Email Print Share

REU Sites

REU Sites: Biological Sciences

APPLICATIONS: Students must contact the individual site or program to apply. NSF does not have application materials and does not select student participants.

ELIGIBILITY: Individual sites may have additional eligibility requirements (e.g., number of undergraduate years completed). Undergraduate student participants supported with NSF funds must be citizens or permanent residents of the United States or its possessions. High school graduates who have not yet enrolled, and students who have already received their bachelor's degrees, are not eligible.

ADDITIONAL INFORMATION: Click on the Title of the Site in the "Site Information" column to go to the homepage (if available) for that Site. Sites are ordered alphabetically by host institution. All Sites provide stipends, housing and meals, in addition to travel to and from the Site. This listing will change as new REU Site awards are made. Sites are added or deleted as decisions are made on awards, and the list is updated periodically. Clicking on a highlighted site title should direct you to the web page for more information on that program.

Please report errors in the list below by writing to reu.bio@nsf.gov.


Search Again

Show 30 items per page.
REU Sites
Site Information Site Location Contact Information Additional Information
Washington, District Of Columbia
Primary: Matthew Hamilton
(202) 687-5924
matthew.hamilton@georgetown.edu
Secondary: Martha Weiss
(202) 687-6549
weissm@georgetown.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: biology, biosciences, environmental science, public policy, ecology, population biology, mathematical modeling, climate change, geoscience
Comments: Program coordinator: Prof. Manus Patten, mmp64@georgetown.edu
REU Site: Environmental science and policy in the nationís capitalAbstract of Award
Cofunded: Mathematical Sciences
Georgia Southern University
REU Site: Interdisciplinary Research Experiences in Coastal Plain Science
Institute for Coastal Plain Science
Statesboro, Georgia
Primary: Jose C. Colon-Gaud
(912) 478-0053
jccolongaud@georgiasouthern.edu
Secondary: Daniel F. Gleason
(912) 478-5957
dgleason@georgiasouthern.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: Biology, Bioscience, Coastal Plain Science, Geology and Geography, Ecology, Evolution, Physiology, Genetics, Systematics, Microbiology, Parasitology, Environmental Science
REU Site: Interdisciplinary Research Experiences in Coastal Plain ScienceAbstract of Award
Petersham, Massachusetts
Primary: Aaron Ellison
978-724-3302
aellison@fas.harvard.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: biology, ecology, environmental, conservation, NEON
Comments: For general information and questions about the program, please email hfapps@fas.harvard.edu.
REU Site: Harvard Forest Program in Forest Ecology: Ecological data-model fusion and environmental forecastingAbstract of Award
Harvard University
REU Site: Evolution, Ecology, Environment
Organismic and Evolutionary Biology
Cambridge, Massachusetts
Primary: Elena Kramer
(617) 496-3460
ekramer@oeb.harvard.edu
Secondary: Sheila Thomas
(617) 495-5315
sthomas@fas.harvard.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: biosciences, evolution, ecology, environmental science, genetics, biodiversity, phylogeny, genetics, genomics
REU Site: Evolution, Ecology, EnvironmentAbstract of Award
Toppenish, Washington
Primary: Bob Kao
(509) 865-8681
kao_r@heritage.edu
Secondary: Kazu Sonoda
(509) 865-8584
Sonoda_K@heritage.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: biosciences; molecular cell biology; plant development and function; animal development and function
REU Site: A Transformative Approach for Engaging First-Generation Underrepresented Minorities in a Research ExperienceAbstract of Award
Bloomington, Indiana
Primary: Laura Hurley
lhurley@indiana.edu
Secondary: CISAB
(812) 855-9663
cisab@indiana.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: biology, animal behavior, psychology, anthropology, genetics, neuroscience
