Email Print Share

REU Sites

REU Sites: Biological Sciences

APPLICATIONS: Students must contact the individual site or program to apply. NSF does not have application materials and does not select student participants.

ELIGIBILITY: Individual sites may have additional eligibility requirements (e.g., number of undergraduate years completed). Undergraduate student participants supported with NSF funds must be citizens or permanent residents of the United States or its possessions. High school graduates who have not yet enrolled, and students who have already received their bachelor's degrees, are not eligible.

ADDITIONAL INFORMATION: Click on the Title of the Site in the "Site Information" column to go to the homepage (if available) for that Site. Sites are ordered alphabetically by host institution. All Sites provide stipends, housing and meals, in addition to travel to and from the Site. This listing will change as new REU Site awards are made. Sites are added or deleted as decisions are made on awards, and the list is updated periodically. Clicking on a highlighted site title should direct you to the web page for more information on that program.

Please report errors in the list below by writing to reu.bio@nsf.gov.


Search Again

REU Sites
Site Information Site Location Contact Information Additional Information
Edmond, Oklahoma
Primary: John Barthell
(405) 974-3371
jbarthell@uco.edu
Secondary: Charles Abramson
(405) 744-7492
charles.abramson@okstate.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: biology, biosciences, bees, behavior, integrative, international, pollination, ecology, Turkey, Greece
Comments: Please contact Ms. Lisa Kern at lkern@uco.edu or (405) 974-5150 for questions about the program; she will contact the appropriate Senior Personnel member for information to assist you.
Abstract of Award
Cofunded: International Science and Engineering
University of Chicago
REU Site in Molecular Genetics and Cell Biology at the University of Chicago
Molecular Genetics and Cell Biology
Chicago, Illinois
Primary: Aaron Turkewitz
(773) 702-4374
apturkew@uchicago.edu
Secondary: Lucia B Rothman-Denes
(773) 702-1083
lbrd@uchicago.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: biology, biosciences, genetics, development, cells and viruses, host-pathogen interactions, computer modeling, microscopy, epigenetics, cancer, circadian clocks, secretion
Comments: coordinator: Catherine Will cwill@bsd.uchicago.edu
Abstract of Award
University of Cincinnati
New REU Site: Sensory Ecology: An Integrative Approach
Biological Sciences
Cincinnati, Ohio
Primary: George Uetz
(513) 556-9752
ken.petren@uc.edu
Secondary: uetzgw@ucmail.uc.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: Behavior, population biology, field research, neurobiology, ethology, genetics
Comments: Charmaine Mitchell, program coordinator, 513-556-9750
Abstract of Award
University of Colorado Boulder
REU Site: Achieving heightened goals- Undergraduates Research in Ecology at the Mountain Research Station
Institute of Arctic and Alpine Research, Mountain Research Station
Boulder, Colorado
Primary: William Bowman
303-492-2557
william.bowman@colorado.edu
Secondary: Michael Breed
303-492-7687
michael.breed@colorado.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: Biology, ecology, evolution, behavior
Abstract of Award
Storrs, Connecticut
Primary: Michael Finiguerra
(860) 405-9082
michael.finiguerra@uconn.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: biology, biosciences, marine biology, marine science, animal physiology, ecology, animal behavior, immunology, cell biology
Comments: Contact: Michael Finiguerra (michael.finiguerra@uconn.edu)
Abstract of Award
Cofunded: Ocean Sciences
University of Connecticut
REU Site: Research Experiences in Physiology and Neurobiology at UCONN
Physiology and Neurobiology
Storrs, Connecticut
Primary: Xinnian Chen
(860) 486-6169
xinnian.chen@uconn.edu
Secondary: Larry Renfro
(860) 486-4119
larry.renfro@uconn.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: biosciences,physiology,developmental neurobiology,renal physiology,respiratory physiology,synaptic plasticity,neural circuits,molecular and cell biology,bioinformatics, omputational biology
Abstract of Award
University of Florida
REU Site: Marine Biodiversity: lessons from molecules, development and behavior
Whitney Laboratory for Marine Bioscience
Saint Augustine, Florida
Primary: Elaine Seaver
(904) 461-4030
seaver@whitney.ufl.edu
Secondary: Joseph Ryan
(904) 461-4046
joseph.ryan@whitney.ufl.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: biology, biosciences, evolution, marine biology, neurobiology, embryology, genomics, coastal ecology, biomechanics, locomotion, molecular biology, biogeochemistry
