Email Print Share

REU Sites

REU Sites: Mathematical Sciences

Please report errors in the list below by writing to reu.dms@nsf.gov.


Search Again

Show All items per page.
REU Sites
Site Information Site Location Contact Information Additional Information
Arizona State University
REU Site: Quantitative Research for the Life and Social Sciences
Mathematical Sciences
Tempe, Arizona
Primary: Rebecca Perlin
(480) 727-8525
Rebecca.Perlin@asu.edu
Secondary: Sabrina Avila
Sabrina.Avila@asu.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: Mathematical Biology and Applied Mathematics
Comments: Formerly known as the Mathematical and Theoretical Biology Institute (MTBI).
REU Site: Quantitative Research for the Life and Social SciencesAbstract of Award
Arizona State University
REU Site: Applied Mathematics and Computational Modeling in the Greater Phoenix Area
Tempe, Arizona
Primary: Wenbo Tang
(480) 965-5479
Wenbo.Tang@asu.edu
Secondary: Eric Kostelich
Auburn University, Alabama
Primary: Overtoun Jenda
(334) 844-3745
jendaov@auburn.edu
Secondary: Peter Johnson
Research Topics/Keywords: Algebra and Discrete Mathematics (graphs and hypergraphs, number theory, information and coding theory)
Comments: Previous Award 1560257
REU Site: Research Experience for Undergraduates in Algebra and Discrete Mathematics at Auburn UniversityAbstract of Award
Bethune-Cookman University
REU Site: Mathematical Modeling in Environmental, Biological and Other Sciences
Workforce in the Mathematical Sciences
Daytona Beach, Florida
Primary: Seenith Sivasundaram
(386) 481-2491
sivasundarams@cookman.edu
Secondary: Yungkul Kim
(386) 481-2676
kimy@cookman.edu
California State University, San Bernardino
Investigations in Geometry and Knot Theory
Mathematics
San Bernardino, California
Primary: Corey Dunn
(909) 537-5368
cmdunn@csusb.edu
Secondary: Rolland Trapp
Research Topics/Keywords: differential geometry, knot theory
Comments: Renewal for 1461286
Investigations in Geometry and Knot TheoryAbstract of Award
Clemson, South Carolina
Primary: Felice Manganiello
(864) 656-2331
manganm@clemson.edu
Secondary: Kevin James
(864) 656-6766
kevja@clemson.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: Coding theory, Cryptography, and Number Theory
RTG/REU: Coding Theory, Cryptography, and Number TheoryAbstract of Award
College of William and Mary
REU Site: Matrix Analysis, Combinatorics, and Applications
Office of Sponsored Programs
Williamsburg, Virginia
Primary: Charles Johnson
(757) 221-2014
crjohn@wm.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: Linear algebra, combinatorics.
Comments: 0751964
REU Site: Matrix Analysis, Combinatorics, and ApplicationsAbstract of Award
Ithaca, New York
Primary: Alex Townsend
(607) 255-0501
ajt253@cornell.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: Analysis and implementation of spectral element methods.
RTG: Dynamics, Probability, and Partial Differential Equations in Pure and Applied MathematicsAbstract of Award
East Tennessee State University
REU Site: Combinatorics, Probability, and Algebraic Coding Theory
Mathematical Sciences
Johnson City, Tennessee
Primary: Anant Godbole
(423) 534-6209
godbolea@etsu.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: Main field(s): Mathematical Sciences; Combinatorics, Finite Fields/Commutative Rings; Probability, and Error Correcting/Detecting Codes (sub-fields).
REU Site: Combinatorics, Probability, and Algebraic Coding TheoryAbstract of Award
Elon University
REU Site: North Carolina A&T State University and Elon University Joint REU in Mathematical Biology
Elon, North Carolina
Primary: Karen Yokley
(336) 278-6603
kyokley@elon.edu
Florida Institute of Technology
REU Site: Statistical Models with Applications to Geoscience
Department of Mathematical Sciences and Ocean Engineering & Marine Sciences
Melbourne, Florida
Primary: Nezamoddin N. Kachouie
(321) 674-7485
nezamoddin@fit.edu
Secondary: Steven Lazarus
(321) 394-2161
slazarus@fit.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: Statistical Models, Geoscience
REU Site: Statistical Models with Applications to GeoscienceAbstract of Award
Atlanta, Georgia
Primary: Michael T. Lacey
(404) 894-9235
lacey@math.gatech.edu
Harvey Mudd College
REU Site: Data Science in the Life Sciences, Environmental Science and Engineering
Claremont, California
Primary: Lisette de Pillis
(909) 621-8121
depillis@hmc.edu
Secondary: Tanja Srebotnjak
Research Topics/Keywords: Data Science in the Life Sciences, Environmental Science and Engineering.
