Email Print Share

REU Sites

REU Sites: Biological Sciences

APPLICATIONS: Students must contact the individual site or program to apply. NSF does not have application materials and does not select student participants.

ELIGIBILITY: Individual sites may have additional eligibility requirements (e.g., number of undergraduate years completed). Undergraduate student participants supported with NSF funds must be citizens or permanent residents of the United States or its possessions. High school graduates who have not yet enrolled, and students who have already received their bachelor's degrees, are not eligible.

ADDITIONAL INFORMATION: Click on the Title of the Site in the "Site Information" column to go to the homepage (if available) for that Site. Sites are ordered alphabetically by host institution. All Sites provide stipends, housing and meals, in addition to travel to and from the Site. This listing will change as new REU Site awards are made. Sites are added or deleted as decisions are made on awards, and the list is updated periodically. Clicking on a highlighted site title should direct you to the web page for more information on that program.

Please report errors in the list below by writing to reu.bio@nsf.gov.


Search Again

Show 30 items per page.
REU Sites
Site Information Site Location Contact Information Additional Information
Johns Hopkins University
REU Site: Program in Nanotechnology for Biology and Bioengineering
Institute for NanoBioTechnology
Baltimore, Maryland
Primary: Denis Wirtz
(410) 516-8094
wirtz@jhu.edu
Secondary: Hai-Quan Mao
(410) 516-8792
hmao@jhu.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: nanobiotechnology, biotechnology, nanoparticles, nanotechnology, biology, biophysics, bioengineering, engineering, chemical engineering
Comments: Contact: Camille Bryant, cbryant@jhu.edu (410) 516-6572
REU Site: Program in Nanotechnology for Biology and BioengineeringAbstract of Award
Cofunded: Chemistry, Engineering
Johns Hopkins University
REU Site: A Cyberlinked Program in Computational Biomolecular Structure & Design
Chemical & Biomolecular Engineering
Baltimore, Maryland
Primary: Jeffrey Gray
(410) 516-5313
jgray@jhu.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: biology, bioscience, computational biology, biophysics, bioengineering, protein engineering, protein design, structure prediction, structural biology, molecular simulation, biomolecular engineering
Comments: Coordinator: Camille Mathis, cmathis@jhu.edu, (410) 516-6572
REU Site: A Cyberlinked Program in Computational Biomolecular Structure & DesignAbstract of Award
Johns Hopkins University
REU Site: Imaging and Molecular Approaches to Biological Problems
Department of Biology
Baltimore, Maryland
Primary: Joel Schildbach
(410) 516-0176
joel@jhu.edu
Secondary: Michael McCaffery
(410) 516-3321
mccaffery@jhu.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: Biosciences, cell biology, developmental biology, molecular biology, genetics, biophysics, biochemistry, microscopy
Comments: Coordinator: Joan Miller, joan@jhu.edu, (410) 516-5502
REU Site: Imaging and Molecular Approaches to Biological ProblemsAbstract of Award
Gambier, Ohio
Primary: Hewlet McFarlane
(740) 427-5375
McFarlaneh@Kenyon.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: biology, biosciences, neuroscience, behavior, brain
Collaborative Research: REU Site: A Distributed Network of Neuroscience ScholarsAbstract of Award
Kettering University
REU Site: Utilizing Plants for Innovative Research (UPIR) - Cultivating the next generation of scientists and engineers
Chemistry, Biochemistry, Chemical Engineering & Applied Biology
Flint, Michigan
Primary: Lihua Wang
(810) 762-7917
lwang@kettering.edu
Secondary: James Cohen
(810) 249-4383
jcohen@kettering.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: biology, biosciences, plants, interdisciplinary, molecular biology, biochemistry, environmental studies, phylogenetics, chemistry, computational biology, material science, engineering
REU Site: Utilizing Plants for Innovative Research (UPIR) - Cultivating the next generation of scientists and engineersAbstract of Award
New Orleans, Louisiana
Primary: Fern Tsien
(504) 568-2080
fmille@lsuhsc.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: biology, biosciences, genetics, biochemistry, neurosciences, microbiology
Comments: Tara Rodrigue, Coordinator email: trodr2@lsuhsc.edu
REU Site: Research Experiences for Underrepresented Minority Undergraduates in Genetic and Biochemical Mechanisms of Prokaryotic and Eukaryotic OrganismsAbstract of Award
Woods Hole, Massachusetts
Primary: Allen Mensinger
(218) 726-7259
amensing@d.umn.edu
Secondary: Robert Malchow
(312) 413-1552
paulmalc@uic.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: biology, biosciences, neuroscience, physiology, animal behavior
Comments: please send inquires to NSFREU@mbl.edu
REU Site: Biological Discovery in Woods HoleAbstract of Award
Cofunded: Ocean Sciences
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Primary: Allison Abbott
(414) 288-4422
allison.abbott@marquette.edu
Secondary: Edward Blumenthal
(414) 288-6270
