Email Print Share

REU Sites

REU Sites: Biological Sciences

APPLICATIONS: Students must contact the individual site or program to apply. NSF does not have application materials and does not select student participants.

ELIGIBILITY: Individual sites may have additional eligibility requirements (e.g., number of undergraduate years completed). Undergraduate student participants supported with NSF funds must be citizens or permanent residents of the United States or its possessions. High school graduates who have not yet enrolled, and students who have already received their bachelor's degrees, are not eligible.

ADDITIONAL INFORMATION: Click on the Title of the Site in the "Site Information" column to go to the homepage (if available) for that Site. Sites are ordered alphabetically by host institution. All Sites provide stipends, housing and meals, in addition to travel to and from the Site. This listing will change as new REU Site awards are made. Sites are added or deleted as decisions are made on awards, and the list is updated periodically. Clicking on a highlighted site title should direct you to the web page for more information on that program.

Please report errors in the list below by writing to reu.bio@nsf.gov.


Search Again

Show 30 items per page.
REU Sites
Site Information Site Location Contact Information Additional Information
University of Pittsburgh
REU Site: Training and Experimentation in Computational Biology (TECBio)
Computational and Systems Biology
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Primary: Joseph Ayoob
(412) 648-8646
jayoob@pitt.edu
Secondary: Chakra Chennubhotla
(412) 648-7794
chakracs@pitt.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: biology, biosciences, computer science, computational biology, bioinformatics, chemistry, biochemistry, physics, biophysics, mathematics, statistics, systems biology
Comments: Program Coordinator: Adam Kohlhaas (tecbio@pitt.edu)
REU Site: Training and Experimentation in Computational Biology (TECBio)Abstract of Award
University of Puerto Rico-Rio Piedras
REU Site: Interdisciplinary and Quantitative Biology Research Experience for Undergraduates (IQ-Bio-REU)
Department of Biology / Department of Computer Sciences
San Juan, Puerto Rico
Primary: Juan Ramirez-Lugo
(787) 764-0000
juan.ramirez3@upr.edu
Secondary: Patricia Ordonez
(787) 764-0000
patricia.ordonez@upr.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: biology, biosciences, computational biology, ecology, genomics, molecular biology, quantitative biology
Comments: Juan S. Ramírez-Lugo: 787-764-0000 x. 88068 Patricia Ordonez: 787-764-0000 x. 88352
REU Site: Interdisciplinary and Quantitative Biology Research Experience for Undergraduates (IQ-Bio-REU)Abstract of Award
University of Tennessee at Chattanooga
REU Site: ICompBio - Engaging Undergraduates in Interdisciplinary Computing for Biological Research
Computer Science, Biology, Chemical Engineering
Chattanooga, Tennessee
Primary: Hong Qin
(423) 425-4329
hong-qin@utc.edu
Secondary: Soubantika Palchoudhury
(423) 425-5455
soubantika-palchoudhury@utc.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: biosciences, bioinformatics, computational biology, Python, R, genomics, aging, gene networks, ecological networks, machine learning, image processing, deep learning
REU Site: ICompBio - Engaging Undergraduates in Interdisciplinary Computing for Biological ResearchAbstract of Award
University of Texas at El Paso
REU Site: Summer Program in Chihuahuan Desert Biodiversity
Biological Sciences
El Paso, Texas
Primary: Michael Moody
(915) 747-5087
mlmoody@utep.edu
Secondary: Jerry Johnson
(915) 747-6984
jjohnson@utep.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: biosciences, ecology, evolution, conservation, climate, organismal
REU Site: Summer Program in Chihuahuan Desert BiodiversityAbstract of Award
University of Toledo
REU Site: Addressing Environmental Challenges and Proposing Sustainable Solutions at the Lake Erie Land-Lake Interface
Environmental Sciences, Geography and Planning, and Civil Engineering
Toledo, Ohio
Primary: Jeanine Refsnider
(419) 530-2664
jeanine.refsnider@utoledo.edu
Secondary: Kevin Czajkowski
(419) 530-4274
kevin.czajkowski@utoledo.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: biosciences, climate change, eco-immunology, fish, green engineering, harmful algal blooms, invasive species, land use, nutrient transport, public health, remote sensing
REU Site: Addressing Environmental Challenges and Proposing Sustainable Solutions at the Lake Erie Land-Lake InterfaceAbstract of Award
University of Vermont & State Agricultural College
REU Site: Summer Neuroscience Undergraduate Research Fellowship Program
Neurological Sciences
Burlington, Vermont
Primary: Bryan Ballif
(802) 656-1389
bballif@uvm.edu
Secondary: Eugene Delay
(802) 656-0455
Eugene.Delay@uvm.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: Neuroscience, Nervous System, Gene Expression, Anatomy, Physiology, Behavior
REU Site: Summer Neuroscience Undergraduate Research Fellowship ProgramAbstract of Award
Charlottesville, Virginia
Primary: Eric Nagy
(434) 243-4989
enagy@virginia.edu
