Email Print Share

REU Sites

REU Sites: Biological Sciences

APPLICATIONS: Students must contact the individual site or program to apply. NSF does not have application materials and does not select student participants.

ELIGIBILITY: Individual sites may have additional eligibility requirements (e.g., number of undergraduate years completed). Undergraduate student participants supported with NSF funds must be citizens or permanent residents of the United States or its possessions. High school graduates who have not yet enrolled, and students who have already received their bachelor's degrees, are not eligible.

ADDITIONAL INFORMATION: Click on the Title of the Site in the "Site Information" column to go to the homepage (if available) for that Site. Sites are ordered alphabetically by host institution. All Sites provide stipends, housing and meals, in addition to travel to and from the Site. This listing will change as new REU Site awards are made. Sites are added or deleted as decisions are made on awards, and the list is updated periodically. Clicking on a highlighted site title should direct you to the web page for more information on that program.

Please report errors in the list below by writing to reu.bio@nsf.gov.


Search Again

Show 30 number of items per page.
REU Sites
Site Information Site Location Contact Information Additional Information
Honolulu, Hawaii
Primary: Stuart Donachie
(808) 956-5336
donachie@hawaii.edu
Secondary: Stephanie Kraft-Terry
(808) 956-0735
kraft2@hawaii.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: biology, biosciences, microbiology, genomics, bioinformatics
REU Site: Undergraduate Research Experiences in DNA-based discoveries in Hawaii's BiodiversityAbstract of Award
University of Hawaii
REU Site: Environmental Biology for Pacific Islanders
Pacific Biosciences Research Center
Honolulu, Hawaii
Primary: Michael Hadfield
(808) 539-7319
hadfield@hawaii.edu
Secondary: Matthew Medeiros
(808) 956-8187
mcmedeir@hawaii.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: biology, biosciences, environmental biology, ecology and evolution, marine biology, coral- reef biology, animal/plant-microbe interactions
REU Site: Environmental Biology for Pacific IslandersAbstract of Award
Cofunded: Ocean Sciences
Hilo, Hawaii
Primary: Rebecca Ostertag
ostertag@hawaii.edu
Secondary: Noelani Puniwai-Ganoot
(808) 933-0705
npuniwai@hawaii.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: Biosciences, Marine Science, Tropical Conservation Science, Ecology, Natural Resource Management, Environmental Science
Comments: Coordinators: Linnea Heu and Rita Miller
REU Site: Hanakahi: Place-based Conservation Science in Hawaiian EcosystemsAbstract of Award
University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign
REU Site: Phenotypic plasticity research experience for community college students
Institute for Genomic Biology
Urbana, Illinois
Primary: Nathan Schroeder
(217) 244-6128
nes@illinois.edu
Secondary: C. Britt Carlson
(217) 353-2132
ccarlson@parkland.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: biology, biosciences, plasticity, genomics, genetics, cell biology
REU Site: Phenotypic plasticity research experience for community college studentsAbstract of Award
Iowa City, Iowa
Primary: David Weiss
(319) 335-7785
david-weiss@uiowa.edu
Secondary: Linda McCarter
(319) 335-9721
linda-mccarter@uiowa.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: biology, biosciences, microbiology, virology, immunology, bacteria, genetics, biochemistry
Comments: undergrad-micro-info@uiowa.edu
REU Site: Microbiology at The University of IowaAbstract of Award
University of Kansas
REU Site: Models in Evolution, Ecology and Systematics
Ecology and Evolutionary Biology
Lawrence, Kansas
Primary: Jennifer Gleason
(785) 864-5858
jgleason@ku.edu
Secondary: Deborah Smith
(785) 864-4340
debsmith@ku.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: biology, biosciences, evolution, ecology, systematics, mathematical models, bioinformatics, computational biology, theory