edward.blumental@marquette.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: biology, biosciences
Comments: Point of Contact for this Program is Deborah Weaver, program secretary, deborah.weaver@marquette.edu.
REU Site: Interdisciplinary Undergraduate Summer Research in Biology yAbstract of Award
Oxford, Ohio
Primary: Christopher A Makaroff
(513) 529-1659
makaroca@muohio.edu
Secondary: Carole Dabney-Smith
(513) 529-8091
adabney@miamioh.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: Chemistry
Summer Undergraduate Research in Chemistry and Biochemistry at Miami UniversityAbstract of Award
Cofunded: Biological Sciences
Miami University
REU Site: Ecology in Human-Dominated Landscapes
Department of Zoology
Oxford, Ohio
Primary: David Berg
(513) 785-3246
bergdj@miamioh.edu
Secondary: Ann Rypstra
(513) 785-3238
rypstral@miamioh.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: Landscapes, terrestrial and aquatic ecology, conservation, diversity, behavior
Comments: For specific questions or comments please email: ecoreu@muohio. edu.
REU Site: Ecology in Human-Dominated LandscapesAbstract of Award
Michigan State University
REU Site: Ecological and Evolutionary Dynamics in a Changing World
W.K. Kellogg Biological Station
Hickory Corners, Michigan
Primary: Katherine Gross
(269) 671-2341
kgross@kbs.msu.edu
Secondary: Danielle Zoellner
(269) 671-2171
zoellne8@msu.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: biosciences; ecology; evolutionary biology; agricultural ecosystems; theoretical ecology; landscape ecology; microbial ecology; community ecology; climate change
REU Site: Ecological and Evolutionary Dynamics in a Changing WorldAbstract of Award
Michigan State University
REU Site: Plant Genomics at Michigan State University
Horticulture / Plant Biology / Biochemistry & Molecular Biology
East Lansing, Michigan
Primary: Cornelius Barry
(517) 884-6959
barrycs@msu.edu
Secondary: Robert Last
(517) 432-3278
lastr@msu.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: plant genomics, molecular genetics, biochemistry, chemistry, computational biology
Comments: Point of contact: Krystle Wiegert-Rininger, 517-884-6961, plantgen@msu.edu
REU Site: Plant Genomics at Michigan State UniversityAbstract of Award
Mississippi State University
REU Site: Undergraduate Research in Computational Biology at Mississippi State University
Computer Science and Engineering
Mississippi State, Mississippi
Primary: Andy Perkins
(662) 325-0004
perkins@cse.msstate.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: biology, biosciences, computational biology, genomics
REU Site: Undergraduate Research in Computational Biology at Mississippi State UniversityAbstract of Award
Cofunded: Computer and Information Science and Engineering
St. Louis, Missouri
Primary: Wendy Applequist
(314) 577-0267
wendy.applequist@mobot.org
Secondary: Peter Hoch
(314) 577-5175
peter.hoch@mobot.org
Research Topics/Keywords: biology, biosciences, botany, ecology, conservation, taxonomy, systematics, genetics, evolution, ethnobotany, restoration, pollination, morphology, biodiversity
Comments: Contact Wendy Applequist
REU Site: Botany and Conservation Biology Research at the Missouri Botanical GardenAbstract of Award
New York University
REU Site in Neural Science
Center for Neural Science
New York, New York
Primary: Chiye Aoki
212-998-3929
ca3@nyu.edu
Secondary: Administrator of Student Affairs
212-998-7779
surp@cns.nyu.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: biology, neuroscience, psychology
REU Site in Neural ScienceAbstract of Award
Raleigh, North Carolina
Primary: Sabrina Robertson
(919) 513-0330
sedought@ncsu.edu
Secondary: Carlos Goller
(919) 513-4135
ccgoller@ncsu.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: biology, biosciences, sequencing, bioinformatics, microbiology, virology, neuroscience, epigenetics
REU Site: BIoTechnology Sequencing-based Undergraduate Research Experience (BIT SURE)Abstract of Award
North Carolina State University
REU Site: Integrative Molecular Plant Systems
Plant and Microbial Biology
Raleigh, North Carolina
Primary: Susan Carson
(919) 515-3803
sdcarson@ncsu.edu
Secondary: Amy Grunden
(919) 513-4295
amy_grunden@ncsu.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: biology, biosciences, plant biology, molecular biology, genetic engineering, biofuels, sustainable agriculture, biotechnology, systems biology, bioinformatics, plant pathology
Comments: Imara Perera, Assistant Director, iperera@ncsu.edu
REU Site: Integrative Molecular Plant SystemsAbstract of Award
Boston, Massachusetts
Primary: Wendy Smith
(617) 373-2600
w.smith@neu.edu
Secondary: Rebeca Rosengaus
(617) 373-7032
r.rosengaus@neu.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: Biology, interdisciplinary, development, regeneration, damage response, immunity
REU Site: Teamwork in Biology Inquiry: From Molecules to OrganismsAbstract of Award
Flagstaff, Arizona
Primary: Amy Whipple
(928) 523-8727
amy.whipple@nau.edu
Secondary: Ted Martinez
(928) 523-3383
Theodore.Martinez@nau.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: biology, environmental science, chemistry, geology, forestry, environmental engineering
