Email Print Share

REU Sites

REU Sites: Chemistry

This is a list of the active chemistry division funded REU sites (Sies with active NSF awards). Almost every site has a web page where more information can be obtained. Clicking on a highlighted site title should direct you to the external web page. [NSF is not responsible for the content of these external web pages.] Useful information for REU Site Principal Investigators can be found through the REU Leadership Group (http://www.nsf-reu.org/) [Not an NSF website -- NSF is not responsible for its content]

Please report errors in the list below by writing to che-reusites@nsf.gov.


Search Again

REU Sites
Site Information Site Location Contact Information Additional Information
Baylor University
An Advanced Instrumentation Emphasis REU
Chemistry & Biochemistry
Waco, Texas
Primary: Charles Garner
254-710-6862
charles_garner@baylor.edu
Secondary: Barbara Rauls (Administrative Assistant)
254-710-4926
barbara_rauls @baylor.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: organic chemistry, physical chemistry, analytical chemistry, biochemistry, inorganic chemistry, geochemistry, environmental chemistry, chemical physics
Chestnut Hill, Massachusetts
Primary: Kenneth Burch
(617) 552-3575
ks.burch@bc.edu
Secondary: Laura Anne Lowery
(617) 552-3540
laura.lowery@bc.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: biology, biosciences, neuroscience, physics, energy, mathematics, chemistry, quantum computation, nanoscience, materials science, optics, microscopy
Abstract of Award
Cofunded: Chemistry
Boston, Massachusetts
Primary: John K. Snyder
(617) 353-2621
jsnyder@bu.edu
Secondary: Linda Doerrer
(617) 358-4335
doerrer@bu.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: chemistry, biochemistry, biomaterials, biophysics, bioinorganic chemistry, biological chemistry, computational biology
City College of New York
REU Site: Research and Training in Biochemistry, Biophysics and Biodesign (B3) for Undergraduates
Chemistry, Biology, Physics, Biomedical Engineering and Chemical Engineering
New York, New York
Primary: David Jeruzalmi
(212) 650-6062
dj@ccny.cuny.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: biology, biosciences, biochemistry, biophysics, biodesign
Abstract of Award
Cofunded: Chemistry
Clemson, South Carolina
Primary: Dr. Tania I Houjeiry
(864) 650-1566
thoujei@clemson.edu
Secondary: Dr. William Pennington
(864) 656-4200
billp@clemson.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: Materials, Biology, Chemistry
Abstract of Award
Fort Collins, Colorado
Primary: Matt Shores
(970) 491-7235
CHEM_REU@mail.colostate.edu
Secondary: James Neilson
(970) 491-2958
Research Topics/Keywords: Materials chemistry, atmospheric and environmental chemistry, polymer chemistry, inorganic chemistry, organic chemistry, physical chemistry, chemical biology
Columbia University
Columbia University NSEC
Nanoscale Science and Engineering Center
New York, New York
Primary: Dario Vasquez
dv2324@columbia.edu
Secondary: Catherine Tissot
ct2119@columbia.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: NSEC, Nano, Columbia University, Electron Transfer
Abstract of Award
Cofunded: Materials Research
Durham, North Carolina
Primary: Christiana Gooden
919-660-1506
casmm-reu@chem.duke.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: chemistry, materials
Abstract of Award
Cofunded: Department of Defense (DoD)
Duquesne University
REU Site: Discovery by Computation, Theory and Experiment
Department of Chemistry and Biochemistry
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Primary: Professor Jeffrey D. Evanseck
(412) 396-6337
evanseck@duq.edu
Secondary: Professor Jeffry D. Madura
(412) 396-4129
madura@duq.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: Combined theory, computation and experimental research; Training on advanced instrumentation; Enriched writing and speaking skills, continued below...
Comments: Continued Research Topics/Keywords: Career development; Ethical behavior and safety training; and Community engagement activities.
Florida International University
Sensing, Monitoring, and Detection: From Molecules to Applications
Chemistry& Biochemistry
Miami, Florida
Primary: Konstantinos Kavallieratos
(305) 348-6034
reu@fiu.edu
Secondary: Jaroslava Miksovska
(305) 348-7406
miksovsk@fiu.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: Sensors, Detection, Biosensors, Forensics, Environmental, Nuclear, Separations, Imaging
Florida State University
Sunshine Institute for the Interaction of Light with Matter
Department of Chemistry and Biochemistry
Tallahassee, Florida
Primary: Edwin F. Hilinski
(850) 645-0651
reu@chem.fsu.edu
Secondary: Michael Shatruk
(850) 645-0651
reu@chem.fsu.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: photochemistry, spectroscopy, energy conversion, solar energy, organic synthesis, physical chemistry, materials, photodynamic processes, students with limited research opportunities, veterans
Abstract of Award
Greenville, South Carolina
Primary: Karen Buchmueller
(864) 294-2683
karen.buchmueller@furman.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: chemistry
Abstract of Award
Cofunded: Department of Defense (DoD)
Georgetown University
REU Site: Chemistry Research at Georgetown University
Department of Chemistry
Washington, District Of Columbia
Primary: Jennifer Swift
202-687-5567
chemreu@georgetown.edu
Secondary: Sarah Stoll
202-687-5839
chemreu@georgetown.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: Chemistry (broadly defined)
Abstract of Award
Statesboro, Georgia
Primary: Karelle Aiken
(912) 478-5238
