Email Print Share

REU Sites

REU Sites: Chemistry

This is a list of the active chemistry division funded REU sites (Sites with active NSF awards). Almost every site has a web page where more information can be obtained. Clicking on a highlighted site title should direct you to the external web page. [NSF is not responsible for the content of these external web pages.] Useful information for REU Site Principal Investigators can be found through the REU Leadership Group (http://chemnsfreu.com/) [Not an NSF website -- NSF is not responsible for its content]

Please report errors in the list below by writing to che-reusites@nsf.gov.


Search Again

Show 30 items per page.
REU Sites
Site Information Site Location Contact Information Additional Information
Boston, Massachusetts
Primary: John K. Snyder
(617) 353-2621
jsnyder@bu.edu
Secondary: Linda Doerrer
(617) 358-4335
doerrer@bu.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: chemistry, biochemistry, biomaterials, biophysics, bioinorganic chemistry, biological chemistry, computational biology
Provo, Utah
Primary: Daniel Ess
(801) 422-9164
dhe@chem.byu.edu
Secondary: Kara Stowers
(801) 422-0835
kstowers@chem.byu.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: Chemistry, Biochemistry, Industry, Industrial Career, Organic, Inorganic, Analytical, Computational, Physical
Chemistry and Biochemistry REU Site to Prepare Students for Graduate School and an Industrial CareerAbstract of Award
City College of New York
REU Site: Research and Training in Biochemistry, Biophysics and Biodesign (B3) for Undergraduates
Chemistry, Biology, Physics, Biomedical Engineering and Chemical Engineering
New York, New York
Primary: David Jeruzalmi
(212) 650-6062
dj@ccny.cuny.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: biology, biosciences, biochemistry, biophysics, biodesign
REU Site: Research and Training in Biochemistry, Biophysics and Biodesign (B3) for UndergraduatesAbstract of Award
Cofunded: Chemistry
Clemson, South Carolina
Primary: Dr. Tania I Houjeiry
(864) 650-1566
thoujei@clemson.edu
Secondary: Dr. William Pennington
(864) 656-4200
billp@clemson.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: Materials, Biology, Chemistry
Advanced Materials for Chemistry and BiologyAbstract of Award
Fort Collins, Colorado
Primary: Matt Shores
(970) 491-7235
CHEM_REU@mail.colostate.edu
Secondary: James Neilson
(970) 491-2958
Research Topics/Keywords: Materials chemistry, atmospheric and environmental chemistry, polymer chemistry, inorganic chemistry, organic chemistry, physical chemistry, chemical biology
Duquesne University
REU Site: Discovery by Computation, Theory and Experiment
Department of Chemistry and Biochemistry
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Primary: Professor Jeffrey D. Evanseck
(412) 396-6337
evanseck@duq.edu
Secondary: Professor Jeffry D. Madura
(412) 396-4129
madura@duq.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: Combined theory, computation and experimental research; Training on advanced instrumentation; Enriched writing and speaking skills, continued below...
Comments: Continued Research Topics/Keywords: Career development; Ethical behavior and safety training; and Community engagement activities.
Greenville, North Carolina
Primary: Yumin Li
(252) 328-9763
liyu@ecu.edu
Secondary: Shouquan Huo
(252) 328-9784
huos@ecu.edu
Florida State University
Sunshine Institute for the Interaction of Light with Matter
Department of Chemistry and Biochemistry
Tallahassee, Florida
Primary: Edwin F. Hilinski
(850) 645-0651
reu@chem.fsu.edu
Secondary: Michael Shatruk
(850) 645-0651
reu@chem.fsu.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: photochemistry, spectroscopy, energy conversion, solar energy, organic synthesis, physical chemistry, materials, photodynamic processes, students with limited research opportunities, veterans
Sunshine Institute for the Interaction of Light with MatterAbstract of Award
Greenville, South Carolina
Primary: Karen Buchmueller
(864) 294-2683
karen.buchmueller@furman.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: chemistry
A Research Incubator REU Site in Chemistry at Furman UniversityAbstract of Award
Cofunded: Department of Defense (DoD)
Statesboro, Georgia
Primary: Karelle Aiken
(912) 478-5238
kaiken@georgiasouthern.edu
Secondary: Ria Ramoutar
