Email Print Share

REU Sites

REU Sites: Biological Sciences

APPLICATIONS: Students must contact the individual site or program to apply. NSF does not have application materials and does not select student participants.

ELIGIBILITY: Individual sites may have additional eligibility requirements (e.g., number of undergraduate years completed). Undergraduate student participants supported with NSF funds must be citizens or permanent residents of the United States or its possessions. High school graduates who have not yet enrolled, and students who have already received their bachelor's degrees, are not eligible.

ADDITIONAL INFORMATION: Click on the Title of the Site in the "Site Information" column to go to the homepage (if available) for that Site. Sites are ordered alphabetically by host institution. All Sites provide stipends, housing and meals, in addition to travel to and from the Site. This listing will change as new REU Site awards are made. Sites are added or deleted as decisions are made on awards, and the list is updated periodically. Clicking on a highlighted site title should direct you to the web page for more information on that program.

Please report errors in the list below by writing to reu.bio@nsf.gov.


Search Again

Show 30 items per page.
REU Sites
Site Information Site Location Contact Information Additional Information
North Carolina State University
REU Site: Tropical ecology and evolution at El Verde Field Station, Puerto Rico
Department of Applied Ecology
Raleigh, North Carolina
Primary: Alonso Ramirez
(787) 515-5100
alonso.ramirez@ncsu.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: Biosciences, ecology, tropical ecology, evolution
Comments: Program email: reu@ramirezlab.net
REU Site: Tropical ecology and evolution at El Verde Field Station, Puerto RicoAbstract of Award
Boston, Massachusetts
Primary: Wendy Smith
(617) 373-2600
w.smith@neu.edu
Secondary: Rebeca Rosengaus
(617) 373-7032
r.rosengaus@neu.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: Biology, interdisciplinary, development, regeneration, damage response, immunity
REU Site: Teamwork in Biology Inquiry: From Molecules to OrganismsAbstract of Award
Flagstaff, Arizona
Primary: Liza Holeski
(928) 523-0701
liza.holeski@nau.edu
Secondary: Ted Martinez
(928) 523-3383
Theodore.Martinez@nau.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: Biosciences, biology, environmental science, ecology, plant science
REU Site: Ecology, Genetics, and Adaptation on the Colorado PlateauAbstract of Award
Evanston, Illinois
Primary: Danielle Tullman-Ercek
(847) 491-7043
ercek@northwestern.edu
Secondary: Gabriel Rocklin
(312) 503-4226
grocklin@gmail.com
Research Topics/Keywords: biosciences, synthetic biology, bioengineering, microbiology, biochemistry, metabolic engineering, applied mathematics
Comments: Contact synbreu@northwestern.edu for information
REU Site: Synthetic Biology at Northwestern: From Molecules to Society (SynBREU2.0)Abstract of Award
Cofunded: Engineering
Columbus, Ohio
Primary: Jane Jackman
(614) 247-8097
jackman.14@osu.edu
Secondary: Susan Cole
(614) 292-3276
Cole.354@osu.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: biosciences, Molecular Biology, Molecular Genetics, Biochemistry, Microbiology
Comments: For program information, please email mgreu@osu.edu
REU Site: Undergraduate Research in Molecular Biology at The Ohio State UniversityAbstract of Award
Champaign, Illinois
Primary: CBritt Carlson
(217) 353-2132
ccarlson@parkland.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: biology, biosciences, plasticity, genomics, genetics, cell biology
Comments: The primary institution of this project is University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign
REU Site: Phenotypic plasticity research experience for community college studentsAbstract of Award
Malibu, California
Primary: Jay Brewster
