Email Print Share

REU Sites

REU Sites: Biological Sciences

APPLICATIONS: Students must contact the individual site or program to apply. NSF does not have application materials and does not select student participants.

ELIGIBILITY: Individual sites may have additional eligibility requirements (e.g., number of undergraduate years completed). Undergraduate student participants supported with NSF funds must be citizens or permanent residents of the United States or its possessions. High school graduates who have not yet enrolled, and students who have already received their bachelor's degrees, are not eligible.

ADDITIONAL INFORMATION: Click on the Title of the Site in the "Site Information" column to go to the homepage (if available) for that Site. Sites are ordered alphabetically by host institution. All Sites provide stipends, housing and meals, in addition to travel to and from the Site. This listing will change as new REU Site awards are made. Sites are added or deleted as decisions are made on awards, and the list is updated periodically. Clicking on a highlighted site title should direct you to the web page for more information on that program.

Please report errors in the list below by writing to reu.bio@nsf.gov.


Search Again

Show 30 items per page.
REU Sites
Site Information Site Location Contact Information Additional Information
Alabama State University
REU Site: Nanobioengineering
Biological Sciences
Montgomery, Alabama
Primary: Komal Vig
(334) 229-5132
komalvig@alasu.edu
Secondary: Shree Singh
(334) 229-4168
ssingh@alasu.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: Biology, Biosciences, Biomedical Engineering, Chemistry, Physics
REU Site: NanobioengineeringAbstract of Award
American Museum of Natural History
REU SITE: Systematics and Evolutionary Biology for the 21st Century
Richard Gilder Graduate School
New York, New York
Primary: Mark Siddall
212-769-5638
siddall@amnh.org
Secondary: Susan Perkins
212-313-7646
perkins@amnh.org
Research Topics/Keywords: evolution, systematics, phylogenetics, taxonomy, genomics, conservation genetics, paleontology, morphology
REU SITE: Systematics and Evolutionary Biology for the 21st CenturyAbstract of Award
Auburn University
REU Site: Warm-water aquatic ecology
Fisheries, Aquaculture, and Aquatic Sciences
Auburn, Alabama
Primary: Alan Wilson
(334) 246-1120
wilson@auburn.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: biology, biosciences, ecology, limnology, fisheries management, evolution, molecular biology, microbiology, invasive species, behavior, statistics, restoration, modeling, hydrology, remote sensing
REU Site: Warm-water aquatic ecologyAbstract of Award
Auburn, Alabama
Primary: Leslie Goertzen
(334) 844-1637
goertzen@auburn.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: biology, biosciences, bioinformatics, genomics, big data, computational biology
REU Site: Diversifying Undergraduate Participation in Computational BiologyAbstract of Award
Chestnut Hill, Massachusetts
Primary: Kenneth Burch
(617) 552-3575
ks.burch@bc.edu
Secondary: Laura Anne Lowery
(617) 552-3540
laura.lowery@bc.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: biology, biosciences, neuroscience, physics, energy, mathematics, chemistry, quantum computation, nanoscience, materials science, optics, microscopy
REU Site: Integrated Science For Society (IS2)Abstract of Award
Cofunded: Chemistry
Boston, Massachusetts
Primary: Gary Benson
(617) 358-2965
gbenson@bu.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: biology, biosciences, bioinformatics, computational biology
Comments: Coordinator: Caroline Lyman, 617-358-2036, clyman@bu.edu
REU Site: Bioinformatics Research and Interdisciplinary Training Experience in Analysis and Interpretation of Information-Rich Biological Data Sets (REU-BRITE)Abstract of Award
Boston, Massachusetts
Primary: Thomas Gilmore
(617) 353-2020
