Email Print Share

REU Sites

REU Sites: Biological Sciences

APPLICATIONS: Students must contact the individual site or program to apply. NSF does not have application materials and does not select student participants.

ELIGIBILITY: Individual sites may have additional eligibility requirements (e.g., number of undergraduate years completed). Undergraduate student participants supported with NSF funds must be citizens or permanent residents of the United States or its possessions. High school graduates who have not yet enrolled, and students who have already received their bachelor's degrees, are not eligible.

ADDITIONAL INFORMATION: Click on the Title of the Site in the "Site Information" column to go to the homepage (if available) for that Site. Sites are ordered alphabetically by host institution. All Sites provide stipends, housing and meals, in addition to travel to and from the Site. This listing will change as new REU Site awards are made. Sites are added or deleted as decisions are made on awards, and the list is updated periodically. Clicking on a highlighted site title should direct you to the web page for more information on that program.

Please report errors in the list below by writing to reu.bio@nsf.gov.


Search Again

Show 30 items per page.
REU Sites
Site Information Site Location Contact Information Additional Information
University of Chicago
REU Site in Molecular Genetics and Cell Biology at the University of Chicago
Molecular Genetics and Cell Biology
Chicago, Illinois
Primary: Aaron Turkewitz
(773) 702-4374
apturkew@uchicago.edu
Secondary: Lucia B Rothman-Denes
(773) 702-1083
lbrd@uchicago.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: biology, biosciences, genetics, development, cells and viruses, host-pathogen interactions, computer modeling, microscopy, epigenetics, cancer, circadian clocks, secretion
Comments: coordinator: Catherine Will cwill@bsd.uchicago.edu
REU Site in Molecular Genetics and Cell Biology at the University of ChicagoAbstract of Award
Storrs, Connecticut
Primary: Michael Finiguerra
(860) 405-9082
michael.finiguerra@uconn.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: biology, biosciences, marine biology, marine science, animal physiology, ecology, animal behavior, immunology, cell biology
Comments: Contact: Michael Finiguerra (michael.finiguerra@uconn.edu)
REU Site Mystic Aquarium: Collaborative Research: Investigating the Consequences of Global Change on Marine Animals and their EcosystemsAbstract of Award
Cofunded: Ocean Sciences
University of Connecticut
REU Site: Research Experiences in Physiology and Neurobiology at UCONN
Physiology and Neurobiology
Storrs, Connecticut
Primary: Xinnian Chen
(860) 486-6169
xinnian.chen@uconn.edu
Secondary: Anastasios Tzingounis
(860) 486-7916
anastasios.tzingounis@uconn.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: biology, biosciences, physiology, developmental neurobiology, respiratory physiology, synaptic plasticity, neural circuits, molecular and cell biology, bioinformatics, computational biology
REU Site: Research Experiences in Physiology and Neurobiology at UCONNAbstract of Award
University of Florida
REU Site: Marine Biodiversity: lessons from molecules, development and behavior
Whitney Laboratory for Marine Bioscience
Saint Augustine, Florida
Primary: Joseph Ryan
(904) 201-8426
joseph.ryan@whitney.ufl.edu
Secondary: Elaine Seaver
(904) 201-8449
seaver@whitney.ufl.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: biology, biosciences, evolution, marine biology, neurobiology, embryology, genomics, coastal ecology, biomechanics, locomotion, molecular biology, biogeochemistry
Comments: Coordinator: Brenda Cannaliato (brenda@whitney.ufl.edu)
REU Site: Marine Biodiversity: lessons from molecules, development and behaviorAbstract of Award
University of Georgia
REU Site: Molecular and Synthetic Microbiology
Microbiology
Athens, Georgia
Primary: Vincent Starai
(706) 542-5755
vjstarai@uga.edu
Secondary: Timothy Hoover
(706) 542-2675
trhoover@uga.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: biosciences, microbiology, genomics, biochemistry, marine biology, ecology
Comments: Coordinator: Kimberly Brown; reumibo@uga.edu; 706-542-2045
REU Site: Molecular and Synthetic MicrobiologyAbstract of Award