(310) 506-4321
Jay.Brewster@pepperdine.edu
Secondary: Courtney Davis
(310) 506-4582
courtney.davis2@pepperdine.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: ecology, cell biology, molecular biology, botany, genetics, cellular stress
REU Site: Biological Adaptations to Stress -- Molecular, Cellular, EcologicalAbstract of Award
Cofunded: Department of Defense (DoD)
Princeton University
REU Site: Molecular Biophysics
Molecular Biology
Princeton, New Jersey
Primary: Jannette Carey
(609) 258-1631
jcarey@princeton.edu
Secondary: Istvan Pelczer
(609) 258-2342
ipelczer@princeton.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: Molecular Biology, international, Czech Republic, biophysics
Comments: Contact: Kuri T. Chacko, chacko@princeton.edu
REU Site: Molecular BiophysicsAbstract of Award
Cofunded: Chemistry, International Science and Engineering
Princeton University
REU Site: Princeton Neuroscience Institute Summer Internship Program
Princeton Neuroscience Institute
Princeton, New Jersey
Primary: Jonathan Cohen
(609) 258-2696
jdc@princeton.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: biosciences, neuroscience, psychology, molecular biology, cognitive science
Comments: Program Director: Ed Clayton (ec12@princeton.edu)
REU Site: Princeton Neuroscience Institute Summer Internship ProgramAbstract of Award
Princeton University, New Jersey
Primary: Bridgett vonHoldt
(609) 258-7021
vonholdt@Princeton.EDU
Secondary: Jannette Carey
(609) 258-1631
jcarey@princeton.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: biosciences, mathematics, incarceration
REU Site: Computational Biology Research, Gateway to STEMAbstract of Award
West Lafayette, Indiana
Primary: James Forney
(765) 494-1632
forney@purdue.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: biosciences, biochemistry, biotechnology, protein function, molecular biology, genetics, epigenetics, plant science
Comments: coordinator: Jennifer Wilson (wils1135@purdue.edu)
REU Site: Genetic and Biochemical Analysis of ProteinsAbstract of Award
West Lafayette, Indiana
Primary: Chao Cai
(765) 494-8684
caic@purdue.edu
Secondary: Natalia Dudareva
(765) 494-1325
dudareva@purdue.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: biosciences, plant biology, biochemistry, genetics, molecular biology, cell biology, plant physiology, bioinformatics, plant metabolism, chemical ecology, evolution, developmental biology
REU Site: Purdue Undergraduate Research Experiences for Plant Biology and Data Science (PURE-PD)Abstract of Award
Crested Butte, Colorado
Primary: Ian Billick
(970) 349-7231
director@rmbl.org
Secondary: Jennifer Reithel
(970) 349-1288
sd@rmbl.org
Research Topics/Keywords: biosciences, ecology, evolutionary biology
Comments: For questions about the program, contact Dr. Jennifer Reithel, sd@rmbl.org
REU Site: Research Training in Place-Based Field ResearchAbstract of Award
Sam Houston State University
REU Site: Research Experience for Undergraduates in Genome Science and Computational Biology
Biological Sciences
Huntsville, Texas
Primary: Madhusudan Choudhary
(936) 294-4850
mchoudhary@shsu.edu
Secondary: Hyuk Cho
(936) 294-1535
hyukcho@shsu.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: Biological Sciences, Genomics, Microbiome, Chemistry, Evolutionary Biology, Computational Biology
REU Site: Research Experience for Undergraduates in Genome Science and Computational BiologyAbstract of Award
Sioux Falls, South Dakota
Primary: Lance Lee
(605) 312-6410
Lance.Lee@sanfordhealth.org
Research Topics/Keywords: biosciences, molecular biology, cell biology, developmental biology, genetics
Comments: Program Coordinator: Tamara Ledeboer, Tamara.Ledeboer@sanfordhealth.org, 605-312-6590
REU Site in Cellular and Molecular Biology at Sanford ResearchAbstract of Award
Mystic, Connecticut
Primary: Tracy Romano
(860) 572-5955
tromano@mysticaquarium.org
