Email Print Share

REU Sites

REU Sites: Department of Defense (DoD)

Through its Awards to Stimulate and Support Undergraduate Research Experiences (ASSURE) Program, the U.S. Department of Defense (DoD) supports undergraduate research in DoD-relevant disciplines. For this purpose, since FY2003, DoD has contributed several million dollars per year (through an interagency agreement with NSF) to support particular REU Sites that focus on research relevant to DoD's interests. The Sites below, though managed by NSF, are supported by funds from DoD's ASSURE program. Most of these REU-ASSURE Sites are jointly funded by NSF and DoD; a few are entirely funded by DoD. (Each of these Sites is also listed in the "Search for an REU Site" directory of the NSF research unit/discipline that manages the REU-ASSURE Site award.)

Please report errors in the list below by writing to reu.coord@nsf.gov.


Search Again

Show 30 items per page.
REU Sites
Site Information Site Location Contact Information Additional Information
Auburn University
Research Experience for Undergraduate on Smart UAVs
Center for Smart UAVs
Auburn, Alabama
Primary: Saad Biaz
(334) 844-6307
biazsaa@auburn.edu
Secondary: Richard O. Chapman
(334) 844-6314
chapmro@auburn.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: Unmanned Aerial Vehicles (UAVs), Autonomous Flight
Research Experience for Undergraduate on Smart UAVsAbstract of Award
Cofunded: Department of Defense (DoD)
Boston, Massachusetts
Primary: Thomas Gilmore
(617) 353-2020
gilmore@bu.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: Biology; Genes: Environment; Genomics; Molecular Biology; Environmental Studies; Evolution
Comments: Tina Fresta, urop@bu.edu, 617-353-2020
REU Site: Control of Gene Expression for Biological EffectAbstract of Award
Cofunded: Department of Defense (DoD)
California State Polytechnic University, Pomona
REU Site: Research Experience for Undergraduates in UAV Technologies
Aerospace Engineering
Pomona, California
Primary: Subodh Bhandari
(909) 869-2612
sbhandari@cpp.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: UAV Autonomy, Sense & Avoid, GPS-Denied Navigation, Multi UAV Coordination and Control, Flight Testing, System Identification, Intelligent Control, Flight Control Optimization, Modeling & Simulation
REU Site: Research Experience for Undergraduates in UAV TechnologiesAbstract of Award
Cofunded: Department of Defense (DoD), Engineering
Coe College
REU Site: Spectroscopy at Coe College
Departments of Physics
Cedar Rapids, Iowa
Primary: Mrs. Susan Noreuil
(319) 399-8524
snoreuil@coe.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: Physics, Chemistry, Biology, Optics, Glass Physics and Chemistry, Acoustics, Molecular Biology, Biochemistry and Space Optics
Comments: RET Component
REU Site: Spectroscopy at Coe CollegeAbstract of Award
Cofunded: Department of Defense (DoD)
Greenville, South Carolina
Primary: Karen Buchmueller
(864) 294-2683
karen.buchmueller@furman.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: chemistry
A Research Incubator REU Site in Chemistry at Furman UniversityAbstract of Award
Cofunded: Department of Defense (DoD)
Cambridge, Massachusetts
Primary: Dr. Henry Trae Winter
(617) 495-7400
hwinter@cfa.harvard.edu
Secondary: Dr. Kathy Reeves
(617) 496-7563
kreeves@cfa.harvard.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: Solar astronomy, Space weather, Heliosphere, Astrophysics, Instrumentation
REU Site: Solar Physics at the Harvard Smithsonian Center for AstrophysicsAbstract of Award
Cofunded: Atmospheric and Geospace Sciences, Department of Defense (DoD)
Cambridge, Massachusetts
Primary: Dr. Henry Trae Winter
(617) 495-7400
hwinter@cfa.harvard.edu
Secondary: Dr. Kathy Reeves
(617) 496-7563
kreeves@cfa.harvard.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: Solar Astronomy, space weather, heliosphere, astrophysics,instrumentation
REU Site: Solar Physics at the Harvard-Smithsonian Center for AstrophysicsAbstract of Award
Cofunded: Atmospheric and Geospace Sciences, Department of Defense (DoD)