Comments: Point of contact: CISAB (812) 855-9663 cisab@indiana.edu
REU Site in Animal Behavior: mechanisms, cognition, and evolutionAbstract of Award
Cofunded: Social, Behavioral, and Economic Sciences, Ethics and Values Studies
Millbrook, New York
Primary: Alan Berkowitz
(845) 677-7600
berkowitza@caryinstitute.org
Research Topics/Keywords: biology, ecology, environmental, conservation, plant, soils
Comments: Please send inquiries to: caryreu@caryinstitute.org
REU Site: Translational Ecology for UndergraduatesAbstract of Award
Johns Hopkins University
REU Site: A Cyberlinked Program in Computational Biomolecular Structure & Design
Chemical & Biomolecular Engineering
Baltimore, Maryland
Primary: Jeffrey Gray
(410) 516-5313
jgray@jhu.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: biology, bioscience, computational biology, biophysics, bioengineering, protein engineering, protein design, structure prediction, structural biology, molecular simulation, biomolecular engineering
Comments: Coordinator: Camille Mathis, cmathis@jhu.edu, (410) 516-6572
REU Site: A Cyberlinked Program in Computational Biomolecular Structure & DesignAbstract of Award
Johns Hopkins University
REU Site: Imaging and Molecular Approaches to Biological Problems
Department of Biology
Baltimore, Maryland
Primary: Joel Schildbach
(410) 516-0176
joel@jhu.edu
Secondary: Michael McCaffery
(410) 516-3321
mccaffery@jhu.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: Biosciences, cell biology, developmental biology, molecular biology, genetics, biophysics, biochemistry, microscopy
Comments: Coordinator: Joan Miller, joan@jhu.edu, (410) 516-5502
REU Site: Imaging and Molecular Approaches to Biological ProblemsAbstract of Award
Johns Hopkins University
REU Site: Program in Nanotechnology for Biology and Bioengineering
Institute for NanoBioTechnology
Baltimore, Maryland
Primary: Denis Wirtz
(410) 516-8094
wirtz@jhu.edu
Secondary: Efrosini Kokkoli
(410) 516-1302
kokkoli@jhu.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: Engineering,Biosciences,StemCells,DiagnosticTools,Nanotechnology,Nanobiotechnology,Computational,Immunotherapy,TissueRepair,Biomedical,Chemical&Biomolecular,MaterialsScience,Bioengineering
Comments: Contact: Camille Bryant, cbryant@jhu.edu (410) 516-6572
REU Site: Program in Nanotechnology for Biology and BioengineeringAbstract of Award
Cofunded: Chemistry, Engineering
Baltimore, Maryland
Primary: Kirsten Bohn
(410) 516-8876
kbohn1@jhu.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: Animal Behavior, Neurobiology, Neuroethology, Behavioral Endocrinology, Biosciences
REU Site: Biological Basis of Social BehaviorAbstract of Award
Kettering University
REU Site: Utilizing Plants for Innovative Research (UPIR) - Cultivating the next generation of scientists and engineers
Chemistry, Biochemistry, Chemical Engineering & Applied Biology
Flint, Michigan
Primary: Lihua Wang
(810) 762-7917
lwang@kettering.edu
Secondary: James Cohen
(810) 249-4383
jcohen@kettering.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: biology, biosciences, plants, interdisciplinary, molecular biology, biochemistry, environmental studies, phylogenetics, chemistry, computational biology, material science, engineering
REU Site: Utilizing Plants for Innovative Research (UPIR) - Cultivating the next generation of scientists and engineersAbstract of Award
New Orleans, Louisiana
Primary: Fern Tsien
(504) 568-2080
fmille@lsuhsc.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: biology, biosciences, genetics, biochemistry, neurosciences, microbiology
Comments: Tara Rodrigue, Coordinator email: trodr2@lsuhsc.edu
REU Site: Research Experiences for Underrepresented Minority Undergraduates in Genetic and Biochemical Mechanisms of Prokaryotic and Eukaryotic OrganismsAbstract of Award
Woods Hole, Massachusetts
Primary: Allen Mensinger
(218) 726-7259
amensing@d.umn.edu
Secondary: Robert Malchow
(312) 413-1552
paulmalc@uic.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: biology, biosciences, neuroscience, physiology, animal behavior
