oklahoma State University
REU Site: Research Experiences in information Centric Engineering (ICE)
Industrials Engineering
Stillwater, Oklahoma
Primary: J. Cecil
(405) 744-9131
j.cecil@okstate.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: Industrial/Mechanical Engineering, Electrical Engineering and Computer Science
REU Site: Research Experiences in information Centric Engineering (ICE)Abstract of Award
Norfolk, Virginia
Primary: Dr. Xiaoyu Zhang
(757) 683-4913
x1zhang@odu.edu
Secondary: Dr. Sandeep Kumar
(757) 683-3898
skumar@odu.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: biofuel synthesis and upgrade, hydrogen production, catalyst development, fuel cell components and contamination, solar fuel production
REU SiteTraining Undergraduates in Electrochemical Technologies for Clean Fuels (Biofuels and Hydrogen) Production and Applications:Abstract of Award
Oregon State University
REU Site: robots in the Real World
Mechanical Engineering
Corvallis, Oregon
Primary: William D. Smart
(541) 908-4734
smartw@engr.orst.edu
Secondary: Cindy Grimm
(541) 908-4735
grimmc@onid.orst.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: Robotics
REU Site: robots in the Real WorldAbstract of Award
University Park, Pennsylvania
Primary: Keefe B. Manning
(814) 863-6318
kbm10@psu.edu
Secondary: Margaret J. Slattery Ph.D
(814) 865-8092
mjsbio@engr.psu.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: Cardiovascular, biomaterials, devices, translational, tissue engineering, creativity
REU Site: Penn State Cardiovascular Research: Engineering A Translational Experience (CREATE)Abstract of Award
Pennsylvania State University
REU Site: Integration of Biology and Materials in Chemical Engineering
Chemical Engineering
University Park, Pennsylvania
Primary: Esther Gomez
(814) 867-4732
ewg10@psu.edu
Secondary: Manish Kumar
(814) 865-7519
mxk64@psu.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: biomaterials, biomimetics, bioinspiration, bioderivation, biosourcing
REU Site: Integration of Biology and Materials in Chemical EngineeringAbstract of Award
Rensselaer Polytechnic Institute
REU Site: Bioengineering and Biomanufacturing
Biomedical Engineering
Troy, New York
Primary: Juergen Hahn
(518) 276-2414
hahnj@rpi.edu
Secondary: Cynthia Collins
(518) 276-4178
ccollins@rpi.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: Biomedical Engineering, Biomanufacturing, Bioengineering, Systems & Synthetic Biology, Tissue Engineering, Biomedical Imaging, 3D Printing
REU Site: Bioengineering and BiomanufacturingAbstract of Award
Glassboro, New Jersey
Primary: Mary Staehle, Ph.D
(856) 256-5338
staehle@rowan.edu
Secondary: Mark Byrne, Ph.D
(856) 256-5773
byrnem@rowan.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: Biomedical Engineering,Biomaterials Engineering,Bionanotechnology,Medical Devices,Pharmaceutical Engineering&Therapeutics,Nanomanufacturing, Regenerative Medicine,Transcriptomics,Mechanobiology
REU Site: Biomedical Materials, Devices, Therapeutics, and Emerging FrontiersAbstract of Award
Rutgers, The State University of New Jersey
REU Site: Cellular Bioengineering --From Biomaterials to Stem Cells
Biomedical Engineering/School of Engineering
Piscataway, New Jersey
Primary: David I. Shreiber
(848) 445-6589
celleng@soe.rutgers.edu
Secondary: Linda Johnson
(848) 445-6869
lindalj@rci.rutgers.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: tissue engineering, regenerative medicine, drug delivery, imaging, translational research, innovation, entrepreneurship, MEMS, biomaterials, stem cells, bioengineering, biomedical engineering
REU Site: Cellular Bioengineering --From Biomaterials to Stem CellsAbstract of Award
San Francisco, California
Primary: Zhaoshuo Jiang
(415) 338-7741
zsjiang@sfsu.edu
Secondary: Juan M. Caicedo
(803) 777-1925
caicedo@cec.sc.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: Civil Engineering, Smart Structure Technology, Academia-Industry Collaboration, Structural Control, Structural Health Monitoring, Smart Sensing, Optimization, Innovative Experimental Methods