Ames, Iowa
Primary: Benjamin Ahn
(515) 294-6491
bahn@iastate.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: Unmanned Aerial Systems(UAS),System Health Mgmt. of UAS,Dynamic Geofencing,UAS Swarm Behavior,UAS Apps.(Sensors,Inductive Charging System,Spray System),UAS Impact(ethics, safety societal, environ.)
REU Site: Launching Aerospace's Underrepresented Students into the Next Chapter-Unmanned Aerial Systems (LAUNCH-UAS)Abstract of Award
Cofunded: Department of Defense (DoD)
Montana State University
REU Site: Quantum and Materials Physics
Department of Physics
Bozeman, Montana
Primary: Dr. Brian D'Urso
(406) 994-3456
durso@montana.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: Quantum Physics, Materials Physics and Optics
REU Site: Quantum and Materials PhysicsAbstract of Award
Cofunded: Department of Defense (DoD)
Oregon
Primary: Itchung Cheung
Itchung.Cheung@oregonstate.edu
Secondary: Kaplan Yalcin
(541) 737-1230
yalcink@geo.oregonstate.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: marine and estuarine science, ocean ecology and biogeochemistry, marine geology, physical oceanography and geophysics, atmospheric science, paleoclimatology, environmental geochemistry
Comments: This site has two locations; one at HMSC in Newport, OR and another on the main OSU campus in Corvallis. The joint application website opens in January, and applications are due in mid-February.
REU Site for Oregon Marine Science: From Upper Estuaries to the Deep Sea Hatfield Marine Science Center, Newport, OregonAbstract of Award
Cofunded: Department of Defense (DoD)
Malibu, California
Primary: Jay Brewster
(310) 506-4321
Jay.Brewster@pepperdine.edu
Secondary: Courtney Davis
(310) 506-4582
courtney.davis2@pepperdine.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: ecology, cell biology, molecular biology, botany, genetics, cellular stress
REU Site: Biological Adaptations to Stress -- Molecular, Cellular, EcologicalAbstract of Award
Cofunded: Department of Defense (DoD)
Rutgers University
Research Internships in Ocean Sciences
Institute of Marine and Coastal Sciences
New Brunswick, New Jersey
Primary: Dr. Josh Kohut
(848) 932-3496
kohut@marine.rutgers.edu
Secondary: Olaf Jensen
ojensen@marine.rutgers.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: marine and estuarine science, oceanography, ecology, fish biology, geophysics, remote sensing, microbiology, geochemistry
Comments: The application website is available in December and the deadline for applications is usually mid-February.
Research Internships in Ocean SciencesAbstract of Award
Cofunded: Department of Defense (DoD)
Smithsonian Astrophysical Observatory
SAO Summer Intern Program
Cambridge, Massachusetts
Primary: Matthew Ashby
(617) 496-7742
intern@cfa.harvard.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: astronomy, astrophysics, planetary science, instrumentation
SAO Summer Intern ProgramAbstract of Award
Cofunded: Department of Defense (DoD)
South Dakota School of Mines and Technology
REU Site: Back to the Future II
Mat/Met Engineering
Rapid City, South Dakota
Primary: Prof. Michael K West
(605) 394-1283
michael.west@sdsmt.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: Metallurgical engineering, materials science, materials engineering
REU Site: Back to the Future IIAbstract of Award
Cofunded: Department of Defense (DoD), Engineering
Syracuse, New York
Primary: Brooks Gump
bbgump@syr.edu
College Station, Texas
Primary: Georgianne Moore
gwmoore@tamu.edu
Gainesville, Florida
Primary: Professor Selman Hershfield
(352) 392-9387
selman@phys.ufl.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: Materials physics
REU Site: Materials Physics at the University of FloridaAbstract of Award
Cofunded: Department of Defense (DoD)
Urbana, Illinois
Primary: Dr. Patrick Snyder
(217) 300-9957
psnyder@illinois.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: Biological Physics, Condensed Matter Physics, Astrophysics, High-Energy Physics, Nuclear Physics and Computational Physics
