Skip to main content
Email Print Share

REU Sites

REU Sites: Biological Sciences

APPLICATIONS: Students must contact the individual site or program to apply. NSF does not have application materials and does not select student participants.

ELIGIBILITY: Individual sites may have additional eligibility requirements (e.g., number of undergraduate years completed). Undergraduate student participants supported with NSF funds must be citizens or permanent residents of the United States or its possessions. High school graduates who have not yet enrolled, and students who have already received their bachelor's degrees, are not eligible.

ADDITIONAL INFORMATION: Click on the Title of the Site in the "Site Information" column to go to the homepage (if available) for that Site. Sites are ordered alphabetically by host institution. All Sites provide stipends, housing and meals, in addition to travel to and from the Site. This listing will change as new REU Site awards are made. Sites are added or deleted as decisions are made on awards, and the list is updated periodically. Clicking on a highlighted site title should direct you to the web page for more information on that program.

Please report errors in the list below by writing to reu.bio@nsf.gov.


Search Again

143 items found, displaying 41 to 60.[First/Prev] 1 2 3 4 5 [Next/Last]
Site Information Site Location Contact Information Additional Information
Kansas State University
REU Site: Ecology and Evolutionary Biology of Changing Environments: Integrating from Genomes to Biomes
Biology, Konza Praire Research Station, Ecological Genomics Institute
Manhattan, Kansas
Primary: Theodore Morgan
(785) 532-6126
biologyreu@ksu.edu
Secondary: Jesse Nippert
(785) 532-0114
biologyreu@ksu.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: Biology, Ecology, Evolution, Genomics, Changing Environments, Grassland
Comments: Program email is biologyreu@ksu.edu
Abstract of Award
Gambier, Ohio
Primary: Hewlet McFarlane
(740) 427-5375
McFarlaneh@Kenyon.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: biology, biosciences, neuroscience, behavior, brain
Abstract of Award
Kettering University
REU Site: Utilizing Plants for Innovative Research (UPIR) - Cultivating the next generation of scientists and engineers
Chemistry, Biochemistry, Chemical Engineering & Applied Biology
Flint, Michigan
Primary: Lihua Wang
(810) 762-7917
lwang@kettering.edu
Secondary: James Cohen
(810) 249-4383
jcohen@kettering.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: biology, biosciences, plants, interdisciplinary, molecular biology, biochemistry, environmental studies, phylogenetics, chemistry, computational biology, material science, engineering
Abstract of Award
New Orleans, Louisiana
Primary: Fern Tsien
(504) 568-2080
fmille@lsuhsc.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: biology, biosciences, genetics, biochemistry, neurosciences, microbiology
Comments: Tara Rodrigue, Coordinator email: trodr2@lsuhsc.edu
Abstract of Award
Woods Hole, Massachusetts
Primary: Allen Mensinger
(218) 726-7259
amensing@d.umn.edu
Secondary: Robert Malchow
(312) 413-1552
paulmalc@uic.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: biology, biosciences, neuroscience, physiology, animal behavior
Comments: please send inquires to NSFREU@mbl.edu
Abstract of Award
Cofunded: Ocean Sciences
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Primary: Allison Abbott
(414) 288-4422
allison.abbott@marquette.edu
Secondary: Edward Blumenthal
(414) 288-6270
edward.blumental@marquette.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: biology, biosciences
Comments: Point of Contact for this Program is Deborah Weaver, program secretary, deborah.weaver@marquette.edu.
Abstract of Award
Cofunded: Biological Sciences
Oxford, Ohio
Primary: Christopher A Makaroff
(513) 529-1659
makaroca@muohio.edu
Secondary: Carole Dabney-Smith
(513) 529-8091
adabney@miamioh.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: Chemistry
Abstract of Award
Cofunded: Biological Sciences
Miami University
REU Site: Ecology in Human-Dominated Landscapes
Department of Zoology
Oxford, Ohio
Primary: David Berg
(513) 785-3246
bergdj@miamioh.edu
Secondary: Ann Rypstra
(513) 785-3238
rypstral@miamioh.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: Landscapes, terrestrial and aquatic ecology, conservation, diversity, behavior
Comments: For specific questions or comments please email: ecoreu@muohio. edu.
Abstract of Award
Michigan State University
REU Site: Ecological and Evolutionary Dynamics in a Changing World
W.K. Kellogg Biological Station
Hickory Corners, Michigan
Primary: Katherine Gross
269-671-2341
kgross@kbs.msu.edu
Secondary: Danielle Zoellner
269-671-2171
zoellne8@msu.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: ecology, evolution, climate change, population dynamics, community assembly