REU Site: Data Science in the Life Sciences, Environmental Science and EngineeringAbstract of Award
Geneva, New York
Primary: Joseph Rusinko
(315) 781-3586
rusinko@hws.edu
Secondary: Erika King
Research Topics/Keywords: Combin, graph theory, and math bio.
REU Site: HWS-REU: Discovering Mathematics in New York StateAbstract of Award
Normal, Illinois
Primary: Saad El-Zanati
(309) 438-5765
saad@IllinoisState.edu
Secondary: David Baker
Research Topics/Keywords: Discrete Mathematics
Comments: The Illinois State University REU is an eight-week summer research experience for 8 pre-service and 4 in-service secondary mathematics teachers. Original Awd: 1659815
REU/RET Site: Mathematics Research Experience for Pre-Service and for In-Service TeachersAbstract of Award
Indianapolis, Indiana
Primary: Julia Arciero
(317) 274-6998
jarciero@math.iupui.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: Main field: Applied mathematics; Subfields of research: Immunology, Fluid Dynamic, Neuroscience, Engineering
Comments: Renewal 1559745
REU Site: IUPUI REU Program in mathematics with applications to medicine, neuroscience, and engineeringAbstract of Award
Iowa State University
REU Site: Iowa State University Mathematics REU
Mathematics
Ames, Iowa
Primary: Bernard Lidicky
(515) 294-1752
reumath@iastate.edu
Secondary: Steve Butler
Research Topics/Keywords: Graph theory, combinatorics, computational mathematics, algebra, analysis, data science, and linear algebra
Comments: Renewal of previously funded REU Site DMS-1457443
REU Site: Iowa State University Mathematics REUAbstract of Award
Ithaca, New York
Primary: Theodore Galanthay
(607) 274-3460
tgalanthay@ithaca.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: Mathematics, dynamical systems
REU Site: Ithaca College REU in Dynamical SystemsAbstract of Award
Harrisonburg, Virginia
Primary: Brandt Jones
(540) 568-3802
mathreu@jmu.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: Statistics, applied and pure mathematics
Comments: Renewal of previously funded REU Site: NSF Award 1560151
REU Site: Mathematics Research for Undergraduates at James Madison UniversityAbstract of Award
Beaumont, Texas
Primary: Kumer Das
(409) 880-7947
kumer.das@lamar.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: Linear Algebra, Graph Theory, Statistics
REU Site at Lamar UniversityAbstract of Award
Maricopa County Community College
REU Site: Applied Mathematics and Computational Modeling in the Greater Phoenix Area
Tempe, Arizona
Primary: John Nagy
(480) 731-8402
john.nagy@sccmail.maricopa.edu
Washington, District Of Columbia
Primary: Rachel Levy
(202) 387-5200
levy@maa.org
Research Topics/Keywords: Graph theory, climate modeling, mathematical biology, chaotic dynamical systems, knot theory, ordinary differential equations, and partial differential equations
Comments: Renewal of NSF Award Number 1652506
REU Site: National Research Experiences for Undergraduates Program in the Mathematical SciencesAbstract of Award
Mathematical Sciences Research Institute
REU Site: MSRI Undergraduate Program (MSRI-UP)
Berkeley, California
Primary: David Eisenbud
(510) 642-4745
de@msri.org
Secondary: Helene Barcelo
Research Topics/Keywords: Mathematics is the main field. Combinatorics, geometry, and computational algebra are the subfields.
Comments: Renewal of 1156499
REU Site: MSRI Undergraduate Program (MSRI-UP)Abstract of Award
Mathematical Staircase, Inc.
REU Site: MatILy Early Scholarly Training (MathILy-EST)
Workforst in the Mathematical Sciences
Holyoke, Massachusetts
Primary: Sarah-Marie Belcastro
(413) 345-6386
info@mathily.org
Research Topics/Keywords: Mathematics, with subfields varying by year and including mathematics of paperfolding, additive number theory, discrete PDEs, game theory, and combinatorial representation theory.
REU Site: MatILy Early Scholarly Training (MathILy-EST)Abstract of Award
Michigan State University
REU Site: REU in Discrete and Applied Mathematics
Mathematics
East Lansing, Michigan
Primary: Robert Bell
(517) 353-4857
rbell@math.msu.edu
Secondary: Aklilu Zeleke
zeleke@msu.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: discrete mathematics; probability and statistics; mathematical modeling.