Comments: please send inquires to NSFREU@mbl.edu
REU Site: Biological Discovery in Woods HoleAbstract of Award
Cofunded: Ocean Sciences
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Primary: Allison Abbott
(414) 288-4422
allison.abbott@marquette.edu
Secondary: Edward Blumenthal
(414) 288-6270
edward.blumental@marquette.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: biology, biosciences
Comments: Point of Contact for this Program is Deborah Weaver, program secretary, deborah.weaver@marquette.edu.
REU Site: Interdisciplinary Undergraduate Summer Research in Biology yAbstract of Award
Miami University (Ohio)
Summer Undergraduate Research in Chemistry and Biochemistry at Miami University
Department of Chemistry and Biochemsitry
Oxford, Ohio
Primary: Carole Dabney-Smith
(513) 529-8091
cdabneysmith@MiamiOH.edu
Secondary: Dominik Konkolewicz
(513) 529-4395
d.konkolewicz@MiamiOH.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: analytical chemistry, biochemistry, electrochemistry, inorganic chemistry, organic, polymers, physical chemistry, structural biology, chemistry education
Summer Undergraduate Research in Chemistry and Biochemistry at Miami UniversityAbstract of Award
Cofunded: Biological Sciences
Miami University
REU Site: Ecology in Human-Dominated Landscapes
Department of Zoology
Oxford, Ohio
Primary: David Berg
(513) 785-3246
bergdj@miamioh.edu
Secondary: Ann Rypstra
(513) 785-3238
rypstral@miamioh.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: Landscapes, terrestrial and aquatic ecology, conservation, diversity, behavior
Comments: For specific questions or comments please email: ecoreu@muohio. edu.
REU Site: Ecology in Human-Dominated LandscapesAbstract of Award
Michigan State University
REU Site: Ecological and Evolutionary Dynamics in a Changing World
W.K. Kellogg Biological Station
Hickory Corners, Michigan
Primary: Katherine Gross
(269) 671-2341
kgross@kbs.msu.edu
Secondary: Danielle Zoellner
(269) 671-2171
zoellne8@msu.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: biosciences; ecology; evolutionary biology; agricultural ecosystems; theoretical ecology; landscape ecology; microbial ecology; community ecology; climate change
REU Site: Ecological and Evolutionary Dynamics in a Changing WorldAbstract of Award
Michigan State University
REU Site: Plant Genomics at Michigan State University
Horticulture / Plant Biology / Biochemistry & Molecular Biology
East Lansing, Michigan
Primary: Cornelius Barry
(517) 884-6959
barrycs@msu.edu
Secondary: Robert Last
(517) 432-3278
lastr@msu.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: plant genomics, molecular genetics, biochemistry, chemistry, computational biology
Comments: Point of contact: Krystle Wiegert-Rininger, 517-884-6961, plantgen@msu.edu
REU Site: Plant Genomics at Michigan State UniversityAbstract of Award
Mississippi State University
REU Site: Undergraduate Research in Computational Biology at Mississippi State University
Computer Science and Engineering
Mississippi State, Mississippi
Primary: Andy Perkins
(662) 325-0004
perkins@cse.msstate.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: biology, biosciences, computational biology, genomics
REU Site: Undergraduate Research in Computational Biology at Mississippi State UniversityAbstract of Award
Cofunded: Computer and Information Science and Engineering
St. Louis, Missouri
Primary: Wendy Applequist
(314) 577-0267
wendy.applequist@mobot.org
Secondary: Monica Carlsen-Krause
(314) 577-5100
monica.carlsen@mobot.org
Research Topics/Keywords: biology, biosciences, botany, ecology, conservation, taxonomy, systematics, genetics, evolution, ethnobotany, restoration, pollination, morphology, biodiversity
Comments: Contact Wendy Applequist
REU Site: Botany and Conservation Biology Research at the Missouri Botanical GardenAbstract of Award
New York University
REU Site in Neural Science
Center for Neural Science
New York, New York
Primary: Chiye Aoki
212-998-3929
ca3@nyu.edu
Secondary: Administrator of Student Affairs
212-998-7779
