Email Print Share

REU Sites

REU Sites: Engineering

Please report errors in the list below by writing to reu.eng@nsf.gov.


Search Again

Show 30 number of items per page.
REU Sites
Site Information Site Location Contact Information Additional Information
Tennessee Tech University
Manufacturing and Techno-Entrepreneurship
College of Engineering
Cookeville, Tennessee
Primary: Joe Rencis
(931) 372-3172
jlrencis@tntech.edu
Secondary: Michelle Davis
(931) 372-6386
mdavis@tntech.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: Manufacturing, Entrepreneurship, Techno-entrepreneurship, Engineering, Robotics, Additive, 3D Printing, Mechanical, Electrical, Chemical
Tennessee Tech UniversityAbstract of Award
College Station, Texas
Primary: Dr. Jacques C. Richard
(979) 574-3907
Richard@tamu.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: UAV, Plasma modeling, Autonomous Control of Flapping Fin Dirigible, Pulsed Hypersonic Expansion Facility, Turbulent Wedges from Roughness Elements
Comments: Keywords (continued) Detailed Chemistry Computations Of Supersonic Reacting Flow
Texas A&M UniversityAbstract of Award
Texas A&M University
REU Site: Interdisciplinary Reesarch Experiences in Metrology & Non-Destructive Inspection
Manufacturing & Mechanical Engg. Tech., Materials Science & Engg.
College Station, Texas
Primary: Dr. Mathew Kuttolamadom
(979) 862-8472
mathew@tamu.edu
Secondary: Dr. Jyhwen Wang
(979) 845-4903
jwang@tamu.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: Non-Destructive Inspection, Manufacturing, Materials Science & Engineering, Mechanical Engineering, Petroleum Engineering, Aerospace Engineering, Civil Engineering, Industrial & Systems Engineering
Texas A&M UniversityAbstract of Award
Texas A&M University
REU Site: Undergraduate Research in Energy and Propulsion
College of Engineering
College Station, Texas
Primary: Dr. Eric Petersen
(979) 845-1257
epetersen@tamu.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: energy, propulsion, combustion, fluid mechanics, materials science, thermodynamics, laser diagnostics, mechanical engineering
Comments: Keywords (continued) aerospace engineering, turbomachinery, gas turbines, rockets, energy storage
Texas A&M UniversityAbstract of Award
Texas A& M University- Kingsville
REU Site: Intergrating Research in Sustainable Energy and the Environment across Disciplines (IR-SEED)
Civil and Architectural Engineering
Kingsville, Texas
Primary: Somayeh Asadi
(361) 593-2025
somayeh.asadi@tamuk.edu
Secondary: Hua Li
(361) 593-2003
hua.li@tamuk.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: Multidisciplinary Energy Research (Civil & Architectural, Environmental, Chemical, Natural Gas, Mechanical, Industrial, Electrical Engineering, Ceomputer Science)
Texas A& M University- KingsvilleAbstract of Award
Texas Engineering Experiment Station
REU Site: Interdisciplinary Research Experiences in Mechatronics, Robotics, and Automated System Design
Engineering Technology (JT Appt Mech Eng)
College Station, Texas
Primary: Sheng-Jen Hsieh
(979) 845-4985
hsieh@tamu.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: Mechanical engineering, electrical & computer engineering , manufacturing engineering, engineering technology, computer science
Texas Engineering Experiment StationAbstract of Award
The Johns Hopkins University
Research Experience for Undergraduates (REU) Site for Computational
Electrical and Computer Engineering
Baltimore, Maryland
Primary: Ralph Etienne-Cummings
(410) 516-3494
retienne@jhu.edu
Secondary: Suchi Saria
(410) 516-8668
suchi.saria@gmail.com
Research Topics/Keywords: Computational Sensing, Medical and General Robotics,Computer Assisted Surgery, Computer Vision,Image Guided Surgery, Surgical Field Modeling,Brain-Machine Interfaces, Prosthetics
The Johns Hopkins UniversityAbstract of Award
The University of Alabama
REU Site: Fluid Mechanics with Analysis using Computations and Experiments (FM-ACE)
Aerospace Engineering and Mechanics, Mechanical Engineering
Tuscaloosa, Alabama
Primary: Dr. Amy Lang
(205) 348-1622
alang@eng.ua.edu
Secondary: Dr. Paul Hubner
(205) 348-1617
phubner@eng.ua.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: Fluid mechanics, computational fluid dynamics (CFD), experimental fluid dynamics, combustion, laser diagnostics, flow control, wind tunnel testing, boundary layers, bio-inspired eng, space propulsion
