Skip to main content
Email Print Share

REU Sites

REU Sites: Chemistry

This is a list of the active chemistry division funded REU sites (Sies with active NSF awards). Almost every site has a web page where more information can be obtained. Clicking on a highlighted site title should direct you to the external web page. [NSF is not responsible for the content of these external web pages.] Useful information for REU Site Principal Investigators can be found through the REU Leadership Group (http://www.nsf-reu.org/) [Not an NSF website -- NSF is not responsible for its content]

Please report errors in the list below by writing to che-reusites@nsf.gov.


Search Again

80 items found, displaying 1 to 20.[First/Prev] 1 2 3 4 [Next/Last]
Site Information Site Location Contact Information Additional Information
University of Wisconsin – Eau Claire
Give Research Opportunity to Underrepresented Minority STEM Students (GRO URMSS)
Chemistry and Materials Science Center
Eau Claire, Wisconsin
Primary: Thao Yang
(715) 836-4190
yangt@uwec.edu
Secondary: Marc Mc Ellistrem
(715) 836-4081
mcellimt@uwec.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: REU Site for Two-year College URM Students
Abstract of Award
University of Wisconsin-Oshkosh
Research Experiences for Undergraduates in Proteomics and
Biology & Microbiology
Oshkosh, Wisconsin
Primary: Lisa A. Dorn
920.424.3064
dorn@uwosh.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: Chemistry, Biochemistry, Computer Science
Abstract of Award
University of Wisconsin - Madison
REU SITE: The Chemistry of Materials for Renewable Energy
Chemistry
Madison, Wisconsin
Primary: Andrew Greenberg
608-265-3884
greenberg@chem.wisc.edu
Secondary: Paul F Nealey
608-265-8171
nealey@engr.wisc.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: chemistry
Abstract of Award
West Virginia University
REU Site: Multifunctional Nanomaterials
cross-disciplinary
Morgantown, West Virginia
Primary: Lisa Holland
(304) 293-0174
Lisa.Holland@mail.wvu.edu
Secondary: Kimberly Quedado
(304) 293-7382
Kimberly.Quedado@mail.wvu.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: nanomaterials, smart materials, photoactive materials, sensor materials
Abstract of Award
Cofunded: Chemistry
Bellingham, Washington
Primary: P. Clint Spiegel, Jr.
360-650-3137
Paul.Spiegel@wwu.edu
Secondary: Greg O'Neil
360-650-6283
oneilg@chem.wwu.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: Chemistry (Biochemistry, Synthetic Chemistry, Materials Chemistry, Computational Chemistry
Seattle, Washington
Primary: Phil Reid
206-543-6147
hopreu@uw.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: chemistry, materials science, engineering, photonics, organic, polymer, energy, nanotechnology
Abstract of Award
Cofunded: Materials Research
Harrisonburg, Virginia
Primary: Kevin Caran
(540) 568-6632
carankl@jmu.edu
Secondary: Gina MacDonald
(540) 568-6852
macdongx@jmu.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: chemistry
Comments: opportunities for deaf students
Abstract of Award
Salt Lake City, Utah
Primary: Janis Louie
801-581-7309
louie@chem.utah.edu
Secondary: Jon D. Rainier
801-581-4954
rainier@chem.utah.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: Analytical Chemistry, Biological Chemistry, Inorganic Chemistry, Materials, Organic Chemistry, Physical Chemistry
Baylor University
An Advanced Instrumentation Emphasis REU
Chemistry & Biochemistry
Waco, Texas
Primary: Charles Garner
254-710-6862
charles_garner@baylor.edu
Secondary: Barbara Rauls (Administrative Assistant)
254-710-4926
barbara_rauls @baylor.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: organic chemistry, physical chemistry, analytical chemistry, biochemistry, inorganic chemistry, geochemistry, environmental chemistry, chemical physics
University of Texas
Frontiers in the Chemistry of Materials
Chemistry
Austin, Texas
Primary: Jenny Brodbelt
(512) 471-0028
jbrodbelt@cm.utexas.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: chemistry, materials
Abstract of Award
Texas A&M AgriLife Research / Texas A&M University
REU Site - Summer Undergraduate Research Program in Biochemistry
Biochemistry and Biophysics
College Station, Texas
Primary: Gary Kunkel
(979) 845-6257