University of Georgia
REU Site: Population Biology of Infectious Diseases
Odum School of Ecology
Athens, Georgia
Primary: John Drake
(706) 583-5539
jdrake@uga.edu
Secondary: Michael Strand
(706) 583-8237
mrstrand@uga.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: biology, biosciences, infectious disease, mathematics, ecology, modeling, biostatistics, epidemiology, evolutionary biology, vector biology, parasitology
REU Site: Population Biology of Infectious DiseasesAbstract of Award
Athens, Georgia
Primary: Jonathan Arnold
(706) 542-1449
arnold@uga.edu
Secondary: David Logan
(404) 880-6830
dlogan@cau.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: genomics, computational biology, systems biology
Comments: contact arnold@uga.edu for questions
REU site: Genomics and Computational BiologyAbstract of Award
University of Hawaii
REU Site: Undergraduate Research Experiences in DNA-based discoveries in Hawaii's Biodiversity
Microbiology, Biology
Honolulu, Hawaii
Primary: Stuart Donachie
(808) 956-5336
donachie@hawaii.edu
Secondary: Stephanie Kraft-Terry
(808) 956-0735
kraft2@hawaii.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: biology, biosciences, microbiology, genomics, bioinformatics
Hilo, Hawaii
Primary: Rebecca Ostertag
ostertag@hawaii.edu
Secondary: Noelani Puniwai-Ganoot
(808) 933-0705
npuniwai@hawaii.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: Biosciences, Marine Science, Tropical Conservation Science, Ecology, Natural Resource Management, Environmental Science
Comments: Coordinators: Linnea Heu and Rita Miller
REU Site: Hanakahi: Place-based Conservation Science in Hawaiian EcosystemsAbstract of Award
University of Hawai‘i at Mānoa
REU Site: Environmental Biology for Pacific Islanders
Pacific Biosciences Research Center
Honolulu, Hawaii
Primary: Matthew Medeiros
(808) 956-8187
mcmedeir@hawaii.edu
Secondary: Kiana Frank
(808) 539-7312
klfrank@hawaii.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: Biosciences, Sustainability Science, Microbiome Science, Molecular Ecology, Marine Biology, Natural Resource Management, Community Ecology, Evolutionary Biology, Coral Reef Ecology, Fisheries Sciences
REU Site: Environmental Biology for Pacific IslandersAbstract of Award
Cofunded: Ocean Sciences
University of Hawai‘i at Mānoa
REU Site: DNA-Based Discoveries in Hawaii's Biodiversity
Microbiology, Biology
Honolulu, Hawaii
Primary: Stephanie Kraft-Terry
(808) 956-0735
kraft2@hawaii.edu
Secondary: Peter Marko
(808) 956-6146
pmarko@hawaii.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: biosciences, DNA, biodiversity, barcoding, metabarcoding, endemism, environmental DNA, speciation, genomics, bioinformatics, phylogenetics, coral reefs, climate change, invasive species
REU Site: DNA-Based Discoveries in Hawaii's BiodiversityAbstract of Award
University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign
REU Site: Phenotypic Plasticity Research Experience for Community College Students
Carl R. Woese Institute for Genomic Biology
Urbana, Illinois
Primary: Nathan Schroeder
(217) 244-6128
nes@illinois.edu
Secondary: Britt Carlson
(217) 353-2132
ccarlson@parkland.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: biosciences, evolution, adaptation, environment, genetics
Comments: Program Coordinator: Britt Carlson ccarlson@parkland.edu
REU Site: Phenotypic Plasticity Research Experience for Community College StudentsAbstract of Award
University of Iowa
REU Site: Engaging Undergraduates in Interdisciplinary Evolutionary Science
Biology, Anthropology, Earth and Environmental Sciences
Iowa City, Iowa
Primary: Andrew Forbes
(319) 335-3006
andrew-forbes@uiowa.edu
Secondary: Maurine Neiman
(319) 384-1814
maurine-neiman@uiowa.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: biosciences, evolution, cancer, paleontology, ecology, genomics, entomology, human evolution, evolution of sex
REU Site: Engaging Undergraduates in Interdisciplinary Evolutionary ScienceAbstract of Award
University of Iowa
REU Site: Microbiology at the University of Iowa
Microbiology & Immunulogy
Iowa City, Iowa
Primary: David Weiss
(319) 335-7785
david-weiss@uiowa.edu
Secondary: Linda McCarter
(319) 335-9721