gilmore@bu.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: Biology; Genes: Environment; Genomics; Molecular Biology; Environmental Studies; Evolution
Comments: Tina Fresta, urop@bu.edu, 617-353-2020
REU Site: Control of Gene Expression for Biological EffectAbstract of Award
Cofunded: Department of Defense (DoD)
Boyce Thompson Institute
REU Site: Plant Genome Research
Ithaca, New York
Primary: Georg Jander
(607) 254-1365
gj32@cornell.edu
Secondary: Jian Hua
(607) 255-5554
jh299@cornell.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: plant, genomics, genetics, biochemistry, moleular biology, cell biology, bioinformatics, breeding
Comments: The program coordinator is Delanie Sickler, who can be reached at pgrp-ourtreach@cornell.edu or 607-254-6732.
REU Site: Plant Genome ResearchAbstract of Award
Waltham, Massachusetts
Primary: Susan Lovett
(781) 736-2497
lovett@brandeis.edu
Secondary: Suzanne Paradis
(781) 736-2121
paradis@brandeis.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: cell biology, molecular biology, genetics, neuroscience, microscopy
Comments: Coordinator Jessica Maryott, contact at: jmaryott@brandeis.edu
REU site: Cell and Molecular Visualization at Brandeis UniversityAbstract of Award
California Academy of Sciences
REU Site: Biodiversity science in the Summer Systematics Institute at the California Academy of Sciences
Institute for Biodiversity Science and Sustainability
San Francisco, California
Primary: Rich Mooi
415-379-5270
ssi-bi@calacademy.org
Research Topics/Keywords: phylogenetics, biodiversity, evolutionary biology, molecular systematics, museums, collections, sustainability, conservation
Comments: Coordinator: Christina Cordova, ssi-bi@calacademy.org
REU Site: Biodiversity science in the Summer Systematics Institute at the California Academy of SciencesAbstract of Award
Mount Pleasant, Michigan
Primary: Deric Learman
(989) 774-4409
deric.learman@cmich.edu
Secondary: Kevin Pangle
(989) 774-2577
pangl1k@cmich.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: biosciences, aquatic biology, freshwater biology, ecology, molecular biology, microbiology, fisheries, and environmental sciences
Comments: Jessia Lapp (program coordinator) (989)774-4401, jessica.lapp@cmich.edu
REU Site: Great Lakes ecosystem research to build foundations for successful STEM futuresAbstract of Award
Glencoe, Illinois
Primary: Andrea Kramer
(847) 835-6971
akramer@chicagobotanic.org
Secondary: Jeremie Fant
(847) 835-5969
jfant@chicagobotanic.org
Research Topics/Keywords: Ecosystem; Ecology; Evolution; Conservation; Biodiversity; Systematics
"REU Site: Plant Biology and Conservation Research Experiences for Undergraduates--FromAbstract of Award
City College of New York
REU Site: Research and Training in Biochemistry, Biophysics and Biodesign (B3) for Undergraduates
Chemistry, Biology, Physics, Biomedical Engineering and Chemical Engineering
New York, New York
Primary: David Jeruzalmi
(212) 650-6062
dj@ccny.cuny.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: biology, biosciences, biochemistry, biophysics, biodesign
REU Site: Research and Training in Biochemistry, Biophysics and Biodesign (B3) for UndergraduatesAbstract of Award
Cofunded: Chemistry
Atlanta, Georgia
Primary: David Logan
(404) 880-6830
dlogan@cau.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: gnomics, computational biology, epigenetics, bioinformatics, systems biology
REU Site: Collaborative Research: Genomics and Computational BiologyAbstract of Award
Clemson, South Carolina
Primary: Victoria Corbin
(864) 656-1634
vcorbin@clemson.edu
Secondary: Michael Sears
(864) 506-5174
sears3@clemson.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: biology, genetics, genomics, cell biology, developmental biology, microbiology, ecology, evolution, computational biology
Comments: For questions/comments please email: vcorbin@clemson.edu
REU site: Undergraduate Research in Biological Sciences: From Genomes to Phenomes--exploring function across scalesAbstract of Award
