Skip to main content
Email Print Share

REU Sites

REU Sites: Biological Sciences

APPLICATIONS: Students must contact the individual site or program to apply. NSF does not have application materials and does not select student participants.

ELIGIBILITY: Individual sites may have additional eligibility requirements (e.g., number of undergraduate years completed). Undergraduate student participants supported with NSF funds must be citizens or permanent residents of the United States or its possessions. High school graduates who have not yet enrolled, and students who have already received their bachelor's degrees, are not eligible.

ADDITIONAL INFORMATION: Click on the Title of the Site in the "Site Information" column to go to the homepage (if available) for that Site. Sites are ordered alphabetically by host institution. All Sites provide stipends, housing and meals, in addition to travel to and from the Site. This listing will change as new REU Site awards are made. Sites are added or deleted as decisions are made on awards, and the list is updated periodically. Clicking on a highlighted site title should direct you to the web page for more information on that program. A link is also provided to allow you to view the geographic distribution of the programs (this link will take you to the Google Maps website). http://maps.google.com/maps/ms?msa=0&msid=201385854811463249384.0004a7f203de1eb115e18&hl=en&ie=UTF8&ll=38.788345,-96.811523&spn=26.927165,74.311523&z=5

REU Alumni: Please note the following opportunities: (1) Graduate Research Fellowship (GRF: http://www.nsfgrfp.org); (2) Graduate student summer experience abroad: East Asia Pacific Summer Institute Program (EAPSI: http://nsfsi.org/); and (3) Travel funds to present your REU project (http://www.bioreu.org).

Please report errors in the list below by writing to reu.bio@nsf.gov.


