Skip to main content
Email Print Share

REU Sites

REU Sites: Department of Defense (DoD)

Through its Awards to Stimulate and Support Undergraduate Research Experiences (ASSURE) Program, the U.S. Department of Defense (DoD) supports undergraduate research in DoD-relevant disciplines. For this purpose, since FY2003, DoD has contributed several million dollars per year (through an interagency agreement with NSF) to support particular REU Sites that focus on research relevant to DoD's interests. The Sites below, though managed by NSF, are supported by funds from DoD's ASSURE program. Most of these REU-ASSURE Sites are jointly funded by NSF and DoD; a few are entirely funded by DoD. (Each of these Sites is also listed in the "Search for an REU Site" directory of the NSF research unit/discipline that manages the REU-ASSURE Site award.)

Please report errors in the list below by writing to reu.coord@nsf.gov.


Search Again

33 items found, displaying 1 to 20.[First/Prev] 1 2 [Next/Last]
Site Information Site Location Contact Information Additional Information
University of Wisconsin-Madison
University of Wisconsin-Madison
Dept of Astronomy/Dept of Physics
Madison, Wisconsin
Primary: Dr. Eric Hooper
608-262-1249
reu@astro.wisc.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: astronomy, astrophysics, space physics, space science, instrumentation, atmospheric physics
Abstract of Award
Cofunded: Department of Defense (DoD)
Toledo, Ohio
Primary: Dr. Richard Irving, Jr.
(419) 530-2589
rirving@utoledo.edu
Secondary: Professor Thomas Kvale
(419) 530-2980
thomas.kvale@utoledo.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: Physics (AMO), Condensed Matter, Photovoltaics, Material Science, Astronomy/Astrophysics, medical/health/biological physics and Plasma Physics
Comments: Ethics component
Abstract of Award
Cofunded: Department of Defense (DoD)
Los Angeles, California
Primary: Robert de Groot
213-821-6340
degroot@usc.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: Computer Science, Information Technology, Earth Sciences, earthquakes, visualization methods
Abstract of Award
Cofunded: Department of Defense (DoD)
University of Rochester
REU Site in Physics and Astrophysics at Rochester
Department of Physics and Astronomy
Rochester, New York
Primary: Connie Jones
(585) 275-5306
connie@pas.rochester.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: Physics Optics including: particle, nuclear, cosmic ray physics, optics, quantum optics, condensed matter, biological, plasma, astrophysics and geophysics.
Abstract of Award
Cofunded: Department of Defense (DoD)
University of Northern Iowa
Interdisciplinary Research Experience in Hyperspectral Imaging (IDREHSI)
GeoInformatics Training, Research, Education, and Extension Center
Cedar Falls, Iowa
Primary: Dr. Bingqing Liang
(319) 273-3609
bingqing.liang@uni.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: Hyperspectral Imaging and Chemistry, Earth Science, Environmental Science, Biology, Forestry, Physics,Chemistry, Computer Science, Geographic Information Science (GISc).
Abstract of Award
Cofunded: Department of Defense (DoD), Social, Behavioral, and Economic Sciences
Grand Forks, North Dakota
Primary: Ronald Marsh
(701) 777-4013
rmarsh@cs.und.edu
Secondary: David Whalen
(701) 777-3558
whalen@space.und.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: Image processing/superresolution, communications cybersecurity, safety critical system model based validation, system engineering validation, distribution data processing on a cluster of space craft
Abstract of Award
Cofunded: Computer and Information Science and Engineering, Department of Defense (DoD)
University of Missouri
REU Site: Summer Research Projects in Neuroscience
College of Arts & Sciences and College of Engineering
Columbia, Missouri
Primary: Satish S. Nair
573-882-2964
nairs@missouri.edu
Secondary: David Schulz
(573)882-4067
schulzd@missouri.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: neuroscience, computational methods
Abstract of Award
Cofunded: Department of Defense (DoD)
University of Kentucky
REU Site: Summer Program in the Biochemical Sciences
Molecular and Cellular Biochemistry
Lexington, Kentucky
Primary: Trevor Creamer
859-323-6037
Trevor.Creamer@uky.edu
Secondary: Rebecca Dutch
859-323-1795
rdutc2@uky.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: biochemistry, molecular biology, cell biology, structural biology, biophysics
Abstract of Award
Cofunded: Department of Defense (DoD), Chemistry
Gainesville, Florida
Primary: Professor Selman Hershfield
(352) 392-9387
selman@phys.ufl.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: Materials physics
