Skip to main content
Email Print Share

REU Sites

REU Sites: Computer and Information Science and Engineering

Please report errors in the list below by writing to reu.cise@nsf.gov.


Search Again

93 items found, displaying 61 to 80.[First/Prev] 1 2 3 4 5 [Next/Last]
Site Information Site Location Contact Information Additional Information
University of Colorado, Colorado Springs
Machine Learning in Natural Language Processing and Computer Vision
Computer Science Department
Colorado Springs, Colorado
Primary: Jugal Kalita
(719) 255-3432
jkalita@uccs.edu
Secondary: Kristen Walcott-Justice
(719) 255-3670
kjustice@uccs.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: Natural language processing, syntax, semantics, information retrieval, computer vision, face recognition, incremental learning, large-scale learning, artificial neural networks, deep learning
Abstract of Award
University of Connecticut
Bio-Grid REU Site
Computer Science and Engineering
Storrs, Connecticut
Primary: Chun-Hsi Huang
860-486-5472
huang@cse.uconn.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: Bio-Grid: High-Performance Computing, Computational Biology, Life-Science Informatics, Cluster/Grid/Cloud Computing
Abstract of Award
Cofunded: Computer and Information Science and Engineering
University of Connecticut
Trustable Embedded Systems Security Research
Computer Science & Engineering Department, Electrical and Computer Engineering
Storrs, Connecticut
Primary: Bing Wang
(860) 486-0582
bing@uconn.edu
Secondary: John Chandy
(860) 486-5047
john.chandy@uconn.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: Secure hardware, secure processor architectures, secure embedded systems, secure voting systems, secure mobile computing, secure mobile information systems
Abstract of Award
University of Florida
Undergraduate Research in Intelligent Multimodal Human-Computer Interaction
Computer & Information Science & Engineering
Gainesville, Florida
Primary: Kristy Boyer
keboyer@ufl.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: Virtual agents for teaching and training; voice interfaces, dialogue, spherical displays, and brain-computer interfaces; digital games for physical activity and for learning problem solving
Abstract of Award
Cofunded: Department of Defense (DoD)
University of Houston
Undergraduate Research Experience in Multimedia Data Analytics.
Department of Computer Science
Houston, Texas
Primary: Stephen Huang
(713) 743-3338
shuang@cs.uh.edu
Secondary: Ernst L. Leiss
(713) 743-3359
coscel@cs.uh.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: Data Analytics, Computational Science, Machine Learning, Cybersecurity
Abstract of Award
University of Illinois Urbana Champaign
Incubating a New Community of Leaders Using Software, Inclusion, Innovation, Interdisciplinary and OpeN-Science (INCLUSION)
National Center for Supercomputing Applications
URBANA, Illinois
Primary: Daniel S. Katz
(217) 244-8000
dskatz@illinois.edu
Secondary: Olena Kindratenko
(217) 300-0247
kindrat2@illinois.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: open source software, software development, collaborative, interdisciplinary, social impact
Abstract of Award
Cofunded: Computer and Information Science and Engineering
College Park, Maryland
Primary: William Gasarch
(301) 405-2698
gasarch@cs.umd.edu
Secondary: Samir Khuller
(301) 405-2712
samir@cs.umd.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: Crytography, graph algorithms, combinatorics, probability, programming games, algorithms for problems from AI and database
Abstract of Award
University of Massachusetts Amherst
REUMass: A Summer Computing Research Experience in Data Science
Department of Computer Science
Amherst, Massachusetts
Primary: Prof. David Jensen
(413) 545-9677
reu@cs.umass.edu
Secondary: Ms. Leeanne LeClerc
(413) 545-3640
leclerc@cs.umass.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: Data science including applications (computational social science, mobile health, etc.), data analytics (machine learning, NLP, etc.), and infrastructure (databases, cloud computing, etc.).
Abstract of Award
Lowell, Massachusetts
Primary: Xinwen Fu
(605) 270-9427
xinwenfu@cs.uml.edu
Secondary: Kate Saenko
(978) 934-3620
saenko@cs.uml.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: Project 1:Threats against human-action modalities Project 2:Defense of human-action modalities Project 3:Threats against computer sensing modalities Project 4:Defense of computer sensing modalities
Abstract of Award
University of Miami
Scientific Computing for Structure in Big or Complex Datasets
