Skip to main content
Email Print Share

REU Sites

REU Sites: Biological Sciences

APPLICATIONS: Students must contact the individual site or program to apply. NSF does not have application materials and does not select student participants.

ELIGIBILITY: Individual sites may have additional eligibility requirements (e.g., number of undergraduate years completed). Undergraduate student participants supported with NSF funds must be citizens or permanent residents of the United States or its possessions. High school graduates who have not yet enrolled, and students who have already received their bachelor's degrees, are not eligible.

ADDITIONAL INFORMATION: Click on the Title of the Site in the "Site Information" column to go to the homepage (if available) for that Site. Sites are ordered alphabetically by host institution. All Sites provide stipends, housing and meals, in addition to travel to and from the Site. This listing will change as new REU Site awards are made. Sites are added or deleted as decisions are made on awards, and the list is updated periodically. Clicking on a highlighted site title should direct you to the web page for more information on that program.

Please report errors in the list below by writing to reu.bio@nsf.gov.


Search Again

143 items found, displaying 1 to 20.[First/Prev] 1 2 3 4 5 [Next/Last]
Site Information Site Location Contact Information Additional Information
Alabama State University
REU Site: Nanobioengineering
Biological Sciences
Montgomery, Alabama
Primary: Komal Vig
(334) 229-5132
komalvig@alasu.edu
Secondary: Shree Singh
(334) 229-4168
ssingh@alasu.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: Biology, Biosciences, Biomedical Engineering, Chemistry, Physics
Abstract of Award
American Museum of Natural History
REU SITE: Systematics and Evolutionary Biology for the 21st Century
Richard Gilder Graduate School
New York, New York
Primary: Mark Siddall
212-769-5638
siddall@amnh.org
Secondary: Susan Perkins
212-313-7646
perkins@amnh.org
Research Topics/Keywords: evolution, systematics, phylogenetics, taxonomy, genomics, conservation genetics, paleontology, morphology
Abstract of Award
Auburn University
REU Site: Warm-water aquatic ecology
Fisheries, Aquaculture, and Aquatic Sciences
Auburn, Alabama
Primary: Alan Wilson
(334) 246-1120
wilson@auburn.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: biology, biosciences, ecology, limnology, fisheries management, evolution, molecular biology, microbiology, invasive species, behavior, statistics, restoration, modeling, hydrology, remote sensing
Abstract of Award
Cofunded: Biological Sciences
Auburn, Alabama
Primary: Leslie Goertzen
(334) 844-1637
goertzen@auburn.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: biology, biosciences, bioinformatics, genomics, big data, computational biology
Abstract of Award
Baldwin City, Kansas
Primary: William Miller
785-594-8379
William.Miller@BakerU.edu
Secondary: Margaret Lowman
(919) 707-9288
meg.lowman@ncdenr.gov
Research Topics/Keywords: Canopy, tardigrade, herbivory, micro-invertebrates, interstical chemistry, ambulatory disabilities
Comments: Elzie McCord, Ph.D. of New College of Florida is the third PI and a program leader.
Abstract of Award
Boise State University
REU Site: Raptor Research
Department of Biological Sciences and Raptor Research Center
Boise, Idaho
Primary: Jim Belthoff
(208) 426-4033
jbeltho@boisestate.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: Raptor Biology, Ecology, Behavior, Conservation Biology, Wildlife Management, Ornithology, Sensory Ecology, Population Biology, Demography, Molecular Ecology
Abstract of Award
Chestnut Hill, Massachusetts
Primary: Kenneth Burch
(617) 552-3575
ks.burch@bc.edu
Secondary: Laura Anne Lowery
(617) 552-3540
laura.lowery@bc.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: biology, biosciences, neuroscience, physics, energy, mathematics, chemistry, quantum computation, nanoscience, materials science, optics, microscopy
Abstract of Award
Cofunded: Chemistry
Boston, Massachusetts
Primary: Gary Benson
(617) 358-2965
gbenson@bu.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: biology, biosciences, bioinformatics, computational biology
Comments: Coordinator: Caroline Lyman, 617-358-2036, clyman@bu.edu
Abstract of Award
Boston, Massachusetts
Primary: Thomas Gilmore
(617) 353-2020
gilmore@bu.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: Biology; Genes: Environment; Genomics; Molecular Biology; Environmental Studies; Evolution
Comments: Tina Fresta, urop@bu.edu, 617-353-2020
Abstract of Award
Cofunded: Department of Defense (DoD)