Clemson, South Carolina
Primary: Joshua Alper
(864) 656-2502
alper@clemson.edu
Secondary: Hugo Sanabria
(864) 656-1749
hsanabr@clemson.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: biosciences, biophysics, bioengineering, physics, chemistry, biology, materials science
Comments: please contact the program administrator: Celestť Hackett Undergraduate Student Services Coordinator 118 Kinard Laboratory Clemson University Clemson, SC 29631-0978 Phone: 864-656-3418 Email: c
REU Site: Nature's machinery through the prism of physics, biology, chemistry and engineeringAbstract of Award
Cold Spring Harbor Laboratory
"REU Site: CSHL NSF-REU Bioinformatics and Computational Neuroscience
Watson School of Biological Sciences
Cold Spring Harbor, New York
Primary: Jesse Gillis
(516) 422-4041
JGillis@cshl.edu
Secondary: Chris Hammell
(516) 367-5207
chammell@cshl.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: biology, biosciences, neuroscience, computational biology, computational neuroscience, quantitative biology, bioinformatics, genomics, systems neuroscience
Comments: Program coordinater: Kimberly Creteur, kcreteur@cshl.edu, urpadmin@cshl.edu
"REU Site: CSHL NSF-REU Bioinformatics and Computational NeuroscienceAbstract of Award
College of Charleston
REU Site: Resilience and Response of Marine Organisms to Environmental Change
Biology, Grice Marine Laboratory
Charleston, South Carolina
Primary: Robert Podolsky
(843) 953-9186
reu@cofc.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: biosciences, marine biology,ocean sciences, environmental change, ecology, evolution, organismal biology, microbial ecology, physiology, toxicology, pollution, biochemistry
Comments: Program contact: Katie Hiott, reu@cofc.edu, 843-953-9200
REU Site: Resilience and Response of Marine Organisms to Environmental ChangeAbstract of Award
Wooster, Ohio
Primary: Amy Stavnezer
(330) 263-2215
ajstavnezer@wooster.edu
Secondary: Jennifer Yates
(740) 368-3814
jryates@owu.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: biology, biosciences, neuroscience, behavior, brain
Collaborative Research: REU Site: A Distributed Network of Neuroscience ScholarsAbstract of Award
Colorado State University
REU Site: Program in Molecular Biosciences
Biochemistry and Molecular Biology
Fort Collins, Colorado
Primary: Thomas Santangelo
(970) 491-3150
thomas.santangelo@colostate.edu
Secondary: Paul J Laybourn
(970) 491-5100
Paul.Laybourn@ColoState.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: biosciences, cell biology, molecular biology, microbiology, biophysics, structural biology, neurobiology, nutrition, physiology, developmental biology, genetics, marine biology, bioinformatics
Comments: Program Coordinator: Stasi Brazil-Engleman Email:†Stasi.Brazil-Engleman@ColoState.edu Phone: (970) 491-5602
REU Site: Program in Molecular BiosciencesAbstract of Award
Cornell University
REU site: Molecular Biology and Genetics of Cell Signaling
Molecular Biology and Genetics
Ithaca, New York
Primary: Volker Vogt
(607) 255-2443
VMV1@cornell.edu
Secondary: Kelly Liu
(607) 254-8942
JL53@cornell.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: biology, biosciences, cell biology, biochemistry, biophysics, genetics, development
Comments: The administrative manager of this program is Anne Dunford, Senior Director, Dept of MBG, ad20@cornell.edu
REU site: Molecular Biology and Genetics of Cell SignalingAbstract of Award
Brooklyn, New York
Primary: Tony Wilson
(718) 951-5000
twilson@brooklyn.cuny.edu
Secondary: Brett Branco
(718) 951-5000
bbranco@brooklyn.cuny.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: biology, biosciences, urban ecology, environmental science, human-coupled natural systems, aquatic research
Comments: Program contact: buee@brooklyn.cuny.edu
REU Site: Brooklyn Urban Ecology and Environment Program (BUEE)Abstract of Award
Donald Danforth Plant Science Center