Comments: Coordinator: Brenda Cannaliato (brenda@whitney.ufl.edu)
Abstract of Award
University of Georgia
REU Site: Research in Prokaryotic Biology
Microbiology
Athens, Georgia
Primary: Vincent Starai
706-542-5755
vjstarai@uga.edu
Secondary: Diana Downs
706-542-9573
dmdowns@uga.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: microbiology, bacteriology, microbial ecology, bacterial symbiosis, microbial physiology
Abstract of Award
University of Georgia
REU Site: Population Biology of Infectious Diseases
Odum School of Ecology
Athens, Georgia
Primary: John Drake
(706) 583-5539
jdrake@uga.edu
Secondary: Michael Strand
(706) 583-8237
mrstrand@uga.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: biology, biosciences, infectious disease, mathematics, ecology, modeling, biostatistics, epidemiology, evolutionary biology, vector biology, parasitology
Abstract of Award
University of Georgia
REU Site: Radioecology
Savannah River Ecology Laboratory
Aiken, South Carolina
Primary: J.Vaun McArthur
(803) 725-5317
mcarthur@srel.uga.edu
Secondary: Melissa Pilgrim
(864) 503-5781
mpilgrim@uscupstate.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: biology, radioecology, ecotoxicology, ecology, biogeochemistry
Comments: Alternate contact: Margaret Wead, wead@srel.uga.edu; 803-725-5733
Abstract of Award
University of Georgia
REU Site: Undergraduate Biology Education Research Program
Division of Biological Sciences and Mathematics and Science Education Department
Athens, Georgia
Primary: Julie Stanton
(706) 542-2978
stantonj@uga.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: Biology Education Research
Abstract of Award
Cofunded: Biological Sciences
Athens, Georgia
Primary: Jonathan Arnold
706-542-1449
arnold@uga.edu
Secondary: David Logan
(404) 906-6669
dlogan@cau.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: gnomics, computational biology, epigenetics, bioinformatics, systems biology
Abstract of Award
Honolulu, Hawaii
Primary: Stuart Donachie
(808) 956-5336
donachie@hawaii.edu
Secondary: Stephanie Kraft-Terry
(808) 956-0735
kraft2@hawaii.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: biology, biosciences, microbiology, genomics, bioinformatics
Abstract of Award
University of Hawaii
REU Site: Environmental Biology for Pacific Islanders
Pacific Biosciences Research Center
Honolulu, Hawaii
Primary: Michael Hadfield
(808) 539-7319
hadfield@hawaii.edu
Secondary: Matthew Medeiros
(808) 956-8187
mcmedeir@hawaii.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: biology, biosciences, environmental biology, ecology and evolution, marine biology, coral- reef biology, animal/plant-microbe interactions
Abstract of Award
Cofunded: Ocean Sciences
Hilo, Hawaii
Primary: Rebecca Ostertag
ostertag@hawaii.edu
Secondary: Sharon Ziegler
ziegler@hawaii.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: biology, ecology, environmental science, conservation, tropical
Comments: Please contact: Sharon Ziegler-Chong 808-933-0759; ziegler@hawaii.edu
Abstract of Award
University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign
REU Site: Phenotypic plasticity research experience for community college students
Institute for Genomic Biology
Urbana, Illinois
Primary: Nathan Schroeder
(217) 244-6128
nes@illinois.edu
Secondary: C. Britt Carlson
(217) 353-2132
ccarlson@parkland.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: biology, biosciences, plasticity, genomics, genetics, cell biology
Abstract of Award
Iowa City, Iowa
Primary: David Weiss
(319) 335-7785
david-weiss@uiowa.edu
Secondary: Linda McCarter
(319) 335-9721
linda-mccarter@uiowa.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: biology, biosciences, microbiology, virology, immunology, bacteria, genetics, biochemistry
Comments: undergrad-micro-info@uiowa.edu
Abstract of Award
University of Kansas
REU Site: Models in Evolution, Ecology and Systematics
Ecology and Evolutionary Biology
Lawrence, Kansas
Primary: Jennifer Gleason
(785) 864-5858
jgleason@ku.edu
Secondary: Deborah Smith
(785) 864-4340
debsmith@ku.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: biology, biosciences, evolution, ecology, systematics, mathematical models, bioinformatics, computational biology, theory
Comments: REU Administrative Assistant: Ms Dorothy Johanning, email: eebreu@ku.edu
Abstract of Award
University of Kentucky
REU Site: Summer Program in the Biochemical Sciences
Molecular and Cellular Biochemistry
Lexington, Kentucky
Primary: Trevor Creamer
859-323-6037
Trevor.Creamer@uky.edu
Secondary: Rebecca Dutch
859-323-1795
rdutc2@uky.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: biochemistry, molecular biology, cell biology, structural biology, biophysics
Abstract of Award
Cofunded: Department of Defense (DoD), Chemistry