Boyce Thompson Institute
REU Site: Plant Genome Research
Ithaca, New York
Primary: Georg Jander
607-254-1365
gj32@cornell.edu
Secondary: Jian Hua
607-255-5554
jh299@cornell.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: plant, genomics, genetics, biochemistry, moleular biology, cell biology, bioinformatics, breeding
Comments: The program coordinator is Tiffany Fleming, who can be reached at pgrp-ourtreach@cornell.edu or 607-254-6732.
Abstract of Award
Waltham, Massachusetts
Primary: Susan Lovett
(781) 736-2497
lovett@brandeis.edu
Secondary: Suzanne Paradis
(781) 736-2121
paradis@brandeis.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: cell biology, molecular biology, genetics, neuroscience, microscopy
Comments: Coordinator Jessica Maryott, contact at: jmaryott@brandeis.edu
Abstract of Award
California Academy of Sciences
REU Site: Biodiversity science in the Summer Systematics Institute at the California Academy of Sciences
Institute for Biodiversity Science and Sustainability
San Francisco, California
Primary: Rich Mooi
415-379-5270
ssi-bi@calacademy.org
Research Topics/Keywords: phylogenetics, biodiversity, evolutionary biology, molecular systematics, museums, collections, sustainability, conservation
Comments: Coordinator: Christina Cordova, ssi-bi@calacademy.org
Abstract of Award
Glencoe, Illinois
Primary: Jeremie Fant
(847) 835-6959
jfant@chicagobotanic.org
Secondary: Kramer Andrea
(847) 835-6971
akramer@chicagobotanic.org
Research Topics/Keywords: conservation biology, ecology, evolution, genetics, habitat, invasive species, plants, pollination, restoration, soil science, systematics
Abstract of Award
City College of New York
REU Site: Research and Training in Biochemistry, Biophysics and Biodesign (B3) for Undergraduates
Chemistry, Biology, Physics, Biomedical Engineering and Chemical Engineering
New York, New York
Primary: David Jeruzalmi
(212) 650-6062
dj@ccny.cuny.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: biology, biosciences, biochemistry, biophysics, biodesign
Abstract of Award
Cofunded: Chemistry
Atlanta, Georgia
Primary: David Logan
(404) 880-6830
dlogan@cau.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: gnomics, computational biology, epigenetics, bioinformatics, systems biology
Abstract of Award
Clemson, South Carolina
Primary: Victoria Corbin
(864) 656-1634
vcorbin@clemson.edu
Secondary: Michael Sears
(864) 506-5174
sears3@clemson.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: biology, genetics, genomics, cell biology, developmental biology, microbiology, ecology, evolution, computational biology
Comments: For questions/comments please email: vcorbin@clemson.edu
Abstract of Award
Cold Spring Harbor Laboratory
"REU Site: CSHL NSF-REU Bioinformatics and Computational Neuroscience
Watson School of Biological Sciences
Cold Spring Harbor, New York
Primary: Anne Churchland
(516) 367-5035
churchland@cshl.edu
Secondary: Michael Schatz
(516) 367-8307
mschatz@cshl.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: biology, biosciences, neuroscience, computational biology, computational neuroscience, quantitative biology, bioinformatics, genomics, systems neuroscience
Comments: Program coordinater: Kimberly Creteur, kcreteur@cshl.edu, urpadmin@cshl.edu
Abstract of Award
College of Charleston
REU Site: Next-Generation Bioinformatics for Genomics-enabled Research in the Life Sciences
Department of Computer Science and Department of Biology
Charleston, South Carolina
Primary: Paul Anderson
843-953-8151
andersonpe2@cof.cedu
Secondary: Andrew Shedlock
843-762-8811
shedlockam@cofc.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: machine learning, data science, data mining, evolutionary computation, pattern recognition, computational intelligence, cyberinfrastructure, bioinformatics, genome, genomics, next-generation DNA seque
Comments: For more information please contact Dr. Paul Anderson or Dr. Andrew Shedlock
Abstract of Award
Charleston, South Carolina
Primary: Robert Podolsky
(843) 953-9186
reu@cofc.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: Ecological and evolutionary processes, organismal biology, microbial ecology, physiology, pollution, environmental change, parasitology, marine biology.
Abstract of Award
Cofunded: Ocean Sciences
Wooster, Ohio
Primary: Amy Stavnezer
(330) 263-2215
ajstavnezer@wooster.edu
Secondary: Jennifer Yates
(740) 368-3814
jryates@owu.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: biology, biosciences, neuroscience, behavior, brain
Abstract of Award
143 items found, displaying 1 to 20.[First/Prev] 1 2 3 4 5 [Next/Last]

 

Back to Top of page