Skip to main content
Email Print Share

REU Sites

REU Sites: Biological Sciences

APPLICATIONS: Students must contact the individual site or program to apply. NSF does not have application materials and does not select student participants.

ELIGIBILITY: Individual sites may have additional eligibility requirements (e.g., number of undergraduate years completed). Undergraduate student participants supported with NSF funds must be citizens or permanent residents of the United States or its possessions. High school graduates who have not yet enrolled, and students who have already received their bachelor's degrees, are not eligible.

ADDITIONAL INFORMATION: Click on the Title of the Site in the "Site Information" column to go to the homepage (if available) for that Site. Sites are ordered alphabetically by host institution. All Sites provide stipends, housing and meals, in addition to travel to and from the Site. This listing will change as new REU Site awards are made. Sites are added or deleted as decisions are made on awards, and the list is updated periodically. Clicking on a highlighted site title should direct you to the web page for more information on that program. A link is also provided to allow you to view the geographic distribution of the programs (this link will take you to the Google Maps website). http://maps.google.com/maps/ms?msa=0&msid=201385854811463249384.0004a7f203de1eb115e18&hl=en&ie=UTF8&ll=38.788345,-96.811523&spn=26.927165,74.311523&z=5

REU Alumni: Please note the following opportunities: (1) Graduate Research Fellowship (GRF: http://www.nsfgrfp.org); (2) Graduate student summer experience abroad: East Asia Pacific Summer Institute Program (EAPSI: http://nsfsi.org/); and (3) Travel funds to present your REU project (http://www.bioreu.org).

Please report errors in the list below by writing to reu.bio@nsf.gov.


