Email Print Share

REU Sites

REU Sites: Engineering

Please report errors in the list below by writing to reu.eng@nsf.gov.


Search Again

Show 30 items per page.
REU Sites
Site Information Site Location Contact Information Additional Information
Athens, Georgia
Primary: Leidong Mao
(706) 542-1871
mao@uga.edu
University of Georgia Research Foundation, INC
REU Site: Interdisciplinary Research Experiences in Nanotechnology and Biomedicine
College of Engineering
Athens, Georgia
Primary: Leidong Mao
(706) 542-1871
mao@uga.edu
Secondary: Jonathan Arnold
(706) 542-1449
arnold@uga.edu
Houston, Texas
Primary: Jose L. Contreras-Vidal, Ph.D.
(713) 743-4429
jlcontreras-vida@uh.edu
Secondary: Stuart Long, Ph.D.
(713) 743-4445
long@uh.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: neurotechnology,neuroscience,computational neuroscience,brain imaging,medical devices,neuroprostheses,neural interfaces,robotics,neural engineering,rehabilitation,brain-computer-interfaces
REU Site:Neurotechnologies to Help the Body Move, Heal, and Feel AgainAbstract of Award
University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign
REU Site: Discoveries in Bioimaging
Beckman Institute
Urbana, Illinois
Primary: Stephen A. Boppart
(217) 244-7479
boppart@illinois.edu
Secondary: Andrew M. Smith
(217) 333-2187
smi@illinois.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: Bioimaging
REU Site: Discoveries in BioimagingAbstract of Award
University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign
REU Site: Frontiers in Biomedical Imaging
Department of Bioengineering
Urbana, Illinois
Primary: Andrew M. Smith
(217) 300-5638
smi@illinois.edu
Secondary: Marina Marjanovic
(217) 244-6221
marinam@illinois.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: Bioengineering,medicine,microscopy,microscope,spectroscopy,tomography,molecule,cell,tissue,cancer,oncology,neuron,brain,analysis,diagnostics,diagnosis,simulation,clinical,conference
REU Site: Frontiers in Biomedical ImagingAbstract of Award
Iowa City, Iowa
Primary: Amanda J. Haes
(319) 384-3695
amanda-haes@uiowa.edu
Secondary: C. Allan Guymon
(319) 335-5015
allan-guymon@uiowa.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: Chemistry, Chemical & Biochemical Engineering, Nanoscience, Nanotechnology, Biomaterials
REU Site:Undergraduate Research in nanoscience and NanotechnologyAbstract of Award
University of Kansas Center for Research, Inc.
REU SITE: IDEA Incubator for Porous Materials: Integrating Discovery, Engineering and Art
Chemical&Petroleum Engineering/Center for Environmental Benefical Catalysis
Lawrence, Kansas
Primary: Mark B. Shiflett
(785) 864-6719
mark.b.shiflett@ku.edu
Secondary: Claudia Bode
(785) 864-1647
bode@ku.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: Chemical engineering,materials science,biomedical engineering,tissue engineering, biomaterials,electrochemistry,catalysis,renewable chemicals,design,innovation
REU SITE: IDEA Incubator for Porous Materials: Integrating Discovery, Engineering and ArtAbstract of Award
Lexington, Kentucky
Primary: Kimberly Anderson
(859) 257-1864
Kimberly.anderson@uky.edu
Secondary: Zach Hilt
(859) 257-8028
zach.hilt@uky.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: Chemical Eng., Chemistry, Biomedical Eng., Materials Eng., and Pharmaceutical Sciences focusing on cell/protein interactions with materials and incorporation of these systems into devices.
Comments: REU Coordinator-Marlene Spurlock Marlene.spurlock@uky.edu (859)257-8028
REU Site: A Multidisciplinary Research Experience in Engineered Bioactive Interfaces & DevicesAbstract of Award
Lexington, Kentucky
Primary: Kimberly Anderson
(859) 257-1864
kimberly.anderson@uky.edu
Secondary: Zach Hilt
(859) 257-9844
zach.hilt@uky.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: Biomaterials, Biological systems, Membranes, Interfaces, Devices
REU Site: A Multidisciplinary Research Experience in Engineered Bioactive Interfaces and DevicesAbstract of Award
Louisville, Kentucky
Primary: Kevin M. Walsh, Ph.D.
(502) 852-0826
walsh@louisville.edu
Secondary: Ana Sanchez
(502) 852-1568
ana.sanchez@louisville.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: Micro/Nano-manufacturing, Micro/Nano-technology, miniaturization, semiconductors, microelectronics, MEMS, microfluidics, sensors, engineering
