Email Print Share

REU Sites

REU Sites: Biological Sciences

APPLICATIONS: Students must contact the individual site or program to apply. NSF does not have application materials and does not select student participants.

ELIGIBILITY: Individual sites may have additional eligibility requirements (e.g., number of undergraduate years completed). Undergraduate student participants supported with NSF funds must be citizens or permanent residents of the United States or its possessions. High school graduates who have not yet enrolled, and students who have already received their bachelor's degrees, are not eligible.

ADDITIONAL INFORMATION: Click on the Title of the Site in the "Site Information" column to go to the homepage (if available) for that Site. Sites are ordered alphabetically by host institution. All Sites provide stipends, housing and meals, in addition to travel to and from the Site. This listing will change as new REU Site awards are made. Sites are added or deleted as decisions are made on awards, and the list is updated periodically. Clicking on a highlighted site title should direct you to the web page for more information on that program.

Please report errors in the list below by writing to reu.bio@nsf.gov.


Search Again

Show 30 items per page.
REU Sites
Site Information Site Location Contact Information Additional Information
Rutgers University - Camden
REU Site: Computational Biology Summer Research Experience at Rutgers
Center for Computational and Integrative Biology
Camden, New Jersey
Primary: Benedetto Piccoli
(856) 225-6356
piccoli@camden.rutgers.edu
Secondary: Joseph Martin
(856) 225-6165
joe.martin@rutgers.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: Biology, Biosciences, Computer Science, Computational Biology, Developmental Biology, Systems Biology, Ecosystem Studies, Plant Biology,
Comments: Karen Taylor: kdt41@camden.rutgers.edu
REU Site: Computational Biology Summer Research Experience at RutgersAbstract of Award
San Francisco, California
Primary: Carmen Domingo
(415) 338-6995
cdomingo@sfsu.edu
Secondary: Sarah Cohen
(415) 338-3750
sarahcoh@sfsu.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: biology, biosciences, developmental biology, ecology, evolution, environmental sciences
Comments: For any question, email nsfreu@sfsu.edu
REU Site: Research in Environmental Studies and Evolutionary Developmental BiologyAbstract of Award
Julio Soto, California
Primary: Miri VanHoven
(408) 924-4925
julio.soto@sjsu.edu
Secondary: Miri VanHoven
(415) 269-7373
miri.vanhoven@sjsu.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: Molecular Biology, Cell Biology, Physiology, Genetics, Microbiology, Biochemistry
REU Site: Research by Undergraduates using Molecular Biology Applications (RUMBA)Abstract of Award
Mystic, Connecticut
Primary: Tracy Romano
(860) 572-5955
tromano@mysticaquarium.org
Secondary: Michael Finiguerra
(860) 405-9082
michael.finiguerra@uconn.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: biology, biosciences, marine biology, marine science, animal physiology, ecology, animal behavior, immunology, cell biology
Comments: Contact: Michael Finiguerra (michael.finiguerra@uconn.edu)
REU Site Mystic Aquarium: Collaborative Research: Investigating the Consequences of Global Change on Marine Animals and their EcosystemsAbstract of Award
Cofunded: Ocean Sciences
Smithsonian Institution
REU Site: Natural History Research Experiences
National Museum of Natural History(NMNH)
Washington, DC, District Of Columbia
Primary: Virginia Power
(202) 633-1055
powerv@si.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: geoscience, planets, asteroids, mineralogy, petrology, volcanology, paleobiology, oceanography, environmental, evolution,biodiversity, taxonomy,genomics,anthropology,archaeology,ethnology,linguistics
REU Site: Natural History Research ExperiencesAbstract of Award
Cofunded: Biological Sciences, Earth Sciences
Edgewater, Maryland
Primary: John Parker
(443) 482-2221
parkerj@si.edu
Secondary: Alison Cawood
(443) 482-2271