surp@cns.nyu.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: biology, neuroscience, psychology
REU Site in Neural ScienceAbstract of Award
North Carolina A&T State University
REU Site: A multisite REU in Synthetic Biology
Departments of Biology, Chemistry and Computational Science & Engineering
Greensboro, North Carolina
Primary: Robert Newman
(336) 285-2189
rhnewman@ncat.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: Biosciences, Synthetic Biology, Cell Signaling, Molecular Biology, Computational Biology
Comments: co-PI: Greg Goins, 336-285-2191, gdgoins@ncat.edu Dukka Kc, 336-285-3210, dbkc@ncat.edu Ming Dong, 336-285-2234, mdong@ncat.edu
REU Site: A multisite REU in Synthetic BiologyAbstract of Award
Raleigh, North Carolina
Primary: Carlos Goller
(919) 513-4135
ccgoller@ncsu.edu
Secondary: Robert Kelly
(919) 513-6396
rmkelly@ncsu.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: biology, biosciences, sequencing, bioinformatics, microbiology, virology, neuroscience, epigenetics
REU Site: BIoTechnology Sequencing-based Undergraduate Research Experience (BIT SURE)Abstract of Award
North Carolina State University
REU Site: Integrative Molecular Plant Systems
Plant and Microbial Biology
Raleigh, North Carolina
Primary: Susan Carson
(919) 515-3803
sdcarson@ncsu.edu
Secondary: Amy Grunden
(919) 513-4295
amy_grunden@ncsu.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: biology, biosciences, plant biology, molecular biology, genetic engineering, biofuels, sustainable agriculture, biotechnology, systems biology, bioinformatics, plant pathology
Comments: Imara Perera, Assistant Director, iperera@ncsu.edu
REU Site: Integrative Molecular Plant SystemsAbstract of Award
Boston, Massachusetts
Primary: Wendy Smith
(617) 373-2600
w.smith@neu.edu
Secondary: Rebeca Rosengaus
(617) 373-7032
r.rosengaus@neu.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: Biology, interdisciplinary, development, regeneration, damage response, immunity
REU Site: Teamwork in Biology Inquiry: From Molecules to OrganismsAbstract of Award
Flagstaff, Arizona
Primary: Liza Holeski
(928) 523-0701
liza.holeski@nau.edu
Secondary: Ted Martinez
(928) 523-3383
Theodore.Martinez@nau.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: Biosciences, biology, environmental science, ecology, plant science
REU Site: Place-based Research and Training in Biology and Environmental Science on the Colorado Plateau.Abstract of Award
Northwestern University
REU Site: Synthetic Biology (SynBREU)
Center for Synthetic Biology
Evanston, Illinois
Primary: Danielle Tullman-Ercek
(847) 491-7043
ercek@northwestern.edu
Secondary: Michael Jewett
(847) 467-5007
m-jewett@northwestern.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: biosciences, synthetic biology, biotechnology, engineering biology, bioengineering, systems biology, metabolic engineering, engineering
REU Site: Synthetic Biology (SynBREU)Abstract of Award
Cofunded: Engineering
Ohio State University
REU Site: Next Generation Evolutionary Biology
Evolution, Ecology, and Organismal Biology
Columbus, Ohio
Primary: Marymegan Daly
(614) 247-8412
daly.66@osu.edu
Secondary: Bryan Cartsens
(614) 292-6587
carstens.12@osu.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: biology, biosciences, evolution, DNA, bioinformatics
REU Site: Next Generation Evolutionary BiologyAbstract of Award
Ohio State University
REU Site: Research Opportunities in Molecular Biology at Ohio State University
Molecular Genetics; Chemistry and Biochemistry; Micribiology
Columbus, Ohio
Primary: Susan Cole
(614) 292-3276
cole.354@osu.edu
Secondary: Jane Jackman
(614) 247-8097
jackman.14@osu.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: biology, biosciences, genetics, genomics, biochemistry, microbiology, developmental biology, model organisms, RNA biology, structural biology
Comments: emails to mgreu@osu.edu will reach the program administrator (Debbie Dotter)
REU Site: Research Opportunities in Molecular Biology at Ohio State UniversityAbstract of Award
Show 30 items per page.