linda-mccarter@uiowa.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: biology, biosciences, microbiology, virology, immunology, bacteria, genetics, biochemistry
Comments: undergrad-micro-info@uiowa.edu
REU Site: Microbiology at the University of IowaAbstract of Award
Cofunded: Department of Defense (DoD)
University of Maine
REU Site: Accelerating New Environmental Workskills (ANEW)
School of Food and Agriculture
Orono, Maine
Primary: Anne Lichtenwalner
(207) 581-2789
anne.lichtenwalner@maine.edu
Secondary: Kristina Cammen
(207) 581-2820
kristina.cammen@maine.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: biosciences; environmental health; animal health; disease ecology; resource management and economics; environmental policy
REU Site: Accelerating New Environmental Workskills (ANEW)Abstract of Award
Princess Anne, Maryland
Primary: Paulinus Chigbu
(410) 621-3034
pchigbu@umes.edu
Secondary: Margaret Sexton
(410) 621-1049
masexton@umes.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: Biosciences, population dynamics, marine microbiology and parasitology, molecular biology and genetics, marine botany, environmental chemistry, and ecotoxicology
Comments: Margaret A. Sexton (masexton@umes.edu)
REU Site: University of Maryland Eastern Shore REU in Marine and Estuarine ScienceAbstract of Award
Cofunded: Ocean Sciences
University of Massachusetts-Boston
REU Site: Research Experiences in Integrative and Evolutionary Biology
Biology Department
Boston, Massachusetts
Primary: Rachel Skvirsky
(617) 287-6617
rachel.skvirsky@umb.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: biosciences, biology, evolution, genetics, cell biology, molecular biology, ecology, developmental biology
Comments: Contact: Claudia Heske. 617-287-6649. claudia.heske@umb.edu
REU Site: Research Experiences in Integrative and Evolutionary BiologyAbstract of Award
260 miles north of Ann Arbor, Michigan
Primary: Dr. David Karowe
(269) 387-5630
karowe@wmich.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: Ecology & Atmospheric Sciences: Global Change, Botany, Zoology, Biogeochemistry, Chemistry, Physics, Meteorology
Comments: Interdisciplinary program focused on the ecological and atmospheric causes and consequences of global change
REU Site: Environmental Change in the Great Lakes Region: Atmosphere-Hydrosphere-Biosphere InteractionsAbstract of Award
Cofunded: Biological Sciences, Earth Sciences
University of Michigan
REU Site: Summer Intensive Research Experiences in Neurosicence (SIREN)
Neuroscience Graduate Program
Ann Arbor, Michigan
Primary: R. Keith Duncan
(734) 763-2129
rkduncan@umich.edu
Secondary: Shelly Flagel
(734) 936-2033
sflagel@umich.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: biosciences, biology, neuroscience, neurobiology, neuroengineering, psychology
Comments: Coordinator: Valerie Smith, vssj@umich.edu, 734-615-1783
REU Site: Summer Intensive Research Experiences in Neurosicence (SIREN)Abstract of Award
Cofunded: Department of Defense (DoD)
University of Michigan
REU Site - Interdisciplinary REU in the Structure and Function of Proteins
College of Pharmacy - Dept. of Medicinal Chemistry
Ann Arbor, Michigan
Primary: Cherie Dotson
(734) 615-6562
crdotson@umich.edu
Secondary: Emily Scott
(734) 764-3530
scottee@umich.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: biology, biosciences, biochemistry, biophysics, bioinformatics, computational chemistry, enzymology
Comments: same as PI
REU Site - Interdisciplinary REU in the Structure and Function of ProteinsAbstract of Award
University of Missouri
REU Site: Summer Research Projects in Neuroscience
College of Arts & Sciences and College of Engineering
Columbia, Missouri
Primary: Satish Nair
(573) 882-2964
nairs@missouri.edu
Secondary: David Schulz
(573) 882-4067
schulzd@missouri.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: biosciences, neuroscience, computational, interdisciplinary, engineering
REU Site: Summer Research Projects in NeuroscienceAbstract of Award
Cofunded: Department of Defense (DoD)
University of Nebraska - Lincoln
REU Site: Training in Redox Biology
Biochemistry
Lincoln, Nebraska
Primary: Donald Becker
(402) 472-9652
dbecker3@unl.edu
Secondary: Julie Stone
(402) 472-4902