Comments: REU Administrative Assistant: Ms Dorothy Johanning, email: eebreu@ku.edu
REU Site: Models in Evolution, Ecology and SystematicsAbstract of Award
University of Kentucky
REU Site: Summer Program in the Biochemical Sciences
Molecular and Cellular Biochemistry
Lexington, Kentucky
Primary: Trevor Creamer
859-323-6037
Trevor.Creamer@uky.edu
Secondary: Rebecca Dutch
859-323-1795
rdutc2@uky.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: biochemistry, molecular biology, cell biology, structural biology, biophysics
REU Site: Summer Program in the Biochemical SciencesAbstract of Award
Cofunded: Department of Defense (DoD), Chemistry
Princess Anne, Maryland
Primary: Paulinus Chigbu
(410) 621-3034
pchigbu@umes.edu
Secondary: Margaret Sexton
(410) 621-1049
masexton@umes.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: biology, marine and Estuarine Science, fish ecology, zooplankton ecology, geochemistry, ecotoxicology, molecular biology, crustacea biology; benthic macroinvertebrates; physical oceanography; microbio
Comments: Although the program accepts undergraduates at all levels, preference is given to freshmen and sophomores, and to students from institutions with limited research programs in marine and estuarine scie
REU Site: University of Maryland Eastern Shore Research Experiences for Undergraduates (REU) in Marine and Estuarine ScienceAbstract of Award
Cofunded: Ocean Sciences
Boston, Massachusetts
Primary: Rachel Skvirsky
(617) 287-6617
rachel.skvirsky@umb.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: biology, biosciences, evolution, genetics, cell biology, molecular biology, ecology, developmental biology
Comments: Contact: Claudia Heske. claudia.heske@umb.edu 617-287-6649
REU Site: Research Experiences for Undergraduates in Integrative and Evolutionary BiologyAbstract of Award
No. Dartmouth, Massachusetts
Primary: Nancy O'Connor
(508) 999-8217
noconnor@umassd.edu
Secondary: Tara Rajaniemi
(508) 999-8223
trajaniemi@umassd.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: biology, Marine biology, fisheries, oceanography, ecology, physiology, microbiology, developmental biology, genetics
REU Site: Integrative Marine Biology for the 21st Century (IMBio21)Abstract of Award
260 miles north of Ann Arbor, Michigan
Primary: Dr. David Karowe
(269) 387-5630
karowe@wmich.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: Ecology & Atmospheric Sciences: Global Change, Botany, Zoology, Biogeochemistry, Chemistry, Physics, Meteorology
Comments: Interdisciplinary program focused on the ecological and atmospheric causes and consequences of global change
REU Site: Environmental Change in the Great Lakes Region: Atmosphere-Hydrosphere-Biosphere InteractionsAbstract of Award
Cofunded: Biological Sciences, Earth Sciences
University of Michigan
REU Site: Interdisciplinary REU in the Structure and Function of Proteins
College of Pharmacy - Dept. of Medicinal Chemistry
Ann Arbor, Michigan
Primary: Cherie Dotson
(734) 615-6562
crdotson@umich.edu
Secondary: Ronald Woodard
(734) 764-7366
rww@umich.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: biology, biosciences, biochemistry, biophysics, bioinformatics, computational chemistry, enzymology
Comments: same as PI
REU Site: Interdisciplinary REU in the Structure and Function of ProteinsAbstract of Award
University of Missouri
REU Site: Summer Research Projects in Neuroscience
College of Arts & Sciences and College of Engineering
Columbia, Missouri
Primary: Satish Nair
(573) 882-2964
nairs@missouri.edu
Secondary: David Schulz
(573) 882-4067
schulzd@missouri.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: biology, biosciences, neuroscience, computational methods
REU Site: Summer Research Projects in NeuroscienceAbstract of Award
Cofunded: Department of Defense (DoD)
University of Nebraska - Lincoln
REU Site: Training in Redox Biology
Biochemistry
Lincoln, Nebraska
Primary: Donald Becker
(402) 472-9652
dbecker3@unl.edu
Secondary: Julie Stone
(402) 472-4902