Secondary: Michael Finiguerra
(860) 405-9082
michael.finiguerra@uconn.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: biology, biosciences, marine biology, marine science, animal physiology, ecology, animal behavior, immunology, cell biology
Comments: Contact: Michael Finiguerra (michael.finiguerra@uconn.edu)
REU Site Mystic Aquarium: Collaborative Research: Plankton to Whales: Consequences of Global Change within Marine EcosystemsAbstract of Award
Cofunded: Ocean Sciences
Simmons University
REU Site: A multisite REU in Synthetic Biology
Chemistry and Biology
Boston, Massachusetts
Primary: Jennifer Roecklein-Canfield
(617) 521-2731
jennifer.canfield@simmons.edu
Secondary: Mariam Ismail
(617) 521-2775
mariam.ismail@simmons.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: Biosciences, Synthetic Biology, Biology, Molecular Biology, Computational Biology
REU Site: A multisite REU in Synthetic BiologyAbstract of Award
Smithsonian Institution
REU Site: Natural History Research Experiences
National Museum of Natural History(NMNH)
Washington, DC, District Of Columbia
Primary: Virginia Power
(202) 633-1055
powerv@si.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: Ocean Science, Meteoritics, Volcanology, Mineralogy, Petrology, Paleobiology, Conservation, Biodiversity, Systematics, Genomics, Anthropology, Archeology, Ethnology, Botany, Entomology, Zoology
REU Site: Natural History Research ExperiencesAbstract of Award
Cofunded: Biological Sciences, Earth Sciences
Edgewater, Maryland
Primary: Alison Cawood
(443) 482-2271
cawooda@si.edu
Secondary: John Parker
(443) 482-2221
parkerj@si.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: biosciences, ecosystems, ecology, marine, terrestrial, population, community, landscape, climate change, environmental science
Comments: Mr. Daniel Gustafson, 443-482-2217, gustafsond@si.edu
Title: REU Site: Global Change Ecology at the Smithsonian Environmental Research CenterAbstract of Award
Brookings, South Dakota
Primary: Gonzalez-Hernandez, Jose
(605) 688-6907
jose.gonzalez@sdstate.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: Biosciences, agronomy, botany, ecology, life sciences, microbiology, molecular biology, plant breeding, plant sciences,
REU Site: Interdisciplinary undergraduate research in the plant sciences - From genomes to phenomesAbstract of Award
Tarleton State University
REU Site: Restoring working cattle ranches for sustainable land and water resources
Biological Sciences, Chemistry, Environmental Engineering, Geosciences, Sociology, and Wildlife, Sus
Stephenville, Texas
Primary: Victoria Chraibi
(254) 968-9326
chraibi@tarleton.edu
Secondary: Barbara Bellows
(254) 968-9000
bellows@tarleton.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: biology, biosciences, community ecology, environmental biology, environmental chemistry, environmental engineering, environmental policy, hydrogeology, landscape management, limnology, plant ecology
REU Site: Restoring working cattle ranches for sustainable land and water resourcesAbstract of Award
Texas A&M University
REU Site: Summer Undergraduate Research Program in Biochemistry
Department of Biochemistry and Biophysics
College Station, Texas
Primary: Mary Bryk
(979) 862-2294
bryk@tamu.edu
Secondary: Gary Kunkel
(979) 845-6257
g-kunkel@tamu.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: biosciences, biochemistry, biophysics, developmental biology, gene expression, genomics, enzymology, membrane structure, microbiology, molecular biology, phage biology, proteomics
Comments: coordinators are the PI and co-PI
REU Site: Summer Undergraduate Research Program in BiochemistryAbstract of Award
Cofunded: Chemistry
Lisle, Illinois
Primary: Charles Cannon
(630) 725-2071
ccannon@mortonarb.org
Secondary: Silvia Alvarez-Clare
(630) 725-4892
salvarezclare@mortonarb.org