Department of Computer Science
Miami, Florida
Primary: Burton Rosenberg
(305) 284-2141
burt@cs.miami.edu
Secondary: Julie Garcia
(305) 284-2268
secretary@cs.miami.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: Computational chemistry, computational neuroscience and brain science, visualization of ensemble data, GPU enabled cryptography, neural networks in visual processing modeling human social behavior
Abstract of Award
University of Minnesota
Computational Methods for Discovery Driven by Big Data
Department of Computer Science and Engineering
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Primary: Daniel Boley
(612) 625-3887
boley@umn.edu
Secondary: Amy Larson
(612) 625-9088
lars1050@umn.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: machine learning, virtual social behaviors, immersive virtual environments, mobile cloud platforms, biological networks, Earth climate analysis using graph-based methods
Abstract of Award
University of Missouri - Columbia
Undergraduate Research in Consumer Networking Technologies
Department of Computer Science
Columbia, Missouri
Primary: Prasad Calyam
(573) 882-9747
calyamp@missouri.edu
Secondary: Yi Shang
(573) 884-7794
shangy@missouri.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: Software-defined networking, visual computing at the network edge, social health networking for eldercare, body-area sensing and emotion recognition
Abstract of Award
Charlotte, North Carolina
Primary: Heather Lipford
(704) 687-8376
heather.lipford@uncc.edu
Secondary: Aubrae Collins
(704) 687-8954
aubrae.collins@uncc.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: Pervasive computing, computer vision, machine learning for image and video analysis, crowdsensing, activity recognition, human-computer interaction; projects emphasize socially relevant computing
Abstract of Award
Grand Forks, North Dakota
Primary: Ronald Marsh
(701) 777-4013
rmarsh@cs.und.edu
Secondary: David Whalen
(701) 777-3558
whalen@space.und.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: Image processing/superresolution, communications cybersecurity, safety critical system model based validation, system engineering validation, distribution data processing on a cluster of space craft
Abstract of Award
Cofunded: Computer and Information Science and Engineering, Department of Defense (DoD)
Denton, Texas
Primary: Renee Bryce
(940) 565-4176
Renee.Bryce@unt.edu
Secondary: Hassan Takabi
(940) 565-2385
Hassan.Takabi@unt.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: Software Testing, Security, Web Applications, Mobile Applications
Abstract of Award
University of Notre Dame
DISC: Data Intensive Scientific Computing
Center for Research Computing
Notre Dame, Indiana
Primary: Kallie O'Connel
(574) 631-4009
koconne8@nd.edu
Secondary: Douglas Thain
(574) 631-6845
dthain@nd.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: scientific computing, high performance computing, big data analytics, particle physics, astrophysics, bioinformatics, gene sequencing, computational epidemiology
Abstract of Award
University of Rochester
Computational Methods for Understanding Music, Media, and Minds
Goergen Institute for Data Science
Rochester, New York
Primary: Henry Kautz
(585) 520-1200
gids-reu@rochester.edu
Secondary: Beth Olivares
(585) 275-7531
beth.olivares@rochester.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: Machine learning, audio engineering, data science, computer vision, music
Abstract of Award
University of South Carolina
Applied Computational Robotics
Department of Computer Science and Engineering
Columbia, South Carolina
Primary: Jason O'Kane
(803) 777-1791
jokane@cse.sc.edu
Secondary: Jenay Beer
(803) 777-7361
jbeer@cse.sc.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: Field robotics, robotic perception and planning, human-robot interaction, security, software engineering
Abstract of Award
University of Southern California
REU Site: Research in Interactive Virtual Experiences
Institute for Creative Technologies
Los Angeles, California
Primary: Evan Suma
(310) 448-5311
suma@ict.usc.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: Virtual Reality, Human-Computer Interaction, Virtual Humans, Graphics, Natural Language Understanding
Abstract of Award
Los Angeles, California
Primary: Thomas H Jordan
213-821-1237
tjordan@usc.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: object-oriented, open-source, internet- enabled software, interactive, 4D display, earthquake
Abstract of Award
93 items found, displaying 61 to 80.[First/Prev] 1 2 3 4 5 [Next/Last]

 

Back to Top of page