Search Again

147 items found, displaying 81 to 100.[First/Prev] 3 4 5 6 7 [Next/Last]
Site Information Site Location Contact Information Additional Information
The Ohio State University
REU Site: Next Generation Evolutionary Biology
Evolution, Ecology, and Organismal Biology
Columbus, Ohio
Primary: Marymegan Daly
(614) 247-8412
daly.66@osu.edu
Secondary: Bryan Cartsens
(614) 292-6587
carstens.12@osu.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: biology, biosciences, evolution, DNA, bioinformatics
Abstract of Award
The Scripps Research Institute, California Campus
REU Site: Scripps Structure and Function Summer Institute (SFSI)
Doctoral Program in Chemical and Biological Sciences
La Jolla, California
Primary: James Williamson
858.784.8740
jrwill@scripps.edu
Secondary: Dawn Eastmond
858.784.2872
eastmond@scripps.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: chemistry, immunology, computational bioogy, neuroscience, biophysics, chemical biology, microbiology, bioinformatics, cell biology, genetics, and structural biology
Abstract of Award
The Scripps Research Institute - Jupiter
REU Site: SURFing the Interface between Chemistry and Biology
Chemistry, Immunology and Microbiology, Molecular Medicine, Neuroscience, Integrative Structural
Jupiter, Florida
Primary: Katrin Karbstein
(561) 228-3210
kkarbst@scripps.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: biology, biosciences, Chemical Biology, Biochemistry, Neuroscience
Comments: Rosie Albarran-Zeckler, Rzeckler@scripps.edu, (561)-228-2994
Abstract of Award
The University of Iowa
REU Site: Microbiology at The University of Iowa
Microbiology
Iowa City, Iowa
Primary: David Weiss
(319) 335-7785
david-weiss@uiowa.edu
Secondary: Linda McCarter
(319) 335-9721
linda-mccarter@uiowa.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: biology, biosciences, microbiology, virology, immunology, bacteria, genetics, biochemistry
Comments: undergrad-micro-info@uiowa.edu
Abstract of Award
The University of Tennessee
REU Site: Microbial community interactions and functions
Microbiology
Knoxville, Tennessee
Primary: Steven Wilhelm
(865) 974-0665
glecleir@utk.edu
Secondary: Gary LeCleir
(865) 974-4014
glecleir@utk.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: biology, biosciences, microbiology, molecular ecology, microbial communities, microbial biochemistry
Comments: Program is managed by Dr Gary LeCleir
Abstract of Award
The Wadsworth Center
REU Site: Networking Basic Research for Biological Discovery
New York State Department of Health
Albany, New York
Primary: Sam Bowser
518-473-3856
bowser@wadsworth.org
Secondary: Mathew Kohn
matthew.kohn@health.ny.gov
Research Topics/Keywords: Molecular Genetics, Cell Biology, Structural and Computational Biology, Environmental Sciences
Comments: Mathew Kohn, Program Coordinator
Abstract of Award
Medford, Massachusetts
Primary: Philip Starks
(617) 627-4849
philip.starks@tufts.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: biology, biosciences, biochemistry, genetics, development, endocrinology, neurobiology, behavior, ecology, and conservation
Abstract of Award
Medford, Massachusetts
Primary: Kyongbum Lee
(617) 627-4323
kyongbum.lee@tufts.edu
Secondary: Daniel Ryder
(617) 627-3446
daniel.ryder@tufts.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: biology, biosciences, bioengineering, data science, computational design, systems biology, microbiome, stem cells
Abstract of Award
Cofunded: Engineering, Cyberinfrastructure
Tuskegee, Alabama
Primary: Olga Bolden-Tiller
334-727-8403
obtiller@mytu.tuskegee.edu
Secondary: Deloris Alexander
334-552-0690
dalexander@mytu.tuskegee.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: Integrative Biosciences, Biology, Bioinformatics, Animal, Plant, Soil, Environment
Comments: Program Contact: Ms. Marilyn Hooks - mhooks@mytu.tuskegee.edu - 334-727-8453
Abstract of Award
Bismarck, North Dakota
Primary: Jeremy Guinn
701-255-3285 x1458
jguinn@uttc.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: Ecology, Northern Plains, Reservations, Tribal Colleges, Grasslands
Abstract of Award
Univeristy of Idaho
REU Site: Molecular and Organismal Evolution
Bioloiglcal Sciences
Moscow, Idaho
Primary: David Pfeiffer
208-885-4109
dpfeiffer@uidaho.edu
Secondary: Douglas Cole
208-885-4071
dcole@uidaho.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: Biology, Evolution
Abstract of Award
Fayetteville, Arkansas
Primary: Michelle Evans-White
(479) 575-4706
mevanswh@uark.edu
Secondary: Marty Matlock
(479) 575-2849
mmatlock@uark.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: biology, biosciences, ecology, sustainability, environmental sciences, natural resources
Comments: Program coordinator: Michelle Evans-White
Abstract of Award
University of California at Santa Cruz
REU Site: Biological impacts of climate change: testing hypotheses with collections and long-term data
Ecology and Evolutionary Biology
Santa Cruz,
Primary: Barry Sinervo
831-295-4692
lizardrps@gmail.com
Secondary: Laurel Fox
831-459-2533
fox@ucsc.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: climate change, community ecology, curation, modeling, GIS, behavior, ecophysiology
Comments: Coordinator: Barry Sinervo
Abstract of Award
University of California Berkeley
REU site: Integrative Biology at UC Berkeley, from Molecules to Ecosystems
Host department: Integrative Biology / 13 participating departments
Berkeley, California
Primary: Hayes, Tyrone
510-643-1055
tyrone@berkeley.edu
Secondary: Weisblat, David
(510) 642-8309
weisblat@berkeley.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: Integrative Biology Evolution, Development
Comments: contact: reuapplic@lists.berkeley.edu
Abstract of Award
University of California Riverside
REU Site: Research Experiences for Undergraduates in Plant and Plant Cell Biology
Plant Pathology and Microbiology
Riverside, California
Primary: Thomas Eulgem
951-827-7740
thomas.eulgem@ucr.edu
Secondary: Howard S Judelson
951-827-4199
howard.judelson@ucr.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: biology, plants, plant pathogens, cell biology, molecular biology, genomics, botany, microbiology
Abstract of Award
University of California San Francisco, Medical Center
REU Site in Molecular Biosciences
All Departments
San Francisco, California
Primary: Carol Gross
415-476-4161
cgrossucsf@gmail.com
Secondary: Hana El Samad
415-476-2596
helsamad@gmail.com
Research Topics/Keywords: Genetics/Genomics, Biochemistry, cell biology, systems/synthetic biology; bioengineering
Comments: julia.clark@ucsf.edu
Abstract of Award
Edmond, Oklahoma
Primary: John Barthell
(405) 974-3371
jbarthell@uco.edu
Secondary: Charles Abramson
(405) 744-7492
charles.abramson@okstate.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: biology, biosciences, bees, behavior, integrative, international, pollination, ecology, Turkey, Greece
Comments: Please contact Ms. Lisa Kern at lkern@uco.edu or (405) 974-5150 for questions about the program; she will contact the appropriate Senior Personnel member for information to assist you.
Abstract of Award
Cofunded: International Science and Engineering
University of Chicago
REU Site in Molecular Genetics & Cell Biology at The University of Chicago
Molecular Genetics and Cell Biology
Chicago, Illinois
Primary: Aaron Turkewitz
(773) 702-4374
apturkew@uchicago.edu
Secondary: Lucia B Rothman-Denes
(773) 702-1083
lbrd@uchicago.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: mechanisms underlying molecular, cellular and developmental biology
Comments: Catherine Will (cwill@bsd.uchicago.edu)
Abstract of Award
University of Cincinnati
New REU Site: Sensory Ecology: An Integrative Approach
Biological Sciences
Cincinnati, Ohio
Primary: George Uetz
(513) 556-9752
ken.petren@uc.edu
Secondary: uetzgw@ucmail.uc.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: Behavior, population biology, field research, neurobiology, ethology, genetics
Comments: Charmaine Mitchell, program coordinator, 513-556-9750
Abstract of Award
University of Colorado Boulder
REU Site: Achieving heightened goals- Undergraduates Research in Ecology at the Mountain Research Station
Institute of Arctic and Alpine Research, Mountain Research Station
Boulder, Colorado
Primary: William Bowman
303-492-2557
william.bowman@colorado.edu
Secondary: Michael Breed
303-492-7687
michael.breed@colorado.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: Biology, ecology, evolution, behavior
Abstract of Award
147 items found, displaying 81 to 100.[First/Prev] 3 4 5 6 7 [Next/Last]

 

Back to Top of page