Email Print Share

REU Sites

REU Sites: Engineering

Please report errors in the list below by writing to reu.eng@nsf.gov.


Search Again

Show 30 items per page.
REU Sites
Site Information Site Location Contact Information Additional Information
College Station, Texas
Primary: Dr. Jacques C. Richard
(979) 574-3907
Richard@tamu.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: UAV, Plasma modeling, Autonomous Control of Flapping Fin Dirigible, Pulsed Hypersonic Expansion Facility, Turbulent Wedges from Roughness Elements
Comments: Keywords (continued) Detailed Chemistry Computations Of Supersonic Reacting Flow
REU Site: Aerospace Engineering Research Opportunities for Undergraduates (AEERO-U)Abstract of Award
Texas A&M University
REU Site: Interdisciplinary Reesarch Experiences in Metrology & Non-Destructive Inspection
Manufacturing & Mechanical Engg. Tech., Materials Science & Engg.
College Station, Texas
Primary: Dr. Mathew Kuttolamadom
(979) 862-8472
mathew@tamu.edu
Secondary: Dr. Jyhwen Wang
(979) 845-4903
jwang@tamu.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: Non-Destructive Inspection, Manufacturing, Materials Science & Engineering, Mechanical Engineering, Petroleum Engineering, Aerospace Engineering, Civil Engineering, Industrial & Systems Engineering
REU Site: Interdisciplinary Reesarch Experiences in Metrology & Non-Destructive InspectionAbstract of Award
Texas A&M University
REU Site: Undergraduate Research in Energy and Propulsion
College of Engineering
College Station, Texas
Primary: Dr. Eric Petersen
(979) 845-1257
epetersen@tamu.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: energy, propulsion, combustion, fluid mechanics, materials science, thermodynamics, laser diagnostics, mechanical engineering
Comments: Keywords (continued) aerospace engineering, turbomachinery, gas turbines, rockets, energy storage
REU Site: Undergraduate Research in Energy and PropulsionAbstract of Award
Texas A& M University- Kingsville
REU Site: Intergrating Research in Sustainable Energy and the Environment across Disciplines (IR-SEED)
Civil and Architectural Engineering
Kingsville, Texas
Primary: Somayeh Asadi
(361) 593-2025
somayeh.asadi@tamuk.edu
Secondary: Hua Li
(361) 593-2003
hua.li@tamuk.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: Multidisciplinary Energy Research (Civil & Architectural, Environmental, Chemical, Natural Gas, Mechanical, Industrial, Electrical Engineering, Ceomputer Science)
REU Site: Intergrating Research in Sustainable Energy and the Environment across Disciplines (IR-SEED)Abstract of Award
Texas Engineering Experiment Station
REU Site: Interdisciplinary Research Experiences in Mechatronics, Robotics, and Automated System Design
Engineering Technology (JT Appt Mech Eng)
College Station, Texas
Primary: Sheng-Jen Hsieh
(979) 845-4985
hsieh@tamu.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: Mechanical engineering, electrical & computer engineering , manufacturing engineering, engineering technology, computer science
REU Site: Interdisciplinary Research Experiences in Mechatronics, Robotics, and Automated System DesignAbstract of Award
The Children's Hospital of Philadelphia
REU Site: Injury Science Research Experience for Undergraduates
The Center for Injury Reesarch and Prevention
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Primary: Flaura K. Winston
(215) 590-5208
winston@email.chop.edu
Secondary: Thomas Seacrist
(267) 425-1547
seacrist@email.chop.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: injury science, injury prevention, pediatrics, concussion, traffic safety, violence prevention
REU Site: Injury Science Research Experience for UndergraduatesAbstract of Award
The University of Alabama
REU Site: Fluid Mechanics with Analysis using Computations and Experiments (FM-ACE)
Aerospace Engineering and Mechanics, Mechanical Engineering
Tuscaloosa, Alabama
Primary: Dr. Amy Lang
(205) 348-1622
alang@eng.ua.edu
Secondary: Dr. Paul Hubner
(205) 348-1617
phubner@eng.ua.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: Fluid mechanics, computational fluid dynamics (CFD), experimental fluid dynamics, combustion, laser diagnostics, flow control, wind tunnel testing, boundary layers, bio-inspired eng, space propulsion
REU Site: Fluid Mechanics with Analysis using Computations and Experiments (FM-ACE)Abstract of Award
The University of Alabama
Innovative Engineering Using Renewable
ECE
Tuscaloosa, Alabama
Primary: Susan Burkett
(479) 236-4128
sburkett@eng.ua.edu
Secondary: Eric Giannini
(205) 348-5152
ergiannini@eng.ua.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: Materials characterization, mechanical behavior, electrical properties, structural materials, bamboo combustion
Innovative Engineering Using RenewableAbstract of Award
Medford, Massachusetts
Primary: Kyongbum Lee
(617) 627-4323
kyongbum.lee@tufts.edu
Secondary: Daniel Ryder