Secondary: Edmund Brodie
(434) 243-1068
bbrodie@virginia.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: biosciences, amphibian, aquatic, behavior, botany, cell, collections, community, conservation, diversity, ecology, ecosystem, entomology, evolution, field, genetics, insect, mammal, microbiology
Comments: The focus of the REU program is population biology at the intersection of field-based studies of ecology, evolution, and behavior. Students do independent projects and take leadership roles.
REU Site: Ecology, Evolution, and Behavior Field Research at Mountain Lake Biological StationAbstract of Award
Boyce, Virginia
Primary: Kyle Haynes
(540) 837-1758
haynes@virginia.edu
Secondary: Mary McKenna
(202) 806-6103
mmckenna@howard.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: biology, biosciences, ecology, evolution, pollination, insects, plants, terrestrial, aquatic , populations, communities, ecosystems, entomology, botany
Comments: For more information, contact Dr. Haynes at haynes@virginia.edu.
REU Site: Ecology and Evolutionary Biology at the University of Virginia's Blandy Experimental FarmAbstract of Award
University of Washington
REU Site: Sensorimotor Neural Engineering
Center for Sensorimotor Neural Engineering
Seattle, Washington
Primary: Eric Chudler
(206) 616-6899
chudler@u.washington.edu
Secondary: Rajesh Rao
(206) 685-9141
rao@cs.washington.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: biosciences, neuroscience, neural engineering
REU Site: Sensorimotor Neural EngineeringAbstract of Award
Cofunded: Engineering
University of Washington
REU Site: Big Data and Science Communication
Genome Sciences
Seattle, Washington
Primary: Christine Queitsch
(206) 685-8935
queitsch@u.washington.edu
Secondary: Atom Lesiak
(970) 218-0193
alesiak@uw.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: biosciences, genetics, genomics, proteomics, evolution, computational biology, developmental biology, technology development, microbiome, genome editing, DNA replication, data science
Comments: The point of contact for student applications is Brian Giebel. 206-616-7297; bgiebel@uw.edu.
REU Site: Big Data and Science CommunicationAbstract of Award
Friday Harbor Laboratories, Washington
Primary: Adam Summers
(310) 864-1491
Fishguy@uw.edu
Secondary: Stacy Farina
stacy.farina@howard.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: Biosciences, Marine Biology, ecology, evolution, fish, invertebrates, island
REU Site: Integrative Biology and Ecology of Marine OrganismsAbstract of Award
University of Wisconsin Madison
REU Site: Biological Signals: Information Flow, Exchange and Storage
Wisconsin Institute for Science Education and Community Engagement (WISCIENCE)
Madison, Wisconsin
Primary: Janet Branchaw
(608) 262-1182
branchaw@wisc.edu
Secondary: David Wassarman
(608) 262-6648
dawassarman@wisc.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: biology, biosciences, molecular, cellular, organismal, ecologial, signals, DNA, genetics, endocrinology, neuroscience, environment
Comments: Program Coordinator: Dr. Amber Smith, amber.smith@wisc.edu, 608-265-0850
REU Site: Biological Signals: Information Flow, Exchange and StorageAbstract of Award
Albany, New York
Primary: Randall Morse
(518) 486-3116
randall.morse@health.ny.gov
Secondary: Matthew Kohn
(518) 474-6196
matthew.kohn@health.ny.gov
Research Topics/Keywords: biosciences, collaborative research, molecular biology, genetics, biochemistry, cell biology, structural biology, computational biology, bioinformatics
Comments: please contact us at (518)-474-6196, reu@health.ny.gov
REU Site: Networked Projects in Cell and Molecular Biology at the Wadsworth CenterAbstract of Award
Houston, Texas
Primary: Jonathan Silberg
(713) 348-3849
joff@rice.edu
Secondary: Natasha Kirienko
(713) 348-2581
kirienko@rice.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: Biochemistry, Bioengineering, Cell Biology, Chemical Biology, Ecology, Genetics, Physical Biology, Systems Biology, Synthetic Biology
Comments: Kimberly M'Carver
REU Site: Interdisciplinary Program in Multi-scale Biological NetworksAbstract of Award
Yale University
REU Site: Interdisciplinary Research Training Across Biology, Physics, and Engineering
Mechanical Engineering & Materials Science, Physics, and Applied Physics
New Haven, Connecticut
Primary: Corey O'Hern
(203) 432-4258
corey.ohern@yale.edu
Secondary: Lynne Regan
(203) 432-9843
lynne.regan@yale.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: quantitative biology, biological physics, computational biology, data science, systems biology
Comments: Coordinator: Dorottya Noble; email: dorottya.noble@yale.edu
REU Site: Interdisciplinary Research Training Across Biology, Physics, and EngineeringAbstract of Award
Cofunded: Department of Defense (DoD)
Florida
Primary: Steven Whitfield
(305) 251-0400
steven.whitfield@miamidade.gov
Secondary: Elizabeth Anderson
(305) 348-0146
epanders@fiu.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: Conservation Biology, Ecology, Environmental Education
REU Site: Research Experience for Undergraduates in Conservation Science at Zoo MiamiAbstract of Award
Show 30 items per page.