Email Print Share

REU Sites

REU Sites: Biological Sciences

APPLICATIONS: Students must contact the individual site or program to apply. NSF does not have application materials and does not select student participants.

ELIGIBILITY: Individual sites may have additional eligibility requirements (e.g., number of undergraduate years completed). Undergraduate student participants supported with NSF funds must be citizens or permanent residents of the United States or its possessions. High school graduates who have not yet enrolled, and students who have already received their bachelor's degrees, are not eligible.

ADDITIONAL INFORMATION: Click on the Title of the Site in the "Site Information" column to go to the homepage (if available) for that Site. Sites are ordered alphabetically by host institution. All Sites provide stipends, housing and meals, in addition to travel to and from the Site. This listing will change as new REU Site awards are made. Sites are added or deleted as decisions are made on awards, and the list is updated periodically. Clicking on a highlighted site title should direct you to the web page for more information on that program.

Please report errors in the list below by writing to reu.bio@nsf.gov.


Search Again

REU Sites
Site Information Site Location Contact Information Additional Information
Delaware, Ohio
Primary: Jennifer Yates
(740) 368-3814
jryates@owu.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: biology, biosciences, neuroscience, behavior, brain
Abstract of Award
Stillwater, Oklahoma
Primary: Gopal Kakani
405-744-4046
v.g.kakani@okstate.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: bioenergy, bioproducts, microbiology, biochemistry, plant science, biosystems engineering
Comments: Laura Crutcher, laura.crutcher@okstate.edu, 405-744-2389
Abstract of Award
Durham, North Carolina
Primary: Pia Paaby
(506) 252-0607
pia.paaby@tropicalstudies.org
Secondary: Jonathan Giles
(919) 684-6188
jonathan.giles@tropicalstudies.org
Research Topics/Keywords: biology, tropical biology, ecology, conservation biology
Comments: REU particpation is restricted to sophomores and juniors from groups underrepresented in the sciences and from non-R1 research universities. Please contact OTS for additional information.
Abstract of Award
Champaign, Illinois
Primary: CBritt Carlson
(217) 353-2132
ccarlson@parkland.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: biology, biosciences, plasticity, genomics, genetics, cell biology
Comments: The primary institution of this project is University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign
Abstract of Award
Malibu, California
Primary: Jay Brewster
(310) 506-4321
Jay.Brewster@pepperdine.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: ecology, cell biology, molecular biology, botany, genetics, cellular stress
Comments: Co-PI is co-PI (Dr. Rodney L. Honeycutt at rodney.honeycutt@pepperdine.edu
Abstract of Award
Cofunded: Department of Defense (DoD)
Princeton University
REU Site: Molecular Biophysics
Molecular Biology
Princeton, New Jersey
Primary: Jannette Carey
(609) 258-1631
jcarey@princeton.edu
Secondary: Istvan Pelczer
(609) 258-2342
ipelczer@princeton.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: Molecular Biology, international, Czech Republic, biophysics
Comments: Contact: Kuri T. Chacko, chacko@princeton.edu
Abstract of Award
Cofunded: Chemistry, International Science and Engineering
West Lafayette, Indiana
Primary: James Forney
(765) 494-1632
forney@purdue.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: Biology, enzyme mechanisms, cell cycle, chromatin, sumoylation, proteomics, protein biochemistry, metabolic pathways
Comments: Questions may be directed to Jim Forney (forney@purdue.edu) or Sherry Pogranichniy (spograni@purdue.edu)
Abstract of Award
Houston, Texas
Primary: Jonathan Silberg
(713) 348-3849
joff@rice.edu
Secondary: George Bennett
(713) 348-4920
gbennett@rice.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: biology, biosciences, biomolecules, cell biology, ecology, evolution, physical biology, quantitatie biology, systems biology, synthetic biology
Comments: Kimberly M'Carver, kimberly@rice.edu; 713 348 6034
Abstract of Award
Gothic, Colorado
Primary: Ian Billick
970-349-7231
director@rmbl.org
Secondary: Jennifer Reithel
970 349 1288
sd@rmbl.org
Research Topics/Keywords: field research, ecology, evolutionary biology, ecological genomics
Comments: For questions about the program, contact Dr. Jennifer Reithel, sd@rmbl.org