The University of AlabamaAbstract of Award
The University of Alabama
Innovative Engineering Using Renewable
ECE
Tuscaloosa, Alabama
Primary: Susan Burkett
(479) 236-4128
sburkett@eng.ua.edu
Secondary: Eric Giannini
(205) 348-5152
ergiannini@eng.ua.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: Materials characterization, mechanical behavior, electrical properties, structural materials, bamboo combustion
The University of AlabamaAbstract of Award
Medford, Massachusetts
Primary: Kyongbum Lee
(617) 627-4323
kyongbum.lee@tufts.edu
Secondary: Daniel Ryder
(617) 627-3446
daniel.ryder@tufts.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: biology, biosciences, bioengineering, data science, computational design, systems biology, microbiome, stem cells
Tufts UniversityAbstract of Award
Cofunded: Engineering, Cyberinfrastructure
Tucson, Arizona
Primary: Allison Huff MacPherson
(520) 621-0174
alison@optics.arizona.edu
Secondary: Robert A. Norwood
(520) 626-0936
rnorwood@optics.arizona.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: Photonics and Hydrology
University of ArizonaAbstract of Award
Tucson, Arizona
Primary: Allison Huff, D.H. Ed
(520) 621-0174
CIANEducation@optics.arizona.edu
Secondary: Amme Henning
(520) 621-8253
amee@optics.arizon.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: Optics, photonics, communications, lasers, material science, electrical engineering,Computer Science, Computer Engineering, Physics, Chemical Engineering
Comments: ERC Center
University of ArizonaAbstract of Award
University of Arizona
REU Site: Research in Optics (RiO) at the University of Arizona
College of Optical Sciences
Tucson, Arizona
Primary: R. John Koshel
(520) 626-6000
jkoshel@optics.arizona.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: Optical engineering, photonics, optical physics, imaging
University of ArizonaAbstract of Award
University of Arkansas
REU Site: Tomorrow's Nanomufacturing: Engineering with Science (TNEWS)
Microelectronics-Photonics Graduate Program
Fayetteville, Arkansas
Primary: Professor D. Keith Roper
(801) 891-8921
dkroper@uark.edu
Secondary: Jingyi Chen
(479) 575-6203
chenj@uark.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: Nanotechnology,manufacturing,innovation,materials, quantum,nanoparticle,optics,graphene,photovoltaics,biosensors,tribology,tissue,water,electron microscopy,lasers,spectroscopy,microscopy,nanoscience
Comments: TNEWS merges discovery-focused research with professional skills development and training in cross-cutting emerging technologies.
University of ArkansasAbstract of Award
Orlando, Florida
Primary: Andre Gesquiere
(407) 454-1317
andre@ucf.edu
Secondary: Sudipta Seal
(407) 823-5277
Sudipta.Seal@ucf.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: Mechanical and Materials Engineering, Electrical Engineering, Computer Science, Biotechnology, Nanoscience and technology, Chemistry, Biochemistry, Nanomedicine, Biophotonics, Sensors, Therapeutics
University of Central FloridaAbstract of Award
University of Connecticut
REU Site: Entrepreneurial Research Experience for Undergraduates
School of Engineering
Storrs, Connecticut
Primary: Daniel D. Burkey
(860) 486-5466
e-reu@uconn.edu
Secondary: Tracy Maheu
(860) 486-5466
e-reu@uconn.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: entrepreneurship, intellectual property, multisciplinary, business plan, idea generation, engineering, technology
University of ConnecticutAbstract of Award
Storrs, Connecticut
Primary: Jason Lee
(860) 486-2239
JasonLee@engr.unconn.edu
Secondary: Michael Petters
(860) 486-2855
Pettes@engr.unconn.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: Nanomaterials, nanotechnology, material Science, biomedical, manufacturing, energy, Mechanical Engineering, Materials Science & Engineering , Physics, Electrical Engineering,
University of ConnecticutAbstract of Award
Storrs, Connecticut
Primary: Arash Esmaili Zaghi
(860) 486-2468
zaghi@engr.uconn.edu
Secondary: Mohammad Techranipoor
(860) 486-3471
tehrani@engr.unconn.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: Cyber, Civil infrastructure, security, ADHD, Innovation
University of ConnecticutAbstract of Award
Newark, Delaware
Primary: Jill S Higginson
(302) 831-6622
higginson@udel.edu
Secondary: Xin Lu
(302) 831-3581
