Email Print Share

REU Sites

REU Sites: Biological Sciences

APPLICATIONS: Students must contact the individual site or program to apply. NSF does not have application materials and does not select student participants.

ELIGIBILITY: Individual sites may have additional eligibility requirements (e.g., number of undergraduate years completed). Undergraduate student participants supported with NSF funds must be citizens or permanent residents of the United States or its possessions. High school graduates who have not yet enrolled, and students who have already received their bachelor's degrees, are not eligible.

ADDITIONAL INFORMATION: Click on the Title of the Site in the "Site Information" column to go to the homepage (if available) for that Site. Sites are ordered alphabetically by host institution. All Sites provide stipends, housing and meals, in addition to travel to and from the Site. This listing will change as new REU Site awards are made. Sites are added or deleted as decisions are made on awards, and the list is updated periodically. Clicking on a highlighted site title should direct you to the web page for more information on that program.

Please report errors in the list below by writing to reu.bio@nsf.gov.


Search Again

Show 30 items per page.
REU Sites
Site Information Site Location Contact Information Additional Information
Columbus, Ohio
Primary: Jane Jackman
(614) 247-8097
jackman.14@osu.edu
Secondary: Susan Cole
(614) 292-3276
Cole.354@osu.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: biosciences, Molecular Biology, Molecular Genetics, Biochemistry, Microbiology
Comments: For program information, please email mgreu@osu.edu
REU Site: Undergraduate Research in Molecular Biology at The Ohio State UniversityAbstract of Award
Champaign, Illinois
Primary: CBritt Carlson
(217) 353-2132
ccarlson@parkland.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: biology, biosciences, plasticity, genomics, genetics, cell biology
Comments: The primary institution of this project is University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign
REU Site: Phenotypic plasticity research experience for community college studentsAbstract of Award
Malibu, California
Primary: Jay Brewster
(310) 506-4321
Jay.Brewster@pepperdine.edu
Secondary: Courtney Davis
(310) 506-4582
courtney.davis2@pepperdine.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: ecology, cell biology, molecular biology, botany, genetics, cellular stress
REU Site: Biological Adaptations to Stress -- Molecular, Cellular, EcologicalAbstract of Award
Cofunded: Department of Defense (DoD)
Princeton University
REU Site: Molecular Biophysics
Molecular Biology
Princeton, New Jersey
Primary: Jannette Carey
(609) 258-1631
jcarey@princeton.edu
Secondary: Istvan Pelczer
(609) 258-2342
ipelczer@princeton.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: Molecular Biology, international, Czech Republic, biophysics
Comments: Contact: Kuri T. Chacko, chacko@princeton.edu
REU Site: Molecular BiophysicsAbstract of Award
Cofunded: Chemistry, International Science and Engineering
Princeton University
REU Site: Princeton Neuroscience Institute Summer Internship Program
Princeton Neuroscience Institute
Princeton, New Jersey
Primary: Jonathan Cohen
(609) 258-2696
jdc@princeton.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: biosciences, neuroscience, cognitive neuroscience, computational neuroscience, systems neuroscience
Comments: Program Director, Ed Clayton: ec12@princeton.edu
REU Site: Princeton Neuroscience Institute Summer Internship ProgramAbstract of Award
West Lafayette, Indiana
Primary: James Forney
(765) 494-1632
forney@purdue.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: biosciences, biochemistry, genetics, biology molecular biology, cell biology, epigenetics,
Comments: coordinator: Sherry Pogranichniy (spograni@purdue.edu)
REU Site: Molecular and Biochemical Analysis of ProteinsAbstract of Award
