Skip to main content
Email Print Share

REU Sites

REU Sites: Chemistry

This is a list of the active chemistry division funded REU sites (Sies with active NSF awards). Almost every site has a web page where more information can be obtained. Clicking on a highlighted site title should direct you to the external web page. [NSF is not responsible for the content of these external web pages.] Useful information for REU Site Principal Investigators can be found through the REU Leadership Group (http://www.nsf-reu.org/) [Not an NSF website -- NSF is not responsible for its content]

Please report errors in the list below by writing to che-reusites@nsf.gov.


Search Again

78 items found, displaying 21 to 40.[First/Prev] 1 2 3 4 [Next/Last]
Site Information Site Location Contact Information Additional Information
Johns Hopkins University
REU Site: Visualization of Macromolecules in Biological Research
Department of Biology
Baltimore, Maryland
Primary: Joel Schildbach
410-516-0176
joel@jhu.edu
Secondary: Michael McCaffery
(410)-516-3321
mccaffery@jhu.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: developmental biology, cell biology, biochemistry, biophysics, imaging, electron microscopy, fluorescence, NMR, microscopy,
Comments: Program Coordinator: Jessica Kastner, jess.kastner@jhu.edu; Program Administrator: Joan Miller, joan@jhu.edu
Abstract of Award
Cofunded: Chemistry
Manhattan, Kansas
Primary: Christopher T. Culbertson
(785) 532-6685
culbert@ksu.edu
Secondary: Stefan H. Bossmann
(785) 532-6817
sbossman@ksu.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: Chemistry, Biosecurity, Analytical, Organic, Inorganic, Physical
Kennesaw State University
Chemistry and Biochemistry Summer Undergraduate Research Experience at Kennesaw State University
Department of Chemistry and Biochemistry
Kennesaw, Georgia
Primary: Mark B. Mitchell
(470) 578-2048
mmitch52@kennesaw.edu
Secondary: Kimberly Linenberger
(470) 578-6278
klinenbe@kennesaw.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: Chemistry, Biochemistry, Undergraduate, Research, CBSURE
Abstract of Award
Kent State, Ohio
Primary: Erin Michael-McLaughlin
(330) 672-0030
enmichae@kent.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: chemistry, liquid crystals, advanced materials
Abstract of Award
Cofunded: Materials Research
Louisiana State University
France/Belgium iREU in Translational Chemistry
Baton Rouge, Leuven, Grenoble, and Toulouse, Louisiana
Primary: Randy Duran
(225) 578-2459
rduran@lsu.edu
Secondary: David Spivak
(225) 578-2868
dspivak@lsu.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: LSAMP focus, all chemistry areas
Oxford, Ohio
Primary: Christopher A Makaroff
(513) 529-1659
makaroca@muohio.edu
Secondary: Carole Dabney-Smith
(513) 529-8091
adabney@miamioh.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: Chemistry
Abstract of Award
Cofunded: Biological Sciences
East Lansing, Michigan
Primary: Greg Swain
517-355-9715 x220
swain@chemistry.msu.edu
Secondary: Robert LaDuca
517-432-2268
laduca@msu.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: : Green synthesis, water purification, renewable energy, electrochemistry, polymer/membrane chemistry and computational materials chemistry
Fargo, North Dakota
Primary: Erika G. Offerdahl
(701) 231-5670
erika.offerdahl@ndsu.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: chemistry
Abstract of Award
Flagstaff, Arizona
Primary: Amy Whipple
(928) 523-8727
amy.whipple@nau.edu
Secondary: Ted Martinez
(928) 523-3383
Theodore.Martinez@nau.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: biology, environmental science, chemistry, geology, forestry, environmental engineering
Comments: For program detail, please contact to Dr.Ted Martinez, (928) 523-3383, Theodore.Martinez@nau.edu
Abstract of Award
Cofunded: Chemistry
Northern Arizona University
REU site: Shima' nahasdza'a'n bee 'iina' (Mother Earth Gives Life)
Environmental Sciences
Flagstaff, Arizona
Primary: Amy Whipple
(928) 523-8727