REU Site: Collaborative Research: Integrated Academia-Industry Research Experience for Undergraduate in Smart Structure TechnologyAbstract of Award
South Dakota School of Mines & Technology
REU Site: Bringing Us Together, Improving communications and Lives
Electrical & Computer Engineering
Rapid city, South Dakota
Primary: Thomas P. Montoya
(605) 394-2459
tmontoya@sdsmt.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: Electrical and computer Engineering
REU Site: Bringing Us Together, Improving communications and LivesAbstract of Award
South Dakota School of Mines and Technology
REU Site: Back to the Future II
Mat/Met Engineering
Rapid City, South Dakota
Primary: Prof. Michael K West
(605) 394-1283
michael.west@sdsmt.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: Metallurgical engineering, materials science, materials engineering
REU Site: Back to the Future IIAbstract of Award
Cofunded: Department of Defense (DoD), Engineering
Stanford University
REU Site: Re-inventing the Nation's Urban Water Infrastructure (ReNUWlt)
Civil & Environmental Engineering
Palo Alto, California
Primary: Dr. Pam McLeod
(650) 724-2923
pamelamc@stanford.edu
Secondary: Shamealle Bostic
(650) 497-5142
sbostic@stanford.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: environmental engineering, environmental science, water, wastewater
REU Site: Re-inventing the Nation's Urban Water Infrastructure (ReNUWlt)Abstract of Award
Buffalo, New York
Primary: Dr. T. Sabanayagam
(716) 645-2114
theva@eng.buffalo.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: Earthquake; Structural, Geotechnical, Electrical and Computer Engineering; GIS Applications; Hazard Related Economics and Social Sciences
Comments: REU/ERC
State University of New York at Buffalo
Environmental Engineering Solutions for Pollution Prevention
Civil, Structural , and Environmental Engineering
Buffalo, New York
Primary: John D. Atkinson
(716) 645-4001
AtkJDW@buffalo.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: Environmental Engineering, Environmental Science, Chemical Engineering, Sustainability, Pollution Prevention, Air Pollution, Water Pollution
Environmental Engineering Solutions for Pollution PreventionAbstract of Award
SUNY at Stony Brook
REU Site for Nanotechnology in Health, Energy and the Environment
Materials Science and Engineering
Stoney Brook, New York
Primary: Gary P. Halada
(631) 632-8526
ghalada@notes.cc.sunysb.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: Engineering Sub-field: Nanotechnology
REU Site for Nanotechnology in Health, Energy and the EnvironmentAbstract of Award
Tennessee Tech University
Manufacturing and Techno-Entrepreneurship
College of Engineering
Cookeville, Tennessee
Primary: Joe Rencis
(931) 372-3172
jlrencis@tntech.edu
Secondary: Michelle Davis
(931) 372-6386
mdavis@tntech.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: Manufacturing, Entrepreneurship, Techno-entrepreneurship, Engineering, Robotics, Additive, 3D Printing, Mechanical, Electrical, Chemical
Manufacturing and Techno-EntrepreneurshipAbstract of Award
Tennessee Tech University
REU Site: Immersive Research in Energy Generation, Storage/Conversion and Power Transmission
Electrical Engineering,Chemical Engineering,Mechanical Engineering,Physics and Chemistry
Cookeville, Tennessee
Primary: Indranil Bhattacharya
(931) 372-3352
ibhattacharya@tntech.edu
Secondary: Joseph Biernacki
(931) 372-3367
jbiernacki@tntech.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: Solar Cells,Biomass Pyrolysis,Fuel Cells,Lithium-ion Batteries,Piezoelectric Energy,Solar Thermal,Vehicle to Grid Integration,Photovoltaic Engineering and Maximum Power Point Tracking.
REU Site: Immersive Research in Energy Generation, Storage/Conversion and Power TransmissionAbstract of Award
Show 30 items per page.