Email Print Share

REU Sites

REU Sites: Chemistry

This is a list of the active chemistry division funded REU sites (Sites with active NSF awards). Almost every site has a web page where more information can be obtained. Clicking on a highlighted site title should direct you to the external web page. [NSF is not responsible for the content of these external web pages.] Useful information for REU Site Principal Investigators can be found through the REU Leadership Group (http://chemnsfreu.com/) [Not an NSF website -- NSF is not responsible for its content]

Please report errors in the list below by writing to che-reusites@nsf.gov.


Search Again

Show 30 number of items per page.
REU Sites
Site Information Site Location Contact Information Additional Information
University of Michigan Ann Arbor
University of Michigan REU Site in the Chemical Sciences
Department of Chemistry
Ann Arbor, Michigan
Primary: Brian P. Coppola
734-764-7329
bcoppola@umich.edu
University of Minnesota
Challenges of the 21st Century
Department of Chemistry
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Primary: Nick Erickson
(612) 624-0026
chmlando@umn.edu
Secondary: Steven Kass
(612) 625-7513
kass@umn.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: Chemistry research, 10 week summer program, open area
Challenges of the 21st CenturyAbstract of Award
University of Mississippi
Ole Miss Physical Chemistry Summer Research Program
Department of Chemistry & Biochemistry
Oxford, Mississippi
Primary: Nathan Hammer
(662) 915-3989
nhammer@olemiss.edu
Secondary: Gregory S. Tschumper
(662) 915-7301
tschumpr@olemiss.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: Physical Chemistry, Computational Chemistry, Theory, Spectroscopy, Nanomaterials, Energy, Biophysics
Ole Miss Physical Chemistry Summer Research ProgramAbstract of Award
Missoula, Montana
Primary: Aaron Thomas
406-243-4196
aaron.thomas@mso.umt.edu
Secondary: Earle Adams
406-243-4196
earle.adams@umontana.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: chemistry, environment, heavy metals, chromatography, analytical, natural products, water quality, air quality
University of Montana REU Site: Summer Research Experience in Environmental ChemistryAbstract of Award
University of Nebraska - Lincoln
REU Site: Training in Redox Biology
Biochemistry
Lincoln, Nebraska
Primary: Donald Becker
(402) 472-9652
dbecker3@unl.edu
Secondary: Julie Stone
(402) 472-4902
jstone2@unl.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: Redox biology, biochemistry, oxidative stress, redox signaling and regulation, enzymes, protein structure, molecular biology
Comments: Hannah Kahler/Administrative Assistant/hkahler2@unl.edu
REU Site: Training in Redox BiologyAbstract of Award
Cofunded: Chemistry
Lincoln, Nebraska
Primary: Mark Griep
(402) 472-3429
mgriep1@unl.edu
Secondary: Peta-Gaye Stara-Clachar
(402) 472-4453
pclachar2@unl.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: organic radicals, medical imaging agents, protein-DNA interactions, enzyme-assisted organic synthesis, catalytic nanoparticles, and drug-protein interactions
University of North Carolina-Chapel Hill
SUROC (Summer Undergraduate Research Opportunity in Chemistry)
Chemistry
Chapel Hill, North Carolina
Primary: Jeff Johnson
(919) 843-4936
jsj25@email.unc.edu
Secondary: Noelle Romero
(919) 843-4936
nromero@email.unc.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: Chemistry, biochemistry, polymer chemistry, nanoparticles, organic chemistry, inorganic chemistry, environmental chemistry, analytical, biomaterials
SUROC (Summer Undergraduate Research Opportunity in Chemistry)Abstract of Award
University of North Carolina - Charlotte
REU Site: Nanoscale Science Undergraduate Research Experience (NanoSURE) at UNC Charlotte
Department of Chemistry
Charlotte, North Carolina
Primary: Tom Schmedake
(704) 687-5177
tschmeda@uncc.edu
Secondary: Banita Brown
(704) 687-0074
bwbrown@uncc.edu
University of North Dakota (UND)
Interdisciplinary Renewable and Environmental Chemistry (IREC)
Chemistry & Chemical Engineering