Princess Anne, Maryland
Primary: Paulinus Chigbu
(410) 621-3034
pchigbu@umes.edu
Secondary: Margaret Sexton
(410) 621-1049
masexton@umes.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: biology, marine and Estuarine Science, fish ecology, zooplankton ecology, geochemistry, ecotoxicology, molecular biology, crustacea biology; benthic macroinvertebrates; physical oceanography; microbio
Comments: Although the program accepts undergraduates at all levels, preference is given to freshmen and sophomores, and to students from institutions with limited research programs in marine and estuarine scie
Abstract of Award
Cofunded: Ocean Sciences
Boston, Massachusetts
Primary: Rachel Skvirsky
(617) 287-6617
rachel.skvirsky@umb.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: biology, biosciences, evolution, genetics, cell biology, molecular biology, ecology, developmental biology
Comments: Contact: Claudia Heske. claudia.heske@umb.edu 617-287-6649
Abstract of Award
Cofunded: Biological Sciences
No. Dartmouth, Massachusetts
Primary: Nancy O'Connor
(508) 999-8217
noconnor@umassd.edu
Secondary: Tara Rajaniemi
(508) 999-8223
trajaniemi@umassd.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: biology, Marine biology, fisheries, oceanography, ecology, physiology, microbiology, developmental biology, genetics
Abstract of Award
260 miles north of Ann Arbor, Michigan
Primary: Dr. David Karowe
(269) 387-5630
karowe@wmich.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: Ecology & Atmospheric Sciences: Global Change, Botany, Zoology, Biogeochemistry, Chemistry, Physics, Meteorology
Comments: Interdisciplinary program focused on the ecological and atmospheric causes and consequences of global change
Abstract of Award
Cofunded: Biological Sciences, Earth Sciences
University of Michigan
REU Site: Interdisciplinary REU in the Structure and Function of Proteins
College of Pharmacy - Dept. of Medicinal Chemistry
Ann Arbor, Michigan
Primary: Cherie Dotson
(734) 615-6562
crdotson@umich.edu
Secondary: Ronald Woodard
(734) 764-7366
rww@umich.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: biology, biosciences, biochemistry, biophysics, bioinformatics, computational chemistry, enzymology
Comments: same as PI
Abstract of Award
University of Missouri
REU Site: Summer Research Projects in Neuroscience
College of Arts & Sciences and College of Engineering
Columbia, Missouri
Primary: Satish Nair
(573) 882-2964
nairs@missouri.edu
Secondary: David Schulz
(573) 882-4067
schulzd@missouri.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: biology, biosciences, neuroscience, computational methods
Abstract of Award
Cofunded: Department of Defense (DoD)
University of Nebraska - Lincoln
REU Site: Training in Redox Biology
Biochemistry
Lincoln, Nebraska
Primary: Donald Becker
402-472-9652
dbecker3@unl.edu
Secondary: Julie Stone
402-472-4902
jstone2@unl.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: Redox biology, biochemistry, oxidative stress, redox signaling and regulation, enzymes, protein structure, molecular biology
Comments: Hannah Kahler/Administrative Assistant/hkahler2@unl.edu
Abstract of Award
Cofunded: Chemistry
University of Nebraska-Lincoln
REU Site: Bioenergy Systems
School of Biological Sciences
Lincoln, Nebraska
Primary: Paul Blum
(402) 472-2769
pblum1@unl.edu
Secondary: Heriberto Cerutti
(402) 472-0247
jcerutti1@unl.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: biology, biosciences, biochemistry, microbiology, molecular biology, plant science
Abstract of Award
University of Nevada Las Vegas
REU Site: Mechanism of Evolution
School of Life Sciences
Las Vegas, Nevada
Primary: Kurt Regner
702-895 1071
kurt.regner@unlv.edu
Secondary: Eduardo Robleto
702-895 2496
eduardo.robleto@unlv.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: Biological Sciences, microbiology, physiology, biogeography, cell biology
Comments: Kurt Regner/Eduardo Robleto
Abstract of Award
Albuquerque, New Mexico
Primary: Scott Collins
(505) 277-6303
scollins@sevilleta.unm.edu
Secondary: Amaris Swann
(505) 277-4186
aswann@unm.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: biology, biosciences, aridland ecology, biodiversity, ecohydrology, plants, birds, arthropods, climate variability
Abstract of Award
University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill
REU Site in Molecular Bioscience
Office of Graduate Education
Chapel Hill, North Carolina
Primary: Stephen Rogers
(919) 843-7342
srogers@bio.unc.edu
Secondary: Gwen Sancar
(919) 966-2077
gwendolyn_sancar@med.unc.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: Genetics, Cell Biology, Biochemistry, Microbiology, Structural Biology
Comments: Coordinator: Sausyty Hermrick Contact: sausyty_hermreck@med.unc.edu
Abstract of Award