jstone2@unl.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: Redox biology, biochemistry, oxidative stress, redox signaling and regulation, enzymes, protein structure, molecular biology
Comments: Hannah Kahler/Administrative Assistant/hkahler2@unl.edu
REU Site: Training in Redox BiologyAbstract of Award
Cofunded: Chemistry
University of Nebraska-Lincoln
REU Site: Bioenergy Systems
School of Biological Sciences
Lincoln, Nebraska
Primary: Paul Blum
(402) 472-2769
pblum1@unl.edu
Secondary: Heriberto Cerutti
(402) 472-0247
jcerutti1@unl.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: biology, biosciences, biochemistry, microbiology, molecular biology, plant science
REU Site: Bioenergy SystemsAbstract of Award
University of Nevada Las Vegas
REU Site: Mechanisms of Evolution
School of Life Sciences
Las Vegas, Nevada
Primary: Kurt Regner
(702) 895-1071
kurt.regner@unlv.edu
Secondary: Eduardo Robleto
(702) 895-2496
eduardo.robleto@unlv.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: Evolution, Molecular Biology, Microbiology, Bioinformatics
Comments: Kurt Regner/Eduardo Robleto
REU Site: Mechanisms of EvolutionAbstract of Award
San Acacia, New Mexico
Primary: Scott Collins
(505) 325-6303
scollins@sevilleta.unm.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: biosciences, aridland ecology, biodiversity, plants, birds, arthropods, lizards, climate variability, fire, primary production, soils, population dynamics
Comments: Program Coordinator Stephanie Baker srbaker@unm.edu
REU Site: Population, community and ecosystem dynamics in the northern Chihuahuan DesertAbstract of Award
Grand Forks, North Dakota
Primary: Van Doze
(701) 777-6222
van.doze@med.und.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: Biosciences, Biology, Cell Biology, Developmental Biology, Environmental Biology, Molecular Biology, Neuroscience, Biochemistry, Genetics
Comments: Point of contact: Van Doze, van.doze@med.und.edu, 701-777-6222
REU Site: Genes & the Environment: Research Experiences for Undergraduates from Rural & Tribal CollegesAbstract of Award
University of Notre Dame
REU Site: Integrative Cell and Molecular Biology
Biological Sciences
Notre Dame, Indiana
Primary: Michelle Whaley
(574) 631-9343
michelle.a.whaley.3@nd.edu
Secondary: David Hyde
(574) 631-8054
dhyde@nd.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: biosciences, biology, cell biology, molecular biology, genetics, genomics
REU Site: Integrative Cell and Molecular BiologyAbstract of Award
University of Oregon, Eugene
Exploration of marine biology on the Oregon coast
Oregon Institute of Marine Biology (OIMB)
Charleston, Oregon
Primary: Dr. Maya Watts
(541) 888-2581
mwolf1@uoregon.edu
Secondary: Dr. Richard Emlet
remlet@uroegon.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: Marine biology, invertebrate ecology, larval ecology/biology, embryology, trophic ecology, cell biology, oceanography, behavioral ecology, zooplankton, biomechanics, estuarine biology/ecology
Comments: The application website is normally opened in December/January with deadlines in February/March.
Exploration of marine biology on the Oregon coastAbstract of Award
Cofunded: Biological Sciences
Eugene, Oregon
Primary: Peter O'Day
(541) 346-4556
oday@uoregon.edu
Secondary: Bryan Rebar
(541) 346-4773
brebar@cas.uoregon.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: molecular,biochemistry,structural biology & biophysics,bioinformatics,molecular neurobiology,molecular evolution,microbiology,developmental,genomics,molecular genetics,cell& computational biology
REU Site Program in Molecular Biosciences at the University of OregonAbstract of Award
University of Pittsburgh
REU Site: Training and Experimentation in Computational Biology (TECBio)
Computational and Systems Biology
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Primary: Joseph Ayoob
(412) 648-8646
jayoob@pitt.edu
Secondary: Chakra Chennubhotla
(412) 648-7794
chakracs@pitt.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: biology, biosciences, computer science, computational biology, bioinformatics, chemistry, biochemistry, physics, biophysics, mathematics, statistics, systems biology
Comments: Program Coordinator: Adam Kohlhaas (tecbio@pitt.edu)
REU Site: Training and Experimentation in Computational Biology (TECBio)Abstract of Award
Show 30 items per page.