Email Print Share

REU Sites

REU Sites: Computer and Information Science and Engineering

Please report errors in the list below by writing to reu.cise@nsf.gov.


Search Again

Show 30 number of items per page.
REU Sites
Site Information Site Location Contact Information Additional Information
Arizona State University
Sensor Signal and Information Processing (SenSIP)
SenSIP Center, ECEE
Tempe, Arizona
Primary: Andreas Spanias
(480) 965-5311
spanias@asu.edu
Secondary: Jennifer Blain Christen
(480) 965-9859
Jennifer.BlainChristen@asu.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: Sensors and signal processing algorithms, sensor design and fabrication, signal processing, wearable and flexible sensors, machine learning, interface circuits, sensors for Internet of Things
Arizona State UniversityAbstract of Award
Auburn University
Research Experience for Undergraduate on Smart UAVs
Center for Smart UAVs
Auburn, Alabama
Primary: Saad Biaz
(334) 844-6307
biazsaa@auburn.edu
Secondary: Richard O. Chapman
(334) 844-6314
chapmro@auburn.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: Unmanned Aerial Vehicles (UAVs), Autonomous Flight
Auburn UniversityAbstract of Award
Cofunded: Department of Defense (DoD)
Auburn, Alabama
Primary: Sanjeev Baskiyar
(334) 844-6306
baskisa@auburn.edu
Secondary: Alvin S Lim
(334) 844-6326
lim@eng.auburn.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: CPU temperature control for energy reduction, indoor localization using deep learning, thermal friendly architecture, smart utility networks, distributed analytics, machine learning algorithms
Auburn UniversityAbstract of Award
Cofunded: Physics, Computer and Information Science and Engineering
California State Polytechnic University, Pomona
Undergraduate Research Experiences in Big Data Security and Privacy
Computer Science Department and Computer Infomation Systems Department
Pomona, California
Primary: Tingting Chen
(909) 869-4842
tingtingchen@cpp.edu
Secondary: Mohammad I. Husain
(909) 869-2022
mihusain@cpp.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: Genomic data privacy, secure multiparty cloud computation, hybrid data center security, big data privacy preserving techniques, privacy preserving federated search, security compliance measurement
California State Polytechnic University, PomonaAbstract of Award
Carnegie Mellon University
Interdisciplinary Software Engineering
Institute for Software Research, School of Computer Science
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Primary: Joshua Sunshine
(412) 268-1097
reuse@cs.cmu.edu
Secondary: Victoria Poprocky
(412) 268-3063
poprocky@cs.cmu.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: Software API usability, green computing, programming language design, security and privacy, automated program analysis and repair, self-adaptive systems, and software development tools
Carnegie Mellon UniversityAbstract of Award
Carnegie Mellon University
Robotics and Intelligent Systems Scholars
Robotics Institute
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Primary: Rachel Burcin
(412) 268-4272
rburcin@andrew.cmu.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: Artificial intelligence, aerial robotics, autonomous navigation, field robotics, human-robot interaction, machine learning, manipulation, medical robotics, mobile robots, motion planning, multi-agent
Carnegie Mellon UniversityAbstract of Award
College of Staten Island (City University of New York)
REU Site: In Computational Methods in High Performance Computing with Applications to Computer Science
Computer Science
Staten Island, New York
Primary: Louis Petingi
(718) 982-2844
louis.petingi@csi.cuny.edu
Secondary: Xiaowen Zhang
(718) 982-3262
xiaowen.zhang@csi.cuny.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: Network reliability,Cryptography, and network security,Wireless ad-hoc, and sensor networks, Large-scale and complex system modeling and simulation, Image processing.
College of Staten Island (City University of New York)Abstract of Award
Cofunded: Computer and Information Science and Engineering, Department of Defense (DoD)
Columbus State University
An REU Site on Security for Mobile Sensing
TSYS School of Computer Science
Columbus, Georgia
Primary: Alfredo J. Perez
(706) 507-8194
perez_alfredo@columbusstate.edu
Secondary: Yesem Kurt-Peker
(706) 507-8187
peker_yesem@columbusstate.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: Security, privacy, mobile sensing
Columbus State UniversityAbstract of Award
Cofunded: Department of Defense (DoD)
Chicago, Illinois
Primary: Daniela Raicu
(312) 362-5512
draicu@cti.depaul.edu
Secondary: Jacob Furst
(312) 362-5158
jfurst@cti.depaul.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: Medical informatics, image processing, computer vision, artificial intelligence, machine learning, data mining, knowledge discovery
DePaul UniversityAbstract of Award
East Carolina University
Software Testing and Analytics
Department of Computer Science
Greenville, North Carolina
Primary: Junhua Ding
(252) 737-1908
dingj@ecu.edu
Secondary: Nasseh Tabrizi
(252) 328-9691
tabrizim@ecu.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: Software testing and analysis of scientific software and machine learning systems, fault detection effectiveness and MC/DC coverage of combinatorial test cases
