Email Print Share

REU Sites

REU Sites: Biological Sciences

APPLICATIONS: Students must contact the individual site or program to apply. NSF does not have application materials and does not select student participants.

ELIGIBILITY: Individual sites may have additional eligibility requirements (e.g., number of undergraduate years completed). Undergraduate student participants supported with NSF funds must be citizens or permanent residents of the United States or its possessions. High school graduates who have not yet enrolled, and students who have already received their bachelor's degrees, are not eligible.

ADDITIONAL INFORMATION: Click on the Title of the Site in the "Site Information" column to go to the homepage (if available) for that Site. Sites are ordered alphabetically by host institution. All Sites provide stipends, housing and meals, in addition to travel to and from the Site. This listing will change as new REU Site awards are made. Sites are added or deleted as decisions are made on awards, and the list is updated periodically. Clicking on a highlighted site title should direct you to the web page for more information on that program.

Please report errors in the list below by writing to reu.bio@nsf.gov.


Search Again

Show 30 items per page.
REU Sites
Site Information Site Location Contact Information Additional Information
Eugene, Oregon
Primary: Peter O'Day
(541) 346-4556
oday@uoregon.edu
Secondary: Bryan Rebar
(541) 346-4773
brebar@cas.uoregon.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: molecular,biochemistry,structural biology & biophysics,bioinformatics,molecular neurobiology,molecular evolution,microbiology,developmental,genomics,molecular genetics,cell& computational biology
REU Site Program in Molecular Biosciences at the University of OregonAbstract of Award
University of Pittsburgh
REU Site: Training and Experimentation in Computational Biology (TECBio)
Computational and Systems Biology
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Primary: Joseph Ayoob
(412) 648-8646
jayoob@pitt.edu
Secondary: Chakra Chennubhotla
(412) 648-7794
chakracs@pitt.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: biology, biosciences, computer science, computational biology, bioinformatics, chemistry, biochemistry, physics, biophysics, mathematics, statistics, systems biology
Comments: Program Coordinator: Adam Kohlhaas (tecbio@pitt.edu)
REU Site: Training and Experimentation in Computational Biology (TECBio)Abstract of Award
San Juan, Puerto Rico
Primary: Alonso Ramirez
(787) 764-0000
aramirez@ramirezlab.net
Research Topics/Keywords: biology, biosciences, ecology, evolution, tropical
Comments: program e-mail: reu@ites.upr.edu
REU Site: Tropical Ecology and Evolution at El Verde Field Station, Puerto RicoAbstract of Award
Vermillion, South Dakota
Primary: Meghann Jarchow
(605) 677-3115
Meghann.Jarchow@usd.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: biology, biosciences, sustainability, interdisciplinary research, Missouri River, earth science, anthropology, ecology, invasive species
REU Site: Sustainable RIVER (Remediating InVasives to Encourage Resilience)Abstract of Award
Knoxville, Tennessee
Primary: Steven Wilhelm
(865) 974-0665
glecleir@utk.edu
Secondary: Gary LeCleir
(865) 974-4014
glecleir@utk.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: biology, biosciences, microbiology, molecular ecology, microbial communities, microbial biochemistry
Comments: Program is managed by Dr Gary LeCleir
REU Site: Microbial community interactions and functionsAbstract of Award
University of Texas at El Paso
REU Site: Summer Program in Chihuahuan Desert Biodiversity
Biological Sciences
El Paso, Texas
Primary: Michael Moody
(915) 747-5087
mlmoody@utep.edu
Secondary: Jerry Johnson
(915) 747-6984
jjohnson@utep.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: biology, biosciences, ecology, evolution, plant, herpetology, ecosystem, aquatic, desert, biodiversity, invertebrate, genetics, disease, neuroscience
REU Site: Summer Program in Chihuahuan Desert BiodiversityAbstract of Award
University of Toledo
REU Site: Undergraduate Research and Mentoring - Using the Lake Erie Sensor Networkto Study Land-Lake Ecological Linkages
Environmental Sciences, Geography and Planning, and Civil Engineering
Toledo, Ohio
Primary: Kevin Czajkowski
(419) 530-4274
kevin.czajkowski@utoledo.edu
Secondary: Kevin Czajkowski
Research Topics/Keywords: Biology, water quality, invasive species, climate change, geospatial technologies, environmental sciences, envrironmental biology, remote sensing
REU Site: Undergraduate Research and Mentoring - Using the Lake Erie Sensor Networkto Study Land-Lake Ecological LinkagesAbstract of Award
University of Vermont & State Agricultural College
REU Site: Summer Neuroscience Undergraduate Research Fellowship Program
Neurological Sciences