(617) 627-3446
daniel.ryder@tufts.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: biology, biosciences, bioengineering, data science, computational design, systems biology, microbiome, stem cells
REU Site: Enabling Analysis and Design of Complex Biological Systems using Data ScienceAbstract of Award
Cofunded: Engineering, Cyberinfrastructure
Tucson, Arizona
Primary: Allison Huff MacPherson
(520) 621-0174
alison@optics.arizona.edu
Secondary: Robert A. Norwood
(520) 626-0936
rnorwood@optics.arizona.edu
Tucson, Arizona
Primary: Allison Huff, D.H. Ed
(520) 621-0174
CIANEducation@optics.arizona.edu
Secondary: Amme Henning
(520) 621-8253
amee@optics.arizon.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: Optics, photonics, communications, lasers, material science, electrical engineering,Computer Science, Computer Engineering, Physics, Chemical Engineering
Comments: ERC Center
Center for Integrated Access Networks (CIAN)Abstract of Award
University of Arkansas
REU Site: Tomorrow's Nanomufacturing: Engineering with Science (TNEWS)
Microelectronics-Photonics Graduate Program
Fayetteville, Arkansas
Primary: Professor D. Keith Roper
(801) 891-8921
dkroper@uark.edu
Secondary: Jingyi Chen
(479) 575-6203
chenj@uark.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: Nanotechnology,manufacturing,innovation,materials, quantum,nanoparticle,optics,graphene,photovoltaics,biosensors,tribology,tissue,water,electron microscopy,lasers,spectroscopy,microscopy,nanoscience
Comments: TNEWS merges discovery-focused research with professional skills development and training in cross-cutting emerging technologies.
REU Site: Tomorrow's Nanomufacturing: Engineering with Science (TNEWS)Abstract of Award
University of California, Davis
REU Site: Bio-inspired & Bio-mediated Geotechnics Research Experience for Undergraduates (BBG REU)
Department of Civil and Environmental Engineering
Davis, California
Primary: Colleen E. Bronner
(845) 282-0675
cebronner@ucdavis.edu
Secondary: Jason DeJong
(530) 754-8995
jdejong@ucdavis.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: Bio-inspired, bio-mediated, civil engineering, geotechnical engineering, sustainability, hazard mitigation, infrastructure construction, environmental restoration, liquefaction, earthquakes
REU Site: Bio-inspired & Bio-mediated Geotechnics Research Experience for Undergraduates (BBG REU)Abstract of Award
University of California, San Diego
REU Site: Designing for Safety and Safety by Design
Department of Structural Engineering
La Jolla, California
Primary: Kenneth Loh
(858) 822-0431
kenloh@ucsd.edu
Secondary: Michael Todd
(858) 534-5951
mdtodd@ucsd.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: Damage assessment, damage mechanics, design optimization, numerical modelling,sensor technologies, signal processing, structural health monitoring, prognostics, uncertainty modeling
REU Site: Designing for Safety and Safety by DesignAbstract of Award
Orlando, Florida
Primary: Andre Gesquiere
(407) 454-1317
andre@ucf.edu
Secondary: Sudipta Seal
(407) 823-5277
Sudipta.Seal@ucf.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: Mechanical and Materials Engineering, Electrical Engineering, Computer Science, Biotechnology, Nanoscience and technology, Chemistry, Biochemistry, Nanomedicine, Biophotonics, Sensors, Therapeutics
REU Site: Engineering and Nanoscience of Materials and Device Applications in Biotechnology and MedicineAbstract of Award
University of Connecticut
REU Site: Entrepreneurial Research Experience for Undergraduates
School of Engineering
Storrs, Connecticut
Primary: Daniel D. Burkey
(860) 486-5466
e-reu@uconn.edu
Secondary: Tracy Maheu
(860) 486-5466
e-reu@uconn.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: entrepreneurship, intellectual property, multisciplinary, business plan, idea generation, engineering, technology
REU Site: Entrepreneurial Research Experience for UndergraduatesAbstract of Award
Storrs, Connecticut
Primary: Jason Lee
(860) 486-2239
JasonLee@engr.unconn.edu
Secondary: Michael Petters
(860) 486-2855
Pettes@engr.unconn.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: Nanomaterials, nanotechnology, material Science, biomedical, manufacturing, energy, Mechanical Engineering, Materials Science & Engineering , Physics, Electrical Engineering,
Interdisciplinary, Nanotechnology Traineeship for Next-Generation Energy, Health, Information, and ManufacturingAbstract of Award
Storrs, Connecticut
Primary: Arash Esmaili Zaghi
(860) 486-2468
zaghi@engr.uconn.edu
Secondary: Mohammad Techranipoor
(860) 486-3471
tehrani@engr.unconn.edu
University of Denver (Colorado Seminary)
REU Site: Summer Engineering Research Experiences in Power and Energy Systems for Smart Cities
Electrical and Computer Engineering / Daniel Felix Ritchie School of Engineering and Computer Scienc
Denver, Colorado
Primary: David Wenzhong Gao, PhD