Abstract of Award
Rutgers University - Camden
REU Site: Computational Biology Summer Research Experience at Rutgers
Center for Computational and Integrative Biology
Camden, New Jersey
Primary: Benedetto Piccoli
(856) 225-6356
piccoli@camden.rutgers.edu
Secondary: Joseph Martin
(856) 225-6165
joe.martin@rutgers.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: Biology, Biosciences, Computer Science, Computational Biology, Developmental Biology, Systems Biology, Ecosystem Studies, Plant Biology,
Comments: Karen Taylor: kdt41@camden.rutgers.edu
Abstract of Award
Birmingham, Alabama
Primary: Rita Fincher
(205) 726-2928
rmfinche@samford.edu
Secondary: Betsy Dobbins
(205) 726-2937
egdobbin@samford.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: Ecology, Population biology, Botany, Geography, Plant chemistry, Molcular biology, Cell biology, Pathogenesis
Abstract of Award
San Francisco, California
Primary: Carmen Domingo
(415) 338-6995
cdomingo@sfsu.edu
Secondary: Sarah Cohen
(415) 338-3750
sarahcoh@sfsu.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: biology, biosciences, developmental biology, ecology, evolution, environmental sciences
Comments: For any question, email nsfreu@sfsu.edu
Abstract of Award
Julio Soto, California
Primary: Miri VanHoven
(408) 924-4925
julio.soto@sjsu.edu
Secondary: Miri VanHoven
(415) 269-7373
miri.vanhoven@sjsu.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: Molecular Biology, Cell Biology, Physiology, Genetics, Microbiology, Biochemistry
Abstract of Award
Mystic, Connecticut
Primary: Tracy Romano
(860) 572-5955
tromano@mysticaquarium.org
Secondary: Michael Finiguerra
(860) 405-9082
michael.finiguerra@uconn.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: biology, biosciences, marine biology, marine science, animal physiology, ecology, animal behavior, immunology, cell biology
Comments: Contact: Michael Finiguerra (michael.finiguerra@uconn.edu)
Abstract of Award
Cofunded: Ocean Sciences
Smithsonian Institution
REU Site: Natural History Research Experiences
National Museum of Natural History(NMNH)
Washington, DC, District Of Columbia
Primary: Virginia Power
(202) 633-1055
powerv@si.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: geoscience, planets, asteroids, mineralogy, petrology, volcanology, paleobiology, oceanography, environmental, evolution,biodiversity, taxonomy,genomics,anthropology,archaeology,ethnology,linguistics
Abstract of Award
Cofunded: Biological Sciences, Earth Sciences
Edgewater, Maryland
Primary: John Parker
(443) 482-2221
parkerj@si.edu
Secondary: Alison Cawood
(443) 482-2271
cawooda@si.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: biology, biosciences, ecology, evolution, field research, biological invasions, climate change, biodiversity-ecosystem function, biogeochemistry, environmental education, communications
Comments: Internship Coordinator: Daniel Gustafson, gustafsond@si.edu, 443-482-2217
Abstract of Award
Panama City, Virginia
Primary: Owen McMillan
(507) 212-8299
mcmillano@si.edu
Secondary: Ana Spalding
(507) 212-8281
spaldinga@si.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: Tropical biodiversity, Biology, Ecology, Chemistry, Computer Science, Math, adaptation, resilience, ecosystem change
Abstract of Award
Tarleton State University
REU Site: Restoring working cattle ranches for sustainable land and water resources
Biological Sciences, Chemistry, Environmental Engineering, Geosciences, Sociology, and Wildlife, Sus
Stephenville, Texas
Primary: Christopher Higgins
(254) 968-9019
higgins@tarleton.edu
Secondary: Barbara Bellows
(254) 968-9000
bellows@tarleton.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: biology, biosciences, community ecology, environmental biology, environmental chemistry, environmental engineering, environmental policy, hydrogeology, landscape management, limnology, plant ecology
Abstract of Award
Cofunded: Biological Sciences
Texas A&M AgriLife Research / Texas A&M University
REU Site - Summer Undergraduate Research Program in Biochemistry
Biochemistry and Biophysics
College Station, Texas
Primary: Gary Kunkel
(979) 845-6257
g-kunkel@tamu.edu
Secondary: Mary Bryk
(979) 862-2294
bryk@tamu.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: biochemistry/molecular biology/genomics/proteomics/enzymology/structural biology/gene expression/membrane structure/developmental biology
Comments: coordinators are the PI and co-PI
Abstract of Award
Cofunded: Chemistry
The Scripps Research Institute
REU Site: Scripps Structure and Function Summer Institute (SFSI)