(912) 478-5055
rramoutar@georgiasouthern.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: multidisciplinary projects, professional development; research: biocomposites, drug design, drug delivery, chemosensors, nanomaterials, magnetic materials, molecular switches
CollaborativE Multidisciplinary Investigations Through Undergraduate Research Experiences (CEMITURE)Abstract of Award
Atlanta, Georgia
Primary: Suri S. Iyer
(404) 413-3606
siyer@gsu.edu
Secondary: Jeneille Grant
(404) 413-5526
jgrant9@gsu.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: Diverse chemical areas, diagnostics, therapeutics, chemical biology, community colleges, primarily undergraduate institutions, Atlanta Metropolitian area.
Summer Research Experiences for Students from Community Colleges and Four Year Institutions at Georgia State UniversityAbstract of Award
Harrisonburg, Virginia
Primary: Kevin Caran
(540) 568-6632
carankl@jmu.edu
Secondary: Gina MacDonald
(540) 568-6852
macdongx@jmu.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: chemistry
Comments: opportunities for deaf students
REU Site: Integrating Hearing and Deaf Students in Undergraduate Chemical ResearchAbstract of Award
Johns Hopkins University
REU Site: Program in Nanotechnology for Biology and Bioengineering
Institute for NanoBioTechnology
Baltimore, Maryland
Primary: Denis Wirtz
(410) 516-8094
wirtz@jhu.edu
Secondary: Efrosini Kokkoli
(410) 516-1302
kokkoli@jhu.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: Engineering,Biosciences,StemCells,DiagnosticTools,Nanotechnology,Nanobiotechnology,Computational,Immunotherapy,TissueRepair,Biomedical,Chemical&Biomolecular,MaterialsScience,Bioengineering
Comments: Contact: Camille Bryant, cbryant@jhu.edu (410) 516-6572
REU Site: Program in Nanotechnology for Biology and BioengineeringAbstract of Award
Cofunded: Chemistry, Engineering
Manhattan, Kansas
Primary: Christopher T. Culbertson
(785) 532-6685
culbert@ksu.edu
Secondary: Stefan H. Bossmann
(785) 532-6817
sbossman@ksu.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: Chemistry, Biosecurity, Analytical, Organic, Inorganic, Physical, Community College
REU Site: Research Experiences for Undergraduates in Chemistry at Kansas State UniversityAbstract of Award
Kennesaw State University
Chemistry and Biochemistry Summer Undergraduate Research Experience at Kennesaw State University
Department of Chemistry and Biochemistry
Kennesaw, Georgia
Primary: Mark B. Mitchell
(470) 578-2048
mmitch52@kennesaw.edu
Secondary: Kimberly Linenberger
(470) 578-6278
klinenbe@kennesaw.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: Chemistry, Biochemistry, Undergraduate, Research, CBSURE
Chemistry and Biochemistry Summer Undergraduate Research Experience at Kennesaw State UniversityAbstract of Award
Kent, Ohio
Primary: Torsten Hegmann
(330) 672-7770
thegmann@kent.edu
Secondary: Michael J. Tubergen
(330) 672-2032
mtuberge@kent.edu
Louisiana State University
Smart Polymer Composite Materials and Structures
Civil and Industrial Engineering, Chemistry
Baton Rouge, Louisiana
Primary: Heather Lavender
(225) 578-4726
heatherl@lsu.edu
Secondary: Gloria Thomas
(225) 578-5228
gloriathomas@lsu.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: materials science, shape memory polymer, polymer characterization, polymer synthesis, polymer composites
Smart Polymer Composite Materials and StructuresAbstract of Award
Louisiana State University
France/Belgium iREU in Translational Chemistry
Baton Rouge, Leuven, Grenoble, and Toulouse, Louisiana
Primary: Randy Duran
(225) 578-2459
rduran@lsu.edu
Secondary: David Spivak
(225) 578-2868
dspivak@lsu.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: LSAMP focus, all chemistry areas
Miami University (Ohio)
Summer Undergraduate Research in Chemistry and Biochemistry at Miami University
Department of Chemistry and Biochemsitry
Oxford, Ohio
Primary: Carole Dabney-Smith
(513) 529-8091
cdabneysmith@MiamiOH.edu
Secondary: Dominik Konkolewicz
(513) 529-4395
d.konkolewicz@MiamiOH.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: analytical chemistry, biochemistry, electrochemistry, inorganic chemistry, organic, polymers, physical chemistry, structural biology, chemistry education
Summer Undergraduate Research in Chemistry and Biochemistry at Miami UniversityAbstract of Award