Crested Butte, Colorado
Primary: Ian Billick
(970) 349-7231
director@rmbl.org
Secondary: Jennifer Reithel
(970) 349-1288
sd@rmbl.org
Research Topics/Keywords: biosciences, ecology, evolutionary biology
Comments: For questions about the program, contact Dr. Jennifer Reithel, sd@rmbl.org
REU Site: Research Training in Place-Based Field ResearchAbstract of Award
Sioux Falls, South Dakota
Primary: David Pearce
(605) 312-6004
David.Pearce@sanfordhealth.org
Secondary: Lance Lee
(605) 312-6410
Lance.Lee@sanfordhealth.org
Research Topics/Keywords: biosciences, molecular biology, cell biology, developmental biology, genetics
Comments: Program Coordinator: Tamara Ledeboer, Tamara.Ledeboer@sanfordhealth.org, 605-312-6590
REU Site in Cellular and Molecular Biology at Sanford ResearchAbstract of Award
San Francisco, California
Primary: Carmen Domingo
(415) 338-6995
cdomingo@sfsu.edu
Secondary: Sarah Cohen
(415) 338-3750
sarahcoh@sfsu.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: biology, biosciences, developmental biology, ecology, evolution, environmental sciences
Comments: For any question, email nsfreu@sfsu.edu
REU Site: Research in Environmental Studies and Evolutionary Developmental BiologyAbstract of Award
Mystic, Connecticut
Primary: Tracy Romano
(860) 572-5955
tromano@mysticaquarium.org
Secondary: Michael Finiguerra
(860) 405-9082
michael.finiguerra@uconn.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: biology, biosciences, marine biology, marine science, animal physiology, ecology, animal behavior, immunology, cell biology
Comments: Contact: Michael Finiguerra (michael.finiguerra@uconn.edu)
REU Site Mystic Aquarium: Collaborative Research: Investigating the Consequences of Global Change on Marine Animals and their EcosystemsAbstract of Award
Cofunded: Ocean Sciences
Simmons University
REU Site: A multisite REU in Synthetic Biology
Chemistry and Biology
Boston, Massachusetts
Primary: Jennifer Roecklein-Canfield
(617) 521-2731
jennifer.canfield@simmons.edu
Secondary: Mariam Ismail
(617) 521-2775
mariam.ismail@simmons.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: Biosciences, Synthetic Biology, Biology, Molecular Biology, Computational Biology
REU Site: A multisite REU in Synthetic BiologyAbstract of Award
Smithsonian Institution
REU Site: Global Change Ecology at the Smithsonian Environmental Research Center-SERC
Smithsonian Environmental Research Ctr
Edgewater, Maryland
Primary: John Parker
(443) 482-2221
parkerj@si.edu
Secondary: Alison Cawood
(202) 633-7110
cawooda@si.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: biology, environmental biology, biogeochemistry, ecology, marine ecology, terrestrial ecology, population ecology, community ecology, ecosystem ecology, landscape ecology, microbiology, science educat
Comments: Point of contact: Daniel Gustafson 443-482-2217 gustafsond@si.edu
REU Site: Global Change Ecology at the Smithsonian Environmental Research Center-SERCAbstract of Award
Edgewater, Maryland
Primary: Alison Cawood
(443) 482-2271
cawooda@si.edu
Secondary: John Parker
(443) 482-2221
parkerj@si.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: biosciences, ecosystems, ecology, marine, terrestrial, population, community, landscape, climate change, environmental science
Comments: Mr. Daniel Gustafson, 443-482-2217, gustafsond@si.edu
Title: REU Site: Global Change Ecology at the Smithsonian Environmental Research CenterAbstract of Award
Brookings, South Dakota
Primary: Bucking, Heike
(605) 688-5463
heike.bucking@sdstate.edu
Secondary: Gonzalez-Hernandez, Jose
(605) 688-6907
jose.gonzalez@sdstate.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: Biosciences, agronomy, botany, ecology, life sciences, microbiology, molecular biology, plant breeding, plant sciences,
REU Site: Interdisciplinary undergraduate research in the plant sciences - From genomes to phenomesAbstract of Award
Texas A&M University