kaiken@georgiasouthern.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: multidisciplinary projects, professional development; research: biocomposites, drug design, drug delivery, heavy metal sensors, food toxicology, cancer therapy
Georgia State University
Research Experiences for Undergraduates at Georgia State University
Department of Chemistry
Atlanta, Georgia
Primary: Monica Liu
(404) 413-3593
zliu18@gsu.edu
Secondary: Suri S. Iyer
(404) 413-3606
siyer@gsu.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: Analytical Chemistry, Inorganic Chemistry, Organic Chemistry, Physical Chemistry, Computational Chemistry & Biochemistry
Holland, Michigan
Primary: Kenneth L Brown
616-395-7173
brownk@hope.edu
Secondary: Graham F Peaslee
616-395-7117
peaslee@hope.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: chemistry, biochemistry
Abstract of Award
Bloomington, Indiana
Primary: Stephen C. Jacobson
(812) 855-6620
jacobson@indiana.edu
Secondary: Sara E. Skrabalak
(812) 856-1892
sskrabal@indiana.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: chemistry, materials chemistry, materials, nano, nanoscience, nanotechnology, analytical, synthesis, physical, chemical biology, multidisciplinary projects, assembly
Jackson, Mississippi
Primary: Dr. Paresh C. Ray
(601) 979-2171
paresh.c.ray@jsums.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: Environmental Nanoscience/Diversity, Nanoscience, Chemistry, Environment
Abstract of Award
Harrisonburg, Virginia
Primary: Kevin Caran
(540) 568-6632
carankl@jmu.edu
Secondary: Gina MacDonald
(540) 568-6852
macdongx@jmu.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: chemistry
Comments: opportunities for deaf students
Abstract of Award
Johns Hopkins University
REU Site: Program in Nanotechnology for Biology and Bioengineering
Institute for NanoBioTechnology
Baltimore, Maryland
Primary: Denis Wirtz
(410) 516-8094
wirtz@jhu.edu
Secondary: Hai-Quan Mao
(410) 516-8792
hmao@jhu.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: nanobiotechnology, biotechnology, nanoparticles, nanotechnology, biology, biophysics, bioengineering, engineering, chemical engineering
Comments: Contact: Camille Bryant, cbryant@jhu.edu (410) 516-6572
Abstract of Award
Cofunded: Chemistry, Engineering
Johns Hopkins University
REU Site: Visualization of Macromolecules in Biological Research
Department of Biology
Baltimore, Maryland
Primary: Joel Schildbach
410-516-0176
joel@jhu.edu
Secondary: Michael McCaffery
(410)-516-3321
mccaffery@jhu.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: developmental biology, cell biology, biochemistry, biophysics, imaging, electron microscopy, fluorescence, NMR, microscopy,
Comments: Program Coordinator: Jessica Kastner, jess.kastner@jhu.edu; Program Administrator: Joan Miller, joan@jhu.edu
Abstract of Award
Cofunded: Chemistry
Manhattan, Kansas
Primary: Christopher T. Culbertson
(785) 532-6685
culbert@ksu.edu
Secondary: Stefan H. Bossmann
(785) 532-6817
sbossman@ksu.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: Chemistry, Biosecurity, Analytical, Organic, Inorganic, Physical
Kennesaw State University
Chemistry and Biochemistry Summer Undergraduate Research Experience at Kennesaw State University
Department of Chemistry and Biochemistry
Kennesaw, Georgia
Primary: Mark B. Mitchell
(470) 578-2048
mmitch52@kennesaw.edu
Secondary: Kimberly Linenberger
(470) 578-6278
klinenbe@kennesaw.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: Chemistry, Biochemistry, Undergraduate, Research, CBSURE
Abstract of Award
Kent, Ohio
Primary: Torsten Hegmann
(330) 672-7770
thegmann@kent.edu
Secondary: Michael J. Tubergen
(330) 672-2032
mtuberge@kent.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: chemistry, liquid crystals, advanced materials
Abstract of Award
Louisiana State University
Smart Polymer Composite Materials and Structures
Civil and Industrial Engineering, Chemistry
Baton Rouge, Louisiana
Primary: Heather Lavender
(225) 578-4726
heatherl@lsu.edu
Secondary: Gloria Thomas
(225) 578-5228
gloriathomas@lsu.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: materials science, shape memory polymer, polymer characterization, polymer synthesis, polymer composites
Abstract of Award
Louisiana State University
France/Belgium iREU in Translational Chemistry
Baton Rouge, Leuven, Grenoble, and Toulouse, Louisiana
Primary: Randy Duran
(225) 578-2459
rduran@lsu.edu
Secondary: David Spivak
(225) 578-2868
dspivak@lsu.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: LSAMP focus, all chemistry areas
Oxford, Ohio
Primary: Christopher A Makaroff
(513) 529-1659
makaroca@muohio.edu
Secondary: Carole Dabney-Smith
(513) 529-8091
adabney@miamioh.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: Chemistry
Abstract of Award
Cofunded: Biological Sciences
East Lansing, Michigan
Primary: Greg Swain
517-355-9715 x220
swain@chemistry.msu.edu
Secondary: Robert LaDuca
517-432-2268
laduca@msu.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: : Green synthesis, water purification, renewable energy, electrochemistry, polymer/membrane chemistry and computational materials chemistry
Mississippi State University
REU- INFEWS: Food, Energy and Water Security
Department of Chemistry
Starkville, Mississippi
Primary: Deb Mlsna
(662) 325-3799
dmlsna@chemistry.msstate.edu
Secondary: Todd Mlsna
(662) 325-6744
tmlsna@chemistry.msstate.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: environmental, bio-fuels, chemistry, water, renewable energy, green chemistry, bio-char
Abstract of Award
New York University
REU Site in Chemical Biology at NYU
Chemistry
New York, New York
Primary: Paramjit Arora
(212) 998-8470
arora@nyu.edu
Secondary: Daniela Buccella
(212) 998-7941
dbuccella@nyu.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: NYU, Chemical Biology, REU
Abstract of Award