cawooda@si.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: biology, biosciences, ecology, evolution, field research, biological invasions, climate change, biodiversity-ecosystem function, biogeochemistry, environmental education, communications
Comments: Internship Coordinator: Daniel Gustafson, gustafsond@si.edu, 443-482-2217
REU Site: Global Change Ecology at the Smithsonian Environmental Research CenterAbstract of Award
Tarleton State University
REU Site: Restoring working cattle ranches for sustainable land and water resources
Biological Sciences, Chemistry, Environmental Engineering, Geosciences, Sociology, and Wildlife, Sus
Stephenville, Texas
Primary: Christopher Higgins
(254) 968-9019
higgins@tarleton.edu
Secondary: Barbara Bellows
(254) 968-9000
bellows@tarleton.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: biology, biosciences, community ecology, environmental biology, environmental chemistry, environmental engineering, environmental policy, hydrogeology, landscape management, limnology, plant ecology
REU Site: Restoring working cattle ranches for sustainable land and water resourcesAbstract of Award
Texas A&M AgriLife Research / Texas A&M University
REU Site - Summer Undergraduate Research Program in Biochemistry
Biochemistry and Biophysics
College Station, Texas
Primary: Gary Kunkel
(979) 845-6257
g-kunkel@tamu.edu
Secondary: Mary Bryk
(979) 862-2294
bryk@tamu.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: biochemistry/molecular biology/genomics/proteomics/enzymology/structural biology/gene expression/membrane structure/developmental biology
Comments: coordinators are the PI and co-PI
REU Site - Summer Undergraduate Research Program in BiochemistryAbstract of Award
Cofunded: Chemistry
The Scripps Research Institute
REU Site: Scripps Structure and Function Summer Institute (SFSI)
Doctoral Program in Chemical and Biological Sciences
La Jolla, California
Primary: James Williamson
(858) 784-8740
jrwill@scripps.edu
Secondary: Dawn Eastmond
(858) 784-2872
eastmond@scripps.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: chemistry, immunology, computational bioogy, neuroscience, biophysics, chemical biology, microbiology, bioinformatics, cell biology, genetics, and structural biology
REU Site: Scripps Structure and Function Summer Institute (SFSI)Abstract of Award
The Scripps Research Institute
REU Site: SURFing the Interface between Chemistry and Biology
Chemistry, Immunology and Microbiology, Molecular Medicine, Neuroscience, Integrative Structural and
Jupiter, Florida
Primary: Katrin Karbstein
(561) 228-3210
kkarbst@scripps.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: biology, biosciences, Chemical Biology, Biochemistry, Neuroscience
Comments: Rosie Albarran-Zeckler, Rzeckler@scripps.edu, 561 228 2994
REU Site: SURFing the Interface between Chemistry and BiologyAbstract of Award
Medford, Massachusetts
Primary: Philip Starks
(617) 627-4849
philip.starks@tufts.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: biology, biosciences, biochemistry, genetics, development, endocrinology, neurobiology, behavior, ecology, and conservation
REU Site: Integrative approaches to studying recognition systems in cells, organisms, and populationsAbstract of Award
Medford, Massachusetts
Primary: Kyongbum Lee
(617) 627-4323
kyongbum.lee@tufts.edu
Secondary: Daniel Ryder
(617) 627-3446
daniel.ryder@tufts.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: biology, biosciences, bioengineering, data science, computational design, systems biology, microbiome, stem cells
REU Site: Enabling Analysis and Design of Complex Biological Systems using Data ScienceAbstract of Award
Cofunded: Engineering, Cyberinfrastructure
Moscow, Idaho
Primary: David Pfeiffer
(208) 885-4109
dpfeiffer@uidaho.edu
Secondary: Douglas Cole
(208) 885-4071
dcole@uidaho.edu
University of Alabama at Birmingham
REU Site: Summer Program in Neuroscience (SPIN)
Department of Neurobiology
Birmingham, Alabama
Primary: Lucas Pozzo-Miller
(205) 975-4659
lucaspm@uab.edu
Secondary: Gwendalyn King
(205) 996-6247