(303) 871-3570
Wenzhong.Gao@du.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: Power System Resiliency, Transportation Electrification, Energy Economy, Community Microgrids, Data Analytics, Renewable Energy, Smart Grid, Power Systems, Energy Systems, Smart Cities
REU Site: Summer Engineering Research Experiences in Power and Energy Systems for Smart CitiesAbstract of Award
University of Florida
REU Site: Engineering for Healthcare
Mechanical and Aerospace Engineering
Gainesville, Florida
Primary: Douglas Spearot
(352) 392-6747
REUEngineeringforhealthcare@mae.ufl.edu
Secondary: Malisa Sarntinoranont
(352) 392-8404
REUEngineeringforhealthcare@mae.ufl.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: Surface engineering, Biofluids and Biotransport, Thin films, Biomedical photonics, Rehabilitative Engineering, Biomechanics, Mechanobiology, Soft Tissue Mechanics, Hydrogels
REU Site: Engineering for HealthcareAbstract of Award
Athens, Georgia
Primary: Leidong Mao
(706) 542-1871
mao@uga.edu
University of Georgia Research Foundation, INC
REU Site: Interdisciplinary Research Experiences in Nanotechnology and Biomedicine
College of Engineering
Athens, Georgia
Primary: Leidong Mao
(706) 542-1871
mao@uga.edu
Secondary: Jonathan Arnold
(706) 542-1449
arnold@uga.edu
Houston, Texas
Primary: Jose L. Contreras-Vidal, Ph.D.
(713) 743-4429
jlcontreras-vida@uh.edu
Secondary: Stuart Long, Ph.D.
(713) 743-4445
long@uh.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: neurotechnology,neuroscience,computational neuroscience,brain imaging,medical devices,neuroprostheses,neural interfaces,robotics,neural engineering,rehabilitation,brain-computer-interfaces
REU Site:Neurotechnologies to Help the Body Move, Heal, and Feel AgainAbstract of Award
University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign
REU Site: Discoveries in Bioimaging
Beckman Institute
Urbana, Illinois
Primary: Stephen A. Boppart
(217) 244-7479
boppart@illinois.edu
Secondary: Andrew M. Smith
(217) 333-2187
smi@illinois.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: Bioimaging
REU Site: Discoveries in BioimagingAbstract of Award
University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign
REU Site: Frontiers in Biomedical Imaging
Department of Bioengineering
Urbana, Illinois
Primary: Andrew M. Smith
(217) 300-5638
smi@illinois.edu
Secondary: Marina Marjanovic
(217) 244-6221
marinam@illinois.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: Bioengineering,medicine,microscopy,microscope,spectroscopy,tomography,molecule,cell,tissue,cancer,oncology,neuron,brain,analysis,diagnostics,diagnosis,simulation,clinical,conference
REU Site: Frontiers in Biomedical ImagingAbstract of Award
Lexington, Kentucky
Primary: Kimberly Anderson
(859) 257-1864
Kimberly.anderson@uky.edu
Secondary: Zach Hilt
(859) 257-8028
zach.hilt@uky.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: Chemical Eng., Chemistry, Biomedical Eng., Materials Eng., and Pharmaceutical Sciences focusing on cell/protein interactions with materials and incorporation of these systems into devices.
Comments: REU Coordinator-Marlene Spurlock Marlene.spurlock@uky.edu (859)257-8028
REU Site: A Multidisciplinary Research Experience in Engineered Bioactive Interfaces & DevicesAbstract of Award
Lexington, Kentucky
Primary: Kimberly Anderson
(859) 257-1864
kimberly.anderson@uky.edu
Secondary: Zach Hilt
(859) 257-9844
zach.hilt@uky.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: Biomaterials, Biological systems, Membranes, Interfaces, Devices
REU Site: A Multidisciplinary Research Experience in Engineered Bioactive Interfaces and DevicesAbstract of Award
Louisville, Kentucky
Primary: Kevin M. Walsh, Ph.D.
(502) 852-0826
walsh@louisville.edu
Secondary: Ana Sanchez
(502) 852-1568
ana.sanchez@louisville.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: Micro/Nano-manufacturing, Micro/Nano-technology, miniaturization, semiconductors, microelectronics, MEMS, microfluidics, sensors, engineering
REU Site: Interdisciplinary Micro/Nano-manufacturing Program Addressing Challenges Today (IMPACT)Abstract of Award
Orono, Maine
Primary: Douglas J. Gardner
(207) 581-2846
douglasg@maine.edu
Secondary: David Neivandt
(207) 581-2288
david.neivandt@maine.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: Sustainable, Forest, Bioproducts, Engineering, Nanomaterials, Feedstock Modification
REU Site: Explore it! Building the Next Generation of Sustainable Forest Bioproduct ResearchersAbstract of Award
University of Maine
REU Site: Sensor Science and Engineering
Electrical and Computer Engineering
Orono, Maine
Primary: Nuri Emanetoglu
(207) 581-2233
nuri.emanetoglu@maine.edu
Secondary: John F. Vetelino
(207) 581-2264
jvetelino35@gmail.com
Research Topics/Keywords: Sensor Science and Engineering
REU Site: Sensor Science and EngineeringAbstract of Award
Show 30 items per page.