East Carolina UniversityAbstract of Award
Embry-Riddle Aeronautical University
Cybersecurity Research of Unmanned Aerial Vehicles
Department of Electrical, Computer, Software, and Systems Engineering
Daytona Beach, Florida
Primary: Jiawei Yuan
(386) 226-7344
yuanj@erau.edu
Secondary: Remzi Seker
(386) 226-7409
sekerr@erau.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: Unmanned aerial vehicles, cybersecurity, data privacy, network security, secure UAV control
Embry-Riddle Aeronautical UniversityAbstract of Award
Florida Atlantic University
Sensing and Smart Systems
Institute for Sensing and Embedded Network Systems Engineering (I-SENSE)
Boca Raton, Florida
Primary: Jason O. Hallstrom
(561) 297-4748
jhallstrom@fau.edu
Secondary: Andrea Gonzalez
(561) 297-4759
agonzalez@fau.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: IoT security, battery-free computing, emotion sensing, robotic prosthetics, cardiac analysis, traffic control, vehicle-based sensing, data embedding in media, smart energy systems, underwater sensing
Florida Atlantic UniversityAbstract of Award
Florida Institute of Technology
REU Site: Advances of Machine Learning in Theory & Applications (AMALTHEA)
Electrical & Computer Engineering
Melbourne, Florida
Primary: Georgios C Anagnostopoulos
(321) 674-7125
georgio@fit.edu
Secondary: Anthony Smith
(321) 674-8425
anthonysmith@fit.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: machine learning
Florida Institute of TechnologyAbstract of Award
Florida International University
REU SITE: Research Experiences for Undergraduates in Advanced Secured Sensor Enabling Technologies
School of Computing and Information Sciences
Miami, Florida
Primary: Niki Pissinou
(305) 348-3716
pissinouci@fiu.edu
Secondary: Kia Makki
(305) 348-3738
makkik@fiu.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: Optimization methods and software for robust, secure, context aware, reconfigurable and adaptable computing systems for emerging multidisciplinary applications
Florida International UniversityAbstract of Award
Florida International University
REU Site: Security of Smart Things
Electrical and Computer Engineering
Miami, Florida
Primary: Kemal Akkaya
(305) 348-3017
kakkaya@fiu.edu
Secondary: A. Selcuk Uluagac
(305) 348-3710
auluagac@fiu.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: Internet-of-things, cyber-physical systems, security of smart things, security of critical infrastructures, user privacy, cybersecurity, hardware security
Florida International UniversityAbstract of Award
Gallaudet University
Accessible Information and Communications Technology (AICT)
Department of Science, Technology, and Mathematics
Washington, District Of Columbia
Primary: Raja Kushalnagar
(202) 750-2458
raja.kushalnagar@gallaudet.edu
Secondary: Christian Vogler
(202) 250-2795
christian.vogler@gallaudet.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: Accessible computing, human-computer interaction, multimodal interaction, automatic-speech-recognition, automatic-sign-recognition
Gallaudet UniversityAbstract of Award
George Mason University
Undergraduate Research in Educational Data Mining
Computer Science Department
Fairfax, Virginia
Primary: Mark Snyder
(703) 993-5624
msnyde14@gmu.edu
Secondary: Huzefa Rangwala
(703) 993-3826
rangwala@cs.gmu.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: Educational data mining, data mining, visualization, learning technologies, data analytics
George Mason UniversityAbstract of Award
Georgia Institute of Technology
Civic Data Science
College of Computing
Atlanta, Georgia
Primary: Bistra Dilkina
bdilkina@cc.gatech.edu
Secondary: Chris LeDantec
Ledantec@gatech.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: Data analytics, machine learning, information visualization, optimization applied in areas of civic importance such as social issues, sustainability, environment, urban planning, public safety
Georgia Institute of TechnologyAbstract of Award
Harvey Mudd College
REU Site in Computer Systems
Computer Science
Claremont, California
Primary: Zachary Dodds
(909) 607-1813
dodds@cs.hmc.edu
Secondary: Julie Medero
(909) 621-8072
julie@cs.hmc.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: Algorithms for active transportation, kinetic typography, human gaze response to feature films, human-robot learning
Harvey Mudd CollegeAbstract of Award
Hofstra University
Undergraduate Research in Computational Data Analytics for Advancing Human Services
Department of Information Systems and Business Analytics
Hempstead, New York
Primary: Lian Duan
(516) 463-4220
lian.duan@hofstra.edu
Secondary: Songhua Xu
(973) 596-5815
songhua.xu@njit.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: Environmental cancer risk study, adverse drug reaction detection, personalized coupon in super markets, technology and psychological well-being, personalized educational system
Hofstra UniversityAbstract of Award
Illinois Institute of Technology & University of Chicago
BigDataX: From Theory to Practice in Big Data Computing at Extreme Scales
Computer Science & Computation Institute
Chicago, Illinois
Primary: Ioan Raicu
(312) 567-5704
iraicu@cs.iit.edu
Secondary: Kyle Hale