Comments: Renewal (previous awards #DMS-1559776, #DMS-1062817)
REU Site: REU in Discrete and Applied MathematicsAbstract of Award
Middle Tennessee State University
REU Site: Computational Modeling and Simulation in Applied Sciences
Mathematics
Murfreesboro, Tennessee
Primary: Wandi Ding
(615) 494-8936
wding@mtsu.edu
Secondary: Rachel Leander
Research Topics/Keywords: Mathematics, Physics, Computer Science, Computational Science, Biology
REU Site: Computational Modeling and Simulation in Applied SciencesAbstract of Award
Moravian College
REU Site: Research Challenges of Computational and Experimental Mathematics
Bethlehem, Pennsylvania
Primary: Nathan Shank
shank@math.moravian.edu
Secondary: Eugene Fiorini
(484) 664-3355
eugenefiorini@muhlenberg.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: Experimental Mathematics, Sub-fields: Enumerative Combinatorics, Graph Theory,
REU Site: Research Challenges of Computational and Experimental MathematicsAbstract of Award
North Carolina Agricultural & Technical State University
REU Site: North Carolina A&T State University and Elon University Joint REU in Mathematical Biology
Greensboro, North Carolina
Primary: Nicholas Luke
(336) 285-3520
luke@ncat.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: Main Field/Sub-Field: Mathematics/Mathematical Biology
REU Site: North Carolina A&T State University and Elon University Joint REU in Mathematical BiologyAbstract of Award
Los Angeles, California
Primary: James Brown
(323) 259-2680
jimlb@oxy.edu
Secondary: Treena Basu
Research Topics/Keywords: Main field(s) and sub-field(s) of the research: data science, number theory, game theory.
REU Site: Data science, number theory, and positional game theoryAbstract of Award
Columbus, Ohio
Primary: Grzegorz Rempala
(614) 688-0004
rempala.3@osu.edu
Secondary: Catherine Calder
(614) 688-0004
calder@stat.osu.edu
Oregon
Primary: Holly Swisher
(541) 737-4933
swisherh@math.oregonstate.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: Mathematics and Theoretical Computer Science
Comments: Renewal of 1359173
REU-SITE: Mathematics and Theoretical Computer Science at Oregon State UniversityAbstract of Award
Prairie View, Texas
Primary: Natali Hritonenko
(936) 261-1689
nahritonenko@pvamu.edu
Secondary: Gloria C. Regisford
Research Topics/Keywords: Mathematics, Statistics, Biology, Chemistry, Physics
REU Site: Mathematical Modeling in the SciencesAbstract of Award
Rochester, New York
Primary: Darren Narayan
(585) 475-2514
dansma@rit.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: Graph Theory, Dynamical Systems
Comments: Renewal of previously funded REU sites #0552418, #1062128, #1358583, and #1659075.
REU Site: Extremal Graph Theory and Dynamical Systems at RITAbstract of Award
Terre Haute, Indiana
Primary: Dennis Tarrant & Kenji Kozai
(812) 877-8144
kozai@rose-hulman.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: Mathematics (mathematical biology, cryptography, financial mathematics, and topology)
REU Site: Rose-Hulman Undergraduate Research Experience in MathematicsAbstract of Award
San Diego, California
Primary: Vadim Ponomarenko
(619) 594-6176
vponomarenko@mail.sdsu.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: Mathematics, and closely related fields.
Comments: Renewal of REU site previously NSF 1556480.
REU Site: San Diego State University Mathematics Research Experience for UndergraduatesAbstract of Award
St. Mary's College of Maryland
Emerging Scholars Research Experience for Undergraduates
Mathematics
St. Mary's City, Maryland
Primary: Sandy Ganzell
(240) 895-4371
sganzell@smcm.edu
Secondary: Casey Douglas
Research Topics/Keywords: Mathematics: Image Analysis, Epidemiological Modeling, Knot Theory, Discrete Geometry, Graph Theory.
Emerging Scholars Research Experience for UndergraduatesAbstract of Award
College Station, Texas
Primary: J. Maurice Rojas
(979) 845-7554
rojas@math.tamu.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: Mathematical Sciences and their Applications
Comments: Contact for Applicants: Ms. Donna Hoffman donna@math.tamu.edu (979) 862-4306
REU Site: Undergraduate Research in the Mathematical Sciences and their ApplicationsAbstract of Award
Texas State University
REU Site: Algebra, Combinatorics, and Statistics
Mathematical Sciences
San Marcos, Texas
Primary: Yong Yang
(512) 245-3742
yang@txstate.edu
Secondary: Thomas Keller
Research Topics/Keywords: Algebra, Combinatorics, and Statistics
REU Site: Algebra, Combinatorics, and StatisticsAbstract of Award
University of California at Los Angeles
Research in Industrial Projects for Students (RIPS)
Mathematics
Los Angeles, California
Primary: Neli Petrosyan
(310) 825-4755
rips@ipam.ucla.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: Applied Mathematics, Data Analysis, Coding
Research in Industrial Projects for Students (RIPS)Abstract of Award
University of California-Davis
REU Site: Pure and Applied Mathematics at UC Davis
Mathematics
Davis, California
Primary: Javier Arsuaga
(530) 754-0308
jarsuaga@ucdavis.edu
Secondary: Gregory Kuperberg
University of California Santa Barbara
UCSB Mathematics Summer Research Program for Undergraduates
Mathematics
Santa Barbara, California
Primary: Maria Isabel Bueno Cachadina
(805) 703-3258
mbueno@ucsb.edu
Secondary: Karel Casteels
Research Topics/Keywords: Main field(s) and subfield(s) of the research: Linear Algebra, Matrix Analysis, Numerical Linear Algebra, Graph Theory, Combinatorics.