Grand forks, North Dakota
Primary: Alena Kubatova
(701) 777-0348
alena.kubatova@und.edu
Secondary: Frank Bowman
(701) 777-4245
frank.bowman@engr.und.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: Renewable Chemistry, Environmental, Biofuels, Biomass, Atmospheric Chemistry
University of North Dakota
Interdisciplinary Renewable and Environmental Collaborative (IREC) REU Program at the University of North Dakota
Chemical Engineering, Chemistry, Atmospheric Science
Grand Forks, North Dakota
Primary: Frank Bowman
(701) 777-4245
frank.bowman@und.edu
Secondary: Guodong Du
(701) 777-2241
guodong.du@und.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: Chemistry, Chemical Engineering, Atmospheric Science, Environmental, Interdisciplinary, Outreach, Science Communication
Interdisciplinary Renewable and Environmental Collaborative (IREC) REU Program at the University of North DakotaAbstract of Award
Denton, Texas
Primary: LeGrande M. Slaughter
(940) 565-4350
legrande@unt.edu
Secondary: Shawn Adams (Administrative Assistant)
(940) 565-4372
chem-reu@unt.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: computational chemistry, computational-experimental collaborative research, catalysis, materials chemistry, solar energy, forensic chemistry, multidisciplinary research
University of Notre Dame
REU Site: Analytical Chemistry for the Developing World
Chemistry and Biochemistry
Notre Dame, Indiana
Primary: Marya Lieberman
(574) 631-4665
mlieberm@nd.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: Chemistry, engineering, biological sciences, international science and engineering,Analytical chemistry, chemical engineering, mechanical engineering, computer science, synthetic biology, sensors, des
Oregon
Primary: Jeanne Basom
(541) 346-4307
jbasom@uoregon.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: Chemistry, Physics, Materials Science
University of Puerto Rico Río Piedras
REU: PR CLIMB
Department of Chemistry
San Juan, Puerto Rico
Primary: Arthur D. Tinoco
(939) 319-9701
reu.pr.climb@gmail.com
Secondary: Jose Alberto Santiago
(787) 410-8616
jose.santiago43@upr.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: Puerto Rico, UPR RP, Interdisciplinary, Workshops, Materials, Biomolecular Applications
REU: PR CLIMBAbstract of Award
San Juan, Puerto Rico
Primary: Arthur D. Tinoco
(939) 319-9701
atinoco9278@gmail.com
Research Topics/Keywords: Biotechnology, Pharmaceutical, Puerto Rico Future Workforce
Puerto Rico-Chemical Learning in Materials and Biomolecular Applications (PR CLIMB)Abstract of Award
New York, New York
Primary: REU Administrator
(585) 275-8286
urchemreu@UR.Rochester.edu
Secondary: Thomas R. Krugh
(585) 275-4224
Thomas.krugh@rochester.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: Chemistry -- Sub-fields of research: Biological, Inorganic, Organic, Physical and Materials
REU Site in Chemistry at the University of RochesterAbstract of Award
Vermillion, South Dakota
Primary: David C. Hawkinson
(605) 677-6187
David.Hawkinson@usd.edu
University of South Dakota
Undergraduate Research in Fluorine Chemistry
Department of Chemistry
Vermillion, South Dakota
Primary: Andrew Sykes
(605) 677-5487
asykes@usd.edu
Secondary: Haoran Sun
(605) 677-5487
Haoran.Sun@usd.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: Fluorine, Chemistry, Materials, Energy, Security, Health
Undergraduate Research in Fluorine ChemistryAbstract of Award
Los Angeles, California
Primary: Anna Krylov
2137404929
krylov@usc.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: Physical, Organic, Material, and Biological Chemistry
REU Site: Snapshots of Chemistry: Visualization of Processes at the Molecular LevelAbstract of Award
University of Southern Mississippi
REU Site: Polymer Innovation for a Sustainable Future
Polymers and High Performance Materials
Hattiesburg, Mississippi
Primary: Prof. Sarah Morgan
(601) 266-5296
sarah.morgan@usm.edu
Secondary: Prof. Joseph Lott
(601) 266-6867
joseph.r.lott@usm.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: Polymer Composites
REU Site: Polymer Innovation for a Sustainable FutureAbstract of Award