REU Site: Interdisciplinary Micro/Nano-manufacturing Program Addressing Challenges Today (IMPACT)Abstract of Award
Orono, Maine
Primary: Douglas J. Gardner
(207) 581-2846
douglasg@maine.edu
Secondary: David Neivandt
(207) 581-2288
david.neivandt@maine.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: Sustainable, Forest, Bioproducts, Engineering, Nanomaterials, Feedstock Modification
REU Site: Explore it! Building the Next Generation of Sustainable Forest Bioproduct ResearchersAbstract of Award
University of Maine
REU Site:Sensor Science and Engineering
Electrical and Computer Engineering, College of Engineering
Orono, Maine
Primary: Nuri W. Emanetoglu
(207) 581-2233
nuri.emanetoglu@maine.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: sensor science and engineering
REU Site:Sensor Science and EngineeringAbstract of Award
University of Maine
REU Site: Sensor Science and Engineering
Electrical and Computer Engineering
Orono, Maine
Primary: Nuri Emanetoglu
(207) 581-2233
nuri.emanetoglu@maine.edu
Secondary: John F. Vetelino
(207) 581-2264
jvetelino35@gmail.com
Research Topics/Keywords: Sensor Science and Engineering
REU Site: Sensor Science and EngineeringAbstract of Award
Orono, Maine
Primary: Douglas Gardner
(207) 581-2846
douglasg@maine.edu
Secondary: David Neivandt
(207) 581-2288
dneivandt@umche.maine.edu
University of Maryland College Park
REU Site: Summer Engineering Research Experience in Transportation Electrification
Electrical and Computer Engineering
College Park, Maryland
Primary: Alireza Khaligh
(312) 730-7364
akhaligh@umd.edu
Secondary: Eric Wachsman
(301) 405-6269
ewach@umd.edu
University of Maryland College Park
REU Site: Research Opportunities in Bioinspired Robotics
Mechanical Engineering
College Park, Maryland
Primary: Prof. Hugh A. Bruck
(302) 405-8711
bruck@umd.edu
Secondary: Prof. Sarah E. Bergreiter
(301) 405-6506
sarahb@umd.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: Robotics, Bioinspired Engineering, Sensors, Actuators, Materials, Mechanics, Bird-inspired Robots, Underwater/Amphibious Robots, Insect-inspired Robots, Robot Locomotion, Soft Robotics, Space Robotics
REU Site: Research Opportunities in Bioinspired RoboticsAbstract of Award
University of Massachusetts Amherest
REU Site: Engineering Across Cell Types
Chemical Engineering
Amherest, Massachusetts
Primary: Susan C. Roberts
(413) 545-1660
sroberts@ecs.umass.edu
Secondary: Scott C. Garman
(413) 545-0698
garmna@biochem.umass.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: Chemical engineering, Bioengineering, Biochemistry, Biology,Chemistry, Polymer science and Engineering
REU Site: Engineering Across Cell TypesAbstract of Award
University of Massachusetts Amherst
REU Site: Offshore Wind Energy Solving the Engineering Environmental and Socio-Economic Challenges
Mechanical and Industrials Engineering
Amherst, Massachusetts
Primary: Erin D Baker
(413) 545-0698
edbaker@ecs.umass.edu
Secondary: Curtice Griffin
(413) 545-2640
cgriffin@forwild.umass.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: Offshore wind energy , Engineering , Environmental, Socio- Enconmic Challenges
REU Site: Offshore Wind Energy Solving the Engineering Environmental and Socio-Economic ChallengesAbstract of Award
University of Michigan-Dearborn
REU Site: Undergraduate Research in Sustainable Energy (U-RISE)
Department of Electrical and Computer Engineering
Dearborn, Michigan
Primary: Wencong Su
(313) 593-5314
wencong@umich.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: Sustainable energy, power systems, power electronics, renewable energy, smart grid
REU Site: Undergraduate Research in Sustainable Energy (U-RISE)Abstract of Award
University of Minnesota
REU Site: Neural Systems Engineering
Biomedical Engineering
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Primary: Tay Netoff
(612) 625-3618
tnetoff@umn.edu
Secondary: Matt Johnson
(612) 626-6492
john5101@umn.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: Biomedical Engineering, Neural Engineering, Computational Modeling, Biomedical Devices
Comments: Research projects relate to advancing engineering approaches to study and interact with the central and peripheral nervous systems.
REU Site: Neural Systems EngineeringAbstract of Award
University of Minnesota-Twin Cities
REU Site: Research Experiences for Undergraduates in Fluid Power
Mechanical Engineering