REU Site: Summer Undergraduate Research Program in Biochemistry
Department of Biochemistry and Biophysics
College Station, Texas
Primary: Mary Bryk
(979) 862-2294
bryk@tamu.edu
Secondary: Gary Kunkel
(979) 845-6257
g-kunkel@tamu.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: biosciences, biochemistry, biophysics, developmental biology, gene expression, genomics, enzymology, membrane structure, microbiology, molecular biology, phage biology, proteomics
Comments: coordinators are the PI and co-PI
REU Site: Summer Undergraduate Research Program in BiochemistryAbstract of Award
Cofunded: Chemistry
Lisle, Illinois
Primary: Charles Cannon
(630) 725-2071
ccannon@mortonarb.org
Secondary: Silvia Alvarez-Clare
(630) 725-4892
salvarezclare@mortonarb.org
Research Topics/Keywords: Biosciences, botany, trees, ecology, evolution, genetics, arboriculture, soils, roots, biodiversity
REU site at the Morton Arboretum: Integrated tree science in the AnthropoceneAbstract of Award
The Scripps Research Institute
REU Site: Scripps’ Structure and Function Summer Institute (SFSI)
Doctoral Program in Chemical and Biological Sciences
La Jolla, California
Primary: Dawn Eastmond
(858) 784-2872
eastmond@scripps.edu
Secondary: Philip Dawson
(858) 784-7015
dawson@scripps.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: biosciences; chemistry, immunology, computational bioogy, neuroscience, biophysics, chemical biology, microbiology, bioinformatics, cell biology, genetics, and structural biology
REU Site: Scripps’ Structure and Function Summer Institute (SFSI)Abstract of Award
The Scripps Research Institute
REU Site: SURFing the Interface between Chemistry and Biology
Chemistry, Immunology and Microbiology, Molecular Medicine, Neuroscience, Integrative Structural and
Jupiter, Florida
Primary: Katrin Karbstein
(561) 228-3210
kkarbst@scripps.edu
Secondary: Rosie Albarran-Zeckler
(561) 228-2994
RZeckler@scripps.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: biosciences, biochemistry, chemistry, biology
Comments: Rosie Albarran-Zeckler, RZeckler@scripps.edu
REU Site: SURFing the Interface between Chemistry and BiologyAbstract of Award
The University of Tennessee, Knoxville
REU Site: Research experiences for Deaf Students in Systems Biology and Molecular Signaling- How Cells and Organisms make Decisions
Department of Biochemistry & Cellular and Molecular Biology
Knoxville, Tennessee
Primary: Dan Roberts
(865) 974-4070
drobert2@utk.edu
Secondary: David Smith
(865) 329-7530
dsmit147@utk.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: Molecular Biology, Cellular Biology, Genomics,Bioinformatics, Systems Biology, Synthetic Biology, Computational Modeling
REU Site: Research experiences for Deaf Students in Systems Biology and Molecular Signaling- How Cells and Organisms make DecisionsAbstract of Award
The University of Texas at Austin
REU SITE: Summer Undergraduate Program for Experiential Research (SUPER) in Molecular Biosciences.
The Institute for Cellular and Molecular Biology
Alan Lloyd, Texas
Primary: Alan Lloyd
(512) 471-3530
amlloyd@utexas.edu
Secondary: Antonio Gonzalez
(512) 471-6424
antonio.gonzalez@austin.utexas.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: biosciences, molecular, biology, cell, development, gene, DNA, RNA
Comments: Coordinator: Justine Mecchio Justine.Meccio@austin.utexas.edu. (512)471-0934
REU SITE: Summer Undergraduate Program for Experiential Research (SUPER) in Molecular Biosciences.Abstract of Award
Medford, Massachusetts
Primary: Philip Starks
(617) 627-4849
philip.starks@tufts.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: Biosciences, Mathematical Ecology, Genetics, Microbiology, Physiology, Evolution, Development, Botony, Plant-Herbivore Interactions, Marine Invertebrate Biology, Conservation, Physiology, Behavior...
REU Site: Integrative approaches to studying recognition systems in cells, organisms, and populationsAbstract of Award
