Skip to main content
Email Print Share

REU Sites

REU Sites: Atmospheric and Geospace Sciences

Please report errors in the list below by writing to reu.ags@nsf.gov.


Search Again

16 items found, displaying all items.
Site Information Site Location Contact Information Additional Information
Arecibo, Puerto Rico
Primary: Dr. Hilda Colón
(787) 878-2612
reu-program@naic.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: astronomy, astrophysics, planetary science, instrumentation, atmospheric physics
Abstract of Award
Cofunded: Atmospheric and Geospace Sciences
Boston University
Magnetic Fields on Planetary to Cosmic Scales
Astronomy Department
Boston, Massachusetts
Primary: Prof. Andrew West
(617) 358-5879
REUastro@bu.edu
Secondary: Prof. Merav Opher
(617) 358-6385
Research Topics/Keywords: Astrophysics, space physics, planetary science, magnetic fields.
Abstract of Award
Cofunded: Astronomical Sciences, Atmospheric and Geospace Sciences
City University of New York
Research Experiences for Undergraduates in Satellite and Ground-Based Remote Sensing at NOAA-CREST
College of Technology, Dept. of Physics
Brooklyn, New York
Primary: Dr. Reginald Blake
(718) 254-8582
rblake@citytech.cuny.edu
Secondary: Dr. Pamela Brown
(718) 260-5008
pbrown@citytech.cuny.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: Meteorology, remote sensing, air quality, modeling, engineering, air-land and air-sea interactions, climate
Comments: Collaborative with NOAA-CREST Cooperative Remote Sensing Science and Technology Center (NOAA-CREST),
Abstract of Award
Coastal Carolina University
Coastal Carolina University Computing and Geosciences
Computing and Geosciences
Conway, South Carolina
Primary: Sathish Kumar
skurmar@coastal.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: climate change,oceanography,atmospheric science, geology, computer science
Abstract of Award
Fort Collins, Colorado
Primary: Melissa Burt
(970) 491-8706
mburt@atmos.colostate.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: atmospheric science, atmospheric chemistry, air quality, severe storms, mesoscale meteorology, remote sensing, climate dynamics, climate modeling, atmospheric dynamics
Abstract of Award
Harvard Smithsonian Center for Astrophysics
SAO Solar Physics REU Program
Cambridge, Massachusetts
Primary: Dr. Henry Trae Winter
(617) 495-7400
hwinter@cfa.harvard.edu
Secondary: Dr. Kathy Reeves
(617) 496-7563
kreeves@cfa.harvard.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: Solar Astronomy, space weather, heliosphere, astrophysics,instrumentation
Abstract of Award
Cofunded: Atmospheric and Geospace Sciences, Astronomical Sciences
Arizona
Primary: Dr. Matthew Penn
(520) 318-8510
mpenn@nso.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: Solar physics, solar-terrestrial physics, solar-stellar physics, instrumentation
Cofunded: Atmospheric and Geospace Sciences
Portland State University
PSU's Atmospheric Science Experiences in the Center for Climate and Aerosol Research (CCAR)
Center for Climate and Aerosol Research
Portland, Oregon
Primary: Linda George
(503) 725-3861
georgeL@pdx.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: atmosphere’s synoptic and planetary circulation, air quality, weather, climate
Abstract of Award
Berkeley, California
Primary: Laura Peticolas
(510) 642-3010
laura@ssl.berkeley.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: Geophysics, space science, Earth science, atmospheric physics, planetary science, solar physics, electrical engineering, mechanical engineering, computer science, physics, math, chemistry, geology
Abstract of Award
Cofunded: Atmospheric and Geospace Sciences, Astronomical Sciences
College Station, Texas
Primary: Don Conlee
(979) 862-4060
dconlee@tamu.edu
Secondary: Kenneth Bowman
(979) 862-4060
k-bowman@tamu.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: air quality, climate change, meteorology, precipitation processes in the Gulf Coastal region.
Abstract of Award
The Pennsylvania State University (Penn State)
Climate Science Research at The Pennsylvania State University
Pennsylvania
Primary: Ray Najjar
(814) 863-1586
najjar@meteo.psu.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: Climate Science,Meteorology, Communications
Abstract of Award
Cofunded: Atmospheric and Geospace Sciences
University Corporation for Atmospheric Research
Significant Opportunities in Atmospheric Research and Science (SOARS)
National Center for Atmospheric Research
Boulder, Colorado
Primary: Rebecca Haacker
(303) 497-8623
rhaacker@UCAR.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: Atmospheric Science, solar physics, computational methods
Comments: SOARS is not funded through the REU Site program, but encourages applications from members of underrepresented and disadvantaged groups
Abstract of Award
Cofunded: Atmospheric and Geospace Sciences
Huntsville, Alabama
Primary: Samaiyah Farid
(156) 824-6120
sif0053@uah.edu
Secondary: Amy Winebarger
(256) 961-7509
amy.r.winebarger@nasa.gov
Research Topics/Keywords: Solar Physics, Heliospheric Physics, satellites, modeling
Abstract of Award
Cofunded: Atmospheric and Geospace Sciences, Astronomical Sciences
Boulder, Colorado
Primary: Dr. Martin Snow
(303) 885-8689
snow@lasp.colorado.edu
Secondary: Dr. Daniel N Baker
(303) 492-4509
Daniel.Baker@lasp.colorado.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: solar physics, space physics, climate science, magnetosphere, heliosphere, upper atmosphere, Sun-Earth system, space weather
Comments: Participating institutions include NCAR High Altitude Observatory, NOAA Space Environment Center (both in Boulder, CO), and Center for Integrated Space Weather Modeling (Boston, MA)
Abstract of Award
University of Oklahoma Norman Campus
REU Site: Research Experiences for Undergraduates at the National Weather Center
Center for Analysis and Prediction of Storms
Norman, Oklahoma
Primary: Dr. Daphne S. LaDue
(405) 325-1898
dzaras@ou.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: severe storms, synoptic, mesoscale and storm-scale meteorology, numerical weather prediction, weather radar, atmospheric modeling,atmospheric technology and measurement systems,prediction, weather rad
Comments: The National Weather Center engages the Univ.of Oklahoma, NOAA and state organizations to work together to improve understanding of atmospheric events.
Abstract of Award
Washington State University
Air Quality, Atmospheric Chemistry, and Climate Change: Measurements and Modeling in the Pacific Northwest
Department of Civil & Environmental Engineering
Pullman, Washington
Primary: Dr. Shelley Pressley
(509) 335-5443
spressley@wsu.edu
Secondary: Dr. Brian Lamb
(509) 335-5702
blamb@wsu.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: atmospheric science, air quality, atmospheric chemistry, mobile laboratory facility, air quality measurements, air quality modeling, Pacific northwest, climate change, mobile atmospheric chemistry lab
Abstract of Award
16 items found, displaying all items.

 

Back to Top of page