Doctoral Program in Chemical and Biological Sciences
La Jolla, California
Primary: James Williamson
(858) 784-8740
jrwill@scripps.edu
Secondary: Dawn Eastmond
(858) 784-2872
eastmond@scripps.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: chemistry, immunology, computational bioogy, neuroscience, biophysics, chemical biology, microbiology, bioinformatics, cell biology, genetics, and structural biology
Abstract of Award
The Scripps Research Institute
REU Site: SURFing the Interface between Chemistry and Biology
Chemistry, Immunology and Microbiology, Molecular Medicine, Neuroscience, Integrative Structural and
Jupiter, Florida
Primary: Katrin Karbstein
(561) 228-3210
kkarbst@scripps.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: biology, biosciences, Chemical Biology, Biochemistry, Neuroscience
Comments: Rosie Albarran-Zeckler, Rzeckler@scripps.edu, 561 228 2994
Abstract of Award
Medford, Massachusetts
Primary: Philip Starks
(617) 627-4849
philip.starks@tufts.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: biology, biosciences, biochemistry, genetics, development, endocrinology, neurobiology, behavior, ecology, and conservation
Abstract of Award
Medford, Massachusetts
Primary: Kyongbum Lee
(617) 627-4323
kyongbum.lee@tufts.edu
Secondary: Daniel Ryder
(617) 627-3446
daniel.ryder@tufts.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: biology, biosciences, bioengineering, data science, computational design, systems biology, microbiome, stem cells
Abstract of Award
Cofunded: Engineering, Cyberinfrastructure
Univeristy of Idaho
REU Site: Molecular and Organismal Evolution
Bioloiglcal Sciences
Moscow, Idaho
Primary: David Pfeiffer
208-885-4109
dpfeiffer@uidaho.edu
Secondary: Douglas Cole
208-885-4071
dcole@uidaho.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: Biology, Evolution
Abstract of Award
University of Alabama at Birmingham
REU Site: Summer Program in Neuroscience (SPIN)
Department of Neurobiology
Birmingham, Alabama
Primary: Lucas Pozzo-Miller
(205) 975-4659
lucaspm@uab.edu
Secondary: Gwendalyn King
(205) 996-6247
gdking@uab.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: biology, biosciences, neuroscience, plasticity, neurodevelopment, molecular biology, cell biology, electrophysiology
Comments: Program coordinator: Jan Phillips: jancphil@uab.edu; (205) 934-2452
Abstract of Award
Cofunded: Biological Sciences
Fayetteville, Arkansas
Primary: Michelle EvansWhite
(479) 575-4706
mevanswh@uark.edu
Secondary: Marty Matlock
(479) 575-2849
mmatlock@uark.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: biology, biosciences, ecology, sustainability, environmental sciences, natural resources
Comments: Program coordinator: Michelle Evans-White
Abstract of Award
University of Arkansas
REU Site: Indigenous America to Indigenous Mekong (Vietnam and Thailand) - Adventures in Biology and Biodiversity
Department of Biological Sciences and Cellular and Molecular Biology Program
Fayetteville, Arkansas
Primary: Ruben Ceballos
(479) 575-5643
ceballos@uark.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: biology, biosciences
Abstract of Award
Cofunded: Biological Sciences
University of California Berkeley
REU site: Integrative Biology at UC Berkeley, from Molecules to Ecosystems
Host department: Integrative Biology / 13 participating departments
Berkeley, California
Primary: Tyrone Hayes
(510) 643-1055
tyrone@berkeley.edu
Secondary: David Weisblat
(510) 642-8309
weisblat@berkeley.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: Integrative Biology Evolution, Development
Comments: contact: reuapplic@lists.berkeley.edu
Abstract of Award
University of California Riverside
REU Site: Research Experiences for Undergraduates in Plant and Plant Cell Biology
Plant Pathology and Microbiology
Riverside, California
Primary: Thomas Eulgem
951-827-7740
thomas.eulgem@ucr.edu
Secondary: Howard S Judelson
951-827-4199
howard.judelson@ucr.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: biology, plants, plant pathogens, cell biology, molecular biology, genomics, botany, microbiology
Abstract of Award
University of California San Francisco
REU Site: NSF REU in Molecular Biosciences
All Departments
San Francisco, California
Primary: Carol Gross
(415) 476-4161
cgrossucsf@gmail.com
Secondary: Hana Samad
(415) 476-2596
helsamad@gmail.com
Research Topics/Keywords: Genetics/Genomics, Biochemistry, cell biology, systems/synthetic biology; bioengineering
Comments: julia.clark@ucsf.edu
Abstract of Award