text-only page produced automatically by LIFT Text Transcoder Skip all navigation and go to page contentSkip top navigation and go to directorate navigationSkip top navigation and go to page navigation
National Science Foundation


REU Sites

REU Sites: Atmospheric and Geospace Sciences

Please report errors in the list below by writing to reu.ags@nsf.gov.

17 items found, displaying all items.
Site Information Site Location Contact Information Additional Information
Washington State University
Air Quality, Atmospheric Chemistry, and Climate Change: Measurements and Modeling in the Pacific Northwest
Department of Civil & Environmental Engineering
Pullman, Washington
Primary: Dr. Shelley Pressley
(509) 335-5443
spressley@wsu.edu
Secondary: Dr. Brian Lamb
(509) 335-5702
blamb@wsu.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: atmospheric science, air quality, atmospheric chemistry, mobile laboratory facility, air quality measurements, air quality modeling, Pacific northwest, climate change, mobile atmospheric chemistry lab
Abstract of Award
Virginia Tech
Space Science and Engineering Research
Blacksburg, Virginia
Primary: Debbie Collins
collinsd@vt.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: Magnetospheric and upper atmospheric science and small satellite engineering
Abstract of Award
Cofunded: Atmospheric and Geospace Sciences
University of Oklahoma Norman Campus
REU Site: Research Experiences for Undergraduates at the National Weather Center
Center for Analysis and Prediction of Storms
Norman, Oklahoma
Primary: Dr. Daphne S. LaDue
(405) 325-1898
dzaras@ou.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: severe storms, synoptic, mesoscale and storm-scale meteorology, numerical weather prediction, weather radar, atmospheric modeling,atmospheric technology and measurement systems,prediction, weather rad
Comments: The National Weather Center engages the Univ.of Oklahoma, NOAA and state organizations to work together to improve understanding of atmospheric events.
Abstract of Award
University of Michigan
REU Site at the University of Michigan Biological Station
Biological Station
260 miles north of Ann Arbor, Michigan
Primary: Peggy Meade
(734) 763-4461
plmeade@umich.edu
Secondary: Dr. David Karowe
(269) 387-5630
karowe@wmich.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: Ecology & Atmospheric Sciences: Global Change, Botany, Zoology, Biogeochemistry, Chemistry, Physics, Meteorology
Comments: Interdisciplinary program focused on the ecological and atmospheric causes and consequences of global change
Abstract of Award
Cofunded: Biological Sciences
Boulder, Colorado
Primary: Dr. Martin Snow
(303) 735-2143
snow@lasp.colorado.edu
Secondary: Dr. Daniel N Baker
(303) 492-4509
Daniel.Baker@lasp.colorado.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: solar physics, space physics, climate science, magnetosphere, heliosphere, upper atmosphere, Sun-Earth system
Comments: Participating institutions include NCAR High Altitude Observatory, NOAA Space Environment Center (both in Boulder, CO), and Center for Integrated Space Weather Modeling (Boston, MA)
Abstract of Award
Huntsville, Alabama
Primary: Jacob Heerikhuisen
(156) 824-6120
jacob.heerikhuisen@uah.edu
Secondary: Amy Winebarger
(256) 961-7509
amy.r.winebarger@nasa.gov
Research Topics/Keywords: Solar Physics, Heliospheric Physics, satellites, modeling
Abstract of Award
Cofunded: Atmospheric and Geospace Sciences, Astronomical Sciences
University Corporation for Atmospheric Research
Significant Opportunities in Atmospheric Research and Science (SOARS)
National Center for Atmospheric Research
Boulder, Colorado
Primary: Rebecca Haacker
(303) 497-8623
rhaacker@UCAR.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: Atmospheric Science, solar physics, computational methods
Comments: SOARS is not funded through the REU Site program, but encourages applications from members of underrepresented and disadvantaged groups
Abstract of Award
Cofunded: Atmospheric and Geospace Sciences
The Pennsylvania State University (Penn State)
Climate Science Research at The Pennsylvania State University
Pennsylvania
Primary: Jose D Fuentes
(814) 863-1585
jdfuentes@psu.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: Climate Science,Meteorology, Communications
Abstract of Award
Cofunded: Atmospheric and Geospace Sciences
Berkeley, California
Primary: Claire Raftery
(510) 642-3010
assure@sunearth.ssl.berkeley.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: Geophysics, space science, Earth science, atmospheric physics, planetary science, solar physics, electrical engineering, mechanical engineering, computer science, physics, math, chemistry, geology
Abstract of Award
Cofunded: Atmospheric and Geospace Sciences, Astronomical Sciences
Smithsonian Astrophysical Observatory
Solar Physics at the Harvard-Smithsonian Center for Astrophysics
Cambridge, Massachusetts
Primary: Kathy Reeves
(617) 495-7317
kreeves@cfa.harvard.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: Solar and Space Physics, Space Weather, Solar Stellar Connection
Abstract of Award
Cofunded: Atmospheric and Geospace Sciences
Portland State University
PSU's Atmospheric Science Experiences in the Center for Climate and Aerosol Research (CCAR)
Center for Climate and Aerosol Research
Portland, Oregon
Primary: Linda George
(503) 725-3861
georgeL@pdx.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: atmosphere’s synoptic and planetary circulation, air quality, weather, climate
Abstract of Award
North Carolina
Primary: Solomon Bililign
(336) 285-2328
Bililign@ncat.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: An interdisciplinary project involving geosciences, atmospheric sciences, electrical engineering, and nanoengineering and marketing
Abstract of Award
Cofunded: Atmospheric and Geospace Sciences
Arizona
Primary: Dr. Matthew Penn
(520) 318-8510
mpenn@nso.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: Solar physics, solar-terrestrial physics, solar-stellar physics, instrumentation
Cofunded: Atmospheric and Geospace Sciences
Fort Collins, Colorado
Primary: Melissa Burt
(970) 491-8706
mburt@atmos.colostate.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: atmospheric science, atmospheric chemistry, air quality, severe storms, mesoscale meteorology, remote sensing, climate dynamics, climate modeling, atmospheric dynamics
Abstract of Award
Washington, District Of Columbia
Primary: Dr. Ekaterina Verner
(202) 319-5315
vernere@cua.edu
Secondary: Dr. Frederick Bruhweiler
(202) 319-5315
bruhweiler@cua.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: Solar & Heliospheric Physics, Instrumentation, Astrophysics
Comments: Collaboration with the NASA Goddard Space Flight Center.
Abstract of Award
Boston University
Magnetic Fields on Planetary to Cosmic Scales
Astronomy Department
Boston, Massachusetts
Primary: Prof. Andrew West
(617) 358-5879
REUastro@bu.edu
Secondary: Prof. Merav Opher
(617) 358-6385
Research Topics/Keywords: Astrophysics, space physics, planetary science, magnetic fields.
Abstract of Award
Cofunded: Astronomical Sciences, Atmospheric and Geospace Sciences
Arecibo, Puerto Rico
Primary: Dr. Hilda Colón
(787) 878-2612
reu-program@naic.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: astronomy, astrophysics, planetary science, instrumentation, atmospheric physics
Abstract of Award
Cofunded: Atmospheric and Geospace Sciences
17 items found, displaying all items.

Search Again

 

Back to Top of page