REU Site: Applying the Tools of Physicians to Explore the Macroscopic, Microscopic and Quantum WorldsAbstract of Award
Cofunded: Department of Defense (DoD)
University of Iowa
REU Site: Microbiology at the University of Iowa
Microbiology & Immunulogy
Iowa City, Iowa
Primary: David Weiss
(319) 335-7785
david-weiss@uiowa.edu
Secondary: Linda McCarter
(319) 335-9721
linda-mccarter@uiowa.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: biology, biosciences, microbiology, virology, immunology, bacteria, genetics, biochemistry
Comments: undergrad-micro-info@uiowa.edu
REU Site: Microbiology at the University of IowaAbstract of Award
Cofunded: Department of Defense (DoD)
260 miles north of Ann Arbor, Michigan
Primary: Dr. David Karowe
(269) 387-5630
karowe@wmich.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: Ecology & Atmospheric Sciences: Global Change, Botany, Zoology, Biogeochemistry, Chemistry, Physics, Meteorology
Comments: Interdisciplinary program focused on the ecological and atmospheric causes and consequences of global change
REU Site: Environmental Change in the Great Lakes Region: Atmosphere-Hydrosphere-Biosphere InteractionsAbstract of Award
Cofunded: Biological Sciences, Earth Sciences
University of Michigan
REU Site: Summer Intensive Research Experiences in Neurosicence (SIREN)
Neuroscience Graduate Program
Ann Arbor, Michigan
Primary: R. Keith Duncan
(734) 763-2129
rkduncan@umich.edu
Secondary: Shelly Flagel
(734) 936-2033
sflagel@umich.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: biosciences, biology, neuroscience, neurobiology, neuroengineering, psychology
Comments: Coordinator: Valerie Smith, vssj@umich.edu, 734-615-1783
REU Site: Summer Intensive Research Experiences in Neurosicence (SIREN)Abstract of Award
Cofunded: Department of Defense (DoD)
University of Missouri
REU Site: Summer Research Projects in Neuroscience
College of Arts & Sciences and College of Engineering
Columbia, Missouri
Primary: Satish Nair
(573) 882-2964
nairs@missouri.edu
Secondary: David Schulz
(573) 882-4067
schulzd@missouri.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: biosciences, neuroscience, computational, interdisciplinary, engineering
REU Site: Summer Research Projects in NeuroscienceAbstract of Award
Cofunded: Department of Defense (DoD)
University of Rochester
REU Site in Physics and Astrophysics at Rochester
Department of Physics and Astronomy
Rochester, New York
Primary: Connie Jones
(585) 275-5306
connie@pas.rochester.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: Physics Optics including: particle, nuclear, cosmic ray physics, optics, quantum optics, condensed matter, biological, plasma, astrophysics and geophysics.
REU Site in Physics and Astrophysics at RochesterAbstract of Award
Cofunded: Department of Defense (DoD)
University of Southern California
Human Communication in a Connected World
Information Sciences Institute
Marina del Rey, California
Primary: Jelena Mirkovic
(310) 448-9170
sunshine@isi.edu
Secondary: Christophe Hauser
(310) 448-8225
hauser@isi.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: Information flow and structure of social networks, information extraction and summarization, cybersecurity and communication networks and protocols
Human Communication in a Connected WorldAbstract of Award
Cofunded: Department of Defense (DoD)
Yale University
REU Site: Interdisciplinary Research Training Across Biology, Physics, and Engineering
Mechanical Engineering & Materials Science, Physics, and Applied Physics
New Haven, Connecticut
Primary: Corey O'Hern
(203) 432-4258
corey.ohern@yale.edu
Secondary: Lynne Regan
(203) 432-9843
lynne.regan@yale.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: quantitative biology, biological physics, computational biology, data science, systems biology
Comments: Coordinator: Dorottya Noble; email: dorottya.noble@yale.edu
REU Site: Interdisciplinary Research Training Across Biology, Physics, and EngineeringAbstract of Award
Cofunded: Department of Defense (DoD)
Show 30 items per page.