jstone2@unl.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: Redox biology, biochemistry, oxidative stress, redox signaling and regulation, enzymes, protein structure, molecular biology
Comments: Hannah Kahler/Administrative Assistant/hkahler2@unl.edu
REU Site: Training in Redox BiologyAbstract of Award
Cofunded: Chemistry
University of Nebraska-Lincoln
REU Site: Bioenergy Systems
School of Biological Sciences
Lincoln, Nebraska
Primary: Paul Blum
(402) 472-2769
pblum1@unl.edu
Secondary: Heriberto Cerutti
(402) 472-0247
jcerutti1@unl.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: biology, biosciences, biochemistry, microbiology, molecular biology, plant science
REU Site: Bioenergy SystemsAbstract of Award
University of Nevada Las Vegas
REU Site: Mechanisms of Evolution
School of Life Sciences
Las Vegas, Nevada
Primary: Kurt Regner
(702) 895-1071
kurt.regner@unlv.edu
Secondary: Eduardo Robleto
(702) 895-2496
eduardo.robleto@unlv.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: Evolution, Molecular Biology, Microbiology, Bioinformatics
Comments: Kurt Regner/Eduardo Robleto
REU Site: Mechanisms of EvolutionAbstract of Award
Albuquerque, New Mexico
Primary: Scott Collins
(505) 277-6303
scollins@sevilleta.unm.edu
Secondary: Amaris Swann
(505) 277-4186
aswann@unm.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: biology, biosciences, aridland ecology, biodiversity, ecohydrology, plants, birds, arthropods, climate variability
REU Site: Dynamics of aridland ecosystems in the northern Chihuahuan DesertAbstract of Award
University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill
REU Site in Molecular Bioscience
Office of Graduate Education
Chapel Hill, North Carolina
Primary: Stephen Rogers
(919) 843-7342
srogers@bio.unc.edu
Secondary: Gwen Sancar
(919) 966-2077
gwendolyn_sancar@med.unc.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: Genetics, Cell Biology, Biochemistry, Microbiology, Structural Biology
Comments: Coordinator: Sausyty Hermrick Contact: sausyty_hermreck@med.unc.edu
REU Site in Molecular BioscienceAbstract of Award
University of North Carolina at Charlotte
REU Site:Biology and Biotechnology Undergraduate Research Experience (BITURE)
Biological Sciences
Charlotte, North Carolina
Primary: Christine Richardson
(704) 687-8683
C.Richardson@uncc.edu
Secondary: Sharon Bullock
(704) 687-8536
sbulloc8@uncc.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: biotechnology,genomics, phylogenetics, transgenic animals, transgenic plants, nanoparticles, biofuels, environmental toxicology
REU Site:Biology and Biotechnology Undergraduate Research Experience (BITURE)Abstract of Award
Grand Forks, Fort Totten, Belcourt, North Dakota
Primary: Van Doze
(701) 777-6222
van.doze@med.und.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: Bioinformatics, Cell Biology, Chemical Biology, Computational Biology, Developmental Biology, Environmental Biology, Epigenetics, Genomics, Molecular Biology, Neurobiology
Comments: Point of contact: Van Doze, van.doze@med.und.edu, 701-777-6222
REU Site: Genes & the Environment: Research Experiences for Undergraduates from Rural & Tribal CollegesAbstract of Award
University of Notre Dame
REU Site: Integrative Cell and Molecular Biology
Biological Sciences
Notre Dame, Indiana
Primary: Michelle Whaley
(574) 631-9343
michelle.a.whaley.3@nd.edu
Secondary: David Hyde
(574) 631-8054
dhyde@nd.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: biosciences, biology, cell biology, molecular biology, genetics, genomics
REU Site: Integrative Cell and Molecular BiologyAbstract of Award
University of Oregon, Eugene
Exploration of marine biology on the Oregon coast
Oregon Institute of Marine Biology (OIMB)
Charleston, Oregon
Primary: Dr. Maya Watts
(541) 888-2581
mwolf1@uoregon.edu
Secondary: Dr. Richard Emlet
remlet@uroegon.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: Marine biology, invertebrate ecology, larval ecology/biology, embryology, trophic ecology, cell biology, oceanography, behavioral ecology, zooplankton, biomechanics, estuarine biology/ecology