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Primary: Kim A. Stelson
(612) 625-6528
kstelson@me.umn.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: Fluid power, Sub-fields:hydraulics, pneumatics, power supplies,tribology, wind power, pneumatic medical devices, noise-vibration-harshness, fluids
REU Site: Research Experiences for Undergraduates in Fluid PowerAbstract of Award
Lincoln, Nebraska
Primary: Greg Bashford
(402) 472-1745
gbashford2@unl.edu
Secondary: Carl Nelson
(402) 472-4128
cnelson5@unl.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: Biomedical Engineering; Biomedical Devices; Bioengineering
REU Site: Undergraduate Research Opportunities in Biomedical Devices at the University of Nebraska-LincolnAbstract of Award
Lincoln, Nebraska
Primary: Carl A. Nelson
(402) 472-4128
cnelson5@unl.edu
Secondary: Gregory R. Bashford
(402) 472-1745
gbashford2@unl.edu
University of Nebraska-Lincoln
REU Site: Sustainability of Horizontal Civil Networks in Rural Areas
Department of Civil Engineering
Lincoln, Nebraska
Primary: Shannon Bartelt-Hunt
(402) 554-3868
sbartelt2@unl.edu
Secondary: Alisha Hanshaw
(402) 472-2869
alisha.hanshaw@unl.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: sustainability, infrastructure, civil engineering, environmental and water resources engineering, structures, civil engineering materials, transportation engineering
REU Site: Sustainability of Horizontal Civil Networks in Rural AreasAbstract of Award
University of New Mexico
Research Experiences for Undergraduates in Nanoscience and Microsystems Engineering
Center for Microengineered Materials & Materials & Department of Chemical & Biological Engineering
Albuquerque, New Mexico
Primary: Abhaya K. Datye
(505) 277-0477
datye@unm.edu
Secondary: Nora Akram
(505) 277-2833
reu@unm.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: nanomaterials, biomaterials, nanoparticles, energy conversion, catalysts, fuel cells, imaging, flow cytometry, drug delivery, Self assembly, Optoelectronic devices, solar cells, sensors
Research Experiences for Undergraduates in Nanoscience and Microsystems EngineeringAbstract of Award
University of New York at Stony Brook
REU Site: Nanotechnology for Health, Energy and the Environment
Materials Science and Engineering
Stony Brook, New York
Primary: Gary P. Halada
631-632-8526
ghalada@notes.cc.sunysb.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: Nanotechnology for Health, Energy and Environment
REU Site: Nanotechnology for Health, Energy and the EnvironmentAbstract of Award
University of Pennsylvania
REU Site: SUNFEST: Susmmer Undergraduate Research in Sensor Technologi
School of Engineering and Applied Science
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Primary: Jan Van der Spiegel
(215) 898-7116
sunfest@seas.upenn.edu
Secondary: Colleen Kennedy
(215) 746-1445
colk@seas.upenn.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: Sensors, Sensor Technology, Sensors for Robotics, Imagers, Biomedical, Biosensors, Chemical Sensing, Nanotechnology, Bio-inspired sensing, Electrical Engineering, Mechanical Engr, Material Engr
REU Site: SUNFEST: Susmmer Undergraduate Research in Sensor TechnologiAbstract of Award
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Primary: Joseph McCarthy
(412) 624-7362
jjmcc@pitt.edu
Secondary: Taryn Bayles
(412) 383-9970
tbayles@pitt.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: functional materials, energy, biomedicine, sustainability, nanoparticles, multi-phase systems, particle processing, chemical engineering
REU Site: Enhancing Knowledge Integration Through Undergraduate Research-Particle-based Functional Materials for Energy, Sustainability, and BiomedicineAbstract of Award
University of Pittsburgh
REU Site: Engineering Tool for Decision Support in Systems Medicine
Chemical & Petroleum Engineering
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Primary: Robert S. Parker
(412) 624-7364
rparker@pitt.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: Systems Engineering; Mathematical Modeling; Biomedical Systems
REU Site: Engineering Tool for Decision Support in Systems MedicineAbstract of Award
University of Pittsburgh
Quality of Life Technology Research Experience for Undergraduates (REU)
SHRS- Rehabilitation Sci & Tech
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Primary: Dan Ding
(412) 954-5278
dad5@pitt.edu
Show 30 items per page.