Abstract of Award
Cofunded: Department of Defense (DoD)
University of Central Florida
Research for Undergraduates in Computer Vision
Center for Research in Computer Vision
Orlando, Florida
Primary: Mubarak Shah
(407) 823-5077
shah@crcv.ucf.edu
Secondary: Niels Lobo
(407) 823-2873
niels@eecs.ucf.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: Computer Vision
Abstract of Award
Cofunded: Department of Defense (DoD)
Tucson, Arizona
Primary: Dr. Mitchell Pavao-Zuckerman
(520) 621-8220
mzuckerman@arizona.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: Earth system science, environmental science, ecology, hydrology, geosciences, soil science,
Abstract of Award
Cofunded: Department of Defense (DoD)
University of Arizona
REU Site: Cognitive and Autonomous Test (CAT) Vehicle
Electrical and Computer Engineering
Tuscon, Arizona
Primary: Nancy Emptage
emptagen@ece.arizona.edu
Secondary: Haris Volos
hvolos@email.arizona.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: Autonomous cars, cognitive radio, model-based design, wireless networks, embedded control systems, sensor fusion, Vehicle to Vehicle (V2V) and Vehicle to Infrastructure (V2I)communications
Abstract of Award
Cofunded: Department of Defense (DoD)
South Dakota School of Mines and Technology
REU Site: Back to the Future II
Mat/Met Engineering
Rapid City, South Dakota
Primary: Prof. Michael K West
(605) 394-1283
michael.west@sdsmt.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: Metallurgical engineering, materials science, materials engineering
Abstract of Award
Cofunded: Department of Defense (DoD), Engineering
Smithsonian Astrophysical Observatory
SAO Summer Intern Program
Cambridge, Massachusetts
Primary: Coordinator, SAO Intern Program
617-496-7996
intern@cfa.harvard.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: astronomy, astrophysics, solar physics, planetary science, instrumentation
Abstract of Award
Cofunded: Department of Defense (DoD)
Rutgers University
Research Internships in Ocean Sciences
Institute of Marine and Coastal Sciences
New Brunswick, New Jersey
Primary: Gary Taghon
taghon@marine.rutgers.edu
Secondary: Lillian Lee
(732) 932-6555
rios@marine.rutgers.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: marine and estuarine science, oceanography, ecology, fish biology, geophysics, remote sensing, microbiology, geochemistry
Comments: The deadline for applications is March 1, 2016. Program Dates: June 1 to August 5, 2016.
Abstract of Award
Cofunded: Department of Defense (DoD)
Piscataway, New Jersey
Primary: Lazaros Gallos
(848) 445-0075
lgallos@dimacs.rutgers.edu
Secondary: Rebecca Wright
(848) 445-2001
rebecca.wright@rutgers.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: Discrete mathematics, computer science, statistics, biomathematics, biomedical applications, homeland security applications
Abstract of Award
Cofunded: Department of Defense (DoD)
Pomona College
Keck Geology Consortium
Geology Department
California
Primary: Dr. Robert J. Varga
(330) 465-7184
bob.varga@pomona.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: paleontology,structural geology,stratigraphy,petrology,geoch emistry,tectonics,hydrology,geophysi cs
Abstract of Award
Cofunded: Department of Defense (DoD)
Malibu, California
Primary: Jay Brewster
(310) 506-4321
Jay.Brewster@pepperdine.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: ecology, cell biology, molecular biology, botany, genetics, cellular stress
Comments: Co-PI is co-PI (Dr. Rodney L. Honeycutt at rodney.honeycutt@pepperdine.edu
Abstract of Award
Cofunded: Department of Defense (DoD)
Oregon
Primary: Itchung Cheung
Itchung.Cheung@oregonstate.edu
Secondary: Kaplan Yalcin
(541) 737-1230
YalcinK@science.orgeonstate.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: marine and estuarine science, ocean ecology and biogeochemistry, marine geology, physical oceanography and geophysics, atmospheric science, paleoclimatology, environmental geochemistry
Comments: This site has two locations; one at HMSC on the Oregon Coast in Newport and another on the main OSU campus in Corvallis. Application deadline: February 15, 2016. Program dates: June 13 - August 19,
Abstract of Award
Cofunded: Department of Defense (DoD)
Old Dominion University
REU Site: Accelerator and Nuclear Physics
Physics
Norfolk, Virginia
Primary: Stephen Bueltmann
(757) 683-6401
sbueltma@odu.edu
Secondary: Hari Areti
(757) 269-7187
areti@jlab.org
Research Topics/Keywords: Accelerator and Nuclear Physics
Abstract of Award
Cofunded: Department of Defense (DoD)
33 items found, displaying 1 to 20.[First/Prev] 1 2 [Next/Last]

 

Back to Top of page