Skip to main content
Email Print Share

REU Sites

REU Sites: Biological Sciences

APPLICATIONS: Students must contact the individual site or program to apply. NSF does not have application materials and does not select student participants.

ELIGIBILITY: Individual sites may have additional eligibility requirements (e.g., number of undergraduate years completed). Undergraduate student participants supported with NSF funds must be citizens or permanent residents of the United States or its possessions. High school graduates who have not yet enrolled, and students who have already received their bachelor's degrees, are not eligible.

ADDITIONAL INFORMATION: Click on the Title of the Site in the "Site Information" column to go to the homepage (if available) for that Site. Sites are ordered alphabetically by host institution. All Sites provide stipends, housing and meals, in addition to travel to and from the Site. This listing will change as new REU Site awards are made. Sites are added or deleted as decisions are made on awards, and the list is updated periodically. Clicking on a highlighted site title should direct you to the web page for more information on that program. A link is also provided to allow you to view the geographic distribution of the programs (this link will take you to the Google Maps website). http://maps.google.com/maps/ms?msa=0&msid=201385854811463249384.0004a7f203de1eb115e18&hl=en&ie=UTF8&ll=38.788345,-96.811523&spn=26.927165,74.311523&z=5

REU Alumni: Please note the following opportunities: (1) Graduate Research Fellowship (GRF: http://www.nsfgrfp.org); (2) Graduate student summer experience abroad: East Asia Pacific Summer Institute Program (EAPSI: http://nsfsi.org/); and (3) Travel funds to present your REU project (http://www.bioreu.org).

Please report errors in the list below by writing to reu.bio@nsf.gov.