Comments: Join a dynamic group of students and faculty at Kellogg Biological Station for an inspiring field research experience.
Abstract of Award
Michigan State University
REU Site: Plant Genomics at Michigan State University
Horticulture / Plant Biology / Biochemistry & Molecular Biology
East Lansing, Michigan
Primary: Cornelius Barry
517-884-6959
barrycs@msu.edu
Secondary: Robert Last
517-432-3278
lastr@msu.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: plant genomics, molecular genetics, biochemistry, chemistry, computational biology
Comments: Point of contact: Krystle Wiegert-Rininger, 517-884-6961, plantgen@msu.edu
Abstract of Award
Mississippi State University
REU Site: Undergraduate Research in Computational Biology at Mississippi State University
Computer Science and Engineering
Mississippi State, Mississippi
Primary: Andy Perkins
(662) 325-0004
perkins@cse.msstate.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: biology, biosciences, computational biology, genomics
Abstract of Award
Cofunded: Computer and Information Science and Engineering
St. Louis, Missouri
Primary: Wendy Applequist
(314) 577-0267
wendy.applequist@mobot.org
Secondary: Peter Hoch
(314) 577-5175
peter.hoch@mobot.org
Research Topics/Keywords: biology, biosciences, botany, ecology, conservation, taxonomy, systematics, genetics, evolution, ethnobotany, restoration, pollination, morphology, biodiversity
Comments: Contact Wendy Applequist
Abstract of Award
Salisbury Cove, Maine
Primary: Paulyn Cartwright
(785) 864-4432
pcart@ku.edu
Secondary: Robert Morris
(508) 286-3953
morris_robert@wheatoncollege.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: biology, comparative approaches, regeneration, genomics, genetics, cell biology, environmental biology
Comments: Primary contact - Jane Disney, jdisney@mdibl.org, (207) 288-9880 ext. 125
Abstract of Award
New York University
REU Site in Neural Science
Center for Neural Science
New York, New York
Primary: Chiye Aoki
212-998-3929
ca3@nyu.edu
Secondary: Administrator of Student Affairs
212-998-7779
surp@cns.nyu.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: biology, neuroscience, psychology
Abstract of Award
Raleigh, North Carolina
Primary: Sabrina Robertson
(919) 513-0330
sedought@ncsu.edu
Secondary: Carlos Goller
(919) 513-4135
ccgoller@ncsu.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: biology, biosciences, sequencing, bioinformatics, microbiology, virology, neuroscience, epigenetics
Abstract of Award
North Carolina State University
REU Site: Integrative Molecular Plant Systems
Plant and Microbial Biology
Raleigh, North Carolina
Primary: Susan Carson
(919) 515-3803
sdcarson@ncsu.edu
Secondary: Amy Grunden
(919) 513-4295
amy_grunden@ncsu.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: biology, biosciences, plant biology, molecular biology, genetic engineering, biofuels, sustainable agriculture, biotechnology, systems biology, bioinformatics, plant pathology
Comments: Imara Perera, Assistant Director, iperera@ncsu.edu
Abstract of Award
Boston, Massachusetts
Primary: Wendy Smith
617-373-2600
w.smith@neu.edu
Secondary: Rebeca Rosengaus
617-373-7032
r.rosengaus@neu.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: Biology, interdisciplinary, development, regeneration, damage response, immunity
Abstract of Award
Flagstaff, Arizona
Primary: Amy Whipple
(928) 523-8727
amy.whipple@nau.edu
Secondary: Ted Martinez
(928) 523-3383
Theodore.Martinez@nau.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: biology, environmental science, chemistry, geology, forestry, environmental engineering
Comments: For program detail, please contact to Dr.Ted Martinez, (928) 523-3383, Theodore.Martinez@nau.edu
Abstract of Award
Cofunded: Chemistry
Ohio State University
REU Site: Next Generation Evolutionary Biology
Evolution, Ecology, and Organismal Biology
Columbus, Ohio
Primary: Marymegan Daly
(614) 247-8412
daly.66@osu.edu
Secondary: Bryan Cartsens
(614) 292-6587
carstens.12@osu.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: biology, biosciences, evolution, DNA, bioinformatics
Abstract of Award
Ohio State University
REU Site: Research Opportunities in Molecular Biology at Ohio State University
Molecular Genetics; Chemistry and Biochemistry; Micribiology
Columbus, Ohio
Primary: Susan Cole
(614) 292-3276
cole.354@osu.edu
Secondary: Jane Jackman
(614) 247-8097
jackman.14@osu.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: biology, biosciences, genetics, genomics, biochemistry, microbiology, developmental biology, model organisms, RNA biology, structural biology
Comments: emails to mgreu@osu.edu will reach the program administrator (Debbie Dotter)
Abstract of Award
143 items found, displaying 41 to 60.[First/Prev] 1 2 3 4 5 [Next/Last]

 

Back to Top of page