Comments: For program detail, please contact to Dr.Ted Martinez, (928) 523-3383, Theodore.Martinez@nau.edu
REU Site: Research Training in Environmental ScienceAbstract of Award
Cofunded: Chemistry
Northwestern University
REU Site: Synthetic Biology (SynBREU)
Center for Synthetic Biology
Evanston, Illinois
Primary: Danielle Tullman-Ercek
(847) 491-7043
ercek@northwestern.edu
Secondary: Michael Jewett
(847) 467-5007
m-jewett@northwestern.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: biosciences, synthetic biology, biotechnology, engineering biology, bioengineering, systems biology, metabolic engineering, engineering
REU Site: Synthetic Biology (SynBREU)Abstract of Award
Cofunded: Engineering
Ohio State University
REU Site: Next Generation Evolutionary Biology
Evolution, Ecology, and Organismal Biology
Columbus, Ohio
Primary: Marymegan Daly
(614) 247-8412
daly.66@osu.edu
Secondary: Bryan Cartsens
(614) 292-6587
carstens.12@osu.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: biology, biosciences, evolution, DNA, bioinformatics
REU Site: Next Generation Evolutionary BiologyAbstract of Award
Ohio State University
REU Site: Research Opportunities in Molecular Biology at Ohio State University
Molecular Genetics; Chemistry and Biochemistry; Micribiology
Columbus, Ohio
Primary: Susan Cole
(614) 292-3276
cole.354@osu.edu
Secondary: Jane Jackman
(614) 247-8097
jackman.14@osu.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: biology, biosciences, genetics, genomics, biochemistry, microbiology, developmental biology, model organisms, RNA biology, structural biology
Comments: emails to mgreu@osu.edu will reach the program administrator (Debbie Dotter)
REU Site: Research Opportunities in Molecular Biology at Ohio State UniversityAbstract of Award
Delaware, Ohio
Primary: Jennifer Yates
(740) 368-3814
jryates@owu.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: biology, biosciences, neuroscience, behavior, brain
Collaborative Research: REU Site: A Distributed Network of Neuroscience ScholarsAbstract of Award
Champaign, Illinois
Primary: CBritt Carlson
(217) 353-2132
ccarlson@parkland.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: biology, biosciences, plasticity, genomics, genetics, cell biology
Comments: The primary institution of this project is University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign
REU Site: Phenotypic plasticity research experience for community college studentsAbstract of Award
Malibu, California
Primary: Jay Brewster
(310) 506-4321
Jay.Brewster@pepperdine.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: ecology, cell biology, molecular biology, botany, genetics, cellular stress
Comments: Co-PI is co-PI (Dr. Rodney L. Honeycutt at rodney.honeycutt@pepperdine.edu
REU Site: Biological Adaptations to Stress -- Molecular, Cellular, EcologicalAbstract of Award
Cofunded: Department of Defense (DoD)
Princeton University
REU Site: Molecular Biophysics
Molecular Biology
Princeton, New Jersey
Primary: Jannette Carey
(609) 258-1631
jcarey@princeton.edu
Secondary: Istvan Pelczer
(609) 258-2342
ipelczer@princeton.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: Molecular Biology, international, Czech Republic, biophysics
Comments: Contact: Kuri T. Chacko, chacko@princeton.edu
REU Site: Molecular BiophysicsAbstract of Award
Cofunded: Chemistry, International Science and Engineering
Princeton University
REU Site: Princeton Neuroscience Institute Summer Internship Program
Princeton Neuroscience Institute
Princeton, New Jersey
Primary: Jonathan Cohen
(609) 258-2696
jdc@princeton.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: biosciences, neuroscience, cognitive neuroscience, computational neuroscience, systems neuroscience
Comments: Program Director, Ed Clayton: ec12@princeton.edu
REU Site: Princeton Neuroscience Institute Summer Internship ProgramAbstract of Award
West Lafayette, Indiana
Primary: James Forney
(765) 494-1632
forney@purdue.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: biosciences, biochemistry, genetics, biology molecular biology, cell biology, epigenetics,
Comments: coordinator: Sherry Pogranichniy (spograni@purdue.edu)
REU Site: Molecular and Biochemical Analysis of ProteinsAbstract of Award
Houston, Texas
Primary: Jonathan Silberg
(713) 348-3849
joff@rice.edu
Secondary: George Bennett
(713) 348-4920
gbennett@rice.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: biology, biosciences, biomolecules, cell biology, ecology, evolution, physical biology, quantitatie biology, systems biology, synthetic biology
Comments: Kimberly M'Carver, kimberly@rice.edu; 713 348 6034
REU Site: Interdisciplinary Program in Multi-scale Biological NetworksAbstract of Award
Crested Butte, Colorado
Primary: Ian Billick
(970) 349-7231
director@rmbl.org
Secondary: Jennifer Reithel
(970) 349-1288
sd@rmbl.org
Research Topics/Keywords: biosciences, ecology, evolutionary biology
Comments: For questions about the program, contact Dr. Jennifer Reithel, sd@rmbl.org
REU Site: Research Training in Place-Based Field ResearchAbstract of Award
Show 30 items per page.