Search Again

139 items found, displaying 21 to 40.[First/Prev] 1 2 3 4 5 [Next/Last]
Site Information Site Location Contact Information Additional Information
Colorado State University
REU SITE: Program in Molecular Biosciences
Biochemistry and Molecular Biology
Fort Collins, Colorado
Primary: Paul Laybourn
970-491-5100
Paul.Laybourn@ColoState.edu
Secondary: Shing Ho
970-491-0569
Shing.Ho@ColoState.EDU
Research Topics/Keywords: biochemistry, neurobiology, cell biology, infectious diseases, structural biology, plant biology, cardiac biology, DNA repair, radiation biology, gene regulation, chromatin, developmen
Comments: The Program Coordinator is Eric Ross (491-0688 Eric.Ross@ColoState.edu) and the program contact person is Yvonne Bridgeman (reubiochem@colostate.edu or 970-491-5602)
Abstract of Award
Ithaca, New York
Primary: Teresa Pawlowska
(607) 254-8726
tep8@cornell.edu
Secondary: Michael Milgroom
(607) 255-7872
mgm5@cornell.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: host-microbe biology, microbiology, plant-microbe interactions, ecology, evolution, co-evolution, genomics, symbiosis
Comments: Alicia Caswell (amd33@cornell.edu)
Abstract of Award
Donald Danforth Plant Science Center
REU Site: Research Experiences in Plant Science at the Danforth Center
Education Outreach
St. Louis, Missouri
Primary: Pandey Sona
314-587-1471
spandey@danforthcenter.org
Research Topics/Keywords: biology, plant biology, biochemistry, cell biology, molecular biology, microbiology, structural biology, computational biology, bioinformatics, developmental biology, genetics, genomics, plant physiol
Comments: Point of contact: Cathy Kromer, ckromer@danforthcenter.org, 314-587-1424
Abstract of Award
Eastern Kentucky University
REU Site: Disturbance Ecology in Central Appalachia
Department of Biological Sciences
Richmond, Kentucky
Primary: David Brown
(859) 622-2283
david.brown@eku.edu
Secondary: Stephen Richter
(859) 622-8688
stephen.richter@eku.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: biology, biosciences, ecology, disturbance, restoration, conservation
Abstract of Award
Field Museum of Natural History
REU Site: Evolution of Biodiversity across the Tree of Life
Department of Science and Education
Chicago, Illinois
Primary: Corrie Moreau
(312) 665-7743
cmoreau@fieldmuseum.org
Secondary: Thorsten Lumbsch
(312) 665-7881
tlumbsch@fieldmuseum.org
Research Topics/Keywords: biology, biosciences, evolution, genomics, genetics, microbes, systematics, phylogenetics, paleontology, morphology, conservation biology
Abstract of Award
Tallahassee, Florida
Primary: Ramesh Katam
(850) 561-2750
ramesh.katam@famu.edu
Secondary: Virginia Gottschalk
(850) 561-2750
virginia.gottschalk@famu.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: biology, biosciences, Genomics, Proteomics, Metabolomics, and Bioinformatics
Comments: Ramesh Katam at ramesh.katam@famu.edu
Abstract of Award
Florida Institute of Technology
REU Site: Research at the Intersection of Biology and Mathematics
Biological Sciences and Mathematical Sciences
Melbourne, Florida
Primary: David Carroll
321-674-7133
dcarroll@fit.edu
Secondary: Munevver Subasi
321-674-7486
msubasi@fit.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: Ecology, Evolution, Cell and Molecular Biology, Data Mining, Applied Statistics, Stochastic Processes, Biomathematics, Mathematical modeling, Developmental Biology
Comments: Contact Info: David Carroll, (321) 674-7133, dcarroll@fit.edu or Munevver Subasi (321) 674-7486, msubasi@fit.edu
Abstract of Award
Cofunded: Mathematical Sciences
Fordham University
REU Site: Calder Summer Undergraduate Research (CSUR) Program in Conservation and Urban Ecology
Louis Calder Center  Biological Field Station
Armonk, New York
Primary: John D Wehr
(914) 273-3078
wehr@fordham.edu
Secondary: James D Lewis
(914) 273-3078
jdlewis@fordham.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: field biology, urban ecology, conservation, environmental science, ecosystem biology
Comments: Contact: Alissa Perrone; REUatCalder@fordham.edu; 914-273-3078 ext. 27
Abstract of Award
Washington, District Of Columbia
Primary: Matthew B Hamilton
(202) 687-5924
matthew.hamilton@georgetown.edu
Secondary: Martha Weiss
(202) 687-6549
weissm@georgetown.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: biology, biosciences, environmental science, public policy, ecology, population biology, mathematical modeling, climate change, geoscience
Comments: Program coordinator: Prof. Manus Patten, mmp64@georgetown.edu
Abstract of Award
Cofunded: Mathematical Sciences
Muskegon, Michigan
Primary: James McNair
616-331-3987
mcnairja@gvsu.edu
Secondary: Kevin Strychar
616-331-8796
strychak@gvsu.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: Biology, aquatic microbial ecology, carbon biogeochemistry, nutrient cycling, lake/stream metabolism, algal ecology, physiological/genetic determinants of animal behavior, crayfish behavior, ecologica
Abstract of Award
Petersham, Massachusetts
Primary: Aaron Ellison
978-724-3302
aellison@fas.harvard.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: biology, ecology, environmental, conservation, NEON
Comments: For general information and questions about the program, please email hfapps@fas.harvard.edu.
Abstract of Award
Toppenish, Washington
Primary: Nina Barcenas
509-865-0430
Barcenas_n@heritage.edu
Secondary: Kazuhiro Sonoda
509-865-8584
Sonoda_k@heritage.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: Microbiology, plant pathology, plant evolution, DNA barcoding, molecular ecology, fisheries biology
Comments: Coordinator/contact Nina Barcenas.
Abstract of Award
Arcata, California
Primary: Matthew Johnson
(707) 826-3218
mdj6@humboldt.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: biology, biosciences, natural resources, fisheries, wildlife, forestry, ecology, conservation, water
Abstract of Award
Bloomington, Indiana
Primary: Laura M. Hurley
lhurley@indiana.edu
Secondary: CISAB
(812) 855-9663
cisab@indiana.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: biology, animal behavior, psychology, anthropology, genetics, neuroscience
Comments: Point of contact: CISAB (812) 855-9663 cisab@indiana.edu
Abstract of Award
Cofunded: Social, Behavioral, and Economic Sciences, Ethics and Values Studies
Millbrook, New York
Primary: Alan Berkowitz
(845) 677-7600
berkowitza@caryinstitute.org
Research Topics/Keywords: biology, ecology, environmental, conservation, plant, soils
Comments: Please send inquiries to: caryreu@caryinstitute.org
Abstract of Award
Bar Harbor, Maine
Primary: Robert E.Braun
207-288-6841
bob.braun@jax.org
Research Topics/Keywords: Functional Genomics
Comments: Contact Lisa John, Training Coordinator, (207) 288-6924, summerstudents@jax.org
Abstract of Award
Johns Hopkins University
REU Site: Program in Nanotechnology for Biology and Bioengineering
Institute for NanoBioTechnology
Baltimore, Maryland
Primary: Denis Wirtz
(410) 516-8094
wirtz@jhu.edu
Secondary: Hai-Quan Mao
(410) 516-8792
hmao@jhu.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: nanobiotechnology, biotechnology, nanoparticles, nanotechnology, biology, biophysics, bioengineering, engineering, chemical engineering
Comments: Contact: Camille Bryant, cbryant@jhu.edu (410) 516-6572
Abstract of Award
Cofunded: Chemistry, Engineering
Johns Hopkins University
REU Site: Visualization of Macromolecules in Biological Research
Department of Biology
Baltimore, Maryland
Primary: Joel Schildbach
410-516-0176
joel@jhu.edu
Secondary: Michael McCaffery
(410)-516-3321
mccaffery@jhu.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: developmental biology, cell biology, biochemistry, biophysics, imaging, electron microscopy, fluorescence, NMR, microscopy,
Comments: Program Coordinator: Jessica Kastner, jess.kastner@jhu.edu; Program Administrator: Joan Miller, joan@jhu.edu
Abstract of Award
Cofunded: Chemistry
Kansas State University
REU Site: Ecology and Evolutionary Biology of Changing Environments: Integrating from Genomes to Biomes
Biology, Konza Praire Research Station, Ecological Genomics Institute
Manhattan, Kansas
Primary: Theodore Morgan
(785) 532-6126
biologyreu@ksu.edu
Secondary: Jesse Nippert
(785) 532-0114
biologyreu@ksu.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: Biology, Ecology, Evolution, Genomics, Changing Environments, Grassland
Comments: Program email is biologyreu@ksu.edu
Abstract of Award
Kettering University
REU Site: Utilizing Plants for Innovative Research (UPIR) - Cultivating the next generation of scientists and engineers
Chemistry, Biochemistry, Chemical Engineering & Applied Biology
Flint, Michigan
Primary: Lihua Wang
(810) 762-7917
lwang@kettering.edu
Secondary: James Cohen
(810) 249-4383
jcohen@kettering.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: biology, biosciences, plants, interdisciplinary, molecular biology, biochemistry, environmental studies, phylogenetics, chemistry, computational biology, material science, engineering
Abstract of Award
139 items found, displaying 21 to 40.[First/Prev] 1 2 3 4 5 [Next/Last]

 

Back to Top of page