REU Site: Research Experiences in Plant Science at the Danforth Center
Education Outreach
St. Louis, Missouri
Primary: Sona Pandey
(314) 587-1471
spandey@danforthcenter.org
Secondary: Chris Topp
ctopp@danforthcenter.org
Research Topics/Keywords: biology, biosciences, bioinformatics, plant biology, genomics
Comments: Program email: internship@danforthcenter.org
REU Site: Research Experiences in Plant Science at the Danforth CenterAbstract of Award
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Primary: Allyson O'Donnell
(412) 396-4356
odonne15@duq.edu
Secondary: Sarah Woodley
(412) 396-6320
woodleys@duq.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: biology, biosciences, interdisciplinary research, molecular biology, neuroscience, microbiomes, biochemistry, evolutionary biology.
Comments: Phillip Clarke, Program Coordinator (412-396-4172, clarkep1736@duq.edu)
REU Site: Interdisciplinary biological sciences research and community engaged learning experiences for undergraduatesAbstract of Award
Richmond, Illinois
Primary: Robert Rosenberg
(765) 983-1464
rosenbo@earlham.edu
Secondary: Beth Mechlin
(765) 983-1431
mechlbe@earlham.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: biology, biosciences, neuroscience, behavior, brain
Collaborative Research: REU Site: A Distributed Network of Neuroscience ScholarsAbstract of Award
Eastern Kentucky University
REU Site: Disturbance Ecology in Central Appalachia
Department of Biological Sciences
Richmond, Kentucky
Primary: David Brown
(859) 622-2283
david.brown@eku.edu
Secondary: Stephen Richter
(859) 622-8688
stephen.richter@eku.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: biology, biosciences, ecology, disturbance, restoration, conservation
REU Site: Disturbance Ecology in Central AppalachiaAbstract of Award
Field Museum of Natural History
REU Site: Evolution of Biodiversity across the Tree of Life
Department of Science and Education
Chicago, Illinois
Primary: Thorsten Lumbsch
(312) 665-7881
tlumbsch@fieldmuseum.org
Secondary: Corrie Moreau
(312) 665-7746
cmoreau@fieldmuseum.org
Research Topics/Keywords: biology, biosciences, evolution, genomics, genetics, microbes, systematics, phylogenetics, paleontology, morphology, conservation biology
REU Site: Evolution of Biodiversity across the Tree of LifeAbstract of Award
Tallahassee, Florida
Primary: Ramesh Katam
(850) 561-2750
ramesh.katam@famu.edu
Secondary: Virginia Gottschalk
(850) 561-2750
virginia.gottschalk@famu.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: biology, biosciences, Genomics, Proteomics, Metabolomics, and Bioinformatics
Comments: Ramesh Katam at ramesh.katam@famu.edu
REU Site: Undergraduate Research Experience in Genomics, Proteomics and BioinformaticsAbstract of Award
Washington, District Of Columbia
Primary: Matthew Hamilton
(202) 687-5924
matthew.hamilton@georgetown.edu
Secondary: Martha Weiss
(202) 687-6549
weissm@georgetown.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: biology, biosciences, environmental science, public policy, ecology, population biology, mathematical modeling, climate change, geoscience
Comments: Program coordinator: Prof. Manus Patten, mmp64@georgetown.edu
REU Site: Environmental science and policy in the nationís capitalAbstract of Award
Cofunded: Mathematical Sciences
Georgia Southern University
REU Site: Interdisciplinary Research Experiences in Coastal Plain Science
Institute for Coastal Plain Science
Statesboro, Georgia
Primary: Jose C. Colon-Gaud
(912) 478-0053
jccolongaud@georgiasouthern.edu
Secondary: Daniel F. Gleason
(912) 478-5957
dgleason@georgiasouthern.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: Biology, Bioscience, Coastal Plain Science, Geology and Geography, Ecology, Evolution, Physiology, Genetics, Systematics, Microbiology, Parasitology, Environmental Science
REU Site: Interdisciplinary Research Experiences in Coastal Plain ScienceAbstract of Award
Show 30 items per page.