Moscow, Idaho
Primary: David Pfeiffer
(208) 885-4109
dpfeiffer@uidaho.edu
Secondary: Douglas Cole
(208) 885-4071
dcole@uidaho.edu
University of Alabama at Birmingham
REU Site: Summer Program in Neuroscience (SPIN)
Department of Neurobiology
Birmingham, Alabama
Primary: Lucas Pozzo-Miller
(205) 975-4659
lucaspm@uab.edu
Secondary: Gwendalyn King
(205) 996-6247
gdking@uab.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: biology, biosciences, neuroscience, plasticity, neurodevelopment, molecular biology, cell biology, electrophysiology
Comments: Program coordinator: Jan Phillips: jancphil@uab.edu; (205) 934-2452
REU Site: Summer Program in Neuroscience (SPIN)Abstract of Award
University of Arizona
REU Site: Microbial Symbioses and Diversity Research Experience at the University of Arizona
School of Animal and Comparative Biomedical Sciences
Tucson, Arizona
Primary: Patricia Stock
(520) 621-0868
spstock@email.arizona.edu
Secondary: Gayatri Vedantam
(520) 626-6839
gayatri@email.arizona.edu
Fayetteville, Arkansas
Primary: Michelle EvansWhite
(479) 575-4706
mevanswh@uark.edu
Secondary: Marty Matlock
(479) 575-2849
mmatlock@uark.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: biology, biosciences, ecology, sustainability, environmental sciences, natural resources
Comments: Program coordinator: Michelle Evans-White
REU Site: Assessment and Sustainable Management of Ecosystem Services at the Nexus of Food, Energy, and WaterAbstract of Award
University of Arkansas
REU Site: Indigenous America to Indigenous Mekong (Vietnam and Thailand) - Adventures in Biology and Biodiversity
Department of Biological Sciences and Cellular and Molecular Biology Program
Fayetteville, Arkansas
Primary: Ruben Ceballos
(479) 575-5643
ceballos@uark.edu
University of California, Los Angeles
REU Site: Computational Biosciences Research Experience for Undergraduates
Institute for Quantitative and Computational Biology
Los Angeles, California
Primary: Hilary Coller
(310) 825-3483
hcoller@ucla.edu
Secondary: Alexander Hoffmann
(310) 794-9925
ahoffmann@ucla.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: Biosciences, quantitative biology, computational biology, next generation sequencing, computer programming, statistics
Comments: Coordinator: Jessica Jimenez, jessica.jimenez@ucla.edu
REU Site: Computational Biosciences Research Experience for UndergraduatesAbstract of Award
University of California Berkeley
REU Site at UC Berkeley: Integrated Biology from Molecules to Ecosystems
Host department: Integrative Biology / 13 participating departments
Berkeley, California
Primary: Gian Garriga
(510) 642-5859
garriga@berkeley.edu
Secondary: Tyrone Hayes
(510) 643-1055
tyrone@berkeley.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: Integrative Biology Evolution, Development
Comments: contact: reuapplic@lists.berkeley.edu
REU Site at UC Berkeley: Integrated Biology from Molecules to EcosystemsAbstract of Award
University of California Riverside
REU Site: Research Experiences for Undergraduates in Plant and Plant Cell Biology
Plant Pathology and Microbiology
Riverside, California
Primary: Thomas Eulgem
951-827-7740
thomas.eulgem@ucr.edu
Secondary: Howard S Judelson
951-827-4199
howard.judelson@ucr.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: biology, plants, plant pathogens, cell biology, molecular biology, genomics, botany, microbiology
REU Site: Research Experiences for Undergraduates in Plant and Plant Cell BiologyAbstract of Award
University of California San Francisco
REU Site: NSF REU in Molecular Biosciences
All Departments
San Francisco, California
Primary: Carol Gross
(415) 476-4161
cgrossucsf@gmail.com
Secondary: Hana Samad
(415) 476-2596
helsamad@gmail.com
Research Topics/Keywords: Genetics/Genomics, Biochemistry, cell biology, systems/synthetic biology; bioengineering
Comments: julia.clark@ucsf.edu
REU Site: NSF REU in Molecular BiosciencesAbstract of Award
Show 30 items per page.