Cofunded: Biological Sciences
East Lansing, Michigan
Primary: Dr. Greg M. Swain
(517) 353-1090
swain@chemistry.msu.edu
Secondary: Dr. Robert L. LaDuca
(517) 432-2268
laduca@msu.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: green synthesis, biofuels, photoelectrochemistry, environmentally-friendly materials
Cross-Disciplinary Training in Sustainable Chemistry and Chemical ProcessesAbstract of Award
Mississippi State University
REU- INFEWS: Food, Energy and Water Security
Department of Chemistry
Starkville, Mississippi
Primary: Deb Mlsna
(662) 325-3799
dmlsna@chemistry.msstate.edu
Secondary: Todd Mlsna
(662) 325-6744
tmlsna@chemistry.msstate.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: environmental, bio-fuels, chemistry, water, renewable energy, green chemistry, bio-char
REU- INFEWS: Food, Energy and Water SecurityAbstract of Award
Montana State University
REU Site: Mountains and Minds: Next Generation Chemistry for Materials and Catalysts
Department of Chemistry and Biochemsitry
Bozeman, Montana
Primary: Sharon Neufeldt
(406) 994-5692
sharon.neufeldt@montana.edu
Secondary: Nicholas Stadie
(406) 994-7931
nicholas.stadie@montana.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: chemistry, biochemistry, organic, inorganic, analytical, computational, physical, materials, catalysis, communication
REU Site: Mountains and Minds: Next Generation Chemistry for Materials and CatalystsAbstract of Award
New York University
REU Site in Chemical Biology at NYU
Chemistry
New York, New York
Primary: Paramjit Arora
(212) 998-8470
arora@nyu.edu
Secondary: Daniela Buccella
(212) 998-7941
dbuccella@nyu.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: NYU, Chemical Biology, REU
REU Site in Chemical Biology at NYUAbstract of Award
Raleigh, North Carolina
Primary: Elon Ison
(919) 513-4376
eaison@ncsu.edu
Secondary: Elena Jakubikova
(919) 515-1808
ejakubi@ncsu.edu
Northeastern University
Research Opportunities in Biological and Chemical Catalysis II
Chemistry and Chemical Biology
Boston, Massachusetts
Primary: George A. O’Doherty
(617) 373-4817
G.ODoherty@neu.edu
Secondary: Oyinda Oyelaran
(617) 373-4494
O.Oyelaran@northeastern.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: Biochemistry, Organic, Physical, Computational, Materials, and Analytical, Medicinal Chemistry, and Med Chem.
Research Opportunities in Biological and Chemical Catalysis IIAbstract of Award
Northern Illinois University
REU Site: Integrated Experimental and Computational REU Site at Northern Illinois University
Department of Chemistry and Biochemistry
DeKalb, Illinois
Primary: James R. Horn
(815) 753-8654
jrhorn@niu.edu
Secondary: Ralph A. Wheeler
rwheeler5@niu.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: Combined computational and experimental research; Training on advanced instrumentation; Enriched writing and speaking skills, Career development; Ethical behavior and safety training
Princeton University
REU Site: Molecular Biophysics
Molecular Biology
Princeton, New Jersey
Primary: Jannette Carey
(609) 258-1631
jcarey@princeton.edu
Secondary: Istvan Pelczer
(609) 258-2342
ipelczer@princeton.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: Molecular Biology, international, Czech Republic, biophysics
Comments: Contact: Kuri T. Chacko, chacko@princeton.edu
REU Site: Molecular BiophysicsAbstract of Award
Cofunded: Chemistry, International Science and Engineering
Southern Illinois University at Carbondale
REU Site for Interdisciplinary Materials Research
Chemistry
Carbondale, Illinois
Primary: Tammy Wieseman
(618) 453-6496
tammy.wieseman@siu.edu
Secondary: Douglas Coons
(618) 453-6496
dcoons@chem.siu.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: materials chemistry, nanomaterials
REU Site for Interdisciplinary Materials ResearchAbstract of Award
Cofunded: Chemistry
NY, New York
Primary: Michael Sponsler
(315) 443-4880
sponsler@syr.edu
Secondary: April LePage
(315) 443-4109
amlepage@syr.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: chemistry, biochemistry, organic, inorganic, physical, analytical, materials, theoretical
REU Site: Undergraduate Research in Chemistry at Syracuse UniversityAbstract of Award
Syracuse, New York
Primary: Karin Ruhlandt-Senge
(315) 443-1306
kruhland@syr.edu
Secondary: Michael Sponsler
(315) 443-4880
sponsler@syr.edu
Show 30 items per page.