gdking@uab.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: biology, biosciences, neuroscience, plasticity, neurodevelopment, molecular biology, cell biology, electrophysiology
Comments: Program coordinator: Jan Phillips: jancphil@uab.edu; (205) 934-2452
REU Site: Summer Program in Neuroscience (SPIN)Abstract of Award
Fayetteville, Arkansas
Primary: Michelle EvansWhite
(479) 575-4706
mevanswh@uark.edu
Secondary: Marty Matlock
(479) 575-2849
mmatlock@uark.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: biology, biosciences, ecology, sustainability, environmental sciences, natural resources
Comments: Program coordinator: Michelle Evans-White
REU Site: Assessment and Sustainable Management of Ecosystem Services at the Nexus of Food, Energy, and WaterAbstract of Award
University of Arkansas
REU Site: Indigenous America to Indigenous Mekong (Vietnam and Thailand) - Adventures in Biology and Biodiversity
Department of Biological Sciences and Cellular and Molecular Biology Program
Fayetteville, Arkansas
Primary: Ruben Ceballos
(479) 575-5643
ceballos@uark.edu
University of California Berkeley
REU Site at UC Berkeley: Integrated Biology from Molecules to Ecosystems
Host department: Integrative Biology / 13 participating departments
Berkeley, California
Primary: Gian Garriga
(510) 642-5859
garriga@berkeley.edu
Secondary: Tyrone Hayes
(510) 643-1055
tyrone@berkeley.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: Integrative Biology Evolution, Development
Comments: contact: reuapplic@lists.berkeley.edu
REU Site at UC Berkeley: Integrated Biology from Molecules to EcosystemsAbstract of Award
University of California Riverside
REU Site: Research Experiences for Undergraduates in Plant and Plant Cell Biology
Plant Pathology and Microbiology
Riverside, California
Primary: Thomas Eulgem
951-827-7740
thomas.eulgem@ucr.edu
Secondary: Howard S Judelson
951-827-4199
howard.judelson@ucr.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: biology, plants, plant pathogens, cell biology, molecular biology, genomics, botany, microbiology
REU Site: Research Experiences for Undergraduates in Plant and Plant Cell BiologyAbstract of Award
University of California San Francisco
REU Site: NSF REU in Molecular Biosciences
All Departments
San Francisco, California
Primary: Carol Gross
(415) 476-4161
cgrossucsf@gmail.com
Secondary: Hana Samad
(415) 476-2596
helsamad@gmail.com
Research Topics/Keywords: Genetics/Genomics, Biochemistry, cell biology, systems/synthetic biology; bioengineering
Comments: julia.clark@ucsf.edu
REU Site: NSF REU in Molecular BiosciencesAbstract of Award
Edmond, Oklahoma
Primary: John Barthell
(405) 974-3371
jbarthell@uco.edu
Secondary: Charles Abramson
(405) 744-7492
charles.abramson@okstate.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: biology, biosciences, bees, behavior, integrative, international, pollination, ecology, Turkey, Greece
Comments: Please contact Ms. Lisa Kern at lkern@uco.edu or (405) 974-5150 for questions about the program; she will contact the appropriate Senior Personnel member for information to assist you.
REU Site: Synergistic Studies of Honey Bees in the Republic of TurkeyAbstract of Award
Cofunded: International Science and Engineering
University of Chicago
REU Site in Molecular Genetics and Cell Biology at the University of Chicago
Molecular Genetics and Cell Biology
Chicago, Illinois
Primary: Aaron Turkewitz
(773) 702-4374
apturkew@uchicago.edu
Secondary: Lucia B Rothman-Denes
(773) 702-1083
lbrd@uchicago.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: biology, biosciences, genetics, development, cells and viruses, host-pathogen interactions, computer modeling, microscopy, epigenetics, cancer, circadian clocks, secretion
Comments: coordinator: Catherine Will cwill@bsd.uchicago.edu
REU Site in Molecular Genetics and Cell Biology at the University of ChicagoAbstract of Award
University of Colorado Boulder
REU Site: Achieving heightened goals- Undergraduates Research in Ecology at the Mountain Research Station