Research Topics/Keywords: Biosciences, botany, trees, ecology, evolution, genetics, arboriculture, soils, roots, biodiversity
REU site at the Morton Arboretum: Integrated tree science in the AnthropoceneAbstract of Award
The Scripps Research Institute
REU Site: SURFing the Interface between Chemistry and Biology
Chemistry, Immunology and Microbiology, Molecular Medicine, Neuroscience, Integrative Structural and
Jupiter, Florida
Primary: Katrin Karbstein
(561) 228-3210
kkarbst@scripps.edu
Secondary: Rosie Albarran-Zeckler
(561) 228-2994
RZeckler@scripps.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: biosciences, biochemistry, chemistry, biology
Comments: Rosie Albarran-Zeckler, RZeckler@scripps.edu
REU Site: SURFing the Interface between Chemistry and BiologyAbstract of Award
The Scripps Research Institute
REU Site: Scripps’ Structure and Function Summer Institute (SFSI)
Office of Graduate Studies
La Jolla, California
Primary: Dawn Eastmond
(858) 784-2872
eastmond@scripps.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: biosciences, chemistry, structural biology, biochemistry, biology
REU Site: Scripps’ Structure and Function Summer Institute (SFSI)Abstract of Award
The University of Kansas
REU Site: The Stressed Life of Cells
Molecular Biosciences
Lawrence, Kansas
Primary: Lisa Timmons
(785) 864-7363
mb-reu@ku.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: biosciences, cell biology, microbiology, genetics, developmental biology, virology, computational biology, biochemistry
Comments: John Connolly
REU Site: The Stressed Life of CellsAbstract of Award
The University of Tennessee, Knoxville
REU Site: Research experiences for Deaf Students in Systems Biology and Molecular Signaling- How Cells and Organisms make Decisions
Department of Biochemistry & Cellular and Molecular Biology
Knoxville, Tennessee
Primary: Dan Roberts
(865) 974-4070
drobert2@utk.edu
Secondary: David Smith
(865) 329-7530
dsmit147@utk.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: Molecular Biology, Cellular Biology, Genomics,Bioinformatics, Systems Biology, Synthetic Biology, Computational Modeling
REU Site: Research experiences for Deaf Students in Systems Biology and Molecular Signaling- How Cells and Organisms make DecisionsAbstract of Award
The University of Texas at Austin
REU SITE: Summer Undergraduate Program for Experiential Research (SUPER) in Molecular Biosciences.
The Institute for Cellular and Molecular Biology
Alan Lloyd, Texas
Primary: Alan Lloyd
(512) 471-3530
amlloyd@utexas.edu
Secondary: Antonio Gonzalez
(512) 471-6424
antonio.gonzalez@austin.utexas.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: biosciences, molecular, biology, cell, development, gene, DNA, RNA
Comments: Coordinator: Justine Mecchio Justine.Meccio@austin.utexas.edu. (512)471-0934
REU SITE: Summer Undergraduate Program for Experiential Research (SUPER) in Molecular Biosciences.Abstract of Award
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Primary: David Zuzga
(215) 898-3964
dzuzga@wistar.org
Secondary: Kristy Shuda McGuire
(215) 898-3805
kshudamcguire@wistar.org
Research Topics/Keywords: Biosciences, Cell Biology, Gene Expression, Immunology, Immunotherapy, Microenvironment, Molecular Biology, Vaccine
Comments: Cailey Bice (Education Program Coordinator) cbice@wistar.org; 215-898-3749
REU Site: Understanding the Rules of Life: The Molecular Basis of Cellular Phenotypes (MBCP) ProgramAbstract of Award
Medford, Massachusetts
Primary: Philip Starks
(617) 627-4849
philip.starks@tufts.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: Biosciences, Mathematical Ecology, Genetics, Microbiology, Physiology, Evolution, Development, Botony, Plant-Herbivore Interactions, Marine Invertebrate Biology, Conservation, Physiology, Behavior...
REU Site: Integrative approaches to studying recognition systems in cells, organisms, and populationsAbstract of Award
Show 30 items per page.