Comments: The application closing date is on Wednesday, March 15, 2017
Exploration of marine biology on the Oregon coastAbstract of Award
Cofunded: Biological Sciences
Eugene, Oregon
Primary: Peter O'Day
(541) 346-4556
oday@uoregon.edu
Secondary: Bryan Rebar
(541) 346-4773
brebar@cas.uoregon.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: molecular,biochemistry,structural biology & biophysics,bioinformatics,molecular neurobiology,molecular evolution,microbiology,developmental,genomics,molecular genetics,cell& computational biology
REU Site Program in Molecular Biosciences at the University of OregonAbstract of Award
University of Pittsburgh
REU Site: Training and Experimentation in Computational Biology (TECBio)
Computational and Systems Biology
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Primary: Joseph Ayoob
(412) 648-8646
jayoob@pitt.edu
Secondary: Chakra Chennubhotla
(412) 648-7794
chakracs@pitt.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: biology, biosciences, computer science, computational biology, bioinformatics, chemistry, biochemistry, physics, biophysics, mathematics, statistics, systems biology
Comments: Program Coordinator: Adam Kohlhaas (tecbio@pitt.edu)
REU Site: Training and Experimentation in Computational Biology (TECBio)Abstract of Award
San Juan, Puerto Rico
Primary: Alonso Ramirez
(787) 764-0000
aramirez@ramirezlab.net
Research Topics/Keywords: biology, biosciences, ecology, evolution, tropical
Comments: program e-mail: reu@ites.upr.edu
REU Site: Tropical Ecology and Evolution at El Verde Field Station, Puerto RicoAbstract of Award
Vermillion, South Dakota
Primary: Meghann Jarchow
(605) 677-3115
Meghann.Jarchow@usd.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: biology, biosciences, sustainability, interdisciplinary research, Missouri River, earth science, anthropology, ecology, invasive species
REU Site: Sustainable RIVER (Remediating InVasives to Encourage Resilience)Abstract of Award
Knoxville, Tennessee
Primary: Steven Wilhelm
(865) 974-0665
glecleir@utk.edu
Secondary: Gary LeCleir
(865) 974-4014
glecleir@utk.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: biology, biosciences, microbiology, molecular ecology, microbial communities, microbial biochemistry
Comments: Program is managed by Dr Gary LeCleir
REU Site: Microbial community interactions and functionsAbstract of Award
University of Texas at El Paso
REU Site: Summer Program in Chihuahuan Desert Biodiversity
Biological Sciences
El Paso, Texas
Primary: Michael Moody
(915) 747-5087
mlmoody@utep.edu
Secondary: Jerry Johnson
(915) 747-6984
jjohnson@utep.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: biology, biosciences, ecology, evolution, plant, herpetology, ecosystem, aquatic, desert, biodiversity, invertebrate, genetics, disease, neuroscience
REU Site: Summer Program in Chihuahuan Desert BiodiversityAbstract of Award
University of Toledo
REU Site: Undergraduate Research and Mentoring - Using the Lake Erie Sensor Networkto Study Land-Lake Ecological Linkages
Environmental Sciences, Geography and Planning, and Civil Engineering
Toledo, Ohio
Primary: Kevin Czajkowski
(419) 530-4274
kevin.czajkowski@utoledo.edu
Secondary: Kevin Czajkowski
Research Topics/Keywords: Biology, water quality, invasive species, climate change, geospatial technologies, environmental sciences, envrironmental biology, remote sensing
REU Site: Undergraduate Research and Mentoring - Using the Lake Erie Sensor Networkto Study Land-Lake Ecological LinkagesAbstract of Award
University of Vermont & State Agricultural College
REU Site: Summer Neuroscience Undergraduate Research Fellowship Program
Neurological Sciences
Burlington, Vermont
Primary: Bryan Ballif
(802) 656-1389
bballif@uvm.edu
Secondary: Eugene Delay
(802) 656-0455
Eugene.Delay@uvm.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: Neuroscience, Nervous System, Gene Expression, Anatomy, Physiology, Behavior
REU Site: Summer Neuroscience Undergraduate Research Fellowship ProgramAbstract of Award
Show 30 number of items per page.