Institute of Arctic and Alpine Research, Mountain Research Station
Boulder, Colorado
Primary: William Bowman
303-492-2557
william.bowman@colorado.edu
Secondary: Michael Breed
303-492-7687
michael.breed@colorado.edu
Storrs, Connecticut
Primary: Michael Finiguerra
(860) 405-9082
michael.finiguerra@uconn.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: biology, biosciences, marine biology, marine science, animal physiology, ecology, animal behavior, immunology, cell biology
Comments: Contact: Michael Finiguerra (michael.finiguerra@uconn.edu)
REU Site Mystic Aquarium: Collaborative Research: Investigating the Consequences of Global Change on Marine Animals and their EcosystemsAbstract of Award
Cofunded: Ocean Sciences
University of Connecticut
REU Site: Research Experiences in Physiology and Neurobiology at UCONN
Physiology and Neurobiology
Storrs, Connecticut
Primary: Xinnian Chen
(860) 486-6169
xinnian.chen@uconn.edu
Secondary: Larry Renfro
(860) 486-4119
larry.renfro@uconn.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: biosciences,physiology,developmental neurobiology,renal physiology,respiratory physiology,synaptic plasticity,neural circuits,molecular and cell biology,bioinformatics, omputational biology
REU Site: Research Experiences in Physiology and Neurobiology at UCONNAbstract of Award
University of Florida
REU Site: Marine Biodiversity: lessons from molecules, development and behavior
Whitney Laboratory for Marine Bioscience
Saint Augustine, Florida
Primary: Elaine Seaver
(904) 461-4030
seaver@whitney.ufl.edu
Secondary: Joseph Ryan
(904) 461-4046
joseph.ryan@whitney.ufl.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: biology, biosciences, evolution, marine biology, neurobiology, embryology, genomics, coastal ecology, biomechanics, locomotion, molecular biology, biogeochemistry
Comments: Coordinator: Brenda Cannaliato (brenda@whitney.ufl.edu)
REU Site: Marine Biodiversity: lessons from molecules, development and behaviorAbstract of Award
University of Georgia
REU Site: Research in Prokaryotic Biology
Microbiology
Athens, Georgia
Primary: Vincent Starai
706-542-5755
vjstarai@uga.edu
Secondary: Diana Downs
706-542-9573
dmdowns@uga.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: microbiology, bacteriology, microbial ecology, bacterial symbiosis, microbial physiology
REU Site: Research in Prokaryotic BiologyAbstract of Award
University of Georgia
REU Site: Population Biology of Infectious Diseases
Odum School of Ecology
Athens, Georgia
Primary: John Drake
(706) 583-5539
jdrake@uga.edu
Secondary: Michael Strand
(706) 583-8237
mrstrand@uga.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: biology, biosciences, infectious disease, mathematics, ecology, modeling, biostatistics, epidemiology, evolutionary biology, vector biology, parasitology
REU Site: Population Biology of Infectious DiseasesAbstract of Award
University of Georgia
REU Site: Radioecology
Savannah River Ecology Laboratory
Aiken, South Carolina
Primary: Tracey Tuberville
(803) 725-5757
tubervil@uga.edu
Secondary: Melissa Pilgrim
(864) 503-5781
mpilgrim@uscupstate.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: biology, radioecology, ecotoxicology, ecology, biogeochemistry
Comments: Alternate contact: Margaret Wead, wead@srel.uga.edu; 803-725-5733
REU Site: RadioecologyAbstract of Award
Athens, Georgia
Primary: Jonathan Arnold
706-542-1449
arnold@uga.edu
Secondary: David Logan
(404) 906-6669
dlogan@cau.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: gnomics, computational biology, epigenetics, bioinformatics, systems biology
REU Site: Collaborative Research: Genomics and Computational BiologyAbstract of Award
Honolulu, Hawaii
Primary: Stuart Donachie
(808) 956-5336
donachie@hawaii.edu
Secondary: Stephanie Kraft-Terry
(808) 956-0735
kraft2@hawaii.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: biology, biosciences, microbiology, genomics, bioinformatics
REU Site: Undergraduate Research Experiences in DNA-based discoveries in Hawaii's BiodiversityAbstract of Award
Show 30 items per page.