text-only page produced automatically by LIFT Text Transcoder Skip all navigation and go to page contentSkip top navigation and go to directorate navigationSkip top navigation and go to page navigation
National Science Foundation


REU Sites

REU Sites: Department of Defense (DoD)

Through its Awards to Stimulate and Support Undergraduate Research Experiences (ASSURE) Program, the U.S. Department of Defense (DoD) supports undergraduate research in DoD-relevant disciplines. For this purpose, since FY2003, DoD has contributed several million dollars per year (through an interagency agreement with NSF) to support particular REU Sites that focus on research relevant to DoD's interests. The Sites below, though managed by NSF, are supported by funds from DoD's ASSURE program. Most of these REU-ASSURE Sites are jointly funded by NSF and DoD; a few are entirely funded by DoD. (Each of these Sites is also listed in the "Search for an REU Site" directory of the NSF research unit/discipline that manages the REU-ASSURE Site award.)

Please report errors in the list below by writing to reu.coord@nsf.gov.

45 items found, displaying 21 to 40.[First/Prev] 1 2 3 [Next/Last]
Site Information Site Location Contact Information Additional Information
Piscataway, New Jersey
Primary: Eugene Fiorini
732-445-0075
gfiorini@dimacs.rutgers.edu
Secondary: Rebecca Wright
732-445-2001
rebecca.wright@rutgers.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: Discrete mathematics, computer science, statistics, biomathematics, biomedical applications, homeland security applications
Abstract of Award
Cofunded: Department of Defense (DoD)
Rutgers University
Research Internships in Ocean Sciences
Institute of Marine and Coastal Sciences
New Brunswick, New Jersey
Primary: Gary Taghon
taghon@marine.rutgers.edu
Secondary: Lillian Lee
732-932-6555 x5
rios@marine.rutgers.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: marine and estuarine science, oceanography, ecology, fish biology, geophysics, remote sensing, microbiology, geochemistry
Comments: The deadline for applications is March 1, 2015.
Abstract of Award
Cofunded: Department of Defense (DoD)
Smithsonian Astrophysical Observatory
SAO Summer Intern Program
Cambridge, Massachusetts
Primary: Coordinator, SAO Intern Program
617-496-7996
intern@cfa.harvard.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: astronomy, astrophysics, solar physics, planetary science, instrumentation
Abstract of Award
Cofunded: Department of Defense (DoD)
South Dakota School of Mines and Technology
REU Site: Back to the Future II
Mat/Met Engineering
Rapid City, South Dakota
Primary: Prof. Michael K West
(605) 394-1283
michael.west@sdsmt.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: Metallurgical engineering, materials science, materials engineering
Abstract of Award
Cofunded: Department of Defense (DoD), Engineering
Texas Tech University
Research Experiences for Undergraduates in Cybersecurity, Robotics, and Software Engineering
Jointly hosted between Industrial Engineering and Computer Science City
Lubbock, Texas
Primary: Susan D. Urban
(806) 742-3543
susan.urban@ttu.edu
Secondary: Joseph Urban
(806) 742-3543
joseph.urban@ttu.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: software specification for cybersecurity,secure software engineering,high-performance and cloud computing,data-intensive computing,image and pattern processing
Abstract of Award
Cofunded: Department of Defense (DoD)
Lawrence, Kansas
Primary: Robert Ward
785-864-5235
robward@ku.edu
Secondary: Victoria Corbin
785-864-3934
corbin@ku.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: molecular biology, genetics, developmental biology, neurobiology, microbiology, biochemistry, structural biology
Comments: For more information contact the program coordinator John Connolly at jconnolly@ku.edu
Abstract of Award
Cofunded: Department of Defense (DoD)
University of Arizona
REU Site: Cognitive and Autonomous Test (CAT) Vehicle
Electrical and Computer Engineering
Tuscon, Arizona
Primary: Nancy Emptage
emptagen@ece.arizona.edu
Secondary: Haris Volos
hvolos@email.arizona.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: Autonomous cars, cognitive radio, model-based design, wireless networks, embedded control systems, sensor fusion, Vehicle to Vehicle (V2V) and Vehicle to Infrastructure (V2I)communications
Abstract of Award
Cofunded: Department of Defense (DoD)
Tucson, Arizona
Primary: Dr. Mitchell Pavao-Zuckerman
(520) 621-8220
mzuckerman@arizona.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: Earth system science, environmental science, ecology, hydrology, geosciences, soil science,
Abstract of Award
Cofunded: Department of Defense (DoD)
University of Central Florida
Research for Undergraduates in Computer Vision
Center for Research in Computer Vision
Orlando, Florida
Primary: Mubarak Shah
(407) 823-5077
shah@crcv.ucf.edu
Secondary: Niels Lobo
(407) 823-2873
niels@eecs.ucf.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: Computer Vision
Abstract of Award
Cofunded: Department of Defense (DoD)
Gainesville, Florida
Primary: Professor Selman Hershfield