Comments: Renewal of 1358884
UCSB Mathematics Summer Research Program for UndergraduatesAbstract of Award
University of Connecticut
Mathematics REU at UConn.
Mathematics
Storrs, Connecticut
Primary: Luke Rogers
(860) 486-3923
uconnmathreu@gmail.com
Secondary: Alexander Teplyaev
Research Topics/Keywords: Mathematics (theoretical/applied/computational/education).
Comments: Renewal of 1262929/1659643
Mathematics REU at UConn.Abstract of Award
University of Michigan Dearborn
REU Site: Mathematical Analysis and Applications
Mathematics
Dearborn, Michigan
Primary: Yunus Zeytuncu
(313) 583-5178
zeytuncu@umich.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: Complex analysis, real analysis, stochastic analysis, probability theory, algebraic music theory, algebraic geometry, inverse problems
Comments: (previous award DMS-1659203)
REU Site: Mathematical Analysis and ApplicationsAbstract of Award
Duluth, Minnesota
Primary: Joseph Gallian
(218) 726-7576
jgallian@d.umn.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: Combinatorics, Number Theory
Comments: Renewal of REU site NSF Award No. DMS-1650947
An Undergraduate Research Program in Combinatorics and Number TheoryAbstract of Award
University of North Carolina Greensboro
REU Site: University of North Carolina at Greensboro in Complex Data Analysis using Statistical and Machine Learning Tools
Greensboro, North Carolina
Primary: Sat Gupta
(336) 554-4608
sngupta@uncg.edu
Secondary: Xiaoli Gao
Chattanooga, Tennessee
Primary: Andrew Ledoan
(423) 425-2755
Andrew-Ledoan@utc.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: Mathematical analysis, number theory, probability theory, dynamical systems, and mathematical biology
REU Site: Research Training for Undergraduates in Mathematical Analysis with Applications in Allied FieldsAbstract of Award
Charlottesville, Virginia
Primary: Ken Ono
(434) 924-4911
ken.ono691@virginia.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: Main field: Mathematics; Sub-field: Algebra and Number theory.
Comments: PI's priori REU grants: DMS (0243604, 0354112, 0842560, 1250467, 1557960), DUE 0519428.
REU Site: Arithmetic Geometry and Number Theory at the University of VirginiaAbstract of Award
La Crosse, Wisconsin
Primary: James Peirce
(608) 785-6604
jpeirce@uwlax.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: Mathematical and Theoretical Ecology
REU Site: Ecological Modeling of the Mississippi River BasinAbstract of Award
Collegeville, Pennsylvania
Primary: Nicholas Scoville
(610) 409-3118
nscoville@ursinus.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: Number theory, topology, Machine learning, analysis, algebra. Subfields: Partition identities, tame filling functions, everywhere surjective functions, persistent homology, and discrete Morse theory.
Comments: Original Awd 1003972
REU SITE: Exploration and Professional Excellence in the Mathematical SciencesAbstract of Award
Virginia Commonwealth University
REU Site: Mathematics at VCU
Mathematics
Richmond, Virginia
Primary: Jan Rychtar
(804) 828-7196
rychtarj@vcu.edu
Secondary: Dewey Taylor
Research Topics/Keywords: Mathematics biology, computational mathematics, graph theory
REU Site: Mathematics at VCUAbstract of Award
Williams College
An Undergraduate Research Program in Combinatorics and Number Theory
Department of Mathematics and Statistics
Williamstown, Massachusetts
Primary: Steven Miller
(413) 597-2438
sjm1@williams.edu
Secondary: Marissa Barschdorf
Marissa.Barschdorf@williams.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: Mathematics and statistics; algebra, analysis, ergodic theory, geometry, knot theory, mathematical biology, mathematical physics, number theory, probability, statistics, topology
Comments: Renewal of DMS-1659037
An Undergraduate Research Program in Combinatorics and Number TheoryAbstract of Award
Worcester Polytechnic Institute
REU Program in Industrial Mathematics and Statistics
Mathematical Sciences
Worcester, Massachusetts
Primary: Burt Tilley
(508) 831-6664
tilley@wpi.edu
Secondary: Stephan Sturm
Research Topics/Keywords: Industrial Mathematics, Financial Math, and Statistics.
Comments: Renewal of previously funded REU site (DMS-126327)
REU Program in Industrial Mathematics and StatisticsAbstract of Award
Show All items per page.