Search Again

139 items found, displaying 61 to 80.[First/Prev] 2 3 4 5 6 [Next/Last]
Site Information Site Location Contact Information Additional Information
West Lafayette, Indiana
Primary: James Forney
(765) 494-1632
forney@purdue.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: Biology, enzyme mechanisms, cell cycle, chromatin, sumoylation, proteomics, protein biochemistry, metabolic pathways
Comments: Questions may be directed to Jim Forney (forney@purdue.edu) or Sherry Pogranichniy (spograni@purdue.edu)
Abstract of Award
Houston, Texas
Primary: Jonathan Silberg
(713) 348-3849
joff@rice.edu
Secondary: George Bennett
(713) 348-4920
gbennett@rice.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: biology, biosciences, biomolecules, cell biology, ecology, evolution, physical biology, quantitatie biology, systems biology, synthetic biology
Comments: Kimberly M'Carver, kimberly@rice.edu; 713 348 6034
Abstract of Award
Gothic, Colorado
Primary: Ian Billick
970-349-7231
director@rmbl.org
Secondary: Jennifer Reithel
970 349 1288
sd@rmbl.org
Research Topics/Keywords: field research, ecology, evolutionary biology, ecological genomics
Comments: For questions about the program, contact Dr. Jennifer Reithel, sd@rmbl.org
Abstract of Award
Rutgers University - Camden
REU Site: Computational Biology Summer Research Experience at Rutgers
Center for Computational and Integrative Biology
Camden, New Jersey
Primary: Benedetto Piccoli
(856) 225-6356
piccoli@camden.rutgers.edu
Secondary: Joseph Martin
(856) 225-6165
joe.martin@rutgers.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: Biology, Biosciences, Computer Science, Computational Biology, Developmental Biology, Systems Biology, Ecosystem Studies, Plant Biology,
Comments: Karen Taylor: kdt41@camden.rutgers.edu
Abstract of Award
Camden, New Jersey
Primary: Heike Bucking
856.225.6590
bucking@camden.rutgers.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: Ecology, botany, neuroscience, zoology, biochemistry, and analytical chemistry
Abstract of Award
Cofunded: Biological Sciences
Birmingham, Alabama
Primary: Rita Fincher
(205) 726-2928
rmfinche@samford.edu
Secondary: Betsy Dobbins
(205) 726-2937
egdobbin@samford.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: Ecology, Population biology, Botany, Geography, Plant chemistry, Molcular biology, Cell biology, Pathogenesis
Abstract of Award
Sanford Research in collaboration with Augustana College
REU Site in Cellular and Molecular Biology at Sanford Research and Augustana College
Children's Health Research Center/Department of Biology
Sioux Falls, South Dakota
Primary: David Pearce
605-312-6073
David.Pearce@sanfordhealth.org
Secondary: Seasson Vitiello
605-274-5525
Seasson.Vitiello@augie.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: cell biology, molecular biology, protein, DNA, RNA, bioinformatics, genomics, biochemistry, genetics, chemistry, cell signaling, cell stress, model systems
Comments: For specific questions or comments please email REU@sanfordhealth.org or call 605-312-6590.
Abstract of Award
San Francisco, California
Primary: Carmen Domingo
(415) 338-6995
cdomingo@sfsu.ed
Secondary: Sarah Cohen
(415) 338-3750
sarahcoh@sfsu.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: ecology, evolution, developmental biology
Comments: Ms. Barbara Ford, nsfreu@sfsu.edu
Abstract of Award
San Jose, California
Primary: Miri VanHoven
(408) 924-4845
miri.vanhoven@sjsu.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: Genetics, Cell Biology, Microbiology, Physiology, Forensics
Abstract of Award
Edgewater, Maryland
Primary: John Parker
443-482-2221
parkerj@si.edu
Secondary: Anson Hines
443-482-2208
hinesa@si.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: climate change, biological invasions, biodiversity and ecosystem function, environmental education, biogeochemistry, Chesapeake Bay, global change ecology, forest ecology, marine ecology, estuarine ec
Comments: Fellowship Coordinator: Dan Gustafson, gustafsond@si.edu, 443-482-2217
Abstract of Award
Panama City, Panama
Primary: W. Owen McMillan
507-212-8299
mcmillano@si.edu
Secondary: Ana K. Spalding
507-212-8281
spaldinga@si.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: Tropical biodiversity, Biology, Ecology, Chemistry, Computer Science, Math, adaptation, resilience, ecosystem change
Abstract of Award
South Dakota State University
REU Site: Interdisciplinary Undergraduate Reserach Experiences on Bioenergy
Biology and Microbiology, Plant Science, Agriculture and Biosystems Engineering, Geospatial Sciences
Brookings, South Dakota
Primary: Heike Bucking
605 688 5463
heike.bucking@sdstate.edu
Secondary: Jose Gonzalez
605-688-6907
jose.gonzalez@sdstate.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: Bioenergy, Feedstock Genomics, Microbiology, Environmental Sustainability, Biotechnology, Societal and economic impacts of bioenergy
Abstract of Award
Texas A&M AgriLife Research / Texas A&M University
REU Site - Summer Undergraduate Research Program in Biochemistry
Biochemistry and Biophysics
College Station, Texas
Primary: Gary Kunkel
979-845-6257
g-kunkel@tamu.edu
Secondary: Mary Bryk
979-862-2294
bryk@tamu.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: biochemistry/molecular biology/genomics/proteomics/enzymology/structural biology/gene expression/membrane structure/developmental biology
Comments: coordinators are the PI and co-PI
Abstract of Award
Cofunded: Chemistry
The College of Wooster, Ohio Wesleyan University, Kenyon College, Earlham College
REU Site: A Distributed Network of Neuroscience Scholars
Biology, Chemistry, Psychology
Wooster, Delaware, Gambier, Richmond, Ohio
Primary: Amy Jo Stavnezer
(330) 263-2215
ajstavnezer@wooster.edu
Secondary: Jennifer R. Yates
(740) 368-3814
jryates@owu.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: biology, biosciences, neuroscience, behavior, brain
Abstract of Award
The Ohio State University
REU Site: Research Opportunities in Molecular Biology at Ohio State University
Molecular Genetics; Chemistry and Biochemistry; Micribiology
Columbus, Ohio
Primary: Susan Cole
(614) 292-3276
cole.354@osu.edu
Secondary: Jane Jackman
(614) 247-8097
jackman.14@osu.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: biology, biosciences, genetics, genomics, biochemistry, microbiology, developmental biology, model organisms, RNA biology, structural biology
Comments: emails to mgreu@osu.edu will reach the program administrator (Debbie Dotter)
Abstract of Award
The Ohio State University
REU Site: Next Generation Evolutionary Biology
Evolution, Ecology, and Organismal Biology
Columbus, Ohio
Primary: Marymegan Daly
(614) 247-8412
daly.66@osu.edu
Secondary: Bryan Cartsens
(614) 292-6587
carstens.12@osu.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: biology, biosciences, evolution, DNA, bioinformatics
Abstract of Award
The Scripps Research Institute, California Campus
REU Site: Scripps Structure and Function Summer Institute (SFSI)
Doctoral Program in Chemical and Biological Sciences
La Jolla, California
Primary: James Williamson
858.784.8740
jrwill@scripps.edu
Secondary: Dawn Eastmond
858.784.2872
eastmond@scripps.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: chemistry, immunology, computational bioogy, neuroscience, biophysics, chemical biology, microbiology, bioinformatics, cell biology, genetics, and structural biology
Abstract of Award
The Scripps Research Institute - Jupiter
REU Site: SURFing the Interface between Chemistry and Biology
Cancer Biology, Chemistry, Infectious Disease, Metabolism and Aging, Molecular Therapeutics, Neurosc
Jupiter, Florida
Primary: Katrin Karbstein
561 228 3210
kkarbst@scripps.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: Chemical Biology, Biochemistry, Neuroscience,
Comments: Deborah Leach-Scampavia, leach@scripps.edu, 561 228 2003
Abstract of Award
The University of Iowa
REU Site: Microbiology at The University of Iowa
Microbiology
Iowa City, Iowa
Primary: David Weiss
(319) 335-7785
david-weiss@uiowa.edu
Secondary: Linda McCarter
(319) 335-9721
linda-mccarter@uiowa.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: biology, biosciences, microbiology, virology, immunology, bacteria, genetics, biochemistry
Comments: undergrad-micro-info@uiowa.edu
Abstract of Award
The University of Tennessee
REU Site: Microbial community interactions and functions
Microbiology
Knoxville, Tennessee
Primary: Steven Wilhelm
865-974-0665
wilhelm@utk.edu
Secondary: Erik Zinser
865-974-9283
ezinser@utk.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: microbiology, molecular ecology, microbial communities, microbial biochemistry
Comments: Program is managed by Dr Gary LeCleir
Abstract of Award
139 items found, displaying 61 to 80.[First/Prev] 2 3 4 5 6 [Next/Last]

 

Back to Top of page