(352) 392-9387
selman@phys.ufl.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: Materials physics
Abstract of Award
Cofunded: Department of Defense (DoD)
University of Iowa
REU Site in Microbiology at The University of Iowa
Microbiology and Immunology
Iowa City, Iowa
Primary: David Weiss
319-335-7785
david-weiss@uiowa.edu
Secondary: Linda McCarter
319-335-9721
linda-mccarter@uiowa.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: Bacteriology, Bacterial physiology, bacterial genetics, pathogenesis, virology, immunology, parasitology, host-microbe interaction
Comments: Julie Nealson, Administrative Services Coordinator, julie-nealson@uiowa.edu, 319-335-7980
Abstract of Award
Cofunded: Department of Defense (DoD)
University of Kentucky
REU Site: Summer Program in the Biochemical Sciences
Molecular and Cellular Biochemistry
Lexington, Kentucky
Primary: Trevor Creamer
859-323-6037
Trevor.Creamer@uky.edu
Secondary: Rebecca Dutch
859-323-1795
rdutc2@uky.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: biochemistry, molecular biology, cell biology, structural biology, biophysics
Abstract of Award
Cofunded: Department of Defense (DoD), Chemistry
University of Missouri
REU Site: Summer Research Projects in Neuroscience
College of Arts & Sciences and College of Engineering
Columbia, Missouri
Primary: Satish S. Nair
573-882-2964
nairs@missouri.edu
Secondary: David Schulz
(573)882-4067
schulzd@missouri.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: neuroscience, computational methods
Abstract of Award
Cofunded: Department of Defense (DoD)
Charlotte, North Carolina
Primary: Tom Schmedake
704-687-4011
tschmeda@uncc.edu
Secondary: Banita Brown
704-687-4843
bbrown@uncc.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: Nanoscience, Nanotechnology, Chemistry, Physics, Biology, Engineering
Abstract of Award
Cofunded: Department of Defense (DoD)
Grand Forks, North Dakota
Primary: Ronald Marsh
(701) 777-4013
rmarsh@cs.und.edu
Secondary: David Whalen
(701) 777-3558
whalen@space.und.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: Image processing/superresolution, communications cybersecurity, safety critical system model based validation, system engineering validation, distribution data processing on a cluster of space craft
Abstract of Award
Cofunded: Computer and Information Science and Engineering, Department of Defense (DoD)
University of Northern Iowa
Interdisciplinary Research Experience in Hyperspectral Imaging (IDREHSI)
GeoInformatics Training, Research, Education, and Extension Center
Cedar Falls, Iowa
Primary: Dr. Bingqing Liang
(319) 273-3609
bingqing.liang@uni.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: Hyperspectral Imaging and Chemistry, Earth Science, Environmental Science, Biology, Forestry, Physics,Chemistry, Computer Science, Geographic Information Science (GISc).
Abstract of Award
Cofunded: Department of Defense (DoD), Social, Behavioral, and Economic Sciences
University of Rhode Island
Summer Undergraduate Research Fellowships in Oceanography (SURFO)
Graduate School of Oceanography
Narragansett, Rhode Island
Primary: Ms. Kim Carey
401-874-6627
kcarey@gso.uri.edu
Secondary: Dr. Kathleen Donohue
401-874-6615
kdonohue@gso.uri.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: marine science, oceanography, biology, chemistry, physics, geology, coastal studies, ecology, geophysics, chemical oceanography, marine studies
Comments: To receive full consideration for the SURFO program all application materials should be received by February 21st. We will continue to process and review application materials received after the deadl
Abstract of Award
Cofunded: Department of Defense (DoD)
University of Rochester
REU Site in Physics and Astrophysics at Rochester
Department of Physics and Astronomy
Rochester, New York
Primary: Connie Jones
(585) 275-5306
connie@pas.rochester.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: Physics Optics including: particle, nuclear, cosmic ray physics, optics, quantum optics, condensed matter, biological, plasma, astrophysics and geophysics.
Abstract of Award
Cofunded: Department of Defense (DoD)
Los Angeles, California
Primary: Robert de Groot
213-821-6340
degroot@usc.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: Computer Science, Information Technology, Earth Sciences, earthquakes, visualization methods
Abstract of Award
Cofunded: Department of Defense (DoD)
University of Tennessee Knoxville
REU Site: Sensing and Signaling in Biological Systems
Biochemsitry and Cellular and Molecular Biology
Knoxville, Tennessee
Primary: Brad Binder
865-974-7994
bbinder@utk.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: signal transduction, cell biology, computational biology, biochemistry, genetics
Comments: The program coordinator who manages travel, lodging and payroll details is LaShel Brown. She can be reached at lbrown12@utk.edu. The mailing address for the department is BCMB Department, University
Abstract of Award
Cofunded: Department of Defense (DoD)
45 items found, displaying 21 to 40.[First/Prev] 1 2 3 [Next/Last]

Search Again

 

Back to Top of page