(312) 567-5147
khale@cs.iit.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: Distributed systems many-core computing, cluster computing, grid computing, cloud computing, supercomputing, parallel computing & languages, big data, scientific computing, data sciences, databases
Comments: Collaborative site with the University of Chicago
Illinois Institute of Technology & University of ChicagoAbstract of Award
Bloomington, Indiana
Primary: Katie Siek
(812) 856-0598
ksiek@indiana.edu
Secondary: Lamara Warren
(812) 856-0703
ldwarren@indiana.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: Health informatics, mobile and wearable human computer interaction, machine learning on sparse data sets, mobile and wearable computing, privacy of personal health data sets, health technology policy
Indiana University - BloomingtonAbstract of Award
Indiana University-Purdue University Indianapolis (IUPUI)
REU Site: Enhancing Undergraduate Research Experiences in Mobile Cloud Security
Department of Computer Information and Graphics Technology
Indianapolis, Indiana
Primary: Feng Li
(317) 278-8391
fengli@iupui.edu
Secondary: Eugenia Fernandez
(317) 274-6794
efernand@iupui.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: Cyber security, mobile computing, wireless communication, mobile cloud
Indiana University-Purdue University Indianapolis (IUPUI)Abstract of Award
Indiana University Purdue University Indianapolis
Data Science of Risk and Human Activity
Computer and Information Science Department
Indianapolis, Indiana
Primary: George Mohler
(805) 252-0656
gmohler@iupui.edu
Secondary: Mohammad Al Hasan
(317) 274-3862
alhasan@cs.iupui.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: Data science, machine learning, statistics, applications to risk and human activity
Indiana University Purdue University IndianapolisAbstract of Award
Iowa State University
Summer Program for Interdisciplinary Research and Education-Emerging Interface Technologies
Human Computer Interaction / Virtual Reality Applications Center
Ames, Iowa
Primary: Stephen B. Gilbert
(515) 294-6782
gilbert@iastate.edu
Secondary: Eliot Winer
(515) 989-1750
ewiner@iastate.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: human computer interaction, interface design, interaction design, human centered computing, virtual reality, haptics, usability, augmented reality, multitouch, social computing, robotics, information
Iowa State UniversityAbstract of Award
Lehigh University
Intelligent and Scalable Systems
Computer Science and Engineering
Bethlehem, Pennsylvania
Primary: Brian Davison
(610) 758-3453
davison@cse.lehigh.edu
Secondary: Michael Spear
(610) 758-3285
spear@cse.lehigh.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: Machine learning, parallel computing, data mining, artificial intelligence, distributed computing, data science, cybersecurity, privacy
Lehigh UniversityAbstract of Award
Louisiana State University
Interdisciplinary Research Experience in Computational Sciences
Center for Computation and Technology
Baton Rouge, Louisiana
Primary: Juana Moreno
(225) 578-7586
moreno@lsu.edu
Secondary: Jesse Allison
(225) 578-5572
jtallison@lsu.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: Cyberinfrastructure, High Performance Computing, Computational Sciences, Mathematics, Computer Science, Physics, Civil Engineering, Oceanography and Coastal Sciences, Petroleum Engineering, Mechanical
Louisiana State UniversityAbstract of Award
Cofunded: Computer and Information Science and Engineering
Michigan State University
iCER ACRES: Advanced Computational Research Experience for Students
Inst. for Cyber-Enabled Research (iCER) and Dept of Computational Math, Science, & Engg. (CMSE)
Lansing, Michigan, Michigan
Primary: Kenneth Merz Jr.
(517) 353-1123
kmerz1@gmail.com
Secondary: Brian O’Shea
(517) 884-5638
oshea@msu.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: Computational & data science, high performance computing, parallel solvers, computational chemistry, mathematics, biology, astrophysics, big data science and cyberinfrastructure
Michigan State UniversityAbstract of Award
Cofunded: Computer and Information Science and Engineering, Department of Defense (DoD)
Mississippi State University
REU Site: Undergraduate Research in Computational Biology at Mississippi State University
Computer Science and Engineering
Mississippi State, Mississippi
Primary: Andy Perkins
(662) 325-0004
perkins@cse.msstate.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: biology, biosciences, computational biology, genomics
Mississippi State UniversityAbstract of Award
Cofunded: Computer and Information Science and Engineering
Montana State University
Research and Development of Algorithms in a Software Factory
Computer Science Department
Bozeman, Montana
Primary: Clemente Izurieta
(406) 994-3720
clemente.izurieta@montana.edu
Secondary: Brendan Mumey
(406) 994-7811
brendan.mumey@montanta.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: Algorithms research in the context of a Software Factory, with incremental development of prototypes. Focus on: genomics, system quality, topological data analysis, and social-nets trustworthiness
Montana State UniversityAbstract of Award
Show 30 number of items per page.