Amy.Whipple@nau.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: Environmental Science including mentors from biology, chemistry, geology, and environmental engineering
Abstract of Award
Highland Heights, Kentucky
Primary: KC Russell
(859) 572-6110
russellk@nku.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: theoretical chemistry, computational chemistry
Abstract of Award
Princeton University
REU Site: Molecular Biophysics
Molecular Biology
Princeton, New Jersey
Primary: Jannette Carey
609-258-1631
jcarey@princeton.edu
Secondary: Istvan Pelczer
609-258-2342
ipelczer@princeton.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: Molecular Biology, international, Czech Republic, biophysics
Abstract of Award
Cofunded: Chemistry, International Science and Engineering
West Lafayette, Indiana
Primary: Greg Michalski
(765) 494-3704
gmichals@purdue.edu
Secondary: Beatriz Cisneros
(765) 494-9104
cisneros@purdue.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: Analytical Chemistry, Instrumentation Environmental Chemistry, & Biochemistry, Physical Chemistry, medicinal chemistry, green chemistry
Camden, New Jersey
Primary: Heike Bucking
856.225.6590
bucking@camden.rutgers.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: Ecology, botany, neuroscience, zoology, biochemistry, and analytical chemistry
Abstract of Award
Cofunded: Biological Sciences
South Dakota State University
REU Site in Environmental/Green Chemistry
Chemistry & Biochemistry
Brookings, South Dakota
Primary: Dr. Jim Rice
(605) 688-4252
jim.rice@sdstate.edu
Secondary: Ms. Tonya Hohenthaner
(605) 688-5164
tonya.hohenthaner@sdstate.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: environmental chemistry, green chemistry, green materials, geochemistry, solar energy, photovoltaics, nanomaterials
Comments: Collaborative Institutions: Northern State University, Aberdeen,SD Black Hills State University, Spearfish,SD
Southern Illinois University at Carbondale
REU Site for Interdisciplinary Materials Research
Chemistry
Carbondale, Illinois
Primary: Tammy Wieseman
(618) 453-6496
tammy.wieseman@siu.edu
Secondary: Douglas Coons
(618) 453-6496
dcoons@chem.siu.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: materials chemistry, nanomaterials
Abstract of Award
Cofunded: Chemistry
Syracuse, New York
Primary: Karin Ruhlandt-Senge
315-443-1306
kruhland@syr.edu
Secondary: Michael Sponsler
315-443-4880
sponsler@syr.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: chemistry
Abstract of Award
Cofunded: International Science and Engineering
Texas A&M AgriLife Research / Texas A&M University
REU Site - Summer Undergraduate Research Program in Biochemistry
Biochemistry and Biophysics
College Station, Texas
Primary: Gary Kunkel
979-845-6257
g-kunkel@tamu.edu
Secondary: Mary Bryk
979-862-2294
bryk@tamu.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: biochemistry/molecular biology/genomics/proteomics/enzymology/structural biology/gene expression/membrane structure/developmental biology
Comments: coordinators are the PI and co-PI
Abstract of Award
Cofunded: Chemistry
College Station, Texas
Primary: Holly Gaede
(979) 845-0520
hgaede@mail.chem.tamu.edu
Secondary: Marylin Warren
(979) 845-0520
reu@chem.tamu.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: Atmospheric chemistry, bioinorganic chemistry, biological chemistry, catalysis, computational chemistry, energy, environment, enzymes, green chemistry, materials chemistry,continued below...
Comments: Additional Key Words: mechanism, metal-organic frameworks, metabolism, nanotechnology, polymers, sensing, solar, surface, synthesis
Abstract of Award
Cofunded: Materials Research
Tulane University
REU: Summer MAterials Research at Tulane (SMART)
Multidisciplinary
New Orleans, Louisiana
Primary: Professor Hank Ashbaugh
(504) 865-5772
sgrayson@tulane.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: Multidisciplinary program focusing on materials for health, energy and environment applications
Abstract of Award
78 items found, displaying 21 to 40.[First/Prev] 1 2 3 4 [Next/Last]

 

Back to Top of page