xlu@udel.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: biomechanical engineering, osteoarthritis, quantitative analysis, computational skills, physical therapy, connective tissue biomechanics, cellular mechanobiology, molecular transport
University of DelawareAbstract of Award
Athens, Georgia
Primary: Leidong Mao
(706) 542-1871
mao@uga.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: Nanotechnology, Biomedicine
University of GeorgiaAbstract of Award
University of Georgia Research Foundation, INC
REU Site: Interdisciplinary Research Experiences in Nanotechnology and Biomedicine
College of Engineering
Athens, Georgia
Primary: Leidong Mao
(706) 542-1871
mao@uga.edu
Secondary: Jonathan Arnold
(706) 542-1449
arnold@uga.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: Nanotechnology, Biomedicine
University of Georgia Research Foundation, INCAbstract of Award
University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign
REU Site: Discoveries in Bioimaging
Beckman Institute
Urbana, Illinois
Primary: Stephen A. Boppart
(217) 244-7479
boppart@illinois.edu
Secondary: Andrew M. Smith
(217) 333-2187
smi@illinois.edu
Lexington, Kentucky
Primary: Kimberly Anderson
(859) 257-1864
Kimberly.anderson@uky.edu
Secondary: Zach Hilt
(859) 257-8028
zach.hilt@uky.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: Chemical Eng., Chemistry, Biomedical Eng., Materials Eng., and Pharmaceutical Sciences focusing on cell/protein interactions with materials and incorporation of these systems into devices.
Comments: REU Coordinator-Marlene Spurlock Marlene.spurlock@uky.edu (859)257-8028
University of KentuckyAbstract of Award
Lexington, Kentucky
Primary: Kimberly Anderson
(859) 257-1864
kimberly.anderson@uky.edu
Secondary: Zach Hilt
(859) 257-9844
zach.hilt@uky.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: Biomaterials, Biological systems, Membranes, Interfaces, Devices
University of KentuckyAbstract of Award
Louisville, Kentucky
Primary: Kevin M. Walsh, Ph.D.
(502) 852-0826
walsh@louisville.edu
Secondary: Ana Sanchez
(502) 852-1568
ana.sanchez@louisville.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: Micro/Nano-manufacturing, Micro/Nano-technology, miniaturization, semiconductors, microelectronics, MEMS, microfluidics, sensors, engineering
University of LouisvilleAbstract of Award
University of Maine
REU Site: Sensor Science and Engineering
Electrical and Computer Engineering
Orono, Maine
Primary: Nuri Emanetoglu
(207) 581-2233
nuri.emanetoglu@maine.edu
Secondary: John F. Vetelino
(207) 581-2264
jvetelino35@gmail.com
Research Topics/Keywords: Sensor Science and Engineering
University of MaineAbstract of Award
Orono, Maine
Primary: Douglas Gardner
(207) 581-2846
douglasg@maine.edu
Secondary: David Neivandt
(207) 581-2288
dneivandt@umche.maine.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: Sustainable Forest Bioproduct
University of MaineAbstract of Award
University of Maryland College Park
REU Site: Summer Engineering Research Experience in Transportation Electrification
Electrical and Computer Engineering
College Park, Maryland
Primary: Alireza Khaligh
(312) 730-7364
akhaligh@umd.edu
Secondary: Eric Wachsman
(301) 405-6269
ewach@umd.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: Transportation Electrification
University of Maryland College ParkAbstract of Award
University of Maryland College Park
REU Site: Research Opportunities in Bioinspired Robotics
Mechanical Engineering
College Park, Maryland
Primary: Prof. Hugh A. Bruck
(302) 405-8711
bruck@umd.edu
Secondary: Prof. Sarah E. Bergreiter
(301) 405-6506
sarahb@umd.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: Robotics, Bioinspired Engineering, Sensors, Actuators, Materials, Mechanics, Bird-inspired Robots, Underwater/Amphibious Robots, Insect-inspired Robots, Robot Locomotion, Soft Robotics, Space Robotics
University of Maryland College ParkAbstract of Award
University of Massachusetts Amherest
REU Site: Engineering Across Cell Types
Chemical Engineering
Amherest, Massachusetts
Primary: Susan C. Roberts
(413) 545-1660
sroberts@ecs.umass.edu
Secondary: Scott C. Garman
(413) 545-0698
garmna@biochem.umass.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: Chemical engineering, Bioengineering, Biochemistry, Biology,Chemistry, Polymer science and Engineering
University of Massachusetts AmherestAbstract of Award
Show 30 number of items per page.