Cofunded: Chemistry
Knoxville, Tennessee
Primary: Michael Best
(865) 974-8658
mdbest@utk.edu
Secondary: Shawn Campagna
(868) 974-7337
campagna@utk.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: Fields of research: Chemistry, Materials; Sub-fields of research: Analytical, Biological, Inorganic, Organic, Physical and Polymer Chemistry and related interdisciplinary areas
University of Texas
Frontiers in the Chemistry of Materials
Chemistry
Austin, Texas
Primary: Jenny Brodbelt
(512) 471-0028
jbrodbelt@cm.utexas.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: chemistry, materials
Frontiers in the Chemistry of MaterialsAbstract of Award
Salt Lake City, Utah
Primary: Janis Louie
801-581-7309
louie@chem.utah.edu
Secondary: Jon D. Rainier
801-581-4954
rainier@chem.utah.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: Analytical Chemistry, Biological Chemistry, Inorganic Chemistry, Materials, Organic Chemistry, Physical Chemistry
Seattle, Washington
Primary: Shaun Taylor
(206) 685-2029
uwcei@uw.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: Solar, clean energy, smart grid, battery, energy storage, thin film, data science, materials, chemistry,(additional keywords in the Comments section).
Comments: Additional Keywords: chemical engineering, electrical engineering, physics, modeling, polymers, characterization, nanoparticles, engineering Comments: This program is suitable for freshmen and
REU Site: Clean Energy Bridge to Research (CEBR)Abstract of Award
Cofunded: Materials Research
University of Wisconsin – Eau Claire
Give Research Opportunity to Underrepresented Minority STEM Students (GRO URMSS)
Chemistry and Materials Science Center
Eau Claire, Wisconsin
Primary: Thao Yang
(715) 836-4190
yangt@uwec.edu
Secondary: Marc Mc Ellistrem
(715) 836-4081
mcellimt@uwec.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: REU Site for Two-year College URM Students
Give Research Opportunity to Underrepresented Minority STEM Students (GRO URMSS)Abstract of Award
University of Wisconsin - Madison
REU SITE: The Chemistry of Materials for Renewable Energy
Chemistry
Madison, Wisconsin
Primary: Andrew Greenberg
608-265-3884
greenberg@chem.wisc.edu
Secondary: Paul F Nealey
608-265-8171
nealey@engr.wisc.edu
University of Wisconsin-Oshkosh
Research Experiences for Undergraduates in Proteomics and
Biology & Microbiology
Oshkosh, Wisconsin
Primary: Lisa A. Dorn
920.424.3064
dorn@uwosh.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: Chemistry, Biochemistry, Computer Science
Research Experiences for Undergraduates in Proteomics andAbstract of Award
Vanderbilt University
Research Experience for Undergraduates in Chemical Biology
Department of Chemistry
Nashville, Tennessee
Primary: Gary Sulikowski
(615) 343-4155
gary.a.sulikowski@Vanderbilt.Edu
Secondary: Alissa Hare
(615) 875-9136
alissa.a.hare@vanderbilt.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: Chemical Biology, Chemistry, Biochemistry
Research Experience for Undergraduates in Chemical BiologyAbstract of Award
Virginia Polytechnic Institute and State University or Virginia Tech
REU: INFEWS N/P/H2O: MATERIALS INNOVATION AT THE INTERSECTION OF FOOD-ENERGY-WATER SYSTEMS (MII-FEWS)
MII (Macromolecules Innovation Institute)
Blacksburg, Virginia
Primary: Kim Felix
(540) 231-6717
mii@vt.edu
Secondary: Tim Long
(540) 231-6717
mii@vt.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: Agriculture, 3D-Printing, Water, Membranes, Energy, Polymers, Materials, African-Americans, Minorities, Undergraduates, Synthesis, Climate Research, Biological Chemistry, Seniors, Juniors
REU: INFEWS N/P/H2O: MATERIALS INNOVATION AT THE INTERSECTION OF FOOD-ENERGY-WATER SYSTEMS (MII-FEWS)Abstract of Award
Bellingham, Washington
Primary: Amanda Murphy
(360) 650-3138
Amanda.Murphy@wwu.edu
Secondary: P. Clint Spiegel, Jr.
(360) 650-3137
paul.spiegel@wwu.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: Chemistry (Biochemistry, Synthetic Chemistry, Materials Chemistry, Computational Chemistry
Show 30 number of items per page.