Burlington, Vermont
Primary: Bryan Ballif
(802) 656-1389
bballif@uvm.edu
Secondary: Eugene Delay
(802) 656-0455
Eugene.Delay@uvm.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: Neuroscience, Nervous System, Gene Expression, Anatomy, Physiology, Behavior
REU Site: Summer Neuroscience Undergraduate Research Fellowship ProgramAbstract of Award
University of Vermont
REU Site: Interdisciplinary Research on Human Impacts in the Lake Champlain Ecosystem
Rubenstein Ecosystem Science Laboratory
Burlington, Vermont
Primary: Jason Stockwell
(802) 859-3095
jason.stockwell@uvm.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: Biogeochemistry, Biology, Ecology, Economics, Genetics, Microbiology, Social Sciences, Habitat Fragmentation, Invasive Species, Eutrophication, Harmful Algal Blooms
REU Site: Interdisciplinary Research on Human Impacts in the Lake Champlain EcosystemAbstract of Award
Charlottesville, Virginia
Primary: Eric Nagy
434-243-4989
enagy@virginia.edu
Secondary: Edmund Brodie
434-243-1068
bbrodie@virginia.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: population biology, ecology, evolution, behavior
Comments: The focus of the REU program is population biology at the intersection of field-based studies of ecology, evolution, and behavior. Students do independent projects. They take leadership roles in all a
REU Site: Ecology, Evolution and Behavior Field Research at Mountain Lake Biological StationAbstract of Award
Boyce, Virginia
Primary: Kyle Haynes
(540) 837-1758
haynes@virginia.edu
Secondary: Mary McKenna
(202) 806-6103
mmckenna@howard.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: biology, biosciences, ecology, evolution, pollination, insects, plants, terrestrial, aquatic , populations, communities, ecosystems, entomology, botany
Comments: For more information, contact Dr. Haynes at haynes@virginia.edu.
REU Site: Ecology and Evolutionary Biology at the University of Virginia's Blandy Experimental FarmAbstract of Award
University of Washington
REU Site: Sensorimotor Neural Engineering
Center for Sensorimotor Neural Engineering
Seattle, Washington
Primary: Eric Chudler
(206) 616-6899
chudler@u.washington.edu
Secondary: Rajesh Rao
(206) 685-9141
rao@cs.washington.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: biosciences, neuroscience, neural engineering
REU Site: Sensorimotor Neural EngineeringAbstract of Award
Cofunded: Engineering
University of Washington
REU Site: Discoveries in Genomics and Proteomics
Genome Sciences
Seattle, Washington
Primary: Christine Queitsch
(206) 685-8935
queitsch@u.washington.edu
Secondary: Maureen Munn
(206) 616-4538
mmunn@u.washington.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: biosciences, genetics, genomics, proteomics, evolution, computaional biology, developmental biology, technology development, microbiome, genome editing, DNA replication,etc
Comments: Program adminstrator Brian Giebel (bgiebel@uw.edu; (206) 616-7297)
REU Site: Discoveries in Genomics and ProteomicsAbstract of Award
University of Wisconsin Madison
REU Site: Biological Signals: Information Flow, Exchange and Storage
Wisconsin Institute for Science Education and Community Engagement (WISCIENCE)
Madison, Wisconsin
Primary: Janet Branchaw
(608) 262-1182
branchaw@wisc.edu
Secondary: David Wassarman
(608) 262-6648
dawassarman@wisc.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: biology, biosciences, molecular, cellular, organismal, ecologial, signals, DNA, genetics, endocrinology, neuroscience, environment
Comments: Program Coordinator: Dr. Amber Smith, amber.smith@wisc.edu, 608-265-0850
REU Site: Biological Signals: Information Flow, Exchange and StorageAbstract of Award
Albany, New York
Primary: Randall Morse
(518) 486-3116
randall.morse@health.ny.gov
Secondary: Matthew Kohn
(518) 474-6196
matthew.kohn@health.ny.gov
Research Topics/Keywords: biosciences, collaborative research, molecular biology, genetics, biochemistry, cell biology, structural biology, computational biology, bioinformatics
Comments: please contact us at (518)-474-6196, reu@health.ny.gov
REU Site: Networked Projects in Cell and Molecular Biology at the Wadsworth CenterAbstract of Award
Yale University
REU Site: Interdisciplinary Research Training Across Biology, Physics, and Engineering
Mechanical Engineering & Materials Science, Physics, and Applied Physics
New Haven, Connecticut
Primary: Corey O'Hern
(203) 432-4258
corey.ohern@yale.edu
Secondary: Lynne Regan
(203) 432-9843
lynne.regan@yale.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: quantitative biology, biological physics, computational biology, data science, systems biology
Comments: Coordinator: Dorottya Noble; email: dorottya.noble@yale.edu
REU Site: Interdisciplinary Research Training Across Biology, Physics, and EngineeringAbstract of Award
Cofunded: Department of Defense (DoD)
Show 30 items per page.