g-kunkel@tamu.edu
Secondary: Mary Bryk
(979) 862-2294
bryk@tamu.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: biochemistry/molecular biology/genomics/proteomics/enzymology/structural biology/gene expression/membrane structure/developmental biology
Comments: coordinators are the PI and co-PI
Abstract of Award
Cofunded: Chemistry
College Station, Texas
Primary: Holly Gaede
(979) 845-0520
hgaede@mail.chem.tamu.edu
Secondary: Marylin Warren
(979) 845-0520
reu@chem.tamu.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: Atmospheric chemistry, bioinorganic chemistry, biological chemistry, catalysis, computational chemistry, energy, environment, enzymes, green chemistry, materials chemistry,continued below...
Comments: Additional Key Words: mechanism, metal-organic frameworks, metabolism, nanotechnology, polymers, sensing, solar, surface, synthesis
Abstract of Award
Cofunded: Materials Research
Denton, Texas
Primary: LeGrande M. Slaughter
(940) 565-4350
legrande@unt.edu
Secondary: Shawn Adams (Administrative Assistant)
(940) 565-4372
chem-reu@unt.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: computational chemistry, computational-experimental collaborative research, catalysis, materials chemistry, solar energy, forensic chemistry, multidisciplinary research
Knoxville, Tennessee
Primary: Michael Best
(865) 974-8658
mdbest@utk.edu
Secondary: Shawn Campagna
(868) 974-7337
campagna@utk.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: Fields of research: Chemistry, Materials; Sub-fields of research: Analytical, Biological, Inorganic, Organic, Physical and Polymer Chemistry and related interdisciplinary areas
South Dakota State University
REU Site in Environmental/Green Chemistry
Chemistry & Biochemistry
Brookings, South Dakota
Primary: Dr. Jim Rice
(605) 688-4252
jim.rice@sdstate.edu
Secondary: Ms. Tonya Hohenthaner
(605) 688-5164
tonya.hohenthaner@sdstate.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: environmental chemistry, green chemistry, green materials, geochemistry, solar energy, photovoltaics, nanomaterials
Comments: Collaborative Institutions: Northern State University, Aberdeen,SD Black Hills State University, Spearfish,SD
Vermillion, South Dakota
Primary: David C. Hawkinson
(605) 677-6187
David.Hawkinson@usd.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: chemistry
Abstract of Award
Greenville, South Carolina
Primary: Karen Buchmueller
(864) 294-2683
karen.buchmueller@furman.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: chemistry
Abstract of Award
Cofunded: Department of Defense (DoD)
Universidad Metropolitana
Puerto Rico Research Training in Cross-disciplinary Chemical Sciences
School of Environmental Affairs
San Juan, Puerto Rico
Primary: Osvaldo Cox, PhD
(787) 766-1717
um_ocox@suagm.edu
Secondary: Beatriz Zayas, PhD
(787) 766-1717
bzayas@suagm.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: undergraduate research training, cross-disciplinary chemical sciences, organic synthesis, materials sciences, chemical toxicology, nanotechnology, see more, below....
Comments: Additional Key Words: atmospheric chemistry, surface enhanced Raman spectroscopy, sensors for vapor phase explosives detection, sonochemistry Dr. Cox Phone Ext: 6268 Dr. Zayas Phone Ext: 6
Abstract of Award
San Juan, Puerto Rico
Primary: Arthur D. Tinoco
(939) 319-9701
atinoco9278@gmail.com
Research Topics/Keywords: Biotechnology, Pharmaceutical, Puerto Rico Future Workforce
Abstract of Award
Duquesne University
REU Site: Discovery by Computation, Theory and Experiment
Department of Chemistry and Biochemistry
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Primary: Professor Jeffrey D. Evanseck
(412) 396-6337
evanseck@duq.edu
Secondary: Professor Jeffry D. Madura
(412) 396-4129
madura@duq.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: Combined theory, computation and experimental research; Training on advanced instrumentation; Enriched writing and speaking skills, continued below...
Comments: Continued Research Topics/Keywords: Career development; Ethical behavior and safety training; and Community engagement activities.
80 items found, displaying 1 to 20.[First/Prev] 1 2 3 4 [Next/Last]

 

Back to Top of page